DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as being indefinite. The claim recites that "the detachable fastener is positioned between the mounting member and the anchor part," however the term "mounting member" lacks clear antecedent basis and is not defined in the claims, specification, or drawings. The specification merely repeats the claim language (See ¶ [0013]) without providing structural clarity or identifying the mounting member in the drawings. As a result, it is unclear what structure constitutes the mounting member and how the detachable fastener is positioned relative thereto, such that the scope of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) as being indefinite. The claim recites a "corner part" of the angular structure that extend out of the communication gap and is fixed on the mounting main body. However, the claims previously recites an "anchor part" (See claims 8-9) without clearly defining whether the corner part and the anchor part refer to the same structure or to different structures, The claims do not clarify the structural relationship between the corner part and the anchor part, and neither term is identified in the drawings. Although the specification (See ¶ [0044]) describes the corner part as being used as an anchor part, this relationship is not set forth in the claims. As a result, the scope of the claim is unclear and cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doering (US 4689941 A) in view of Dahlquist (US 3099347 A).
Regarding claim 1, Doering teaches a grass combing mechanism (12), comprising:
a mounting main body (17); and
a plurality of elastic grass combing components (14) mounted on the mounting main body (17), wherein each of the elastic grass combing components comprises at least one elastic comb tooth (47) and a mounting part (48) connected with the at least one elastic comb tooth, and the mounting part is mounted on the mounting main body; and the end part of the mounting part (48) is fixed on the mounting main body (12) by means of a detachable fastener (49).
Doering fails to disclose wherein, the mounting main body is provided with a fixing member corresponding to each of the elastic grass combing components, a communication gap communicating from one side to the other of the fixing member is formed between the fixing member and the mounting main body, the mounting part is inserted into the communication gap from one side of the fixing member so that a middle part of the mounting part is positioned in the communication gap and an end part extends out from the other side of the fixing member.
Dahlquist teaches wherein, the mounting main body (10) is provided with a fixing member (34) corresponding to each of the elastic grass combing components (16), a communication gap (36) communicating from one side to the other of the fixing member is formed between the fixing member and the mounting main body,
the mounting part (20) is inserted into the communication gap (36) from one side of the fixing member (34) so that a middle part of the mounting part is positioned in the communication gap and an end part extends out from the other side of the fixing member.
Dahlquist states, "Clip 24 is provided with a confining means or bail 34 to receive loop 20, and is made by slitting the clip body as at 36 of FIGS. 2 and 4, and forming or stretching the material of the clip upwardly or out of the plane of the clip body. Loop 20 is inserted into bail 34 which then embraces or confines the loop against lifting from the clip 24, thereby preventing the spring finger 16 from rotating clockwise relatively to clip 24, as viewed in FIG. 2." (Dahlquist Col. 2, lines 12-19)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to prevent unintended rotation or disengagement of the elastic grass combing components during use.
Regarding claim 2, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 1 and the mounting part.
Doering fails to disclose wherein the fixing member constrains the end part of the mounting part so as to fix the mounting part in a direction perpendicular to an inserting direction of the mounting part.
Dahlquist teaches wherein the fixing member (34) constrains the end part of the mounting part (20) so as to fix the mounting part in a direction perpendicular to an inserting direction of the mounting part. (See Dahlquist annotated Fig. 3 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to reduce unintended movement and increase durability of the elastic grass combing component.
Regarding claim 3, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the detachable fastener (49) is configured to constrain the end part of the mounting part (48) so as to fix the mounting part along an inserting direction of the mounting part. (See Doering annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 4, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the detachable fastener (49) and the mounting part (48).
Doering fails to disclose wherein the detachable fastener is configured to prevent the mounting part from being drawn out from the communication gap.
Dahlquist teaches the communication gap (36) under the fixing member (34).
Dahlquist states, "Clip 24 is provided with a confining means or bail 34 to receive loop 20, and is made by slitting the clip body as at 36 of FIGS. 2 and 4, and forming or stretching the material of the clip upwardly or out of the plane of the clip body. Loop 20 is inserted into bail 34 which then embraces or confines the loop against lifting from the clip 24, thereby preventing the spring finger 16 from rotating clockwise relatively to clip 24, as viewed in FIG. 2." (Dahlquist Col. 2, lines 12-19)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail and slit as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to improve retention strength and operational safety by reducing the likelihood that the mounting part is unintentionally drawn out of the mounting main body during use.
Regarding claim 5, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the detachable fastener (49) is configured to prevent the mounting part (48) from being drawn out by obstructing the mounting part.
Doering fails to disclose the communication gap.
Dahlquist teaches the communication gap (36) under the fixing member (34).
Dahlquist states, "Clip 24 is provided with a confining means or bail 34 to receive loop 20, and is made by slitting the clip body as at 36 of FIGS. 2 and 4, and forming or stretching the material of the clip upwardly or out of the plane of the clip body. Loop 20 is inserted into bail 34 which then embraces or confines the loop against lifting from the clip 24, thereby preventing the spring finger 16 from rotating clockwise relatively to clip 24, as viewed in FIG. 2." (Dahlquist Col. 2, lines 12-19)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail and slit as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to improve retention strength and operational safety by reducing the likelihood that the mounting part is unintentionally drawn out of the mounting main body during use.
Regarding claim 6, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the detachable fastener (49) is configured to prevent the mounting part (48) from being drawn out by pressing the mounting part to the mounting main body (17).
Doering fails to disclose the communication gap.
Dahlquist teaches the communication gap (36) under the fixing member (34).
Dahlquist states, "Clip 24 is provided with a confining means or bail 34 to receive loop 20, and is made by slitting the clip body as at 36 of FIGS. 2 and 4, and forming or stretching the material of the clip upwardly or out of the plane of the clip body. Loop 20 is inserted into bail 34 which then embraces or confines the loop against lifting from the clip 24, thereby preventing the spring finger 16 from rotating clockwise relatively to clip 24, as viewed in FIG. 2." (Dahlquist Col. 2, lines 12-19)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail and slit as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to improve retention strength and operational safety by reducing the likelihood that the mounting part is unintentionally drawn out of the mounting main body during use.
Regarding claim 7, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the detachable fastener (49) is configured to prevent the mounting part (48) from being drawn out from the communication gap by obstructing the mounting part and pressing the mounting part to the mounting main body (17).
Doering fails to disclose the communication gap.
Dahlquist teaches the communication gap (36) under the fixing member (34).
Dahlquist states, "Clip 24 is provided with a confining means or bail 34 to receive loop 20, and is made by slitting the clip body as at 36 of FIGS. 2 and 4, and forming or stretching the material of the clip upwardly or out of the plane of the clip body. Loop 20 is inserted into bail 34 which then embraces or confines the loop against lifting from the clip 24, thereby preventing the spring finger 16 from rotating clockwise relatively to clip 24, as viewed in FIG. 2." (Dahlquist Col. 2, lines 12-19)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail and slit as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to improve retention strength and operational safety by reducing the likelihood that the mounting part is unintentionally drawn out of the mounting main body during use.
Regarding claim 8, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the end part of the mounting part (48) is provided with an anchor part, and the detachable fastener (49) is positioned between the mounting member and the anchor part so as to prevent the mounting part from being drawn out from the communication gap. (See Doering annotated Fig. 1 below)
Regarding claim 9, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 8, wherein the detachable fastener is a screw or a bolt (49), and a shank of the screw or the bolt is configured to obstruct the anchor part to prevent the mounting part (48) from being drawn out. (See Doering annotated Fig. 4 below)
Regarding claim 10, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 9, wherein a head of the screw or the bolt (49) is configured to press the end part to the mounting main body (17) to prevent the mounting part (48) from being drawn out. (See Doering annotated Fig. 4 below)
Regarding claim 11, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 4, wherein each of the elastic grass combing components (14) comprises two elastic comb teeth (46, 47, and 53), the mounting part (48) comprises two rod-shaped bodies respectively connected to the two elastic comb teeth, the two rod-shaped bodies are connected to form an angular structure, and the angular structure is fixed (via 49-52) on the mounting main body (17). (See Doering annotated Fig. 1 below)
Doering fails to disclose the angular structure extends into the communication gap, and a corner part, extending out from the communication gap.
Dahlquist teaches the communication gap (36) under the fixing member (34). the angular structure extends into the communication gap (36), and a corner part, extending out from the communication gap. (See Dahlquist annotated Fig. 1 and 3 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing mechanism as taught by Doering with the confining means or bail and slit as disclosed by Dahlquist so as to improve retention strength and operational safety by reducing the likelihood that the mounting part is unintentionally drawn out of the mounting main body during use.
Regarding claim 12, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 11, wherein each elastic grass combing component (14) is integrally formed by bending a strip-shaped component, each of the elastic comb teeth (46, 47, and 53) comprises two spiral spring parts (46) and two comb teeth parts (47), end parts of the two rod-shaped bodies (two rod-shaped bodies of 48) of the mounting part (48) respectively extend and are bent to form the spiral spring parts, and two ends (53), away from the two rod-shaped bodies, of the spiral spring parts extend to form the comb tooth parts respectively for combing grass. (See Doering annotated Fig. 1 below)
Regarding claim 13, Doering teaches the grass combing mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the mounting main body (17) is of a plate-shaped structure (See Doering Col. 3, lines 36-42), the elastic grass combing components (14) are mounted on one side of the plate-shaped structure (via 60), and the other side facing away from the elastic grass combing components is configured to bear a counterweight (See Examiner's Note below).
(Note: The opposite side of the plate 17 of the frame 12, facing away from the supporting tines 14, is structurally capable of supporting additional mass, and therefore is configured to bear a counterweight)
Regarding claim 14, A grass combing machine (10), comprising:
a wheel (74)
a traction frame (24); and
the grass combing mechanism (12) according to claim 1; (See rejection of claim 1 under Doering in view of Dahlquist above)
wherein, the wheel (74) and the traction frame (24) are connected to the mounting main body (17), and the traction frame is configured to be connected to a walking device (11), so that the grass combing machine (10) is capable of being pulled to walk by means of the walking device (pulling device; Doering Col. 3, lines 26-29).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doering (US 4689941 A) in view of Dahlquist (US 3099347 A) as applied to claims 1-14 above, and further in view of Soper (US 11483986 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Doering, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Doering in view of Dahlquist, teaches the grass combing machine according to claim 14 and the grass combing machine (10).
Doering in view of Dahlquist fails to disclose wherein the grass combing machine further comprises a first bracket and a second bracket both mounted on the mounting main body, the second bracket is farther away from a traction end of the traction frame than the first bracket, and the second bracket is provided with a slot extending in a direction away from the mounting main body; and the traction frame is rotatably mounted on the first bracket by a first bolt, and is movably mounted on the second bracket along the slot by a second bolt.
Soper teaches wherein the grass combing machine (12) further comprises a first bracket (24, 24') and a second bracket (29) both mounted on the mounting main body (70), the second bracket is farther away from a traction end of the traction frame (20) than the first bracket, and the second bracket is provided with a slot (via 29; See Soper Col 5, lines 47-52) extending in a direction away from the mounting main body (70); and the traction frame (20) is rotatably mounted on the first bracket (24, 24') by a first bolt (22: See Examiner's Note), and is movably mounted on the second bracket (29) along the slot (via 29) by a second bolt. (See Soper annotated Fig. 5B below)
(Note: Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the term "bolt" is not limited to a threaded fastener and reasonably encompasses an elongated fastening member that secures components while permitting relative rotation. Axle 22 extends through the tractor frame and the first bracket and is retained by a cotter pin, thereby functioning as a pivot fastener. Accordingly, axle 22 is reasonably interpreted as the claimed "first bolt".)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing machine as taught by Doering in view of Dahlquist with the frame, frame brackets, hitch arm brackets, and bolts as disclosed by Soper so as to improve structural stability of the traction frame during operation and reducing stress concentrations at the mounting interface.
Regarding claim 16, Doering, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Doering in view of Dahlquist, teaches the grass combing machine according to claim 15.
Doering in view of Dahlquist fails to disclose wherein two of the first brackets and two of the second brackets are respectively provided, and the two first brackets and the two second brackets are respectively arranged in a direction perpendicular to a walking direction of the grass combing machine; and the traction frame comprises two traction rods, and each of the traction rods is correspondingly connected to one of the first brackets and one of the second brackets.
Soper teaches wherein two of the first brackets (24, 24') and two of the second brackets (29) are respectively provided, and the two first brackets and the two second brackets are respectively arranged in a direction perpendicular to a walking direction of the grass combing machine (12); and the traction frame (20) comprises two traction rods (26, 26'), and each of the traction rods is correspondingly connected to one of the first brackets and one of the second brackets. (See Soper annotated Fig. 5B below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing machine as taught by Doering in view of Dahlquist with the frame, frame brackets, hitch arm brackets, and bolts as disclosed by Soper so as to improve structural stability of the traction frame during operation and reducing stress concentrations at the mounting interface.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doering (US 4689941 A) in view of Dahlquist (US 3099347 A) and Soper (US 11483986 B1) as applied to claims 15-16 above, and further in view of Codding (US 4945996 A).
Regarding claim 17, Doering, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Doering in view of Dahlquist and Soper, teaches the grass combing machine according to claim 14 and the traction frame (20).
Doering in view of Dahlquist and Soper fail to disclose the traction frame is connected to a traction joint, the traction joint comprises two traction plates arranged vertically, the two traction plates form a gap for insertion of a connecting plate of the walking device, and a connecting hole for insertion of a connecting column is formed in each of the two traction plates.
Codding teaches the traction frame (20) is connected to a traction joint, the traction joint comprises two traction plates arranged vertically, the two traction plates form a gap for insertion of a connecting plate of the walking device, and a connecting hole for insertion of a connecting column is formed in each of the two traction plates.
Codding states "Also attached to the front of the frame 14 is a hitch 20 for pulling or towing the device 10 by a vehicle such as a lawn tractor or riding mower. The hitch 20 is connected to the vehicle by a hitch pin 21 or other similar means. The hitch 20 is connected to the center of the front of the frame 14 above the front wheel 17 so that steering and maneuvering of the device 10 is facilitated." (Codding Col. 3, lines 59-66)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing machine as taught by Doering in view of Dahlquist and Soper with the traction joint as disclosed by Codding so as to provide a structurally robust hitch that improves towing stability and secure attachment to a walking device or vehicle.
Regarding claim 18, Doering, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Doering in view of Dahlquist and Soper, teaches the grass combing machine according to claim 14.
Doering in view of Dahlquist and Soper fails to disclose wherein the grass combing machine further comprises a height-adjusting mechanism configured to adjust a height position of the mounting main body relative to the wheel, so that the grass combing mechanism is capable of being switched between a working position close to ground and a retracted position away from ground.
Codding teaches wherein the grass combing machine (10) further comprises a height-adjusting mechanism (26, 24, 24', 25, 30, 36) configured to adjust a height position of the mounting main body relative to the wheel, so that the grass combing mechanism is capable of being switched between a working position close to ground and a retracted position away from ground.
Codding states, "The bar 23, which is rotationally connected to the vertical frame members 18, also has a rod 25 attached perpendicularly thereto, having an end extending upwardly therefrom. A flexible line 26 such as a rope or cable is attached to the end of the rod 25 and extends to the vehicle. The operator may control the raising and lowering of the deck 30 by pulling or releasing the flexible line 26. Pulling the flexible line 26 toward the front of the frame 14, rotates the bar 23 and raises the arms 24, 24'. This raises the deck 30 which also raises the vertical frame members 36. The arms 27, 28 pivot and maintain the deck 30 in the proper attitude. Release of the flexible line 26 allows the bar 23 to rotate in the reverse, lowered direction. A pair of springs 42 connected between the upper ends of each frame member 18 and each side of the deck 33 facilitate positioning the deck." (Codding Col. 4, lines 56-68 and Col. 4, lines 1-4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the grass combing machine as taught by Doering in view of Dahlquist and Soper with the height-adjusting mechanism as disclosed by Codding so as to selectively position the grass combing mechanism between the working and non-working positions, thereby improving operational versatility and preventing wear on the elastic grass combing component when traveling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 allowed.
Conclusion
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671