Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant's amendment which was filed on 5/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 12, 14, 18, have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 21-34 have been added. Claims 1-34 are still pending in this application, with claims 1,14, 18, and 28 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 13-15, 17-19, 25-26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worley (US 9191742) in view of Liu (US 2020/0045490) in further view of York (US 2019/0289416).
Regarding claim 1, Worley teaches A system for enhancing an audio signal (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 1-6 “the remote computing resources 118 may enhance the audio sent to the device”) for rendering by an audio rendering system associated with a device (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 1-10, speaker 110), comprising circuitry configured to:
identify rendering system information of the audio rendering system associated with the device, wherein the rendering system information comprises data representative of a communication path of the audio signal (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” wherein the address to establish connection with the speaker is considered a communication path );
retrieve an audio enhancement of a plurality of audio enhancements (Worley Col 5 lines 60-67, “the audio-enhancement engine 132 may perform equalization to the audio, dynamic range modification, or the like, with these enhancements being based on the characteristics of the client device 106 (e.g., the type of speaker(s) on the device), the type of the audio, preferences of the user 104, and/or the like”), and wherein the audio enhancement is retrieved based at least in part on the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal (Worley figure 1, with BRI, the remote computing resource needs to determines which device/mac address to send the audio enhancement data to which is based on “data representative of the communication path of the audio signal”);
apply the retrieved audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal; and provide the enhanced audio signal to the audio rendering system (Worley Col 6 lines 15-20, “somehow altering an amplitude of at least one frequency (e.g., a band of frequencies) and/or the amplitude of the audio, the remote computing resources 118 may provide the enhanced audio to the client device 106 for output on the speaker(s) 110”), however does not explicitly teach wherein the audio enhancement includes an enhancement of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal, apply the retrieved audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device or the audio rendering system, wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied.
Liu teaches wherein the audio enhancement includes an enhancement of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal (Liu figure 6 ¶0063, “cardioid sound beams,” “time delay,” ¶0065 “crosstalk cancellation”), apply the retrieved audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device or the audio rendering system (Liu figure 6, orientation detection 610 and ¶0062), wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied (Liu ¶0032, “accelerometer or gyroscope,” “mobile device is capable of sensing its orientation relative to gravity.” It is implied that the device is sensing the orientation in real time with the accelerometer/gyroscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Liu to improve the known system of Worley to achieve the predictable result of stereo audio with minimal crosstalk (Liu ¶0017).
York further teaches wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied (York ¶0020, “An orientation sensor in the audio device can detect the orientation of the audio device relative to the shared feature points, substantially in real time, and pass this orientation information to the processor of the audio device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of York to improve the known system of Worley in view of Liu to achieve the predictable result of real-time results of audio processing with minimal delay.
Regarding claims 2, 15 and 19, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the communication path of the audio signal corresponds to a route on which the audio signal is transmitted to the audio rendering system (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” with BRI, determining the identity of the device for audio output can be considered determining a route on which the audio signal is transmitted).
Regarding claim 5, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the rendering system information includes a unique device identifier (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” with BRI, determine the identity of a device and how to process the audio based on that information can be considered data representative of a communication path of the audio signal).
Regarding claim 7, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the rendering system information includes a device class (Worley figure 1 and Col 5 lines 19-31, “the profiles 136 may identify the make, model, manufacturer, or frequency response of the speakers associated with the different client devices”).
Regarding claim 8, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the rendering system information includes at least one of a model identifier or a product identifier (Worley figure 1 and Col 5 lines 19-31, “the profiles 136 may identify the make, model, manufacturer, or frequency response of the speakers associated with the different client devices”).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the system is a part of the device (Worley figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Worley teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more processors configure the one or more processors to: identify rendering system information of an audio rendering system associated with a device, wherein the rendering system information comprises data representative of a communication path of an audio signal to be rendered by the audio rendering system (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” wherein the address to establish connection with the speaker is considered a communication path );
retrieve an audio enhancement including an enhancement of the audio signal (Worley Col 5 lines 60-67, “the audio-enhancement engine 132 may perform equalization to the audio, dynamic range modification, or the like, with these enhancements being based on the characteristics of the client device 106 (e.g., the type of speaker(s) on the device), the type of the audio, preferences of the user 104, and/or the like”), wherein the audio enhancement is, based at least in part on the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal (Worley figure 1, with BRI, the remote computing resource needs to determines which device/mac address to send the audio enhancement data to which is based on “data representative of the communication path of the audio signal”); apply the retrieved audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal; and provide the enhanced audio signal to the audio rendering system (Worley Col 6 lines 15-20, “somehow altering an amplitude of at least one frequency (e.g., a band of frequencies) and/or the amplitude of the audio, the remote computing resources 118 may provide the enhanced audio to the client device 106 for output on the speaker(s) 110”), however does not explicitly teach audio enhancement including an enhancement of the audio signal of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal; apply the retrieved audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device or the audio rendering system, wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied.
Liu teaches audio enhancement including an enhancement of the audio signal of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal (Liu figure 6 ¶0063, “cardioid sound beams,” “time delay,” ¶0065 “crosstalk cancellation”); apply the retrieved audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device or the audio rendering system (Liu figure 6, orientation detection 610 and ¶0062), wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied (Liu ¶0032, “accelerometer or gyroscope,” “mobile device is capable of sensing its orientation relative to gravity.” It is implied that the device is sensing the orientation in real time with the accelerometer/gyroscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Liu to improve the known system of Worley to achieve the predictable result of stereo audio with minimal crosstalk (Liu ¶0017).
York further teaches wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied (York ¶0020, “An orientation sensor in the audio device can detect the orientation of the audio device relative to the shared feature points, substantially in real time, and pass this orientation information to the processor of the audio device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of York to improve the known system of Worley in view of Liu to achieve the predictable result of real-time results of audio processing with minimal delay.
Regarding claim 18, Worley teaches A device for enhancing an audio signal (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 1-6 “the remote computing resources 118 may enhance the audio sent to the device”) for rendering by an audio rendering system associated with the device (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 1-10, speaker 110), comprising circuitry configured to: identify rendering system information of the audio rendering system, wherein the rendering system information comprises data representative of a communication path of the audio signal (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” wherein the address to establish connection with the speaker is considered a communication path );
receive an audio enhancement of a plurality of audio enhancements (Worley Col 5 lines 60-67, “the audio-enhancement engine 132 may perform equalization to the audio, dynamic range modification, or the like, with these enhancements being based on the characteristics of the client device 106 (e.g., the type of speaker(s) on the device), the type of the audio, preferences of the user 104, and/or the like”), and wherein the audio enhancement is received based at least in part on data representative of the communication path of the audio signal (Worley figure 1, with BRI, the remote computing resource needs to determines which device/mac address to send the audio enhancement data to which is based on “data representative of the communication path of the audio signal”);
apply the received audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio
signal and provide the enhanced audio signal to the audio rendering system (Worley Col 6 lines 15-20, “somehow altering an amplitude of at least one frequency (e.g., a band of frequencies) and/or the amplitude of the audio, the remote computing resources 118 may provide the enhanced audio to the client device 106 for output on the speaker(s) 110”), however does not explicitly teach wherein the audio enhancement includes an enhancement of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal, apply the received audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio
signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at
least one of the device or the audio rendering system, wherein the orientation
information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when
the received audio enhancement is applied.
Liu teaches wherein the audio enhancement includes an enhancement of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal (Liu figure 6 ¶0063, “cardioid sound beams,” “time delay,” ¶0065 “crosstalk cancellation”), apply the received audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device or the audio rendering system (Liu figure 6, orientation detection 610 and ¶0062), wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the received audio enhancement is applied (Liu ¶0032, “accelerometer or gyroscope,” “mobile device is capable of sensing its orientation relative to gravity.” It is implied that the device is sensing the orientation in real time with the accelerometer/gyroscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Liu to improve the known system of Worley to achieve the predictable result of stereo audio with minimal crosstalk (Liu ¶0017).
York further teaches wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied (York ¶0020, “An orientation sensor in the audio device can detect the orientation of the audio device relative to the shared feature points, substantially in real time, and pass this orientation information to the processor of the audio device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of York to improve the known system of Worley in view of Liu to achieve the predictable result of real-time results of audio processing with minimal delay.
Regarding claims 25 and 29, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal used to determine an audio enhancement from the plurality of audio enhancements includes a model identifier or a product identifier (Worley figure 1 and Col 5 lines 19-31, “the profiles 136 may identify the make, model, manufacturer, or frequency response of the speakers associated with the different client devices”).
Regarding claim 26, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York teaches wherein the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal used to determine an audio enhancement from the plurality of audio enhancement includes a unique device identifier (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” with BRI, determine the identity of a device and how to process the audio based on that information can be considered data representative of a communication path of the audio signal).
Regarding claim 28, Worley teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that when executed by one or more processors configure the one or more processors to: determine rendering system information of an audio rendering system associated with a device, wherein the rendering system information comprises data representative of a communication path of an audio signal (Worley figure 1, Col 5 lines 5-10 “resource 118 may determine a characteristic of the speaker(s) 110,” Col 5 lines 35-40, “identifier effective to identify the specific client device 106. This identifier may comprise a media access control (MAC) address or any other type of identifier,” wherein the address to establish connection with the speaker is considered a communication path ); select, based at least in part on the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal (Worley figure 1, with BRI, the remote computing resource needs to determines which device/mac address to send the audio enhancement data to which is based on “data representative of the communication path of the audio signal”), an audio enhancement of the audio signal from a plurality of audio enhancements (Worley Col 5 lines 60-67, “the audio-enhancement engine 132 may perform equalization to the audio, dynamic range modification, or the like, with these enhancements being based on the characteristics of the client device 106 (e.g., the type of speaker(s) on the device), the type of the audio, preferences of the user 104, and/or the like”); apply the selected audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal; and provide the enhanced audio signal to the audio rendering system (Worley Col 6 lines 15-20, “somehow altering an amplitude of at least one frequency (e.g., a band of frequencies) and/or the amplitude of the audio, the remote computing resources 118 may provide the enhanced audio to the client device 106 for output on the speaker(s) 110”), however does not explicitly teach the audio enhancement is of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal; apply the selected audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device and the audio rendering system, wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the audio enhancement is applied.
Liu teaches the audio enhancement is of one or more spatial properties of the audio signal (Liu figure 6 ¶0063, “cardioid sound beams,” “time delay,” ¶0065 “crosstalk cancellation”); apply the selected audio enhancement to the audio signal to generate an enhanced audio signal based at least in part on orientation information about an orientation of at least one of the device and the audio rendering system (Liu figure 6, orientation detection 610 and ¶0062), wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the audio enhancement is applied (Liu ¶0032, “accelerometer or gyroscope,” “mobile device is capable of sensing its orientation relative to gravity.” It is implied that the device is sensing the orientation in real time with the accelerometer/gyroscope).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Liu to improve the known system of Worley to achieve the predictable result of stereo audio with minimal crosstalk (Liu ¶0017).
York further teaches wherein the orientation information includes information that is updated in real time during a time when the retrieved audio enhancement is applied (York ¶0020, “An orientation sensor in the audio device can detect the orientation of the audio device relative to the shared feature points, substantially in real time, and pass this orientation information to the processor of the audio device”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of York to improve the known system of Worley in view of Liu to achieve the predictable result of real-time results of audio processing with minimal delay.
Claim(s) 4, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worley (US 9191742) in view of Liu (US 2020/0045490) in further view of York (US 2019/0289416) in further view of Dusse (US 9942661).
Regarding claims 4, 16 and 20, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York does not explicitly teach wherein the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal includes metadata indicative of a software application associated with the audio signal.
Dusse teaches wherein the data representative of the communication path of the audio signal includes metadata indicative of a software application associated with the audio signal (Dusse Col 9 lines 10-20, “version level information” and Col 5 lines 39-45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Dusse to improve the known system of Worley in view of Liu in further view of York to achieve the predictable result of most updated enhancement based on device’s software version.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worley (US 9191742) in view of Liu (US 2020/0045490) in further view of York (US 2019/0289416) in further view of Gautama (US 2016/0269128).
Regarding claim 6, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York does not explicitly teach wherein the rendering system information includes a position of the device.
Gautama teaches wherein the rendering system information includes a position of the device (Gautama ¶0049, “determine the distance between the transmitter-audio-device 104 and the receiver-audio-device 106 such as time-of-flight analysis of acoustic or ultrasound signalling or any other position determining processing such as GPS”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Gautama to improve the known method of Worley in view of Liu in further view of York to achieve the predictable result of encompassing the audio rendering device location for enhancing adapted audio processing (Gautama ¶0070).
Regarding claim 12, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York in further view of Gautama teaches wherein the audio enhancement includes adjusting for an asymmetry between a left and right speaker of the rendering system by applying at least one of a filter, time delay (Gautama ¶0048, “adjust the delay between primary signal and modulated secondary signal”), or gain.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worley (US 9191742) in view of Liu (US 2020/0045490) in further view of York (US 2019/0289416) in further view of Smith (2019/0327559).
Regarding claim 9, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York does not explicitly teach wherein the rendering system information includes an audio codec used by the device.
Smith teaches wherein the rendering system information includes an audio codec used by the device (Smith ¶0036, “device 102 determines that the audio player 100 is capable of sending either the AAC or SBC audio codec and that the BT speaker 108 is only capable of utilizing the SBC audio codec”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Smith to improve the known method of Worley in view of Liu in further view of York to achieve the predictable result of ensuring devices are capable of outputting the desired audio signals.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worley (US 9191742) in view of Liu (US 2020/0045490) in further view of York (US 2019/0289416) in further view of Seldess (US 2017/0208411).
Regarding claim 10, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York does not explicitly teach wherein the audio enhancement includes filtering side subband components and mid subband components of the audio signal.
Seldess teaches wherein the audio enhancement (Seldess ¶0032 “The sound field enhancement processing pipeline 210 performs sound field enhancement using a subband spatial enhancement, and may use the parameters 204 of the speakers 280”) includes filtering side subband components and mid subband components of the audio signal (Seldess figure 4 and ¶0045, mid/side processors 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the known technique of Seldess to improve the known method of Worley in view of Liu in further view of York to achieve the predictable result of reproducing a more immersive listening experience for the listener (Seldess ¶0012).
Regarding Claim 11, Worley in view of Liu in further view of York in further view of Seldess teaches wherein the audio enhancement includes crosstalk processing (Seldess figure 2B, Crosstalk cancellation processor 260).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the closest prior art either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed limitation of “wherein the communication path of the audio signal is a headphone jack, built-in speakers of the device, a Bluetooth connection, a universal serial bus (USB) connection, or a high-definition multi-media interface (HDMI)” in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by the applicant.
Claim 21-24, and 31-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the closest prior art either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed limitation of “select a first audio enhancement from the plurality of audio enhancements when the communication path includes a primary communication path which includes built-in speakers of the device; select a second audio enhancement from the plurality of audio enhancements when the communication path includes a second communication path which does not include the built-in speakers of the device; and apply, when the communication path includes the second communication path, the second audio enhancement based at least in part on corresponding orientation information updated in real-time during a time when the second audio enhancement is applied” in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by the applicant.
Claim 27 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the closest prior art either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed limitation of “wherein the plurality of audio enhancements includes a first audio enhancement comprising crosstalk cancellation and a second audio enhancement comprising crosstalk simulation” in combination with all other limitations in the claim(s) as defined by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/NORMAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693