DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of CLAIMS 1-9 in the reply filed on 08 December 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected INVENTION, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Japan Application No. 2022-187582 was received on 04 January 2024 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 November 2023 and 10 June 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 22 November 2023 are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US PGPub 2022/0324225 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a determination method for driving force of a print head that performs printing by discharging a droplet (¶0006), the determination method comprising:
setting a plurality types of driving force of the print head (¶0064; 0138);
forming, by driving the print head in sequence using the plurality types of driving force being set (¶0070-0074; 0060-0062), a first measurement pattern indicating a landing position of a droplet (test pattern 102; ¶0074; Fig. 6) and a second measurement pattern indicating landing area of a droplet (¶0078-0080; ¶0060-0062; Fig. 6; a measurement pattern is formed for each of the sheets); and
specifying one of the plurality types of driving force that satisfies a criterion (¶0092-0097, threshold is preliminarily set), based on the first measurement pattern and the second measurement pattern (¶0097, for each of the sheets the test patterns are read and waveform selected based on the threshold and optimization).
With regard to Claim 7, Kobayashi further discloses wherein the print head includes a plurality of discharge elements each configured to discharge a droplet (¶0032), and driving force satisfying the criterion for each of the discharge elements are specified in the specifying (¶0045, 0061-0066).
With regard to Claim 9, Kobayashi further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute each processing in the determination method according to claim 1 (¶0007; see claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, in view of Mizutani et al. (US PGPub 2017/0165962 A1).
With regard to Claim 2, Kobayashi further discloses wherein, in the forming of the first measurement pattern and the second measurement pattern, the print head is driven, in sequence, by the plurality types of driving force being set (¶0070-0074; 0060-0062).
However, Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the printhead is driven, while the print head is scanning with respect to a print medium.
The secondary reference of Mizutani discloses the printhead is driven, while the print head is scanning with respect to a print medium (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the scanning print head of Mizutani, with the method of Kobayashi, as a matter of design choice and to reduce the size of the apparatus.
With regard to Claim 3, Kobayashi further discloses wherein the first measurement pattern and the second measurement pattern are each formed such that the dots of droplets formed on the print medium do not overlap with each other (¶0078-0080; ¶0060-0062; Fig. 6; a measurement pattern is formed for each of the sheets; first and second measurement pattern formed on different sheets).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, in view of Ohnishi (US PGPub 2018/0201014 A1).
With regard to Claim 8, Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of discharge elements is configured such that the discharge element can discharge a droplet when the discharge element is energized, and the driving force of the individual discharge element corresponds to an energization time for the discharge element.
The secondary reference of Ohnishi discloses wherein each of the plurality of discharge elements is configured such that the discharge element can discharge a droplet when the discharge element is energized (Abstract), and the driving force of the individual discharge element corresponds to an energization time for the discharge element (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the energization time of Ohnishi, with the method of Kobayashi, in order to adjust the ejection property of the nozzles with a practically scaled circuit configuration (¶0018), as taught by Ohnishi.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for allowability for Claim 4 is that applicants claimed invention includes wherein the criterion includes that a displacement amount of the landing position is equal to or less than a tolerable upper limit value in the first measurement pattern, and that the landing area is equal to or larger than a tolerable lower limit value in the second measurement pattern. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art.
Claims 5 and 6 are allowable because they depend from Claim 4.
Conclusion
/SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853