DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument on page 14 is not persuasive as paragraph 81 explicitly teaches steering away from object A and steering toward object B.
Argument on page 15 is moot in view of updated rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 15-30, 32-35 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over D1 US 20110250928 A1 in view of D2 US 20020167862 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 28 D1 teaches
28. (New) A wireless device for beamsteering to form an antenna pattern that avoids one or more objects(fig. 8 A and B for example according to 0081 user body is at the position A), comprising:
one or more sensors([0023], [0041-0046]) for detecting an orientation of said wireless device relative to the one or more objects( [0081] of user body is detected+[0023]to steer away from user body) in a three dimensional space;[0081]
one or more processors(134) communicatively coupled to said one or more sensors; and
one or more steerable antennas(40) communicatively coupled to said one or more processors,(134)
wherein the one or more steerable antennas are configured to transmit or receive energy using an adjustable antenna pattern, wherein said adjustable antenna pattern accentuates energy in particular directions while simultaneously attenuating the energy in other directions by providing nulls,[0080][0081](If external body detected at point A fig. 8 it steer away from A {providing nulls} while steering toward B 142 by maximizing signal strength at B )
wherein the energy is transmitted or received at one or more frequencies in a range of 10 GHz to 500 GHz,[0034]
wherein said one or more processors are configured to:
receive information from said one or more sensors pertaining to said orientation in the three dimensional space;[0042]
detect, based at least in part on first received information from said one or more sensors, proximity in the three dimensional space;[0081](implicit / obvious [0042])(Although does not teach using echolocation obtaining orientation of the object [0081] explicitly teaches obtaining orientation similarly [0023] teaches steering away which means that orientation should be obtained)
compute or select, based on the first orientation, a first antenna pattern for the one or more steerable antennas that accentuates the energy in a direction that supports a communication link while attenuating the energy in spatial
zones or directions corresponding with at least some of the one or more objects in the three dimensional space;[0081]
cause the one or more steerable antennas to operate using the first antenna pattern;[0081]
detect, based at least in part on second received information from said one or more sensors, a second orientation of the wireless device relative to the one or more objects in the three dimensional space, wherein the second orientation differs from the first orientation;
compute or select, based on the second orientation, a second antenna pattern for the one or more steerable antennas that accentuates the energy in a direction that maintains the communication link while attenuating the energy in spatial zones or directions corresponding with at least some of the one or more objects in the three dimensional space; and adjust the one or more steerable antennas to change from the first antenna pattern to the second antenna pattern.
Wherein said one or more steerable antennas operate[[s]] on one or multiple bands and transmit or receive energy in the first antenna pattern or the second antenna pattern at one or more frequencies in a range of 10GHz to 500GHz. [0034]
But does not explicitly teach
That the sensors detect first orientation of the wireless device
detect, based at least in part on second received information from said one or more sensors, a second orientation of the wireless device relative to the one or more objects in the three dimensional space, wherein the second orientation differs from the first orientation;
compute or select, based on the second orientation, a second antenna pattern for the one or more steerable antennas that accentuates the energy in a direction that maintains the communication link while attenuating the energy in spatial zones or directions corresponding with at least some of the one or more objects in the three dimensional space; and
adjust the one or more steerable antennas to change from the first antenna pattern to the second antenna pattern.
D2 teaches using echolocation obtaining the direction[0004]+[0043]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order to provide direction to the object which needs to be shielded from radiation as required in D1.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
detect, based at least in part on second received information from said one or more sensors, a second orientation of the wireless device relative to the one or more objects in the three dimensional space, wherein the second orientation differs from the first orientation;
compute or select, based on the second orientation, a second antenna pattern for the one or more steerable antennas that accentuates the energy in a direction that maintains the communication link while attenuating the energy in spatial zones or directions corresponding with at least some of the one or more objects in the three dimensional space; and
adjust the one or more steerable antennas to change from the first antenna pattern to the second antenna pattern
One can consider this as simple as repetition of the steps during two different activations of the device. Or Incase the object A is moving just continuously tracking and repeating steering away operation for the new positions.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 in order to continuously steer away the beam from the moving object.
2, 22. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein said one or more sensors comprises one or more cameras, microphones, audio sensors, ultrasound sensors or transducers, range finders, capacitive sensors, gyroscopes, light detectors, or motion detectors. D1[0041-0046]
3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein detecting step the first orientation or the second orientation of the wireless device relative to the one or more objects in the three dimensional space comprises one or more of: capturing one or more images with at least one camera; detecting ambient light or blockage thereof with at least one light sensor;detecting motion of said wireless device with at least one gyroscope;detecting one or more of audio or ultrasonic signals relating to the respective first or second orientation of the wireless device relative to the one or more objects with one or more of a microphone, ultrasonic sensor, or ultrasonic transducer; and detecting relative positions of the one or more objects with at least one capacitive sensor. D1[0047-0048][0039],[0033] and D2[0004][0043]
4, 24. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising a step of receiving wireless signals, by the wireless device, arriving from one or more directions that are within said spatial zones [[of]] or directions corresponding with at least some of said one or more objects.(D1 [0045] echolocation is wireless signal ,at least D2[0004][0043] reflections of echo )
5, 18, 23. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, wherein the one or more steerable antennas are configured to operate using a transmitting antenna pattern that is different from a receiving antenna pattern used for receiving said wireless signals.(D1 implicit one is echolocation sound the second one is radio antenna)
6, 29. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein said one or more steerable antennas each comprises multiple antenna elements embedded in said wireless device.(D1: fig. 7)
7, 30. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 6, wherein adjusting said one or more steerable antennas comprises controlling at least one of: selection of some or all of the multiple antenna elements of the one or more steerable antennas for use in transmitting or receiving energy; D1 [0080,0081](controlling phase) adjustment of gain of one or more signals applied to some or all of the multiple antenna elements of the one or more steerable antennas for use in transmitting or receiving energy; or adjustment of phase of one or more signals applied to some or all of the multiple antenna elements of the one or more steerable antennas for use in transmitting or receiving energy.
10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein said one or more steerable antennas comprise[[s]] an antenna array. (D1: fig. 7)
11, 32. (Currently Amended) The method of claim [[10]] 1, wherein said one or more steerable antennas comprise[[s]] a multiple input and multiple output (MIMO) antenna . D1 [0077]
16. (Currently Amended) The wireless device of claim 15, wherein said one or more steerable antennas operate[[s]] on one or multiple bands D1 [0029]
19. (Currently Amended) The wireless device of claim 15, further comprising a transmitter[[,]] in communicatively[[on]] with coupled to said one or more steerable antennas, for transmitting wireless signals. (D1: Fig. 8)
17, 20. (Currently Amended) The wireless device of claim 15, further comprising a transceiver[[,]] in communicatively[[on]] with coupled to said one or more steerable antennas, for transmitting wireless signals, receiving wireless signals, or transmitting and receiving wireless signals. (D1: Fig. 8)
21. (Currently Amended) The wireless device of claim 15, wherein at least one of said one or more steerable antennas comprises a plurality of multiple antenna elements. (D1: Fig. 8)
25, 35. (New) The wireless device of claim 15, wherein the one or more objects include a person or a part of a person. D1[0081]
26, 17, 34. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein said one or more steerable antennas transmit or receive energy via one or more receivers, transmitters, or transceivers of the wireless device that are communicatively coupled to said one or more steerable antennas .D1 [0051]
27. (New) The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more objects include a person or a part of a person. D1[0081]
33. The wireless device of claim 28, wherein the energy is transmitted or received at two or more frequencies in the range of 10GHz to 500GHz simultaneously .D1 [0031-0034]
Claim 8, 31 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 and further in view of D3 US 20130237272 A1.
Regarding claim 8 D1 does not teach but D3 teaches
8, 31. (original) The method of claim1, wherein the object comprises a user of the wireless device. (abstract)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D3 in order to protect user from radiation .
Claims 9, 12-14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2.
Although D1 does not explicitly say structure
9. (original) The method of claim 1, wherein the object comprises some location in some specific direction remote from the wireless device. D1([0032] )
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 in order to prevent irradiation of the structure.
Although D1 does not explicitly say
12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim [[10]] 1, wherein said one or more steerable antennas are configured to use different antenna patterns in different time slots in over-the-air signaling.
13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 12, wherein: the first antenna pattern is used during a first time slot; and the second antenna pattern is used during a second time slot.
14. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, [[and]] wherein said steps of detecting the second orientation, determining the second antenna pattern, and adjusting said one or more steerable antennas are performed repeatedly over time.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 to use different patterns at different time slots in case object A is moving and device need to steer away from moving object or when devices activated at two different time slots and the detected object positioned at different relative directions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648