DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergstrom et al. (US PG Pub 2016/0207418).
Regarding claim 1, Bergstrom et al. disclose a method of manufacturing an off-road vehicle 10 (see claims 15-26), the method comprising: preparing a ladder frame 50; attaching a vehicle front part 40 that includes a front panel 480 defining a front end of a compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); attaching a vehicle rear part 44 that includes a rear panel 484 defining a rear end of the compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); and attaching one or a plurality of seat row modules 104, each of which includes a seat frame 220 supporting a seat row 248 having seats 250 arranged side by side in a lateral direction of the vehicle and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 between the vehicle front part 40 and the vehicle rear part 44, to the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 13A-C, 24, 34; Paragraphs 118-120), wherein the number of the one or plurality of seat row modules corresponds to the number of the seat rows 248 included in a vehicle body 10A, 10B, 10C (see Figures 13A-C; Paragraphs 103-105). The vehicle is primarily used as a golf cart having several different modes and not used on roads, making it an “off-road vehicle” (see Paragraph 174).
Regarding claim 2, Bergstrom et al. disclose the method of manufacturing the off-road vehicle of claim 1, wherein the plurality of seat row modules 104 attached to the ladder frame 50 are common (see Figure 24; Paragraph 119). Examiner uses Applicant’s definition of “common” as having “a common fundamental component”. Bergstrom et al. disclose the seat row modules 104 are “identical and interchangeable with each other” ensuring that they have a common fundamental component.
Regarding claim 3, Bergstrom et al. disclose the method of manufacturing the off-road vehicle of claim 1, wherein the one or plurality of seat row modules 104 further include a pillar cross member 210 which couples a pair of pillars 212 arranged side by side in the lateral direction of the vehicle and to which the seat frame 220 is attached, and the seat row 248 (see Figures 24, 34; Paragraphs 118-120). Merriam-Webster defines pillar as: “a firm upright support for a superstructure” or “a supporting, integral, or upstanding member or part”. The component 212 is a seat mount that is upright and supports the seat module 104 above it, meeting the definition of a pillar.
Regarding claim 4, Bergstrom et al. disclose the method of manufacturing the off-road vehicle of claim 1, wherein the preparing of the ladder frame 42 includes preparing the ladder frame 42 having a length in a longitudinal direction corresponding to the number of the seat rows included in the vehicle body 10 (see Figures 13A-C; Paragraphs 103-105).
Regarding claim 5, Bergstrom et al. disclose an off-road vehicle 10 comprising: a ladder frame 50; a vehicle front part 40 that includes a front panel 480 defining a front end of a compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); a vehicle rear part 44 that includes a rear panel 484 defining a rear end of the compartment and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 (see Figures 15, 46-47; Paragraphs 106, 143); and seat row modules 104, each of which includes a seat frame 220 supporting a seat row 248 having seats 250 arranged side by side in a lateral direction of the vehicle and is mounted on top of the ladder frame 50 between the vehicle front part 40 and the vehicle rear part 44 (see Figures 13A-C, 24, 34; Paragraphs 118-120), wherein the seat row modules 104 include a first seat row module 104 and a second seat row module 104 that is arranged behind the first seat row module 104 and includes a seat frame 220 common with the seat frame 220 of the first seat row module 104 (see Figures 13A, 14-16, 24, 34; Paragraphs 118-119). The vehicle is primarily used as a golf cart having several different modes and not used on roads, making it an “off-road vehicle” (see Paragraph 174).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Url (US PG Pub 2014/0262583) discloses a modular off road vehicle having a plurality of seat row modules. Ida (US Pat 6,276,477) discloses a method for manufacturing a vehicle having a ladder frame, a front part, a rear part, and a variable length. Eastman (US Pat 5,401,056) discloses a modular off-road vehicle having a ladder frame, a front part and a rear part. Hammond, Jr. et al. (US Pat 11,767,060) disclose an off-road vehicle having a vehicle front part, a ladder frame, a seat row module, and a variable length. Proulx et al. (US Pat 9,889,777) disclose an off-road vehicle having a seat row module. Volz et al. (US Pat 6,375,247) disclose a vehicle having a front part, a rear part, and a seat module. Espamer et al. (US Pat 9,789,909) disclose a utility vehicle having a seat row module.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612