DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 08/24/2026. Currently claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Miller et al. (Miller James B. et al.: "Control of Pre-hydrolysis Ratio for Sol-Gel Preparation of Homogeneous Zirconia-Silica Aerogels", JOURNAL OF CATALYSIS, vol. 153, 01 January 1995, pages 194-196), hereafter, referred to as “Miller”, in view of Yun et al. (Yun Shan et al.: "Low-density, hydrophobic, highly flexible ambient pressure-dried monolithic bridged silsesquioxane aerogels", Journal of Materials Chemistry A, vol. 3, no. 7, 2015, pages 3390-3398), hereafter, referred to as “Yun”.
Regarding claim 1, Miller teaches a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material). Miller teaches that the process comprises of step of mixing a silica compound with one or more metal compounds in an aqueous solution providing a homogenous mixture, where the mixture undergo a gelation process resulting in a hydrogel formation that comprises of aqueous phase and a porous solid structure; and a step of drying the hydrogel at a temperature and pressure combination that avoids boiling of the aqueous phase, providing the nanocomposite; by teaching the steps of: pre-hydrolysis of a TEOS solution in 1-propanol in the presence of water and nitric acid followed by the addition of zirconium n-propoxide as zirconium precursor to form the gel, and then a step of drying. Miller also teaches that the prepared aerogels (which is extremely porous) containing 50% of silica and having a BET specific surface areas of 244, 262, 268 and 186 m2/g (page 194, right-hand column, paragraph 2 – right- hand column, para. 5; Table 1).
Miller teaches that the final gel was dried under supercritical conditions (343 °K and 2.2 x 104 kPa). But Miller fails to explicitly teach the drying does not involve supercritical drying of the aqueous phase in the porous solid structure. However, Yun teaches the use of ambient-pressure-drying method to dry aerogels maintaining the pore structure (abstract). Supercritical drying is expensive and complex to operate because it requires specialized equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Yun , and use a known technique of using an ambient pressure drying to dry the aerogels, because that would avoid expensive and complex tool (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143). Since both the references deal with drying of aerogels, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
But Miller fails to explicitly teach the step of adjusting pH of the mixture. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, that the gelation process would require to optimize sol-gel parameters. Additionally, Miller teaches that opportunities exist for optimization of other common sol-gel parameters, such as temperature, pH, and concentration. The optimization of the parameters would result in an optimized process that would result in a product with desired chemical, mechanical, thermal and electrical properties. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to optimize the pH of the solution by adjusting the ingredients, so that desired properties of the final article (aerogel nanocomposite) is obtained.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material). Miller also teaches that pre-hydrolysis of a TEOS solution in 1-propanol in the presence of water and nitric acid followed by the addition of zirconium n-propoxide as zirconium precursor to form the gel. Miller teaches to use of nitric acid for the solution to be in acidic state. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the mixing time and gelation time would be optimized to form the proper gel. Therefore, mixing time and gelation time would be considered a result effective variable. Additionally, the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Therefore, maintaining the mixing time for a period of 10-500 minutes (as claimed in claim 4), and gelation time for a period of 10-500 minutes (as claimed in claim 6), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 5, and 17, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material). But Miller an Yun fails to explicitly teach the adjustment of the pH of the mixture to an alkaline pH or to a pH-value in the range of pH 6-10, or to an alkaline pH. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, that the gelation process would require to optimize sol-gel parameters. Additionally, Miller teaches that opportunities exist for optimization of other common sol-gel parameters, such as temperature, pH, and concentration. The optimization of the parameters would result in an optimized process that would result in a product with desired chemical, mechanical, thermal and electrical properties. Therefore, pH of the mixture would be considered a result effective variable. Additionally, the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Therefore, maintaining the pH of the mixture to an alkaline pH or to a pH-value in the range of pH 6-10, would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 7, and 18-19, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material). Yun teaches that the process comprises of a step, wherein the aqueous phase in the hydro gel may be dried at an atmospheric pressure (at about 1 bar pressure), by teaching to use ambient pressure drying. The optimization of the drying parameters would result in an optimized process that would result in a product with desired chemical, mechanical, thermal and electrical properties. Therefore, drying temperature would be considered a result effective variable. Additionally, the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Therefore, maintaining the drying temperature at a temperature of 95° C or less (as claimed in claim 18), and at a temperature of 90° C or less (as claimed in claim 19), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 10-11, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a nanocomposite and a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material) that forms an aerogel nanocomposite. Miller teaches a nanocomposite comprising a porous solid structure having a porous monolithic inorganic gel structure comprising a silica compound and one or more metal compounds; by teaches to use zirconium n-propoxide as a zirconium precursor, and tetraethylorthosilicate (TEOS), as a silicon precursor to form a silica zirconia aerogel nanocomposite. Aerogels are inherently highly porous, and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the porosity is varied by controlling precursor concentration, gelation, aging, and drying techniques (such as supercritical drying) etc. Therefore, forming a nanocomposite, wherein the nanocomposite comprises an internal porous volume and wherein the internal porous volume is in the range of 40-90% (as claimed in claim 10), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 12, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a nanocomposite and a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material) that forms an aerogel nanocomposite. Miller teaches a nanocomposite comprising an porous solid structure having a porous monolithic inorganic gel structure comprising a silica compound and one or more metal compounds; by teaching that the process comprises of step of pre-hydrolysis of a TEOS solution in 1-propanol in the presence of water and nitric acid followed by the addition of zirconium n-propoxide as zirconium precursor to form the gel, and then a step of drying. The final gel was dried under supercritical conditions (343 °K and 2.2 x 104 kPa). Miller also teaches that the prepared aerogels (which is extremely porous) containing 50% of silica and having a BET specific surface areas of 244, 262, 268 and 186 m2/g (page 194, right-hand column, paragraph 2 – right- hand column, para. 5; Table 1). Additionally, aerogels are inherently highly porous, and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the porosity is varied by controlling precursor concentration, gelation, aging, and drying techniques (such as supercritical drying) etc. Therefore, forming a nanocomposite, wherein the nanocomposite comprises of a porous solid structure with an internal porous volume in the range of 40-90%, such as in the range of 50-80%, e.g. in the range of 60-7 5%, such as about 70% (as claimed in claim 12), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 13, Miller teaches a nanocomposite, wherein the porous solid structure comprises a surface area in the surface areas of 244, 262, 268 and 186 m2/g (page 195, Table 1).
Regarding claim 16, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material). Miller teaches that the process comprises of a step, wherein the mixing of the silica compound with the one or more metal compounds providing the homogenous mixture is performed under acidic conditions, by teaching to use nitric acid.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Miller et al. (Miller James B. et al.: "Control of Pre-hydrolysis Ratio for Sol-Gel Preparation of Homogeneous Zirconia-Silica Aerogels", JOURNAL OF CATALYSIS, vol. 153, 01 January 1995, pages 194-196), in view of Yun et al. (Yun Shan et al.: "Low-density, hydrophobic, highly flexible ambient pressure-dried monolithic bridged silsesquioxane aerogels", Journal of Materials Chemistry A, vol. 3, no. 7, 2015, pages 3390-3398), in view of Evans et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2007/0272902 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Evans”.
Regarding claim 2-3, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material). Miller teaches to use zirconium n-propoxide as a zirconium precursor. But Miller fails to explicitly teach the use of one or more metal compound that are metal oxide compounds or metal hydroxide compounds, and wherein, metal compound comprises a divalent metal ion, a trivalent metal ion, a tetravalent metal ion. However, Evans teaches the formation of aerogel composites with enhanced performance (tile). Evans teaches the use of metal oxide such as but not limited to zinc oxide, aluminum oxide, antimony oxide, hydrates and derivatives thereof. The iron oxides which can be used Fe2O3, Fe3O4, FeO, yellow iron oxide, red iron oxide, derivatives and hydrates thereof. These oxides when used should be finely divided so as to insure substantially uniform dispersal of the same throughout the gel precursor solution. Evans also teaches the use of magnesium-zinc blends such as magnesium-zinc-antimony are used. It is noted that aluminum and antimony is trivalent, and zinc, magnesium is divalent, whereas iron can be both divalent and trivalent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Evans and combine the use of one or more metal compound that are metal oxide compounds or metal hydroxide compounds, and wherein, metal compound comprises a divalent metal ion, a trivalent metal ion, a tetravalent metal ion; because that would allow to form aerogel nanocomposites with enhanced performance. Since both the references deal with formation of aerogel nanocomposites, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Miller et al. (Miller James B. et al.: "Control of Pre-hydrolysis Ratio for Sol-Gel Preparation of Homogeneous Zirconia-Silica Aerogels", JOURNAL OF CATALYSIS, vol. 153, 01 January 1995, pages 194-196), in view of Yun et al. (Yun Shan et al.: "Low-density, hydrophobic, highly flexible ambient pressure-dried monolithic bridged silsesquioxane aerogels", Journal of Materials Chemistry A, vol. 3, no. 7, 2015, pages 3390-3398), in view of Voss (US Patent Number 8,282,939), hereafter, referred to as “Voss”.
Regarding claims 8-9, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a nanocomposite and a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material) that forms an aerogel nanocomposite. But Millerand Yun fails to explicitly teach a step of removing salts and/or ions before drying the hydrogel, wherein the step of removing salts and/or ions includes dialysis. However, Voss teaches a process of removal of salts by electrodialysis process. Voss teaches that the salts of polybasic low molecular weight acids are removed from aqueous solutions containing anionic organic compounds by electrodialysis by acidifying the aqueous solution before or during salt removal (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Voss, and combine the step of removing salts and/or ions before drying the hydrogel, wherein the step of removing salts and/or ions includes electrodialysis (equivalent to a dialysis process), because that would allow any unwanted salts to be removed from the aqueous solution.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Miller et al. (Miller James B. et al.: "Control of Pre-hydrolysis Ratio for Sol-Gel Preparation of Homogeneous Zirconia-Silica Aerogels", JOURNAL OF CATALYSIS, vol. 153, 01 January 1995, pages 194-196), in view of Yun et al. (Yun Shan et al.: "Low-density, hydrophobic, highly flexible ambient pressure-dried monolithic bridged silsesquioxane aerogels", Journal of Materials Chemistry A, vol. 3, no. 7, 2015, pages 3390-3398), in view of DeSantis et al. (US Patent Number 5,069,816 A1), hereafter, referred to as “DeSantis”.
Regarding claim 14, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a nanocomposite, wherein the porous solid structure comprises 50 mol% silica, 50 mol% zirconia, which is equivalent to 32.8 % silica, 67.2 % zirconia (Table 1). But Miller, and Yun fails to explicitly teach the porous solid structure comprising 50-90 wt.% silica compound. However, DeSantis teaches a Zirconia-Silica hydrogel, that comprise of silicon and zirconium, including silicon as SiO2 in an amount of between about 60 and 99 wt.% of the hydrogel and zirconium as ZrO2 in an amount of between about 1 and 40 wt.% of the hydrogel (claim 11). Miller teaches that the hydrogel exhibits improved stability showing that having a high weight percentage (wt.%) of silica in a silica-zirconia system generally improves thermal and hydrothermal stability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of DeSantis use a known technique, and formulate a nanocomposite with 50-90 wt. % silica compound, because that would provide improved stability (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143).
Claims 15, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Miller et al. (Miller James B. et al.: "Control of Pre-hydrolysis Ratio for Sol-Gel Preparation of Homogeneous Zirconia-Silica Aerogels", JOURNAL OF CATALYSIS, vol. 153, 01 January 1995, pages 194-196), in view of Yun et al. (Yun Shan et al.: "Low-density, hydrophobic, highly flexible ambient pressure-dried monolithic bridged silsesquioxane aerogels", Journal of Materials Chemistry A, vol. 3, no. 7, 2015, pages 3390-3398), in view of Craig (CN 102224106 A), hereafter, referred to as “Craig”.
Regarding claim 15, and 20, Miller, in view of Yun teaches a nanocomposite and a process for the preparation of silica-zirconia aerogels (equivalent to nanocomposite material) that forms an aerogel nanocomposite. But Miller and Yun fails to explicitly teach the use of the nanocomposite as a filler in paint; or as a coating of a medical device; or as a dental filling. However, Craig teaches the use of nanoparticles of zirconia and silica in the form of fillers (title). Craig teaches that the fillers may be prepared by mixing a sol of silica nanoparticles with a sol of preformed, crystalline nano-zirconia particles. The fillers provide desirable optical properties, such as opalescence, and are useful in dental compositions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Craig, and use the silica-zirconia nanocomposite dental filling because that would provide desirable optical properties, such as opalescence, and are useful in dental compositions. Based on the use of nanoparticles of zirconia and silica in the form of fillers, and to provide desirable optical properties, it would also have been obvious to any ordinary artisan to use the aerogel filler materials in a paint for outdoor paint.
Responses to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742