DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to Claim(s) 1 and 17, filed 01/20/2026, are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-14, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new found art and Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2017/0139225 A1), of record, in further view of Mitsuyasu (US 2016/0231529 A1) and Huang et al., (hereafter Huang) (US 2019/0058832 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Lim teaches a camera module (Figure 1; see also Abstract) comprising: a carrier (310, Figure 2) supported on a housing (120, Figure 2) and movable in an optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, ¶[0092]); at least one frame (410, Figure 2) supported on the carrier (310, Figure 2) and movable (410 may be moved inside the carrier 310 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (the Z-axis), ¶[0135]), relative to the carrier (310, Figure 2), in at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, ¶[0135]); and a lens module (200, Figure 2) supported on the at least one frame, (410, Figure 2) wherein the at least one frame (410, Figure 2) is supported (410 is inserted into the carrier 310, ¶[0133]) on the carrier (310, Figure 2) such that an attractive force (driving force, ¶[0135]) acts in the at least one direction perpendicular (driving force to move the 410 and 420 inside the carrier in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis, ¶[0135]) to the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction).
Lim fails to teach wherein an attractive force acts between the at least one frame and the carrier in at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and wherein the attractive force is configured to pull the at least one frame toward an internal wall of the carrier so that the at least one frame is supported on the internal wall of the carrier.
Lim teaches a lens driving apparatus and Mitsuyasu teaches an imaging module.
Mitsuyasu teaches an imaging module (title and abstract) wherein an attractive force (¶[0210]) acts between the at least one frame (15, Figure 3) and the carrier (10, Figure 1) in at least one direction perpendicular (lens barrel 15 integrally move in the x direction or the y direction, ¶[0108]) to the optical axis direction (z-direction, Figure 1), and wherein the attractive force (¶[0108] and ¶[0210]) is configured to pull the at least one frame (15, Figure 3) toward an internal wall of the carrier (10, Figure 1) so that the at least one frame (15, Figure 3) is supported (¶[0210]) on the internal wall of the carrier (10, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim having the camera module with the teachings of Mitsuyasu having an attractive force acts between the at least one frame and the carrier in at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction for the purpose of image stabilization.
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu fail to teach at least one magnet disposed on the at least one frame.
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu teach a camera module and Huang teaches an image capturing module.
Huang teaches at least one magnet (152a and 152b, Figure 4A) disposed on (auxiliary driving magnets 152a,152b, 162a, mounted on an inner surface of the frame 100, ¶[0097]) the at least one frame (100, Figure 4A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu having the camera module with the teachings of Huang having at least one magnet disposed on the at least one frame for the purpose of driving the frame together with the lens support and the lens set to move horizontally along the X-axis or/and the Y-axis.
With respect to Claim 2, Lim further discloses the camera module further comprising a yoke (350, Figure 4) disposed on a side surface of the housing (120, Figure 2) that supports the at least one frame (410, Figure 2), wherein the yoke (350, Figure 4) comprises a material (magnet 320a, Figure 4) configured to prevent leakage of a magnetic field (first yoke 350 may serve to focus the magnetic force of the magnet 320a and therefore, leakage magnetic flux may be prevented, ¶[0104]).
With respect to Claim 3, Lim further discloses wherein the at least one frame (410, Figure 2) comprises a first frame (130, Figure 2), and the first frame (130, Figure 2) is supported on the carrier (310, Figure 2) such that attractive force (attractive force, ¶[0102]) acts in a first direction (x-direction) perpendicular (frame 410 may be moved inside the carrier 310 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (the Z-axis), ¶[0135]) to the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, ¶[0092]).
Claim(s) 4-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 2017/0139225 A1), of record, in view of Mitsuyasu (US 2016/0231529 A1), of record, and Huang (US 20190058832 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Hagiwara (US 2019/0121053 A1).
With respect to Claim 4, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach, as best understood, wherein the at least one frame (410, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim), that the attractive force (attractive force, ¶[0102], of Lim) acts in a second direction (y-direction, of Lim) perpendicular (frame 410 may be moved inside the carrier 310 in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (the Z-axis), ¶[0135], of Lim) and perpendicular to the first direction (x-direction, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach to teach a lens module supported on the at least one frame.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) supported on the at least one frame (64, Figure 1, and 22, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having the lens module for the purpose of support of the lens module.
With respect to Claim 5, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach, as best understood, wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first magnet (320a, Figure 2, of Lim), a second magnet (320b, Figure 2, of Lim), the housing (120, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first yoke (350, Figure 4, of Lim) and a second yoke (340, Figure 4, of Lim), and the first magnet (320a, Figure 2, of Lim) and the first yoke (350, Figure 4, of Lim) are arranged at a first interval (see Figure 4, of Lim) along the first direction (x-direction, of Lim), and the second magnet (320b, Figure 2, of Lim) and the second yoke (340, Figure 4, of Lim) are arranged at a second interval (see Figure 5) along the second direction (y-direction, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach a lens module comprises a second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2).
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) and the lens module comprises a second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having the lens module comprises a second magnet for the purpose of moving multiple elements in different directions.
With respect to Claim 6, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach the camera module of claim 4, wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first magnet (320a, Figure 2, of Lim) and the carrier (310, Figure 2, of Lim), and the second direction (y-direction, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach the lens module comprises a second magnet, the first magnet is magnetized to have at least N and S poles along a surface opposing the carrier along the first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, and the second magnet is magnetized to have at least N and S poles along a surface opposing the carrier along the second direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) and the lens module comprises a second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2), the first magnet (1st of 58, Figure 2) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles (1st of 58, Figure 2; the two surfaces in the X direction has an S pole and an N pole formed in the X direction, ¶[0044]) along a surface opposing the carrier (18, Figure 2) along the first direction perpendicular (S pole and an N pole formed in the X direction, (x-direction is perpendicular to the optical axis, z-direction), ¶[0044]) to the optical axis direction (z-direction, Figure 2), and the second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles (2nd of 58, Figure 2; the two surfaces in the X direction has an S pole and an N pole formed in the X direction, ¶[0044]) along a surface opposing the carrier (18, Figure 2) along the second direction (y-direction, Figure 2) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-direction, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having magnets magnetized to have at least N and S poles for the purpose of moving elements in various directions, ¶[0044].
With respect to Claim 7, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach the camera module of claim 6, wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) is movable, relative to the carrier (310, Figure 2, of Lim), along a direction perpendicular to the first direction, and the lens module is movable, relative to the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim), along a direction perpendicular to the second direction.
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach the lens module is movable, relative to the first frame (130, Figure 2), along a direction perpendicular to the second direction.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) is movable (lens driving device 12 includes a fixed member 16 and a moving member 18, ¶[0036] and [0048]), relative to the first frame (64, Figure 1), along a direction perpendicular (y or z-direction, ¶[0036]) to the second direction (x or y-direction, ¶[0036]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having lens module is movable, relative to the first frame for the purpose of focusing the lens(es).
With respect to Claim 8, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teaches the camera module of claim 1 and the at least one frame.
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach wherein the at least one frame comprises a first frame and a second frame.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) wherein the at least one frame (64, Figure 1, and 22, Figure 2) comprises a first frame (22, Figure 2) and a second frame (64, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having wherein the at least one frame comprises a first frame and a second frame for the purpose of having protection of the first frame and the moving member, ¶[0048].
With respect to Claim 9, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) is closely supported to a first surface (see Figure 1 where 130 slides into 210, of Lim) of the carrier (310, Figure 2, of Lim) parallel to the optical axis direction (z-axis/direction, Figure 2, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach the second frame.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) wherein the at least one frame (64, Figure 1, and 22, Figure 2) comprises a first frame (22, Figure 2) and a second frame (64, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having the camera module and Lim having the second frame closely supported to a second surface of the carrier parallel to the optical axis direction for the purpose of having the frames have additional support from other camera module elements.
With respect to Claim 10, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first magnet and the housing (120, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first yoke (350, Figure 4, of Lim) and a second yoke (340, Figure 4, of Lim); and the first magnet (320a, Figure 2, of Lim) and the first yoke (350, Figure 4, of Lim) are arranged at a first interval (see Figure 4, of Lim) along the first direction (x-direction, of Lim), and the second magnet (320b, Figure 2, of Lim) and the second yoke (340, Figure 4, of Lim) are arranged at a second interval (see Figure 5, of Lim) along the second direction (y-direction, of Lim) perpendicular to the optical axis direction (z-direction, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach a second frame comprises a second magnet.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) wherein the at least one frame (64, Figure 1, and 22, Figure 2) comprises a first frame (22, Figure 2) and a second frame (64, Figure 1); the second frame (64, Figure 1) comprises a second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having the lens module comprises a second magnet for the purpose of moving multiple elements in different directions.
With respect to Claim 11, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach the housing (120, Figure 2, of Lim) and wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) comprises a first magnet (320a, Figure 2, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach a second frame comprises a second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2), and each of the first magnet and the second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles along an opposing surface of the housing along the at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a second frame (64, Figure 1) comprising a second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2), and each of the first magnet (1st of 58, Figure 2) and the second magnet (2nd of 58, Figure 2) is magnetized to have at least N and S poles (1st of 58, Figure 2; the two surfaces in the X direction has an S pole and an N pole formed in the X direction, ¶[0044]) along a surface opposing the housing (18, Figure 2) along the at least one direction perpendicular (x or y-direction) to the optical axis direction (z-direction, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having magnets magnetized to have at least N and S poles for the purpose of moving elements in various directions, ¶[0044].
With respect to Claim 12, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach wherein the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim) is relatively movable along a contact surface of the carrier (310, Figure 2, of Lim) along the at least one direction perpendicular (x or y-axis/direction, Figure 2, of Lim) to the optical axis direction (z-axis/direction, Figure 2, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach the second frame.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising the second frame (64, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having the second frame for the purpose of having protection of the first frame and the moving member, ¶[0048].
With respect to Claim 13, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach the camera module of claim 10.
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach a lens module supported on the at least one frame, wherein the lens module comprises a lens barrel, including at least one lens accommodated therein, and a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel therein, and the lens holder is interposed between the first frame and the second frame along the optical axis direction.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) supported on the at least one frame (22 and 64, Figure 1), wherein the lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) comprises a lens barrel (see annotated Figure 1), including at least one lens (14, Figure 1) accommodated therein, and a lens holder (lens 13 is mounted to the lens mounting hole 24, Figure 1; see also ¶[0038]) accommodating the lens barrel (see annotated Figure 1) therein, and the lens holder (24, Figure 1) is interposed between the first frame (22, Figure 2) and the second frame (64, Figure 1) along the optical axis direction (z-direction, Figures 1 and 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having a lens module and all of its elements supported on the at least one frame for the purpose of protecting multiple elements within the lens module.
With respect to Claim 14, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach the camera module of claim 13, and the first frame (130, Figure 2, of Lim).
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach the lens holder is configured to be movable along a direction perpendicular to the first direction, or to be movable together with the second frame along a direction perpendicular to the second direction.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) wherein the lens holder (24, Figure 1) is configured to be movable (24 is part of 20, which is part of 18 which is movable, see ¶[0063] and [0038]) along a direction (z or y-axis/direction, Figure 1) perpendicular to the first direction (x-axis/direction, Figure 1), or to be movable together with the second frame (64, Figure 1) along a direction perpendicular to the second direction (y-axis/direction, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having the lens holder is configured to be movable for the purpose of focusing the lens.
With respect to Claim 15, Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang teach the camera module of claim 13, further comprising rolling members (700 and 800, Figure 2) disposed between the first frame (130, Figure 2) and the lens holder (420, Figure 2) along the optical axis direction (z-axis/direction, Figure 2), respectively.
Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang fail to teach the second frame.
Hagiwara teaches a camera device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a lens module (12 and 14, Figure 1) with a second frame (64, Figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim in view of Mitsuyasu and Huang having the camera module with the teachings of Hagiwara having second frame for the purpose of allowing ease of movement between the first frame, lens holder, and second frame.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claim16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim et al., (hereafter Kim) (US 2017/0357077 A1), of record, in view of Lee et al., (hereafter Lee) (US 2019/0289214 A1).
With respect to Claim 16, Kim teaches a camera module comprising: an autofocusing part (100, Figure 3) comprising a carrier (110, Figure 3) supported on a housing (120-2, Figure 3) and configured to be movable in an optical axis direction (110 moves in the optical axis direction, ¶[0040]).
Kim fails to teach a shake correction portion comprising at least one frame movable, relative to the carrier, in at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction; wherein the carrier and the at least one frame are configured to be movable on a surface parallel to the optical axis direction while a rolling member is interposed between an interior wall of the carrier and a side surface of the at least one frame.
Kim teaches an autofocus lens apparatus and Lee teaches a camera module actuator.
Lee teaches a shake correction portion (500, Figure 2) comprising at least one frame movable (310, Figure 2), relative to the carrier (300, Figure 2), in at least one direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (¶[0068]); wherein the carrier (300, Figure 2) and the at least one frame (310, Figure 2) are configured to be movable on a surface parallel to the optical axis direction (z-direction, Figure 2) while a rolling member (plurality of balls, Figure 2; see also ¶[0067]) is interposed between an interior wall (see Figure 2 and ¶[0067]) of the carrier (300, Figure 2) and a side surface of the at least one frame (310, Figure 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Kim having the camera module with the teachings of Lee having the specific movement of the carrier and frame with rolling members for the purpose of ease of movement of the carrier and frame.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (hereafter Lim ‘225) (US 2017/0139225 A1) in view of Rho et al., (hereafter Rho) (US 2016/0085086 A1).
With respect to Claim 17, Lim ‘225 teaches a camera module (Figure 1) comprising: an autofocusing part (300, Figure 2) comprising a carrier (310, Figure 2) disposed on a housing (120, Figure 2) and configured to be movable (¶[0092] in an optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, ¶[0092]); a shake correction unit (400, Figure 2) comprising a lens module (200 and 420, Figure 2) configured to be movable (200 may be moved in directions perpendicular to the Z-axis direction, ¶[0071]), relative to the carrier (310, Figure 2), in at least one direction perpendicular (¶[0071]) to the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, ¶[0071]); and an autofocusing coil (330a, Figure 3), configured to provide driving force (when power is applied to the coil 330a, the carrier 310 may be moved, ¶[0097]) to the autofocusing part (300 which includes 310, Figure 2), and first (442, Figure 10) and second (452, Figure 10) shake correction coils configured to provide driving force (442, 452 are part of the shake compensation driving part; Examiner takes driving part to have a driving force) to the shake correction portion (400, Figure 2), wherein the autofocusing coil (330a, Figure 3) and the first (442, Figure 10) and second (452, Figure 10) shake correction coils are disposed on surfaces (442 and 452 are mounted on the housing 120, ¶[0140]) of the housing (120, Figure 2) parallel (see Figure 10) to the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction, ¶[0092]), and the housing (120, Figure 2) comprises a plurality of yokes (340 and 350, Figure 4), respectively covering the autofocusing coil (330a, Figure 3) and the first (442, Figure 10) and second (452, Figure 10) shake correction coils to prevent leakage of a magnetic field (preventing the generation of leakage magnetic flux, ¶[0104] and [0111]).
Lim ‘225 fails to teach wherein the plurality of yokes face an autofocusing magnet and first and second shake correction magnets, with the autofocusing coil and the first and second shake correction coils respectively disposed between the plurality of yokes and the autofocusing magnet and first and second shake correction magnets.
Lim ‘225 teaches a lens driving apparatus and Rho teaches a lens module.
Rho teaches wherein the plurality of yokes (120, Figure 3) face an autofocusing magnet (first and second, magnets 310a, 310b, for autofocusing and image stabilization, ¶[0071]) and first and second shake correction magnets (third and fourth magnets 310c and 310d, for autofocusing and image stabilization, ¶[0071]) in the direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (310a-310d are perpendicular to the optical axis, Figure 3), with the autofocusing coil (230, Figure 3) and the first and second shake correction coils (330, Figure 3) respectively disposed between the plurality of yokes (120, Figure 3) and the autofocusing magnet (230, Figure 3) and first and second shake correction magnets (310a and 310b, Figure 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Lim ‘225 having the camera module with the teachings of Rho having the plurality of yokes face an autofocusing magnet and first and second shake correction magnets, with the autofocusing coil and the first and second shake correction coils respectively disposed between the plurality of yokes and the autofocusing magnet and first and second shake correction magnets for the purpose of further assist with correction of blurring of an image.
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872