DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-30 have been examined and are pending.
Specification
3. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-5, 10, 11, 13-17, 21, 22, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0295455 A1 to Horn et al. (hereinafter “Horn”) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0140945 A1 to Hong et al. (hereinafter “Hong”).
Regarding Claim 1, Horn discloses a user equipment (UE) (Horn: Figure 9 with [0025], [0111-0113]), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Horn: Figure 9, elements 902, 903 with [0111-0113] – logic/components for storing instructions.); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Horn: Figure 9 – element 280 with [0111-0113] – corresponds to controller/processor coupled to transmit/receive logic, elements 902, 903, that include code or non-transitory instructions.), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network entity, a capability message indicating a polar decoding capability of the UE (Horn: Figure 3 (step 302) with [0061-0063], [0086] – UE transmits its capability to decode (decoders supported by UE), wherein one type of decoding includes polar code-based decoding.);
receive, from the network entity and based at least in part on the capability message, control signaling indicating a polar code scheme (Horn: Figure 3 (step 306) with [0061-0063], [0076-0085] – a waveform, a decoder, or both is signaled from the base station to the UE as downlink control signaling, that should be used for wireless communication between the UE and base station and necessarily includes control signaling to use a polar decoder.).
Although Horn explicitly discloses communicating according to a particular waveform and the use of control signaling to indicate to the UE to use a polar decoder, either by UE’s signaling of a capability or the UE sending a request to use a particular decoder (i.e., polar; see Figures 3 and 4 with [0061-0104]), Horn does not expressly disclose receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme.
However, this feature cannot be considered to be new or novel in the presence of Hong. Hong is similarly concerned with capability signaling for the purpose of determining proper decoding, particular to polar encoding/decoding (Hong: [0003]). Hong at least discloses signaling, from a user equipment (UE) to a network controller, the UE’s ability to support polar decoding (Hong: [0121] – a WTRU (corresponding to a UE) is operable to indicate via uplink signaling to a network node (i.e., base station, network device) its capability to support polar decoding.) and to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme (Hong: [0121-0126] – corresponds to, prior to receiving a packet for decoding, a network node transmits to the WTRU downlink control signaling including polar decoding scheme comprising a number of component codes, coding indices, and grouping of indices for the purpose of polar decoding wireless communications between the network node and WTRU. This information is based at least upon the polar decoding capability of the WTRU.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to:
decode the downlink message based at least in part on the polar code scheme (Hong: [0121-0122] – corresponds to determining, prior to the data transmission, the polar decoding scheme by dividing the polar code into multiple components and determining an order according to an index.) and using a decoder in accordance with the polar decoding capability (Horn: Figure 3 (step 306) with [0061-0063], [0076-0085] – a waveform, a decoder, or both is signaled from the base station to the UE as downlink control signaling, that should be used for wireless communication between the UE and base station and necessarily includes control signaling to use a polar decoder.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to decode the downlink message based at least in part on the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein Hong further discloses the polar code scheme comprises an indication of a set of frozen bit channels for a polar code (Hong: [0076-0084] – polar code construction includes determining one or more frozen bits per the index value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to determine the polar code scheme comprising an indication of a set of frozen bit channels for a polar code for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein Hong further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to receive the control signaling indicating the polar code scheme by being individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
receive the control signaling indicating a selected index from a set of indices (Hong: [0076-0086], [0121-0122] – corresponds to receiving an index for a component code or code construction, in terms of decoding using polar decoding capabilities.), wherein the set of indices are associated with a respective set of polar code schemes, and wherein the selected index is associated with the polar code scheme (Hong: [0121-0124] – corresponds to transmission phase in which the determined index identifies the component polar codes (in an order), and a receiver decodes according to the same order.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to determine the polar code scheme according to an index for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein Hong further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the capability message indicating the polar decoding capability by being individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
transmit the capability message indicating a list size of a list decoder (Horn: corresponds to an successive cancellation list (SCL) decoder comprising a best list of a plurality of list paths.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to transmit the capability message indicating a list size of a list decoder for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein Hong further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the capability message indicating the polar decoding capability by being individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
transmit an indication of one or more suggested polar code schemes (Hong: [0121-0126] – corresponds to, prior to receiving a packet for decoding, a network node transmits to the WTRU downlink control signaling including polar decoding scheme comprising a number of component codes, coding indices, and grouping of indices, or any combination thereof, for the purpose of polar decoding wireless communications between the network node and WTRU. This information is based at least upon the polar decoding capability of the WTRU. [0121-0124] – corresponds to transmission phase in which the determined index identifies the component polar codes (in an order), and a receiver decodes according to the same order.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 10, wherein Hong further discloses the polar code scheme is one of the one or more suggested polar code schemes (Hong: [0121-0126] – corresponds to, prior to receiving a packet for decoding, a network node transmits to the WTRU downlink control signaling including polar decoding scheme comprising a number of component codes, coding indices, and grouping of indices, or any combination thereof, for the purpose of polar decoding wireless communications between the network node and WTRU. This information is based at least upon the polar decoding capability of the WTRU. [0121-0124] – corresponds to transmission phase in which the determined index identifies the component polar codes (in an order), and a receiver decodes according to the same order.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein Hong further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to receive the downlink message by being individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
receive the downlink message via a downlink shared channel or a downlink control channel (Hong: [0121] – control messages are communicated over PDCCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Regarding Claim 14, Horn discloses a network entity (Horn: Figure 10 with [0026] – a base station), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Horn: Figure 10, elements 1002, 1003 with [0114-0116] – logic/components for storing instructions.); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Horn: Figure 10 – element 240 with [0114-0116] – corresponds to controller/processor coupled to transmit/receive logic, elements 1002, 1003, that include code or non-transitory instructions.), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to:
obtain, from a user equipment (UE), a capability message indicating a polar decoding capability of the UE (Horn: Figure 3 (step 302) with [0061-0063], [0086] – UE transmits its capability to decode (decoders supported by UE), wherein one type of decoding includes polar code-based decoding.);
output, to the UE and based at least in part on the capability message, control signaling indicating a polar code scheme (Horn: Figure 3 (step 306) with [0061-0063], [0076-0085] – a waveform, a decoder, or both is signaled from the base station to the UE as downlink control signaling, that should be used for wireless communication between the UE and base station and necessarily includes control signaling to use a polar decoder.).
Although Horn explicitly discloses communicating according to a particular waveform and the use of control signaling to indicate to the UE to use a polar decoder, either by UE’s signaling of a capability or the UE sending a request to use a particular decoder (i.e., polar; see Figures 3 and 4 with [0061-0104]), Horn does not expressly disclose receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme.
However, this feature cannot be considered to be new or novel in the presence of Hong. Hong is similarly concerned with capability signaling for the purpose of determining proper decoding, particular to polar encoding/decoding (Hong: [0003]). Hong at least discloses signaling, from a user equipment (UE) to a network controller, the UE’s ability to support polar decoding (Hong: [0121] – a WTRU (corresponding to a UE) is operable to indicate via uplink signaling to a network node (i.e., base station, network device) its capability to support polar decoding.) and to output, to the UE, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme (Hong: [0121-0126] – corresponds to, prior to receiving a packet for decoding, a network node transmits to the WTRU downlink control signaling including polar decoding scheme comprising a number of component codes, coding indices, and grouping of indices for the purpose of polar decoding wireless communications between the network node and WTRU. This information is based at least upon the polar decoding capability of the WTRU.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Claims 15-17, 21, 22, and 24, dependent upon claim 14, recite similar features as claims 3-5, 10, 11, and 13 and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 3-5, 10, 11, and 13. Please see above rejections of claims 3-5, 10, 11, and 13.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Horn and Hong discloses the network entity of claim 14, wherein Hong further discloses the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the network entity to:
encode the downlink message based at least in part on the polar code scheme (Hong: [0121] – the WTRU or network node, or both, are operable to encode and decode with respect to polar coding, and therefore the network node is operable to encode in the PDCCH.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the user equipment of Horn in view of the WTRU of Hong to receive, from the network entity, a downlink message encoded in accordance with the polar code scheme for the reasons of reducing complexity and latency in decoding (Hong: [0002]).
Claims 26-29, directed to a method embodiment of claims 1-4, recite similar features as claims 1-4 and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 1-4. Please see above rejections of claims 1-4.
Claim 30, directed to a method embodiment of claim 14, recite similar features as claim 14, and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 14. Please see above rejection of claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 6-9, 12, 18-20, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 December 22, 2025