Claim 4 is cancelled. Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are pending and under examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/JP2022/021103 filed on 5/23/2022, which claims priority to US provisional application 63/192,366 filed on 5/24/2021.
Objections and Rejections Withdrawn
The objection over the title is withdrawn as applicant has provided an acceptable title that has some more detail.
The rejection under USC 112(a) – Scope of Enablement is withdrawn per applicant’s amendment and arguments to add “cancer”.
The rejection under USC 103 over Kasagi and Hu is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and arguments. Particularly Hu’s dose is higher and over a weekly schedule as compared to applicant’s amended claim.
The rejection under USC 103 over Kasagi, Hu and CN101185634A is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and arguments.
The rejections under obviousness type double patenting in view of Hu are withdrawn, however, due to amendment other references were added to teach the dosing limitation as obvious in regards to the cited patents and copending application.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward these rejections are moot. Applicant’s amendment to indicate a more restricted rate as well as limiting to only once every two weeks needed new search and consideration of the prior art.
New Rejections – As Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasagi WO 2018181963 (in applicant’s IDS) in view of Inspire (Ovarian Cancer, Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013 at 4:27 PM, https://www.inspire.com/groups/ovarian-cancer/discussion/topotecan-44/) and Morris et al (The Oncologist, 2002, volume 7, pages 29-35).
Kasagi teaches “a liposome composition and a pharmaceutical composition, which exhibit a high AUC. Provided are a liposome composition including a hydrophilic polymer-modified diacylphosphatidylethanolamine, a dihydrosphingomyelin, and cholesterols as components of a liposome membrane, in which the liposome composition encapsulates a drug, an inner water phase thereof contains ammonium sulfate, and a molar ratio of sulfate ions in the inner water phase to the drug in an entire water phase is 0.36 or more; and a pharmaceutical composition including the liposome composition” (abstract, claims 1-3 and 9 of Kasagi). Kasagi teaches the drug being topotecan in the formulation (claim 2 of Kasagi and examples 1-8 of Kasagi). Kasagi teaches “the dihydrosphingomyelin is dihydrosphingomyelin containing a long-chain alkyl group having 16 and 18 carbon atoms, and the encapsulating drug is topotecan or a salt thereof” (claim 9 of Kasagi). Kasagi teaches “wherein the hydrophilic polymer-modified diacylphosphatidylethanolamine is a polyethylene glycol- or methoxy polyethylene glycol-modified diacylphosphatidylethanolamine” (claim 4 of Kasagi). Kasagi teaches “wherein the percentage of cholesterols in the liposome is 35 to 43 mol %” (claim 6 of Kasagi). Kasagi provides for the composition being an anticancer composition and cancers including small cell lung cancer, breast cancer, prostate cancer, colon cancer, cervical cancer, childhood solid tumor, renal cancer and others. Kasagi teaches mice administered the formulations with topotecan lipsomes to calculate AUC (Measurement of AUC). Kasagi teaches administering to a mouse cancer model (subcutaneous transplant mouse model with human lung cancer cells (Efficacy test using A549…). Kasagi provides for tumor volume being measured from the start of administration (see figures 3 and 4). Kasagi teaches a pH of the outer aqueous phase being 5.5 to 8.5 (claim 8 of Kasagi). Kasagi teaches administered once a week twice (Efficacy test using A549…). In measure of AUC, area under the curve was found after a single administration (Measurement of AUC). Kasagi provides that dosage and number of administrations of doses can be set according to the type of drug. Kasagi provides for intravenous injection or infusion as a route of administration.
Kasagi does not teach administered at dose rate of 0.1 mg/m2 body surface area to 10 mg/m2 body surface area, in terms of topotecan per administration of claim 1. Kasagi does not teach for 5 minutes to 360 minutes in a single infusion administration of claim 11.
Inspire teaches the doctor changed a patients dose of topotecan from once a week for three weeks, followed by one week off for four week cycles to once every two weeks (Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013). Thus, doctors were able to change the time frame of administration.
Morris teaches alternate dosing schedules for topotecan in the treatment of ovarian cancer (title and abstract). Morris teaches IV bolus and intravenous infusions (abstract). Morris teaches dose regimens of 1.5 mg/m2/day as 30 minute IV bolus or 2.5 mg/m2 given as 30 minute IV infusion (first column and second column of page 31). Morris notes optimizations are made to increase efficacy, decrease toxicity and increase convenience of administration (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have provided a topotecan infusion dosage or IV bolus within the range of applicant’s claims for treating cancer as taught by Kasagi as Inspire recognizes a doctor can make adjustments to once every two weeks for topotecan while known administrations in Morris include 1.5 mg/m2 and 2.5 mg/m2 in treating ovarian cancer. Morris also recognizes the ability to optimize dosing regiments for better efficacy and less toxicity while also considering patient convenience. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in administering Kasagi’s formulations by teachings of Inspire and Morris to patients with cancer to have efficacy against the cancer while having tolerable toxicity.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasagi WO 2018181963 (in applicant’s IDS) in view of Inspire (Ovarian Cancer, Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013 at 4:27 PM, https://www.inspire.com/groups/ovarian-cancer/discussion/topotecan-44/); Morris et al (The Oncologist, 2002, volume 7, pages 29-35) and CN101185634A (provided with Google English translation).
Kasagi, Inspire and Morris teach the claims as discussed above.
Kasagi, Inspire and Morris do not teach all the cancers provided in the group of the claims. This rejection is to provide other species of cancer where topotecan would help treat.
CN ‘634 teaches a formulation with topotecan as the active (abstract). CN ‘634 provides for treating skin carcinoma and cerebral tumor among others (English translation and claim 10 of ‘634). Cerebral is a portion of the brain.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have utilized the topotecan formulation of Kasagi in subjects with various cancers including skin carcinomas and cerebral cancers/tumors seen as treatable with topotecan formulations with the reasonable expectation of success in treating such cancers using methods motivated by Kasagi, Inspire and Morris.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-9, 12-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11413244 in view of Inspire (Ovarian Cancer, Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013 at 4:27 PM, https://www.inspire.com/groups/ovarian-cancer/discussion/topotecan-44/) and Morris et al (The Oncologist, 2002, volume 7, pages 29-35). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating cancer with a similar formulation of topotecan having similar liposomes. ‘244 provides the genus of cancer, and thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use this with patients affected by a cancer.
‘244 does not provide for intravenous infusion for a time range as claimed, particular cancers of the claims or the limitation of “administered at dose rate of 0.1 mg/m2 body surface area to 10 mg/m2 body surface area, in terms of topotecan per administration of claim 1”.
Inspire teaches the doctor changed a patients dose of topotecan from once a week for three weeks, followed by one week off for four week cycles to once every two weeks (Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013). Thus, doctors were able to change the time frame of administration.
Morris teaches alternate dosing schedules for topotecan in the treatment of ovarian cancer (title and abstract). Morris teaches IV bolus and intravenous infusions (abstract). Morris teaches dose regimens of 1.5 mg/m2/day as 30 minute IV bolus or 2.5 mg/m2 given as 30 minute IV infusion (first column and second column of page 31). Morris notes optimizations are made to increase efficacy, decrease toxicity and increase convenience of administration (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have provided a topotecan infusion dosage or IV bolus within the range of applicant’s claims to treating cancer of ‘244 as Inspire recognizes a doctor can make adjustments to once every two weeks for topotecan while known administrations in Morris include 1.5 mg/m2 and 2.5 mg/m2 in treating ovarian cancer. Morris also recognizes the ability to optimize dosing regiments for better efficacy and less toxicity while also considering patient convenience. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in administering ‘244’s formulations by teachings of Inspire and Morris to patients with cancer to have efficacy against the cancer while having tolerable toxicity.
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-11, 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11446247 in view of Inspire (Ovarian Cancer, Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013 at 4:27 PM, https://www.inspire.com/groups/ovarian-cancer/discussion/topotecan-44/) and Morris et al (The Oncologist, 2002, volume 7, pages 29-35). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating cancer with a similar formulation of topotecan having similar liposomes. ‘247 provides the genus of cancer, and thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use this with patients affected by a cancer.
‘247 does not provide for intravenous infusion for a time range as claimed, particular cancers of the claims or the limitation of “administered at dose rate of 0.1 mg/m2 body surface area to 10 mg/m2 body surface area, in terms of topotecan per administration of claim 1”.
Inspire teaches the doctor changed a patients dose of topotecan from once a week for three weeks, followed by one week off for four week cycles to once every two weeks (Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013). Thus, doctors were able to change the time frame of administration.
Morris teaches alternate dosing schedules for topotecan in the treatment of ovarian cancer (title and abstract). Morris teaches IV bolus and intravenous infusions (abstract). Morris teaches dose regimens of 1.5 mg/m2/day as 30 minute IV bolus or 2.5 mg/m2 given as 30 minute IV infusion (first column and second column of page 31). Morris notes optimizations are made to increase efficacy, decrease toxicity and increase convenience of administration (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have provided a topotecan infusion dosage or IV bolus within the range of applicant’s claims to treating cancer of ‘247 as Inspire recognizes a doctor can make adjustments to once every two weeks for topotecan while known administrations in Morris include 1.5 mg/m2 and 2.5 mg/m2 in treating ovarian cancer. Morris also recognizes the ability to optimize dosing regiments for better efficacy and less toxicity while also considering patient convenience. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in administering ‘247’s formulations by teachings of Inspire and Morris to patients with cancer to have efficacy against the cancer while having tolerable toxicity.
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-9, 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12370186 in view of Inspire (Ovarian Cancer, Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013 at 4:27 PM, https://www.inspire.com/groups/ovarian-cancer/discussion/topotecan-44/) and Morris et al (The Oncologist, 2002, volume 7, pages 29-35). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating cancer with a similar formulation of topotecan having similar liposomes. ‘186 provides the genus of cancer, and thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use this with patients affected by a cancer.
‘186 does not provide for intravenous infusion for a time range as claimed, particular cancers of the claims or the limitation of “administered at dose rate of 0.1 mg/m2 body surface area to 10 mg/m2 body surface area, in terms of topotecan per administration of claim 1”.
Inspire teaches the doctor changed a patients dose of topotecan from once a week for three weeks, followed by one week off for four week cycles to once every two weeks (Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013). Thus, doctors were able to change the time frame of administration.
Morris teaches alternate dosing schedules for topotecan in the treatment of ovarian cancer (title and abstract). Morris teaches IV bolus and intravenous infusions (abstract). Morris teaches dose regimens of 1.5 mg/m2/day as 30 minute IV bolus or 2.5 mg/m2 given as 30 minute IV infusion (first column and second column of page 31). Morris notes optimizations are made to increase efficacy, decrease toxicity and increase convenience of administration (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have provided a topotecan infusion dosage or IV bolus within the range of applicant’s claims to treating cancer of ‘186 as Inspire recognizes a doctor can make adjustments to once every two weeks for topotecan while known administrations in Morris include 1.5 mg/m2 and 2.5 mg/m2 in treating ovarian cancer. Morris also recognizes the ability to optimize dosing regiments for better efficacy and less toxicity while also considering patient convenience. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in administering ‘186’s formulations by teachings of Inspire and Morris to patients with cancer to have efficacy against the cancer while having tolerable toxicity.
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-9, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12370214 in view of Hu et al (Taiwanese Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Feb 2015, volume 54, pages 43-47). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating cancer with a similar formulation of topotecan having similar liposomes. ‘214 provides the genus of cancer, and thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use this with patients affected by a cancer.
‘214 does not provide for intravenous infusion for a time range as claimed, particular cancers of the claims or the limitation of “administered at dose rate of 0.1 mg/m2 body surface area to 10 mg/m2 body surface area, in terms of topotecan per administration of claim 1”.
Inspire teaches the doctor changed a patients dose of topotecan from once a week for three weeks, followed by one week off for four week cycles to once every two weeks (Borderline3 post from Sept 21, 2013). Thus, doctors were able to change the time frame of administration.
Morris teaches alternate dosing schedules for topotecan in the treatment of ovarian cancer (title and abstract). Morris teaches IV bolus and intravenous infusions (abstract). Morris teaches dose regimens of 1.5 mg/m2/day as 30 minute IV bolus or 2.5 mg/m2 given as 30 minute IV infusion (first column and second column of page 31). Morris notes optimizations are made to increase efficacy, decrease toxicity and increase convenience of administration (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have provided a topotecan infusion dosage or IV bolus within the range of applicant’s claims to treating cancer of ‘214 as Inspire recognizes a doctor can make adjustments to once every two weeks for topotecan while known administrations in Morris include 1.5 mg/m2 and 2.5 mg/m2 in treating ovarian cancer. Morris also recognizes the ability to optimize dosing regiments for better efficacy and less toxicity while also considering patient convenience. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in administering ‘214’s formulations by teachings of Inspire and Morris to patients with cancer to have efficacy against the cancer while having tolerable toxicity.
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9 of copending 18/516,010. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets provide for treating cancer with a similar formulation of topotecan having similar liposomes. ‘010 provides the species of Merkel cancer (a cancer of applicant’s claims), and thus, it would be seen for one of ordinary skill in the art to use this with patients affected by this cancer. ‘010 provides for intravenous administration and the dose rate of the applicant’s claims. Intravenous administration of ‘010 is a genus that includes injections and infusions.
This is a provisional double patenting rejection as the claims have not yet been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613