DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Erspamer et al. (US Pat. 9,789,909).
Regarding claim 1, Erspamer et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an off-road vehicle, the method comprising: preparing a ladder frame 50; attaching a vehicle front part 51 that includes a front panel 10 defining a front end 8 of a compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 56-Col. 5, line 1); attaching a vehicle rear part 56 that includes a rear panel 16 defining a rear end 14 of the compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 56-Col. 5, line 2); and attaching one or a plurality of seat row modules 202, 220, each of which includes a seat frame 212, 222 supporting a seat row having seats arranged side by side in a lateral direction of the vehicle and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 between the vehicle front part 51 and the vehicle rear part 54, to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 11-14; Col. 7, line 53-Col. 8, line 17), wherein the number of the one or plurality of seat row modules corresponds to the number of the seat rows included in a vehicle body, and the one or plurality of seat row modules 220 further include a pillar cross member 94, 224 which couples a pair of pillars 97, 226 respectively extending upward from outermost longitudinal portions 62, 63 of the ladder frame 50 and arranged side by side in the lateral direction of the vehicle and to which the seat frame 202, 222 is attached, and the seat row (see Figures 11-14; Col. 7, line 53-Col. 8, line 17). The pair of pillars 97, 226 are indirectly coupled to the outermost longitudinal portions 62, 63 of the ladder frame (see Figures 11-14).
Regarding claim 4, Erspamer et al. disclose the method of manufacturing the off-road vehicle of claim 1, wherein the preparing of the ladder frame 50 includes preparing the ladder frame 50 having a length in a longitudinal direction corresponding to the number of the seat rows included in the vehicle body (see Figures 1-7; Col. 7, line 53-Col. 8, line 17). The ladder frame 50 is prepared to have a length corresponding to a front and a rear seat row (see Col. 7, line 53-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erspamer et al. in view of Bergstrom et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0207418).
Regarding claim 2, Erspamer et al. disclose the method of manufacturing the off-road vehicle of claim 1.
Erspamer et al. fail to disclose the plurality of seat row modules attached to the ladder frame are common.
Bergstrom et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an off-road vehicle 10 (see claims 15-26), the method comprising: preparing a ladder frame 50; attaching a vehicle front part 40 that includes a front panel 480 defining a front end of a compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); attaching a vehicle rear part 44 that includes a rear panel 484 defining a rear end of the compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); and attaching one or a plurality of seat row modules 104, each of which includes a seat frame 220 supporting a seat row 248 having seats 250 arranged side by side in a lateral direction of the vehicle and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 between the vehicle front part 40 and the vehicle rear part 44, to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 13A-C, 24, 34; Paragraphs 118-120), wherein the number of the one or plurality of seat row modules corresponds to the number of the seat rows 248 included in a vehicle body 10A, 10B, 10C (see Figures 13A-C; Paragraphs 103-105). The vehicle is primarily used as a golf cart having several different modes and not used on roads, making it an “off-road vehicle” (see Paragraph 174). The plurality of seat row modules 104 attached to the ladder frame 50 are common (see Figure 24; Paragraph 119). Examiner uses Applicant’s definition of “common” as having “a common fundamental component”. Bergstrom et al. disclose the seat row modules 104 are “identical and interchangeable with each other” ensuring that they have a common fundamental component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the seat row modules of Erspamer et al. as common, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Bergstrom et al., to reduce manufacturing costs of the seat modules.
Regarding claim 5, Erspamer et al. disclose an off-road vehicle, comprising: a ladder frame 50; a vehicle front part 51 that includes a front panel 12 defining a front end 8 of a compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 56-Col. 5, line 1); a vehicle rear part 56 that includes a rear panel 16 defining a rear end 14 of the compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 56-Col. 5, line 2); and seat row modules 202, 220, each of which includes a seat frame 212, 222 supporting a seat row having seats arranged side by side in a lateral direction of the vehicle and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 between the vehicle front part 51 and the vehicle rear part 54 (see Figures 1-2 and 11-14; Col. 7, line 53-Col. 8, line 17), wherein each of the seat row modules 202, 220 further includes a pillar cross member 94, 224 which couples a pair of pillars 97, 226 respectively extending upward from outermost longitudinal portions 62, 63 of the ladder frame 50 and arranged side by side in the lateral direction of the vehicle and to which the seat frame 50 is attached, and the seat row (see Figures 1-2 and 11-14; Col. 7, line 53-Col. 8, line 17), and the seat row modules include a first seat row module 202 and a second seat row module 220 that is arranged behind the first seat row module (see Figures 1-2 and 11-14; Col. 7, lines 53-55). The pair of pillars 97, 226 are indirectly coupled to the outermost longitudinal portions 62, 63 of the ladder frame (see Figures 11-14).
Erspamer et al. fail to disclose the second seat row module includes a seat frame common with the seat frame of the first seat row module.
Bergstrom et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an off-road vehicle 10 (see claims 15-26), the method comprising: preparing a ladder frame 50; attaching a vehicle front part 40 that includes a front panel 480 defining a front end of a compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); attaching a vehicle rear part 44 that includes a rear panel 484 defining a rear end of the compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); and attaching one or a plurality of seat row modules 104, each of which includes a seat frame 220 supporting a seat row 248 having seats 250 arranged side by side in a lateral direction of the vehicle and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 between the vehicle front part 40 and the vehicle rear part 44, to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 13A-C, 24, 34; Paragraphs 118-120), wherein the number of the one or plurality of seat row modules corresponds to the number of the seat rows 248 included in a vehicle body 10A, 10B, 10C (see Figures 13A-C; Paragraphs 103-105). The vehicle is primarily used as a golf cart having several different modes and not used on roads, making it an “off-road vehicle” (see Paragraph 174). The plurality of seat row modules 104 attached to the ladder frame 50 are common (see Figure 24; Paragraph 119). Examiner uses Applicant’s definition of “common” as having “a common fundamental component”. Bergstrom et al. disclose the seat row modules 104 are “identical and interchangeable with each other” ensuring that they have a common fundamental component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the second seat row module seat frame of Erspamer et al. as common with the first seat row module seat frame, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Bergstrom et al., to reduce manufacturing costs of the seat frames.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-5 have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Url (US PG Pub 2014/0262583) discloses a modular off road vehicle having a plurality of seat row modules. Ida (US Pat 6,276,477) discloses a method for manufacturing a vehicle having a ladder frame, a front part, a rear part, and a variable length. Eastman (US Pat 5,401,056) discloses a modular off-road vehicle having a ladder frame, a front part and a rear part. Hammond, Jr. et al. (US Pat 11,767,060) disclose an off-road vehicle having a vehicle front part, a ladder frame, a seat row module, and a variable length. Proulx et al. (US Pat 9,889,777) disclose an off-road vehicle having a seat row module. Volz et al. (US Pat 6,375,247) disclose a vehicle having a front part, a rear part, and a seat module.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612