DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2024/0055458 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an image sensor, comprising: a substrate (102) having a first surface (102A) and a second surface (102B) opposing the first surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 35-37); a first color unit pixel (a color unit pixel CP1 such as a first green color unit pixel) including a first subpixel (Ga1), a second subpixel (Ga3) directly adjacent to the first subpixel in a first direction (a y-direction), a third subpixel (Ga4) directly adjacent to the second subpixel in a second direction (a x-direction) perpendicular to the first direction, and a fourth subpixel (Ga2) directly adjacent to the first subpixel in the second direction and the third subpixel in the first direction (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 32-35); a second color unit pixel (another color unit pixel CP1 such as a red color unit pixel) including four subpixels (R1-R4) arranged in a 2×2 matrix (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 32-35); a first pixel isolation trench (112) configured to separate the first color unit pixel and the second color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 40-41); a second pixel isolation trench (one section of 114 separating Ga1 and Ga3) configured to separate the first subpixel and the second subpixel of the first color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and 3C and paragraphs 40-41); and a third pixel isolation trench (118) on a point of intersection of the first to fourth subpixels of the first color unit pixel (Figs. 3A-3B and paragraphs 40-41), wherein the first color unit pixel is configured to detect first color light corresponding to a first wavelength (green light corresponding to a green light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the second color unit pixel is configured to detect second color light corresponding to a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (red light corresponding to a red light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the image sensor is configured to receive the first color light on the second surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 53-58), wherein the second pixel isolation trench extends from the first surface to the second surface (Fig. 3C), and wherein the third pixel isolation trench extends from the second surface to the first surface (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the second pixel isolation trench penetrates the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 3C), and wherein the third pixel isolation trench is spaced apart from the first surface (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the first pixel isolation trench penetrates the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 3C), and wherein the first pixel isolation trench connects to the second pixel isolation trench (Figs. 3A and 3D).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the third pixel isolation trench is spaced apart from the second pixel isolation trench (Figs. 3A-3D).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the second pixel isolation trench has a first length in the second direction (a length of 114 in the x-direction), and wherein the third pixel isolation trench has a second length in the second direction (a length of 118 in the x-direction) shorter than the first length (Figs. 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches further comprises a fourth pixel isolation trench (one section of 114 separating Ga3 and Ga4) separating the second subpixel and the third subpixel of the first color unit pixel, and wherein the fourth pixel isolation trench is connected to the first pixel isolation trench (Figs. 2-3A and 3C and paragraphs 40-41).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches further comprises a floating diffusion region (FD) on the first surface, and wherein the floating diffusion region vertically overlaps with the third pixel isolation trench (Figs. 3A-3B and paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches wherein the first pixel isolation trench includes silicon oxide and metal oxide (paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches an image sensor, comprising: a substrate (102) having a first surface (102A) and a second surface (102B) opposing the first surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 35-37); a first color unit pixel (a color unit pixel CP1 such as a first green color unit pixel) including a plurality of subpixels arranged in a 2×2 matrix in the substrate (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 32-35); a second color unit pixel (another color unit pixel CP1 such as a red color unit pixel) including a plurality of subpixels arranged in a 2×2 matrix in the substrate, wherein the second color unit pixel is disposed directly adjacent to the first color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 32-35); and a first pixel isolation trench (110) comprising: a first separation structure (112) around the first color unit pixel; a left separation structure (a left-side section of 114 in Fig. 3A) extending from a left boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel; a right separation structure (a right-side section of 114 in Fig. 3A) extending from a right boundary opposing the left boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel; a top separation structure (a top-side section of 114 in Fig. 3A) extending from a top boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel; and a bottom separation structure (a bottom-side section of 114 in Fig. 3A) extending from a bottom boundary opposing the top boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel (Fig. 3A and paragraphs 40-41), wherein the first color unit pixel is configured to detect first color light corresponding to a first wavelength (green light corresponding to a green light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the second color unit pixel is configured to detect second color light corresponding to a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (red light corresponding to a red light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the left, right, top, and bottom separation structures are connected to the first separation structure (Figs. 3A and 3D), wherein the first, left, right, top, and bottom separation structures are configured to penetrate the substrate (Figs. 3C-3D), wherein the left separation structure is spaced apart from the right separation structure (Fig. 3D), and wherein the top separation structure is spaced apart from the bottom separation structure (Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the first color unit pixel has a horizontal unit pixel length in a first direction, and wherein a length from the center of the first color unit pixel to an end of the left separation structure is shorter than ¼ of the horizontal unit pixel length (Fig. 3A and 3D).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the first color unit pixel has a vertical unit pixel length in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein a length from the center of the first color unit pixel to an end of the top separation structure is shorter than ¼ of the vertical unit pixel length (Fig. 3A and 3D).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches further comprises a second pixel isolation trench (118) within the first color unit pixel, wherein the second pixel isolation trench is spaced apart from the first pixel isolation trench, and wherein the second pixel isolation trench does not penetrate the substrate (118 is a doped isolation pillar) (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 40-47).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the second pixel isolation trench is on the center of the 4 subpixels arranged in a 2×2 matrix (Figs. 3A-3B and paragraphs 40-47).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches wherein the second pixel isolation trench extends from the second surface to the first surface (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches wherein the first pixel isolation trench extends from the first surface to the second surface (Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches further comprises a floating diffusion region (FD) on the first surface, and wherein the floating diffusion region vertically overlaps with the second pixel isolation trench (Figs. 3A-3B and paragraphs 38-39).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches an image sensor, comprising: a substrate (102) having a first surface (102A) and a second surface (102B) opposing the first surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 35-37); a plurality of interlayer insulating films (182A-182D) and a plurality of wiring layers (184) disposed on the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 51-52); a color filter (CF) and a micro lens (ML) disposed on the second surface of the substrate (Fig. 3B and paragraph 53-55); a first color unit pixel (a color unit pixel CP1 such as a first green color unit pixel) including a first subpixel (Ga1), a second subpixel (Ga3) directly adjacent to the first subpixel in a first direction (a y-direction), a third subpixel (Ga4) directly adjacent to the second subpixel in a second direction (a x-direction) perpendicular to the first direction, and a fourth subpixel (Ga2) directly adjacent to the first subpixel in the second direction and the third subpixel in the first direction (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 32-35); a second color unit pixel (another color unit pixel such as a red color unit pixel) including four subpixels (R1-R4) arranged in a 2×2 matrix (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 32-35); a first pixel isolation trench (112) configured to separate the first color unit pixel and the second color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 40-41); a second pixel isolation trench (one section of 114 separating Ga1 and Ga3) configured to separate the first subpixel and the second subpixel of the first color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and 3C and paragraphs 40-41); and a third pixel isolation trench (118) on a point of intersection of the first to fourth subpixels of the first color unit pixel (Figs. 3A-3B and paragraphs 40-41), wherein the first color unit pixel is configured to detect first color light corresponding to a first wavelength (green light corresponding to a green light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the second color unit pixel is configured to detect second color light corresponding to a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (red light corresponding to a red light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the image sensor is configured to receive the first color light on the second surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 53-58), wherein the second pixel isolation trench extends from the first surface to the second surface (Fig. 3C), and wherein the third pixel isolation trench extends from the second surface to the first surface (Fig. 3B).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huh et al. (US 2024/0153976 A1; hereinafter “Huh”).
Regarding claim 1, Huh teaches an image sensor, comprising: a substrate (102) having a first surface (102A) and a second surface (102B) opposing the first surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 26-28); a first color unit pixel (a color unit pixel CP1 such as a first green color unit pixel) including a first subpixel (Ga1), a second subpixel (Ga3) directly adjacent to the first subpixel in a first direction (a y-direction), a third subpixel (Ga4) directly adjacent to the second subpixel in a second direction (a x-direction) perpendicular to the first direction, and a fourth subpixel (Ga2) directly adjacent to the first subpixel in the second direction and the third subpixel in the first direction (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 24-27); a second color unit pixel (another color unit pixel CP1 such as a red color unit pixel) including four subpixels (R1-R4) arranged in a 2×2 matrix (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 24-27); a first pixel isolation trench (112) configured to separate the first color unit pixel and the second color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 31-32); a second pixel isolation trench (one section of 113/114 separating Ga1 and Ga3) configured to separate the first subpixel and the second subpixel of the first color unit pixel (Figs. 2-3A and paragraphs 31-32); and a third pixel isolation trench (118A) on a point of intersection of the first to fourth subpixels of the first color unit pixel (Figs. 3A-3B and paragraphs 37-38), wherein the first color unit pixel is configured to detect first color light corresponding to a first wavelength (green light corresponding to a green light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 32-33), wherein the second color unit pixel is configured to detect second color light corresponding to a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (red light corresponding to a red light wavelength) (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 24-25), wherein the image sensor is configured to receive the first color light on the second surface (Fig. 3B and paragraphs 55-58), wherein the second pixel isolation trench extends from the first surface to the second surface (Fig. 3C), and wherein the third pixel isolation trench extends from the second surface to the first surface (Fig. 3B).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0199660 A1; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches an image sensor, comprising: a substrate (100) having a first surface (100a) and a second surface (100b) opposing the first surface (Figs. 15-16 and paragraphs 41 and 109-113); a first color unit pixel (PXG such as PXG11) including a plurality of subpixels (PX11, PX12, PX21, and PX22) arranged in a 2×2 matrix in the substrate (Figs. 1, 15-16, and 21A and paragraphs 39-40 and 130-133); a second color unit pixel (PXG such as PXG12) including a plurality of subpixels (PX11, PX12, PX21, and PX22) arranged in a 2×2 matrix in the substrate (Figs. 1, 15-16, and 21A and paragraphs 39-40 and 130-133), wherein the second color unit pixel is disposed directly adjacent to the first color unit pixel (Fig. 21A); and a first pixel isolation trench (400 and 500) comprising: a first separation structure (400) around the first color unit pixel; a left separation structure (a left-side one of 500x) extending from a left boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel; a right separation structure (a right-side one of 500x) extending from a right boundary opposing the left boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel; a top separation structure (a top-side one of 500y) extending from a top boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel; and a bottom separation structure (a bottom-side one of 500y) extending from a bottom boundary opposing the top boundary of the first color unit pixel to the center of the first color unit pixel (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 41-43), wherein the first color unit pixel is configured to detect first color light corresponding to a first wavelength (PXG11 for red light corresponding to a red light wavelength) (Fig. 21A and paragraphs 130-133), wherein the second color unit pixel is configured to detect second color light corresponding to a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (PXG12 for green light corresponding to a green light wavelength) (Fig. 21A and paragraphs 130-133), wherein the left, right, top, and bottom separation structures are connected to the first separation structure (Fig. 1), wherein the first, left, right, top, and bottom separation structures are configured to penetrate the substrate (Fig. 16), wherein the left separation structure is spaced apart from the right separation structure (Fig. 1), and wherein the top separation structure is spaced apart from the bottom separation structure (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches wherein the first color unit pixel has a horizontal unit pixel length in a first direction (a horizontal length of PXG in DR1 as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein a length from the center of the first color unit pixel to an end of the left separation structure is shorter than ¼ of the horizontal unit pixel length (a horizontal length from CP to an end of the left-side one of 500x is shorter than ¼ of the horizontal length of PXG as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches wherein the first color unit pixel has a vertical unit pixel length in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (a vertical length of PXG in DR2 as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein a length from the center of the first color unit pixel to an end of the top separation structure is shorter than ¼ of the vertical unit pixel length (a vertical length from CP to an end of the top-side one of 500y is shorter than ¼ of the vertical length of PXG as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches wherein the first color unit pixel has a horizontal unit pixel length in a first direction (a horizontal length of PXG in DR1 as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the length from the center of the first color unit pixel to an end of the left separation structure is shorter than ¼ of the horizontal unit pixel length (a horizontal length from CP to an end of the left-side one of 500x is shorter than ¼ of the horizontal length of PXG as shown in Fig. 1).
While Lee does not explicitly teach that the length from the center of the first color unit pixel to the end of the left separation structure is shorter than ⅙ of the horizontal unit pixel length, it would have been obvious to adjust the length from the center of the first color unit pixel to the end of the left separation structure and/or the horizontal unit pixel length of the first color unit pixel by a routine experimentation to obtain the optimal ratio, including the claimed ratio of ¼, for obtaining the enhanced image quality of the image sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893