DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot due to the introduction of new references necessitated by amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (‘244) et al. (US 2023/0284244 A1; “Xu (‘244)”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2023/0108178 A1; “Xu (‘178)”).
Regarding claim 1, Xu (‘244) teaches a wireless communication method comprising generating or sending a message, comprising:
receiving, by a network node from a first one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message related to a tunnel configured to be shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including a DL TEID (i.e. tunnel information) and/or MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP; ¶ 0202: and upon the receipt of the UE Context Setup/Modification Response message or the MB context setup response message from the gNB-DU, the gNB-CU-CP may transmit a Bearer Context Modification Request message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update message or new message to the gNB-CU-UP (i.e. network node)];
wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit-User Plane (CU-UP) [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0152: gNB-CU-UP can be connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB-CU-CP, i.e., the gNB-CU-CP to which the gNB-CU-UP is connected and the multiple DUs are connected; see Fig. 9 shows gNB-DU1 and gNB-DU2 (i.e. plurality of wireless nodes) sharing same CU-CP/CU-UP].
However, Xu (‘244) does not explicitly disclose the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu (‘178) teaches the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0223, Fig. 17: the DU may configure MBS transmission area information (e.g., MBS cluster set) and send F1 Setup request message to the CU, wherein the F1 message may comprise MBS cluster set information, which may comprise at least one of cell IDs, TAI IDs, RAN area codes (RANACs), beam IDs or TRPs/TRP IDs (here, one of beam ID, TRP ID, cell ID, and/or RANACs would be interpreted as a RAN ID of the wireless communication node/DU)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of providing a DU initiated MBS configuration/setup procedure as taught by Xu (‘178). The motivation to combine these references would be to dynamically perform changing the MBS service areas based on DUs feedback information, thereby improving radio resource for multicast/broadcast efficiency and accuracy [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0015].
Regarding claim 10, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the network node from the first wireless communication node, the first message further comprising at least one of: information corresponding to a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session or information corresponding to the tunnel which has been established [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP and subsequently to gNB CU-UP; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references]; and
transmitting, by the network node to the first wireless communication node, a second message comprising at least one of: ID of the MBS session, information corresponding to the tunnel, or acknowledgement indication [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0204: the gNB-CU-UP may respond with a Bearer Context Modification Response message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update acknowledge (ACK) message or new message. The Bearer Context Modification Response message or gNB-CU-CP configuration update ACK message may include the Join Complete Indication to inform the gNB-CU-CP that joining the multicast group for the MBS is completed; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 13, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the network node from the first wireless communication node, the first message further comprising at least one of: a union RAN ID associated with the plurality of wireless communication nodes, information corresponding to the tunnel which has been established, or indication to reuse the tunnel, wherein the first wireless communication node has received, from a second of the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including MBS ID (i.e. session ID) and/or TEID (i.e. tunnel information) to the gNB-CU-CP (i.e. here the CU-CP is analogous to a first one of the wireless devices wherein the CU-CP has received a communication from another of the wireless nodes, e.g., a DU-gNB) and subsequently to the CU-UP; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references], at least one of:
information corresponding to a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or the Union RAN ID [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201: UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including MBS ID (i.e. session ID) and/or TEID (i.e. tunnel information); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references]; and
transmitting, by the network node to the first wireless communication node, a second message comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or acknowledgement indication [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0204: Bearer Context Modification Response message or gNB-CU-CP configuration update ACK message may include the Join Complete Indication to inform the gNB-CU-CP that joining the multicast group for the MBS is completed; Fig. 9: response at s604 includes MBS identity (i.e. session information)].
Regarding claim 16, Xu (‘244) teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a first one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes, to a network node, a first message related to a tunnel configured to be shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including a DL TEID (i.e. tunnel information) and/or MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP; ¶ 0202: and upon the receipt of the UE Context Setup/Modification Response message or the MB context setup response message from the gNB-DU, the gNBCU-CP may transmit a Bearer Context Modification Request message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update message or new message to the gNB-CU-UP (i.e. network node)];
wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit-User Plane (CU-UP) [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0152: gNB-CU-UP can be connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB-CU-CP, i.e., the gNB-CU-CP to which the gNB-CU-UP is connected and the multiple DUs are connected; see Fig. 9 shows gNB-DU1 and gNB-DU2 (i.e. plurality of wireless nodes) sharing same CU-CP/CU-UP].
However, Xu (‘244) does not explicitly disclose the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu (‘178) teaches the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0223, Fig. 17: the DU may configure MBS transmission area information (e.g., MBS cluster set) and send F1 Setup request message to the CU, wherein the F1 message may comprise MBS cluster set information, which may comprise at least one of cell IDs, TAI IDs, RAN area codes (RANACs), beam IDs or TRPs/TRP IDs (here, one of beam ID, TRP ID, cell ID, and/or RANACs would be interpreted as a RAN ID of the wireless communication node/DU)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of providing a DU initiated MBS configuration/setup procedure as taught by Xu (‘178). The motivation to combine these references would be to dynamically perform changing the MBS service areas based on DUs feedback information, thereby improving radio resource for multicast/broadcast efficiency and accuracy [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0015].
Regarding claim 17, Xu (‘244) teaches a wireless communication node, comprising:
at least one processor [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0082: processor 102 may control the memory 104 and/or the transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement the methods described in the present disclosure] configured to:
send, via a transmitter to a network node, a first message related to a tunnel configured to be shared by a plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including a DL TEID (i.e. tunnel information) and/or MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP; ¶ 0202: and upon the receipt of the UE Context Setup/Modification Response message or the MB context setup response message from the gNB-DU, the gNBCU-CP may transmit a Bearer Context Modification Request message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update message or new message to the gNB-CU-UP (i.e. network node)];
wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit- User Plane (CU-UP) [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0152: gNB-CU-UP can be connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB-CU-CP, i.e., the gNB-CU-CP to which the gNB-CU-UP is connected and the multiple DUs are connected; see Fig. 9 shows gNB-DU1 and gNB-DU2 (i.e. plurality of wireless nodes) sharing same CU-CP/CU-UP], and
includes the wireless communication node [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0114, Fig. 5: a gNB may include a gNB-CU (hereinafter, gNB-CU may be simply referred to as CU) and at least one gNB-DU (hereinafter, gNB-DU may be simply referred to as DU)].
However, Xu (‘244) does not explicitly disclose the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu (‘178) teaches the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0223, Fig. 17: the DU may configure MBS transmission area information (e.g., MBS cluster set) and send F1 Setup request message to the CU, wherein the F1 message may comprise MBS cluster set information, which may comprise at least one of cell IDs, TAI IDs, RAN area codes (RANACs), beam IDs or TRPs/TRP IDs (here, one of beam ID, TRP ID, cell ID, and/or RANACs would be interpreted as a RAN ID of the wireless communication node/DU)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of providing a DU initiated MBS configuration/setup procedure as taught by Xu (‘178). The motivation to combine these references would be to dynamically perform changing the MBS service areas based on DUs feedback information, thereby improving radio resource for multicast/broadcast efficiency and accuracy [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0015].
Regarding claim 18, Xu (‘244) teaches a network node, comprising:
at least one processor [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0082: processor 102 may control the memory 104 and/or the transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement the methods described in the present disclosure] configured to:
receive, via a receiver from a first one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message related to a tunnel configured to be shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including a DL TEID (i.e. tunnel information) and/or MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP; ¶ 0202: and upon the receipt of the UE Context Setup/Modification Response message or the MB context setup response message from the gNB-DU, the gNBCU-CP may transmit a Bearer Context Modification Request message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update message or new message to the gNB-CU-UP (i.e. network node)];
wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit- User Plane (CU-UP) [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0152: gNB-CU-UP can be connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB-CU-CP, i.e., the gNB-CU-CP to which the gNB-CU-UP is connected and the multiple DUs are connected; see Fig. 9 shows gNB-DU1 and gNB-DU2 (i.e. plurality of wireless nodes) sharing same CU-CP/CU-UP].
However, Xu (‘244) does not explicitly disclose the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu (‘178) teaches the first message comprising at least a random access node identification (RAN ID) of the first one of the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0223, Fig. 17: the DU may configure MBS transmission area information (e.g., MBS cluster set) and send F1 Setup request message to the CU, wherein the F1 message may comprise MBS cluster set information, which may comprise at least one of cell IDs, TAI IDs, RAN area codes (RANACs), beam IDs or TRPs/TRP IDs (here, one of beam ID, TRP ID, cell ID, and/or RANACs would be interpreted as a RAN ID of the wireless communication node/DU)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of providing a DU initiated MBS configuration/setup procedure as taught by Xu (‘178). The motivation to combine these references would be to dynamically perform changing the MBS service areas based on DUs feedback information, thereby improving radio resource for multicast/broadcast efficiency and accuracy [Xu (‘178) ¶ 0015].
Claim(s) 2 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) in view of Akl et al. (US 2021/0152515 A1; “Akl”).
Regarding claim 2, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the network node from the first wireless communication node, the first message comprising at least one of: the Union RAN ID or information corresponding to a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP and subsequently to gNB CU-UP; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references]; and
determining, by the network node, whether the tunnel satisfies the information corresponding to the MBS session [Xu (‘244) ¶¶ 0203-204: on receiving the Bearer Context Modification Request message or the gNB-CU-CP configuration update message from the gNB-CU-CP, the gNB-CU-UP may perform a multicast listener discover (MLD)/internet group management protocol (IGMP) Join for the MBS indicated by the MBS Identity along with a MB-UPF and the gNB-CU-UP may respond with a Bearer Context Modification Response message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update acknowledge (ACK) message or new message. The Bearer Context Modification Response message or gNB-CU-CP configuration update ACK message may include the Join Complete Indication to inform the gNB-CU-CP that joining the multicast group for the MBS is completed (here, the MLD/IGMP is analogous to a determination of whether a tunnel corresponding to the MBS may be established)].
However, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes are associated with a Union Random Access Node Identification (Union RAN ID).
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Akl teaches wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes are associated with a Union Random Access Node Identification (Union RAN ID) [Akl ¶ 0104: gNB identifier may be common for all IAB donor DUs and IAB node DUs served by an IAB donor CU-CP of a gNB].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of organizing distributed units served by a same CU-UP to have a common network ID as taught by Akl. The motivation to combine these references would be to provide support for dynamic network topologies thereby reducing latency and service interruptions in a wireless communication system [Akl ¶ 0085].
Regarding claim 19, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) teaches the network node of claim 18, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, via the receiver from the first wireless communication node, the first message further comprising at least one of: the Union RAN ID or information corresponding to a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP and subsequently to gNB CU-UP; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references]; and
determine whether the tunnel satisfies the information corresponding to the MBS session [Xu (‘244) ¶¶ 0203-204: on receiving the Bearer Context Modification Request message or the gNB-CU-CP configuration update message from the gNB-CU-CP, the gNB-CU-UP may perform a multicast listener discover (MLD)/internet group management protocol (IGMP) Join for the MBS indicated by the MBS Identity along with a MB-UPF and the gNB-CU-UP may respond with a Bearer Context Modification Response message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update acknowledge (ACK) message or new message. The Bearer Context Modification Response message or gNB-CU-CP configuration update ACK message may include the Join Complete Indication to inform the gNB-CU-CP that joining the multicast group for the MBS is completed (here, the MLD/IGMP is analogous to a determination of whether a tunnel corresponding to the MBS may be established)].
However, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes are associated with a Union Random Access Node Identification (Union RAN ID).
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Akl teaches wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes are associated with a Union Random Access Node Identification (Union RAN ID) [Akl ¶ 0104: gNB identifier may be common for all IAB donor DUs and IAB node DUs served by an IAB donor CU-CP of a gNB].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of organizing distributed units served by a same CU-UP to have a common network ID as taught by Akl. The motivation to combine these references would be to provide support for dynamic network topologies thereby reducing latency and service interruptions in a wireless communication system [Akl ¶ 0085].
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) in view of Xu et al. (US 2022/0132626 A1; “Xu (‘626)”).
Regarding claim 5, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) teaches the wireless communication method of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless communication node maintains an RAN list that comprises a global RAN ID shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes, or a plurality of specific RAN IDs respectively associated with the plurality of wireless communication nodes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Xu (‘626) teaches wherein the wireless communication node maintains an RAN list that comprises a global RAN ID shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes, or a plurality of specific RAN IDs respectively associated with the plurality of wireless communication nodes [Xu (‘626) ¶ 0190: CU-CP may receive, from one or more CU-Ups (i.e. network node), a list of CAG IDs supported by each of the one or more CU-Ups (here, a CU-UP node that transmits a CAG list would implicitly have stored the CAG list prior to transmission); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of storing RAN IDs for an associated bearer as taught by Xu (‘626). The motivation to combine these references would be to provide support for area limited service deployment to provide high-quality differentiated services [Xu (‘626) ¶ 0005].
Regarding claim 6, Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) in view of Xu (‘626) teaches the wireless communication method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving, by the network node from the first wireless communication node, the first message comprising at least one of: the specific RAN ID of the first wireless communication node, or information corresponding to a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session [Xu (‘244) ¶ 0201, Fig. 9: gNB-DU (i.e. one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes) may transmit a UE Context Setup/Modification Response message, the MB context setup response message or new message including MBS ID (i.e. session ID) to the gNB-CU-CP and subsequently to gNB CU-UP; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative, therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references]; and
determining, by the network node, whether the tunnel satisfies the information corresponding to the MBS session [Xu (‘244) ¶¶ 0203-204: on receiving the Bearer Context Modification Request message or the gNB-CU-CP configuration update message from the gNB-CU-CP, the gNB-CU-UP may perform a multicast listener discover (MLD)/internet group management protocol (IGMP) Join for the MBS indicated by the MBS Identity along with a MB-UPF and the gNB-CU-UP may respond with a Bearer Context Modification Response message, gNB-CU-CP configuration update acknowledge (ACK) message or new message. The Bearer Context Modification Response message or gNB-CU-CP configuration update ACK message may include the Join Complete Indication to inform the gNB-CU-CP that joining the multicast group for the MBS is completed (here, the MLD/IGMP is analogous to a determination of whether a tunnel corresponding to the MBS may be established)].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (‘244) in view of Xu (‘178) in view of Kim (US 2019/0069333 A1; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 11, Xu (‘244) teaches the wireless communication method of claim 10, however, does not explicitly disclose further comprising: removing, by the network node, from an RAN list, the RAN ID of the first wireless communication node.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches removing, by the network node, from an RAN list, the RAN ID of the first wireless communication node [Kim ¶ 0146: the CU-CP 940 sends a bearer context release command message to the source CU-UP 930 (S950). The source CU-UP 920 deletes/releases the bearer context according to the corresponding message and sends a bearer context release complete message to the CU-CP 940].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of requesting MBS session setup associated with a shared tunnel as taught by Xu (‘244), with the method of updating stored bearer context information in a CU-UP as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these references would be to provide support UE mobility between Dus in a 5G communication network [Kim ¶¶ 0004-0006].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-9, 12, 14-15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474