DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-17, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newfound art and Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al., (Hwang hereafter) (US 8,818,181).
With respect to Claim 1, Hwang discloses a camera module (Figure 11) comprising: a carrier (210, Figure 11) supported on a housing (100, Figure 11) and movable in an optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11); at least one frame (220, Figure 12) supported on the carrier (210, Figure 11) and movable (210 is movable; see column 10, lines 21-23, and 220 is movable; see column 11, lines 4-5), relative to the carrier (210, Figure 11), in at least one direction perpendicular (y-axis direction, Figure 11; see also column 11, lines 5-7) to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11); and at least one magnet (211, Figure 11) disposed on the at least one frame (220, Figure 12), wherein an attractive force (magnetic force, column 10, lines18-20) acts between the at least one frame (220, Figure 12) and the carrier (210, Figure 11) in at least one direction perpendicular (y-axis direction, Figure 11; see also column 11, lines 5-7) to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11), and wherein the attractive force (magnetic force, column 10, lines18-20) is configured to pull the at least one frame (220, Figure 12) toward an internal wall of the carrier (210, Figure 11) so that the at least one frame (220, Figure 12) is supported on the internal wall (see Figure 12) of the carrier (210, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 3, Hwang further discloses wherein the at least one frame (220, Figure 12) comprises a first frame (230, Figure 12), and the first frame (230, Figure 12) is supported on the carrier (210, Figure 11) such that the attractive force (magnetic force, column 10, lines18-20) acts in a first direction perpendicular (y-axis direction, Figure 11) to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 4, Hwang further discloses a lens module (10, Figure 10) supported on the at least one frame (220, Figure 12), wherein the lens module (10, Figure 10) is supported on the first frame (230, Figure 12) such that the attractive force (magnetic force, column 10, lines18-20) acts in a second direction perpendicular (x-axis direction, Figure 11) to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11) and perpendicular to the first direction (y-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 5, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) comprises a first magnet (231, Figure 12) and the lens module (10, Figure 10) comprises a second magnet (241a, Figure 12), the housing (100, Figure 11) comprises a first yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12) and a second yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12), and the first magnet (211, Figure 12) and the first yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12) are arranged at a first interval along the first direction, and the second magnet (241a, Figure 12) and the second yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12) are arranged at a second interval along the second direction (x-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 6, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) comprises a first magnet (211, Figure 12) and the lens module (10, Figure 10) comprises a second magnet (241a, Figure 12), the first magnet (211, Figure 12) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles (211 may have a structure in which an N-pole and an S-pole, column 10, lines 15-17) along a surface opposing the carrier (210, Figure 11) along the first direction (y-axis direction, Figure 11) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11), and the second magnet (241a, Figure 12) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles (241a may have a structure in which an N-pole and an S-pole, column 10, lines 57-60) along a surface opposing the carrier (210, Figure 11) along the second direction (x-axis direction, Figure 11) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 7, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) is movable, relative to the carrier (210, Figure 11), along a direction perpendicular to the first direction (y-axis direction, Figure 11), and the lens module (10, Figure 10) is movable, relative to the first frame (230, Figure 12), along a direction perpendicular to the second direction (x-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 8, Hwang further discloses wherein the at least one frame (220, Figure 12) comprises (column 11, lines 4-7) a first frame (230, Figure 12) and a second frame (240, Figure 12).
With respect to Claim 9, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) is closely supported to a first surface of the carrier (210, Figure 11) parallel to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11), and the second frame (240, Figure 12) is closely supported to a second surface of the carrier (210, Figure 11) parallel to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 10, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) comprises a first magnet (211, Figure 12)and the second frame (240, Figure 12) comprises a second magnet (241a, Figure 12), the housing (100, Figure 11) comprises a first yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12) and a second yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12); and the first magnet (211, Figure 12) and the first yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12) are arranged at a first interval along a first direction (y-axis direction, Figure 11) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11), and the second magnet (241a, Figure 12) and the second yoke (215, see annotated Figure 12) are arranged at a second interval along a second direction (x-axis direction, Figure 11) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 11, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) comprises a first magnet (211, Figure 12) and a second frame (240, Figure 12) comprises a second magnet (241a, Figure 12), and each of the first magnet (211, Figure 12) and the second magnet (241a, Figure 12) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles (column 10, lines 54-57) along an opposing surface of the housing (100, Figure 11) along the at least one direction (y-axis direction, Figure 11) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11).
With respect to Claim 12, Hwang further discloses wherein the first frame (230, Figure 12) and the second frame (240, Figure 12) are relatively movable along a contact surface of the carrier (210, Figure 11) along the at least one direction (y-axis direction, Figure 11) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 11).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al., (Yu ‘835 hereafter) (US 10,840,835).
With respect to Claim 16, Yu ‘835 discloses a camera module (Figure 2) comprising: an autofocusing part (300 and 400, Figure 2) comprising a carrier (300, Figure 2) supported on a housing (120, Figure 2) and configured to be movable (the carrier 300 is moved in the optical axis (Z axis direction), column 7, lines 26-29) in an optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 2); and a shake correction portion (500, Figure 2) comprising at least one frame (310, Figure 2) movable, relative to the carrier (300, Figure 2), in at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (310 and 320 are moved in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis (the Z axis) with respect to the carrier 300, column 9, lines 33-37), wherein the carrier (300, Figure 2) and the at least one frame (310, Figure 2) are configured to be movable on a surface parallel (column 7, lines 30-37) to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 2) while a rolling member (B1-B4, Figure 2) is interposed between an interior wall of the carrier (300, Figure 2) and a side surface (see Figure 2) of the at least one frame (310, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 17, Yu ‘835 discloses a camera module comprising: an autofocusing part (300 and 400, Figure 2) comprising a carrier (300, Figure 2) disposed on a housing (120, Figure 2) and configured to be movable in an optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 2); a shake correction unit (500, Figure 2) comprising at least one frame (310, Figure 2) configured to be movable, relative to the carrier (300, Figure 2), in at least one direction perpendicular (column 9, lines 1-11) to the optical axis direction (310 and 320 are moved in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis (the Z axis) with respect to the carrier 300, column 9, lines 33-37); and an autofocusing coil (435, Figure 3A), configured to provide driving force (column 8, lines 43-46) to the autofocusing part (300 and 400, Figure 2), and first (510b, Figure 2) and second shake correction coils (520b, Figure 2) configured to provide driving force to the shake correction portion (column 9, lines 11-16), wherein the autofocusing coil (435, Figure 3A) and the first and second shake correction coils (510b and 520b, Figure 2) are disposed on surfaces of the housing (120, Figure 2) parallel to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 2), wherein the housing (120, Figure 2) comprises a plurality of yokes, (510e and 520e, Figure 2) respectively covering the autofocusing coil (435, Figure 3A) and the first and second shake correction coils (510b and 520b, Figure 2), and wherein the plurality of yokes (510e and 520e, Figure 2) face an autofocusing magnet (410, Figure 2) and first and second shake correction magnets (510a and 520a, Figure 2) in the direction perpendicular (column 13, lines 27-47) to the optical axis direction (z-axis direction, Figure 2), with the autofocusing coil (435, Figure 3A) and the first and second shake correction coils (510b and 520b, Figure 2) respectively disposed between the plurality of yokes (510e and 520e, Figure 2) and the autofocusing magnet (410, Figure 2) and first and second shake correction magnets (510a and 520a, Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 8,818,181) in further view of Uenaka (US 7,224,893).
With respect to Claim 2, Hwang teaches the camera module of claim 1, further comprising a yoke (215, Figure 12) disposed on a side surface of the housing (100, Figure 11) that supports the at least one frame (220, Figure 12),
Hwang fails to teach wherein the yoke comprises a material configured to prevent leakage of a magnetic field.
Hwang teaches the camera module and Uenaka teaches an anti-shake apparatus that can be used with the camera module.
Uenaka teaches the yoke (431b, Figure 4) comprises a material (soft magnetic material, column 10, lines 1-7) configured to prevent leakage of a magnetic field (431b, Figure 4, prevents the magnetic-field and driving magnet 411b from leaking to the surroundings, column 10, lines 8-12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hwang having the camera module with the teachings of Uenaka having the yoke comprise a material configured to prevent leakage of a magnetic field for the purpose of distorting a Hall sensor and communication interference.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 8,818,181) in further view of Yu (US 2009/0244731 A1)
With respect to Claim 13, Hwang teaches the camera module of claim 10, further comprising a lens module (10, Figure 10) supported on the at least one frame (220, Figure 12),
Hwang fails to teach the lens module comprises a lens barrel, including at least one lens accommodated therein, and a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel therein, and the lens holder is interposed between the first frame and the second frame along the optical axis direction.
Hwang teaches the camera module and Yu teaches an apparatus for driving a lens which can be used with the camera module.
Yu teaches wherein the lens module (Figure 2) comprises a lens barrel (202, Figure 2), including at least one lens (204, Figure 2) accommodated therein, and a lens holder (203, Figure 2) accommodating the lens barrel (202, Figure 2) therein, and the lens holder (203, Figure 2) is interposed between the first frame and the second frame along the optical axis direction.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hwang having the camera module with the teachings of Yu having the lens module comprises a lens barrel, including at least one lens accommodated therein, and a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel therein, and further modifying Hwang wherein the lens holder is interposed between the first frame and the second frame along the optical axis direction for the purpose enhanced stabilization of the camera module and protection of the camera module elements.
With respect to Claim 14, Hwang teaches the camera module of claim 13.
Hwang fails to teach wherein the lens holder is configured to be movable along a direction perpendicular to the first direction, or to be movable together with the second frame along a direction perpendicular to the second direction.
Yu teaches wherein the lens holder (203, Figure 2) is configured to be movable along a direction perpendicular (¶[0035]) to the first direction (lens holder 203 is rotated and moved in the direction with respect to the central axis of the barrel 202, ¶[0035]), or to be movable together with the second frame along a direction perpendicular to the second direction.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hwang having the camera module with the teachings of Yu having the lens holder is configured to be movable along a direction perpendicular to the first direction, or to be movable together with the second frame along a direction perpendicular to the second direction for the purpose of rotating and displacing the lens holder, ¶[0035].
With respect to Claim 15, Hwang teaches the camera module of claim 13, further comprising rolling members (B1, B2 and B3, Figure 11), the first frame (230, Figure 12) and the second frame (240, Figure 12).
Hwang fails to teach the lens holder.
Yu teaches the lens holder (203, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Hwang having the camera module with the teachings of Yu having the lens holder and further modifying Hwang having the rolling members disposed between the first frame and the lens holder and between the second frame and the lens holder along the optical axis direction, respectively, for the purpose of ease of frame movement.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu ‘835 (US 10,840,835), as applied to claim 16, above, in further in view of Hwang (US 8,818,181).
With respect to Claim 18, Yu ‘835 teaches the camera module of claim 16 and the at least one frame (310, Figure 2).
Yu ‘835 fails to teach wherein the at least one frame comprises a first frame including a first magnet, and a second frame including a second magnet.
Yu ‘835 teaches the camera module and Hwang teaches the camera module.
Hwang teaches the first frame (230, Figure 12) including a first magnet (231, Figure 12), and a second frame (240, Figure 12) including a second magnet (241a, Figure 12).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Yu ‘835 having the camera module with the teachings of Hwang having at least one frame comprises a first frame including a first magnet, and a second frame including a second magnet for the purpose of stability of the inner elements of the camera module.
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872