DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (EP 4262122 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 15, Yu et al. (EP 4262122 A1) teaches, a method comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication device from a wireless communication node, a message that includes an indication, wherein the indication is to indicate a plurality of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (see paragraphs 339-344 figure 26, step s410; network device sends indication information to the terminal device; see paragraph 117; A DMRS position in frequency domain is determined based on the two configuration types. The configuration type 1 uses a comb plus orthogonal cover code (orthogonal cover code, OCC) structure, and the configuration type 2 uses a frequency division plus OCC structure. The configuration type 1 and the configuration type 2 may each correspond to a single-symbol (single-symbol) case and a double-symbol (double-symbol) case) having a length of 4 in one code division multiplex (CDM) group (see tables 1 and 2), mapping on a plurality of non-continuous resources (see figures 2, 13 and 14 for examples of the CDM groups having non continuous resources), wherein the plurality of non-continuous resources comprise: two groups of resource elements comprised in the plurality of non-continuous resources, wherein the two groups of resource elements are non-continuous with respect to each other over one OFDM symbol, each of the two groups of resource elements comprising two resource elements (see figure 2, configuration type 1 single symbol; this shows non-continuous over one symbol): or four resource elements comprised in the plurality of non-continuous resources, wherein the four resource elements are non-continuous with respect to each other over one OFDM symbol (see figure 2, configuration type 2 double symbol; this shows non-continuous over one symbol), and wherein: when a DMRS is over single orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, the plurality of DMRS ports in the one CDM group has up to 4 DMRS ports over 4 resource elements (REs) (see figure 2, configuration type 2, single symbol): and when a DMRS is over two continuous OFDM symbols, the plurality of DMRS ports in the one CDM group has up to 8 DMRS ports over 8 REs (see figure 2, configuration type 2, double symbol).
In regards to claims 2 and 16, Yu teaches, comprising: receiving, by the wireless communication device from the wireless communication node, the DMRS that is modulated according to a length of the OCC (see table 1 on page 11, the correspondence between an index of the DMRS port, a CDM group and OCC code).
In regards to claims 3 and 17, Yu teaches, comprising: transmitting, by the wireless communication device to the wireless communication node, the DMRS that is modulated according to a length of the OCC (see table 1 on page 11, the correspondence between an index of the DMRS port, a CDM group and OCC code).
In regards to claims 4 and 18, Yu teaches, comprising: modulating, by the wireless communication device based on the indication, the plurality of DMRS ports according to the OCC having the length of 4, in the one CDM group; and mapping, by the wireless communication device, the modulated plurality of DMRS ports associated with the OCC in the one CDM group on the plurality of non-continuous resources, wherein the plurality of non-continuous resources comprises the two groups of resource elements that are non-continuous with respect to each other (see figure 2, configuration type 2 single symbol where each CDM group has two groups of resource elements that are non-continuous with respect to each other).
In regards to claims 5 and 19, Yu teaches, wherein resources in each of the at least two groups of resource elements are continuous with respect to each other, the resources comprising the two resource elements (see figure 2, configuration type 2 single symbol where each CDM group has two groups of resource elements that are non-continuous with respect to each other and each group has two REs that are continuous).
In regards to claim 6, Yu teaches, wherein the OCC, when having a length of 4, comprises at least one of: [1,1,1,1]; [1,1,-1,-1]; [1,-1,1,-1]; or [1,-1,-1,1] (see table 1).
In regards to claims 8 and 9, Yu teaches, wherein for DMRS type-1 over one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the DMRS, a code division multiplex (CDM) CDM group is mapped across at least two resource blocks (RBs) and wherein the at least two RBs include at least two continuous physical RBs (see figure 2, configuration type 1 double-symbol).
In regards to claim 10, Yu teaches, wherein for DMRS type-1 over one orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the DMRS, a number of scheduled resource blocks (RBs) for one continuous scheduling over frequency domain is even (see figure 2, every CDM group have even number of resource blocks in the frequency domain).
In regards to claim 11, Yu teaches, wherein the indication is conveyed to the wireless communication device by at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a downlink control information (DCI) signaling (see paragraph 340; The indication information indicates a scheduled DMRS port, or the indication information indicates a DMRS port configured by the network device. For example, the indication information may be sent by using DCI).
In regards to claim 12, Yu teaches, the indication of the plurality of DMRS ports is conveyed by the DCI signaling, by one bit on a field (see paragraph 246; a value of M may be indicated by one bit in the DCI. For example, when a bit value is 0, it indicates that N=4; or when a bit value is 1, it indicates that N=8).
In regards to claim 13, Yu teaches, wherein the RRC signaling configures: an enable of the DMRS ports to apply the OCC in the one CDM group mapping on the plurality of non-continuous resources (see paragraph 231; a value of N may be configured by using radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) signaling or downlink control information (downlink control information, DCI). Alternatively, a value set may be configured by using RRC signaling, and a specific value of N in the value set is indicated by DCI. For example, different values of N are indicated by different status values of a field. For example, if the value set configured by using the RRC signaling is {4, 8}, a value of M may be indicated by one bit in the DCI. For example, when a bit value is 0, it indicates that N=4; or when a bit value is 1, it indicates that N=8).
In regards to claims 14 and 20, Yu teaches, a method comprising: determining, by a wireless communication node, an indication of a plurality of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports associated with an orthogonal cover code (OCC) (see paragraphs 339-344 figure 26, step s410; network device sends indication information to the terminal device; see paragraph 117; A DMRS position in frequency domain is determined based on the two configuration types. The configuration type 1 uses a comb plus orthogonal cover code (orthogonal cover code, OCC) structure, and the configuration type 2 uses a frequency division plus OCC structure. The configuration type 1 and the configuration type 2 may each correspond to a single-symbol (single-symbol) case and a double-symbol (double-symbol) case) having a length of 4 in one code division multiplex (CDM) group (see tables 1 and 2), mapping on a plurality of non-continuous resources (see figures 2, 13 and 14 for examples of the CDM groups having non continuous resources); and transmitting, by the wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a message that includes the indications wherein the plurality of non-continuous resources comprise: two groups of resource elements comprised in the plurality of non-continuous resources, wherein the two groups of resource elements are non-continuous with respect to each other over one OFDM symbol, each of the two groups of resource elements comprising two resource elements (see figure 2, configuration type 1 single symbol; this shows non-continuous over one symbol); or four resource elements comprised in the plurality of non-continuous resources, wherein the four resource elements are non-continuous with respect to each other over one OFDM symbol (see figure 2, configuration type 2 double symbol; this shows non-continuous over one symbol), and wherein: when a DMRS is over single orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, the plurality of DMRS ports in the one CDM group has up to 4 DMRS ports over 4 resource elements (REs) (see figure 2, configuration type 2, single symbol); and when a DMRS is over two continuous OFDM symbols, the plurality of DMRS ports in the one CDM group has up to 8 DMRS ports over 8 REs (see figure 2, configuration type 2, double symbol).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/23/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466