DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 30, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 8-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment filed January 30, 2026, the previous objection to claim 2 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed on January 30, 2026 regarding claim 1 has been fully considered but the arguments are essentially directed towards the newly introduced limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0108178), and further in view of Godin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225057).
Regarding Claim 1, Xu et al. teaches A wireless communication method (Xu et al. teaches method and apparatus for MBS area control in a wireless communication system (para. [0006])) comprising establishing, by a first one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes, a tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that NG-RAN maps several multicast flows within a Multicast Session context to one radio bearer (para. [0169]); the SMF provides RAN with Multicast context ID, multicast flows and associated QoS information, and the RAN responds with downlink tunnel information for the multicast context (para. [0172]; FIG. 13)) based on at least one of: (i) whether a context of a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session is received (Xu et al. teaches the SMF provides RAN with Multicast context ID, multicast flows and associated QoS information, and the RAN responds with downlink tunnel information for the multicast context (para. [0172]; FIG. 13); a UPF, based on configuration received from SMF, identifies a packet as belonging to a multicast flow, in which case the UPF delivers to one or multiple RAN nodes via a shared tunnel identified by a shared TEID associated with the multicast session context to which the multicast flow belongs to (para. [0176]); On N3 or MB-N3, the multicast flows within one Multicast Session context uses the same shared tunnel (para. [0168])); or (ii) one or more acknowledgement (ACK) messages corresponding to the context and the tunnel are received, the tunnel being shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes for accessing a core network, wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit- User Plane (CU-UP)(Xu et al. teaches that a gNB CU-UP is connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB CU-CP (para. [0158])).
However, Xu et al. does not explicitly teach and wherein a Radio Access Network Identification (RAN ID) list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel. Godin et al. teaches such a limitation.
Godin et al. is directed to methods and apparatuses for multicast-broadcast service (MBMS) activation and deactivation. More specifically, Godin et al. teaches, and wherein a Radio Access Network Identification (RAN ID) list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel (Godin et al. teaches that the MB-SMF sends an activate message to the associated AMF(s) stored, and the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043]); the deactivate message includes the list of the NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session (para. [0039]); when the MBS session is deactivated by 5GC, the MBS session context is kept in 5GC, but the AN resource with context and N3 tunnel for 5GC shared MBS delivery method are released (para. [0029])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. so that a RAN ID list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify the session activation to NG-RANs when MBS session is restarted (see Godin et al., para. [0032][0033]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 1, and further, the references teach wherein the first wireless communication node is not pre-configured as an anchor node (Godin et al. teaches receiving a MBS session setup message from a network node (para. [0051]; FIG. 5B)[Examiner’s note: the network node is not an anchor node]), the wireless communication method further comprises: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the core network, a first message (Godin et al. teaches that AMF receives a MBS session setup message from a NG-RAN node (para. [0050][0051])) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session or area information (Godin et al. teaches that the MBS session setup message includes at least one of an identifier of the network node and identifier of the management entity (para. [0051])); and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the core network, a second message (Godin et al. teaches receiving a message, from the multicast broadcast session management entity, to deactivate the MBS session (para. [0051]; FIG. 5B) comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or MBS Area information (Godin et al. teaches that the message to deactivate the MBS session includes at least an identifier of one or more network node involved in the MBS session (para. [0053])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. so that the transmitting a first message comprising at least information corresponding to the MBS session or area information, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to set up MBS session (see Godin et al., para. [0051]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 8, and further, the references teach further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to one or more other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a third message (Godin et al. teaches that a deactivate message to deactivate the MBS session towards the network node involved in the MBS session (para. [0052])) comprising at least one of: the context, the MBS Area information, information corresponding to the tunnel, or a RAN ID of the first wireless communication node (Godin et al. teaches that a deactivate message to deactivate the MBS session towards the network node involved in the MBS session (para. [0052]); upon receiving the deactivate message, a NG-RAN node moves the MBS context to a deactivated state (para. [0040]), indicating that the deactivate message includes context to be deactivated), wherein the one or more other wireless communication nodes satisfy an MBS area requirement (Xu et al. teaches that both RAN node 1 and 2 shares the same shared tunnel (para. [0168][0176]; FIG. 13), indicating that they are located inside an area scope to use the same tunnel), and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from each of the one or more other wireless communication nodes, a fourth message (Xu et al. teaches receiving feedback information from the plurality of wireless device, for the first MBS area (para. [0203])) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Xu et al. teaches that the feedback information comprises HARQ ACK/NACK information for a transmission of the MBS service (para. [0203])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. so that the third message comprises at least one of context, the MBS area information, information corresponding to the tunnel or an RAN ID of the first wireless communication node, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to deactivate MBS session (see Godin et al., para. [0051])).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 8, and further, the references teach further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a third message (Godin et al. teaches that a deactivate message to deactivate the MBS session towards the network node involved in the MBS session (para. [0052])) comprising at least one of: the context, MBS Area information, information corresponding to the tunnel, or an RAN ID of the first wireless communication node (Godin et al. teaches that a deactivate message to deactivate the MBS session towards the network node involved in the MBS session (para. [0052]); upon receiving the deactivate message, a NG-RAN node moves the MBS context to a deactivated state (para. [0040]), indicating that the deactivate message includes context to be deactivated); and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from at least a first one of the other wireless communication nodes, a fourth message (Xu et al. teaches receiving feedback information from the plurality of wireless device, for the first MBS area (para. [0203])) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Xu et al. teaches that the feedback information comprises HARQ ACK/NACK information for a transmission of the MBS service (para. [0203])), wherein the first one of the other wireless communication nodes is located inside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session (Xu et al. teaches that both RAN node 1 and 2 shares the same shared tunnel (para. [0168][0176]; FIG. 13), indicating that they are located inside an area scope to use the same tunnel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. so that the third message comprises at least one of context, the MBS area information, information corresponding to the tunnel or an RAN ID of the first wireless communication node, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to deactivate MBS session (see Godin et al., para. [0051])).
Regarding Claim 19, Xu et al. teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instruction, which when executed by one or more processors can cause the one or more processors to: (Xu et al. teaches method and apparatus for MBS area control in a wireless communication system (para. [0006][0309])) establish, at a first one of a plurality of wireless communication nodes, a tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that NG-RAN maps several multicast flows within a Multicast Session context to one radio bearer (para. [0169]); the SMF provides RAN with Multicast context ID, multicast flows and associated QoS information, and the RAN responds with downlink tunnel information for the multicast context (para. [0172]; FIG. 13)) based on at least one of: (i) whether a context of a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session is received (Xu et al. teaches the SMF provides RAN with Multicast context ID, multicast flows and associated QoS information, and the RAN responds with downlink tunnel information for the multicast context (para. [0172]; FIG. 13); a UPF, based on configuration received from SMF, identifies a packet as belonging to a multicast flow, in which case the UPF delivers to one or multiple RAN nodes via a shared tunnel identified by a shared TEID associated with the multicast session context to which the multicast flow belongs to (para. [0176]); On N3 or MB-N3, the multicast flows within one Multicast Session context uses the same shared tunnel (para. [0168])); or (ii) one or more acknowledgement (ACK) messages corresponding to the context and the tunnel are received, the tunnel being shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes for accessing a core network, wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit- User Plane (CU-UP)(Xu et al. teaches that a gNB CU-UP is connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB CU-CP (para. [0158])).
However, Xu et al. does not explicitly teach and wherein a Radio Access Network Identification (RAN ID) list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel. Godin et al. teaches such a limitation.
Godin et al. is directed to methods and apparatuses for multicast-broadcast service (MBMS) activation and deactivation. More specifically, Godin et al. teaches, and wherein a Radio Access Network Identification (RAN ID) list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel (Godin et al. teaches that the MB-SMF sends an activate message to the associated AMF(s) stored, and the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043]); the deactivate message includes the list of the NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session (para. [0039]); when the MBS session is deactivated by 5GC, the MBS session context is kept in 5GC, but the AN resource with context and N3 tunnel for 5GC shared MBS delivery method are released (para. [0029])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the medium of Xu et al. so that a RAN ID list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify the session activation to NG-RANs when MBS session is restarted (see Godin et al., para. [0032][0033]).
Regarding Claim 20, Xu et al. teaches A wireless communication node (Xu et al. teaches method and apparatus for MBS area control in a wireless communication system (para. [0006][0309]); a distributed unit (DU) (para. [0200])), comprising: at least one processor (processor (para. [0011])) configured to: establish a tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that NG-RAN maps several multicast flows within a Multicast Session context to one radio bearer (para. [0169]); the SMF provides RAN with Multicast context ID, multicast flows and associated QoS information, and the RAN responds with downlink tunnel information for the multicast context (para. [0172]; FIG. 13)) based on at least one of: (i) whether a context of a Multicast and Broadcast Services (MBS) session is received (Xu et al. teaches the SMF provides RAN with Multicast context ID, multicast flows and associated QoS information, and the RAN responds with downlink tunnel information for the multicast context (para. [0172]; FIG. 13); a UPF, based on configuration received from SMF, identifies a packet as belonging to a multicast flow, in which case the UPF delivers to one or multiple RAN nodes via a shared tunnel identified by a shared TEID associated with the multicast session context to which the multicast flow belongs to (para. [0176]); On N3 or MB-N3, the multicast flows within one Multicast Session context uses the same shared tunnel (para. [0168])); or (ii) one or more acknowledgement (ACK) messages corresponding to the context and the tunnel are received, the tunnel being shared by the plurality of wireless communication nodes for accessing a core network, wherein the plurality of wireless communication nodes share a same Centralized Unit- User Plane (CU-UP)(Xu et al. teaches that a gNB CU-UP is connected to multiple DUs under the control of the same gNB CU-CP (para. [0158])).
However, Xu et al. does not explicitly teach and wherein a Radio Access Network Identification (RAN ID) list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel. Godin et al. teaches such a limitation.
Godin et al. is directed to methods and apparatuses for multicast-broadcast service (MBMS) activation and deactivation. More specifically, Godin et al. teaches, and wherein a Radio Access Network Identification (RAN ID) list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel (Godin et al. teaches that the MB-SMF sends an activate message to the associated AMF(s) stored, and the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043]); the deactivate message includes the list of the NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session (para. [0039]); when the MBS session is deactivated by 5GC, the MBS session context is kept in 5GC, but the AN resource with context and N3 tunnel for 5GC shared MBS delivery method are released (para. [0029])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Xu et al. so that a RAN ID list associated with the context and the tunnel comprises identifiers of one or more wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes that are using the tunnel, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify the session activation to NG-RANs when MBS session is restarted (see Godin et al., para. [0032][0033]).
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0108178), Godin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225057), and further in view of Wang et al. (CN112866929, from IDS filed on 11/22/23, machine translation attached is used for mapping).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 1, and further, the references teach the method further comprises: storing, by the first wireless communication node, the context (Godin et al. teaches that a NG-RAN node moves the MBS context to a deactivated state (para. [0040]); keeping the UE MBS context information in a UE context of one or more UEs that remain in RRC connected state (para. [0048])); and generating, by the first wireless communication node, a User Equipment (UE) list and the RAN ID list (Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166]); Godin et al. teaches that the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043])).
However, the references do not explicitly teach wherein the first wireless communication node is pre-configured as an anchor node. Wang et al. teaches such a limitation.
Wang et al. is directed to processing method, network node and storage medium. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches that the anchor CU-UP is designated by a core network (page 18, first paragraph under subheading “Example 1 Anchor CU-UP scheme appointed based on core network); core network determines the anchor CU-CP as the CU-CP of the RAN node of the first UE with MBS multicast service needs (page 18, first paragraph under subheading “Example 1 Anchor CU-UP scheme appointed based on core network), indicating that when the request is sent, the first RAN will be an anchor node after the procedure)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that the first wireless communication node is pre-configured as an anchor node, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 2, and further, the references teach further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to one or more other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message (Wang et al. teaches that the fourth network node sends the MBS control information to the second network node (page 11, first paragraph under the subheading “S220, sending the MBS control information)) comprising at least one of: the context, MBS Area information, or information corresponding to the tunnel (Wang et al. teaches that the MBS control information includes MBS session identifier; MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate, the next generation uplink user plane transmission layer information (page 5, paragraph 5)), wherein the one or more other wireless communication nodes are located inside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session (Xu et al. teaches that both RAN node 1 and 2 shares the same shared tunnel (para. [0168][0176]; FIG. 13), indicating that they are located inside an area scope to use the same tunnel); and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from each of the one or more other wireless communication nodes, a second message (Gao et al. teaches the gNB-DU sends an MBS context setup response message to the gNB-CU (page 44, S605)) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Gao et al. teaches that the MBS context establishment response information includes the shared F1 GTP-U tunnel information corresponding to the MRB (page 44, seven paragraph)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that the third message comprises at least one of context, the MBS area information, information corresponding to the tunnel or an RAN ID of the first wireless communication node, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 2, and further, the references teach further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message (Wang et al. teaches that the fourth network node sends the MBS control information to the second network node (page 11, first paragraph under the subheading “S220, sending the MBS control information)) comprising at least one of: the context, MBS Area information, or information corresponding to the tunnel (Wang et al. teaches that the MBS control information includes MBS session identifier; MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate, the next generation uplink user plane transmission layer information (page 5, paragraph 5)); and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from at least a first wireless communication node of the other wireless communication nodes, a second message (Wang et al. teaches sending the MBS session resource information response message to the fourth network node (page 6, 11th paragraph); Xu et al. teaches that the DU receives configurations for one or more MBS areas comprising a configuration for a first MBS area and a configuration for a second MBS area (para. [0201]; FIG. 15)) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Wang et al. teaches that MBS session resource information response comprises MBS control information (page 7, 9th paragraph); the MBS control information comprises MBS session identifier, MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate (page 10, last paragraph); Xu et al. teaches that DU receives configurations for one or more MBS areas (para. [0201]; FIG. 15)), wherein the first one of the other wireless communication node is located inside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session (Xu et al. teaches that both RAN node 1 and 2 shares the same shared tunnel (para. [0168][0176]; FIG. 13), indicating that they are located inside an area scope to use the same tunnel).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that a second message comprising information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 1, however, the references do not explicitly teach wherein a second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes is pre-configured as an anchor node, the wireless communication method further comprises: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, area information, or a RAN ID of the first wireless communication node; and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a second message comprising: the context, MBS Area information, information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication. Wang et al. teaches such limitations.
Wang et al. is directed to processing method, network node and storage medium. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches wherein a second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes is pre-configured as an anchor node (Wang et al. teaches that the anchor CU-UP is designated by a core network (page 18, first paragraph under subheading “Example 1 Anchor CU-UP scheme appointed based on core network); core network determines the anchor CU-CP as the CU-CP of the RAN node of the first UE with MBS multicast service needs (page 18, first paragraph under subheading “Example 1 Anchor CU-UP scheme appointed based on core network), indicating that when the request is sent, the first RAN will be an anchor node after the procedure), transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message (Wang et al. teaches that the first network node sends the MBS control information to the second network node (page 5, last paragraph)) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, area information, or a RAN ID of the first wireless communication node (Wang et al. teaches that the MBS control information includes MBS session identifier, MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate, the next generation uplink user plane transmission layer information (page 5, paragraph 6)), and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a second message (Wang et al. teaches sending the MBS session resource information response message to the fourth network node (page 6, 11th paragraph)) comprising: the context, MBS Area information, information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Wang et al. teaches that MBS session resource information response comprises MBS control information (page 7, 9th paragraph); the MBS control information comprises MBS session identifier, MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate (page 10, last paragraph)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that a second message comprising information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 6, and further, the references teach further comprising: generating, by the first wireless communication node, a UE list associated with the context and the tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166]); Godin et al. teaches activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043])), the UE list including an ID of a UE that is currently using the tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166]); Godin et al. teaches activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Wang et al. so that a UE list associated with the context and the tunnel is generated, as taught by Gan et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify the session activation to NG-RANs when MBS session is restarted (see Godin et al., para. [0032][0033]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 9, and further, the references teach further comprising: and generating, by the first wireless communication node, a UE list and a RAN ID list associated with the context and the tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166]); Godin et al. teaches that the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043])).
However, the references do not explicitly teach receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the one or more other wireless communication nodes, the one or more ACK messages; storing, by the first wireless communication node, the context. Wang et al. teaches such limitations.
Wang et al. is directed to processing method, network node and storage medium. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the one or more other wireless communication nodes, the one or more ACK messages (Wang et al. teaches that feeding back MBS session resource configuration response message to the fourth network node, where the MBS session resource configuration response message comprises MBS control information (page 7, paragraph 9)); storing, by the first wireless communication node, the context (Wang et al. teaches that after the anchor CU-CP determines the MBS control information, it can directly send the first MBS session establishment notification message to the fourth network node (page 8, paragraph 2); only the anchor CU-CP can change the MBS control information (page 9, paragraph 8), indicating such information is stored; MBS control information is the control information required for processing MBS data packets such as MBS session identifier, MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate (page 5, paragraphs 5-6)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that the one or more ACK messages are received, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 11, and further, the references teach further comprising: and generating, by the first wireless communication node, a UE list and an RAN ID list associated with the context and the tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166]); Godin et al. teaches that the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043])).
However, the references do not explicitly teach receiving, by the first wireless communication node from one or more of the other wireless communication nodes, the one or more ACK messages; storing, by the first wireless communication node, the context. Wang et al. teaches such limitations.
Wang et al. is directed to processing method, network node and storage medium. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the one or more other wireless communication nodes, the one or more ACK messages (Wang et al. teaches that feeding back MBS session resource configuration response message to the fourth network node, where the MBS session resource configuration response message comprises MBS control information (page 7, paragraph 9)); storing, by the first wireless communication node, the context (Wang et al. teaches that after the anchor CU-CP determines the MBS control information, it can directly send the first MBS session establishment notification message to the fourth network node (page 8, paragraph 2); only the anchor CU-CP can change the MBS control information (page 9, paragraph 8), indicating such information is stored; MBS control information is the control information required for processing MBS data packets such as MBS session identifier, MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate (page 5, paragraphs 5-6)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. the one or more ACK messages are received, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0108178), Godin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225057), Wang et al. (CN112866929, from IDS filed on 11/22/23, machine translation attached is used for mapping), and further in view of Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0188185).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Xu et al., and Godin et al., and Wang et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 2, and further, the references teach further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message (Wang et al. teaches that the fourth network node sends the MBS control information to the second network node (page 11, first paragraph under the subheading “S220, sending the MBS control information)) comprising at least one of: the context, MBS Area information, or information corresponding to the tunnel (Wang et al. teaches that the MBS control information includes MBS session identifier; MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate, the next generation uplink user plane transmission layer information (page 5, paragraph 5)).
However, the references do not explicitly teach and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from at least a second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication nodes, a second message comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an out-of-area scope indication, wherein the second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication node is located outside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session. Li teaches such limitations.
Li is directed to data communication method and apparatus. More specifically, Li teaches and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from at least a second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication nodes, a second message comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an out-of-area scope indication (Li teaches that after receiving the location information of the first terminal device, when the first terminal device is located outside a service area of the MBS, the session management function stops sending data to the MBS to the first terminal device (para. [0104]); the location information of the first terminal device is the information that indicates a location of the first terminal device, or an indication information that indicates that the first terminal device is located outside or within the service area of the MBS (para. [0131])), wherein the second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication node is located outside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session (Li teaches that after receiving the location information of the first terminal device, when the first terminal device is located outside a service area of the MBS, the session management function stops sending data to the MBS to the first terminal device (para. [0104])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. so that the first wireless communication node receives a second message comprising an out of area scope indication, as taught by Li. The modification would have allowed the system to prevent the waste of transmission resources and a failure in sending the data of the MBS (see Li, para. [0005]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Xu et al., and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 8, however, the references do not explicitly teach further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a third message comprising at least one of: the context, MBS Area information, or information corresponding to the tunnel, or an RAN ID of the first wireless communication node. Wang et al. teaches such limitation.
Wang et al. is directed to processing method, network node and storage medium. More specifically, Wang et al. teaches further comprising: transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a third message (Wang et al. teaches that the fourth network node sends the MBS control information to the second network node (page 11, first paragraph under the subheading “S220, sending the MBS control information)) comprising at least one of: the context, MBS Area information, or information corresponding to the tunnel, or an RAN ID of the first wireless communication node (Wang et al. teaches that the MBS control information includes MBS session identifier; MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate, the next generation uplink user plane transmission layer information (page 5, paragraph 5)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that the first wireless communication node transmits a third message to all other wireless communication nodes, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
However, the references do not explicitly teach and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from at least a second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication nodes, a fourth message comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an out-of-area scope indication, wherein the second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication node is located outside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session. Li teaches such limitations.
Li is directed to data communication method and apparatus. More specifically, Li teaches and receiving, by the first wireless communication node from at least a second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication nodes, a fourth message comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an out-of-area scope indication (Li teaches that after receiving the location information of the first terminal device, when the first terminal device is located outside a service area of the MBS, the session management function stops sending data to the MBS to the first terminal device (para. [0104]); the location information of the first terminal device is the information that indicates a location of the first terminal device, or an indication information that indicates that the first terminal device is located outside or within the service area of the MBS (para. [0131])), wherein the second wireless communication node of the other wireless communication node is located outside an area scope of the tunnel for the MBS session (Li teaches that after receiving the location information of the first terminal device, when the first terminal device is located outside a service area of the MBS, the session management function stops sending data to the MBS to the first terminal device (para. [0104])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. so that the first wireless communication node receives a second message comprising an out of area scope indication, as taught by Li. The modification would have allowed the system to prevent the waste of transmission resources and a failure in sending the data of the MBS (see Li, para. [0005]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0108178), Godin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225057), and further in view of Decusatis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0350084).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Xu et al. and Godin et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 1, and further, the references teach wherein the first wireless communication node is not pre-configured as an anchor node but has initiated to establish the tunnel (Godin et al. teaches receiving a MBS session setup message from a network node (para. [0051]; FIG. 5B)[Examiner’s note: the network node is not an anchor node]), the method further comprises: receiving, by the first wireless communication node from a second wireless communication node of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, a first message (Godin et al. teaches that network node transmitting an activate message to activate the MBS session to the network node(s) identified in the message received from the multicast broadcast session management entity (para. [0053]; FIG. 5B)) comprising at least one of: information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Godin et al. teaches that network node transmitting an activate message to activate the MBS session to the network node(s) identified in the message received from the multicast broadcast session management entity (para. [0053]; FIG. 5B)[Examiner’s Note: activate the MBS session reads on information corresponding to the MBS session]) and transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the second wireless communication node, based on the first wireless communication node having a higher priority than the second wireless communication node, a second message (Xu et al. teaches that when RAN receives a session modification request, the RAN sends the session modification response (para. [0189][0191])) comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or failure information (Xu et al. teaches the session modification response includes downlink tunnel information (para. [0191])).
However, the references do not explicitly teach and transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the second wireless communication node, based on the first wireless communication node having a higher priority than the second wireless communication node, a second message comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or failure information. Decusatis et al. teaches such limitations.
Decusatis et al. is directed to virtual network data control with network interface card. More specifically, Decusatis et al. teaches and transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the second wireless communication node, based on the first wireless communication node having a higher priority than the second wireless communication node, a second message (Decusatis et al. teaches assigning a higher priority to a first tunnel and a lower priority to a second tunnel (para. [0020]); assign multiple flows to a single tunnel having a higher data transmission priority than other tunnels (para. [0033])) comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or failure information.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that the first priority of the first wireless communication node is compared with the priority of the second wireless communication node, as taught by Decusatis et al. The modification would have allowed the system to accelerate data transmission (see Decusatis et al., para. [0034]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Decusatis et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 14, and further, the references teach further comprising: receiving, by the first wireless communication node from all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, the one or more ACK messages (Xu et al. teaches that DU receives, from the plurality of wireless devices, feedback information for the first MBS area (para. [0203])); storing, by the first wireless communication node, the context (Xu et al. teaches that DU configures MBS transmission area information and send F1 setup request message to the CU, and that the F1 setup request message comprises MBS cluster set information (para. [0223]), indicating such is stored; Godin et al. teaches storing one or more of the identifier of the at least one network node (para. [0055]; FIG. 5C)); and generating, by the first wireless communication node, a UE list and a RAN ID list associated with the context and the tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166]); Godin et al. teaches that the activate message includes the list of NG-RAN node IDs involved in the MBS session associated with the AMF (para. [0043])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Decusatis et al. so that generating a UE list associated with the context and the tunnel, as taught by Godin et al. The modification would have allowed the system to notify the session activation to NG-RANs when MBS session is restarted (see Godin et al., para. [0032][0033]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2023/0108178), Godin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0225057), Wang et al. (CN112866929, from IDS filed on 11/22/23, machine translation attached is used for mapping), and further in view of Gao et al. (WO2022/151297, machine translation attached is used for mapping).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. teach The wireless communication method of claim 2, and further, the references teach wherein the first wireless communication node has established the tunnel (Xu et al. teaches that SMF provides the UPF with MB N3 tunneling information, and the SMF provides multicast flow id and associated QoS information and MB N3 tunnel information to the RAN (para. [0173])), the method further comprises: storing, by the first wireless communication node, the RAN IDs into the RAN ID list (Wang et al. teaches that after the anchor CU-CP determines the MBS control information, it can directly send the first MBS session establishment notification message to the fourth network node (page 8, paragraph 2); only the anchor CU-CP can change the MBS control information (page 9, paragraph 8), indicating such information is stored; MBS control information is the control information required for processing MBS data packets such as MBS session identifier, MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate (page 5, paragraphs 5-6); determining module is configured to obtain the area information comprises a cell list (page 26, paragraph 4); Xu et al. teaches that the multicast session context is identified by a Multicast session context ID and is used to represent information about the group of UEs receiving multicast flows with the same multicast session context ID (para. [0166])); and transmitting, by the first wireless communication node to the other wireless communication nodes, a sixth message comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, the information corresponding to the tunnel, or an acknowledgement indication (Wang et al. teaches that the fourth network node sends the MBS control information to the second network node (page 11, first paragraph under the subheading “S220, sending the MBS control information); the MBS control information includes MBS session identifier; MBS session downlink aggregation maximum bit rate, the next generation uplink user plane transmission layer information (page 5, paragraph 5)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al. and Godin et al. so that the first wireless communication node transmits a message to other wireless communication nodes, as taught by Wang et al. The modification would have allowed the system to enable generation of unique MBS control information (see Wang et al., page 18, first para under subheading Example 1).
However, the references do not explicitly teach and has transferred information corresponding to the MBS session and information corresponding to the tunnel to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes, the method further comprises: receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the other wireless communication nodes, a fifth message comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, information corresponding to the tunnel, or RAN IDs of the other wireless communication nodes. Gao et al. teaches such limitations.
Gao et al. is directed to data transmission method and apparatus. More specifically, Gao et al. teaches and has transferred information corresponding to the MBS session and information corresponding to the tunnel to all other wireless communication nodes of the plurality of wireless communication nodes (Gao et al. teaches that once the first terminal sends a PDU session establishment request message, N3 GTP-U tunnel information corresponding to the requested MBS session is sent to gNB-DU (page 42, S601 to page 43, S 604)), the method further comprises: receiving, by the first wireless communication node from the other wireless communication nodes, a fifth message comprising at least one of: the information corresponding to the MBS session, information corresponding to the tunnel, or RAN IDs of the other wireless communication nodes (Gao et al. teaches that once the first terminal sends a PDU session establishment request message, and if the shared N3 GTP-U tunnel corresponding to the MBS session requested by the first terminal device has not been established, N3 GTP-U tunnel information corresponding to the requested MBS session is sent to gNB-DU (page 42, S601 to page 43, S 604)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xu et al., Godin et al., and Wang et al. so that information corresponding to the MBS session and information corresponding to the tunnel are transferred to all other wireless communication nodes, as taught by Gao et al. The modification would have allowed the system to ensure highly reliable transmission of MBS service data (see Gao et al., page 2, first paragraph under subheading “Summary of the Invention”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417