DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, and ZM-306416 in the reply filed on 2/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-10, 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/16/2026.
Priority
The instant application was filed 11/22/2023 and claims priority from provisional application 63384696 , filed 11/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code for example (page 47 last line, page 48, last line 1st paragraph and 1st line 2nd paragraph) Applicant is required to review the entire specification and delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites, “Claim 1.” However, claim is not a proper noun or the first word of the claim and thus does not need to be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antczak (Journal of Biomolecular Screening 17(7) 885 –899 © 2012)
Antczak teaches a biosensor for screening EGFR inhibitors. Antczak teaches, “Interestingly, among the confirmed inhibitors of granule formation was the VEGFR (Flt and KDR) kinase inhibitor ZM-30641621 (IC50 = 0.67 ± 0.2 µM) (Suppl. Fig. S1A), not described as potent toward EGFR kinase in the literature but sharing the 4-anilinoquinazoline scaffold common among EGFR kinase inhibitors such as erlotinib, gefitinib, and lapatinib “ (page 891, 2nd column). Antczak teaches, “Confirming the newly identified inhibitory activity of ZM-306416 toward EGFR, this compound induced selective antiproliferative effect toward the EGFR-addicted NSCLC cell lines H3255 and HCC4011 (IC50 = 0.09 ± 0.007 µM and 0.072 ± 0.001 µM, respectively), while sparing the wild-type EGFR cell lines A549 and H2030 (IC50 > 10 µM) (Fig. 4).” Antczak teaches, “our results demonstrate that this approach allows for the iden tification of known as well as novel cell-permeable and potent EGFR inhibitors such as the VEGFR kinase inhibitor ZM-306416.” (897, 1st column 1st full paragraph)
While Antczak teaches ZM-306416 is an EGFR inhibitor by analyzing NSCLC, Antczak does not specifically teach treating a subject with NSCLC with ZM-306416.
However, Antczak teaches, “The critical role of protein phosphorylation in the development and progression of many cancers has driven consider able efforts to discover therapeutic agents targeting aberrant signaling events. Receptor tyrosine kinases (RTKs) such as epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) play a well established role in several cancers and have become a crucial class of targets for the development of small-molecule anticancer agents.1 Besides high-profile successes such asIressa (gefitinib) and Tarceva (erlotinib), progress in identifying new drugs inhibiting RTKs has been slow in recent years. A major obstacle hampering the rapid discovery of new effective drugs inhibiting RTKs is the lack of cellular activity of potent and selective candidates originally identified in screens relying on assays using recombinant kinase domains. Such RTK inhibitors very often fail the transition from being potent toward purified recombinant protein to being active in cells, believed to be due mainly to lack of cellular permeability.”
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claims to treat subjects with an effective amount of NSCLC with ZM-306416. The artisan would be motivated as Antczak suggests the screening method is for development of anticancer treatments. The artisan would be motivated to determine if ZM-306416 provides an effect in subjects that it did in NSCLC cells in culture. The artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as the artisan is treating a known cancer with a known inhibitor for a target known to be present in NSCLC.
Summary
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
/Steven Pohnert/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683