Detailed Action
This office action is for US application number 18/517,651 evaluates the claims as filed on March 2, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Burgin teaches all the newly-amended limitations and is capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the bayonet with universal blade holder” of claim 1 lines 14-15 is shown in Fig. 1 with lenses 140i between illumination source 135 and the bayonet with universal blade holder 110 (Remarks p. 7), Examiner agrees that Fig. 1 shows lenses 140i between illumination source 135 and blade holder 110; however, there appears to be no structure shown in Fig. 1 that resembles a bayonet consistent with the ordinary meaning of the term and such does not appear to be provided an alternate definition or any description of the intended structure to enable one to ascertain the intended bayonet. Thus, one cannot reasonably conclude that such is shown. Examiner suggests identification of the intended bayonet and interpretation of “bayonet” or amending to render such clear.
With regards to Applicant’s argument that “one or more light pipes integral with the bayonet” in claim 23 is provided in at least Fig. 1 with light pipe 20 integrated with the bayonet and universal blade holder 110 (Remarks p. 8), Examiner agrees that Fig. 1 shows light pipe 20 integrated with blade holder 110; however, there appears to be no structure shown in Fig. 1 that resembles a bayonet consistent with the ordinary meaning of the term and such does not appear to be provided an alternate definition or any description of the intended structure to enable one to ascertain the intended bayonet. Thus, one cannot reasonably conclude that such is shown. Examiner suggests identification of the intended bayonet and interpretation of “bayonet” or amending to render such clear.
With regards to Applicant’s argument with regards to Koenen that (Remarks p. 10-12), Examiner notes that such is moot because the current ground of rejection does not rely on Koenen for any teaching.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the scalpel of claim 1 line 1, the “bayonet attached to an end of the scalpel handle in longitudinal coordination” of claim 1 line 4, the “the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the bayonet with universal blade holder” of claim 1 lines 14-15, the “one or more light pipes integral with the bayonet” of claim 23 lines 1-2, the scalpel of claim 26 line 1, the “bayonet attached to an end of the scalpel handle in longitudinal coordination” of claim 26 line 3, the “one or more light pipes integral with the bayonet” of claim 26 line 11, and the “the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the bayonet with universal blade holder” of claim 26 lines 15-16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 26 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 11 should read “one or more lenses integrated in
Claim 26 line 10 should read “one or more lenses integrated in .
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 23 be found allowable, claim 26 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 15, 17-20, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 is/are unclear with regards to the scalpel in line 1, the “a bayonet attached to an end of the scalpel handle in longitudinal coordination” in line 4, and the “the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the bayonet with universal blade holder” in lines 14-15 which appears to be due to inconsistencies between the specification and drawings and the ordinary meaning of terms that have not been provided alternate definitions in Applicant’s original disclosure. As an initial matter, Applicant has claimed a scalpel, which is ordinarily “a small straight thin-bladed knife used especially in surgery” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/scalpel); however, the specification does not appear to specifically disclose that Applicant’s invention is a scalpel, but instead discuses a scalpel handle throughout. Applicant distinguishes in paragraph 12 that the “invention relates to a scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder having one or more integrated lenses and one or more illumination source” but is then silent to a structure of the bayonet and instead indicates in paragraph 14 that, in one embodiment, the one or more light pipes transmit light from the one or more illumination sources “past a scalpel blade attached to the bayonet with universal blade fitting” and that Fig. 1 shows “a perspective view of a scalpel handle 100 and bayonet with universal blade holder 110 and light pipe 120” (¶51) but does not indicate what structure in Fig. 1 is the disclosed and claimed bayonet and a review of Fig. 1 shows the handle 100, universal blade holder 110, and a structure designated as light pipe 120. This is further unclear when one considers that it does not appear that Applicant has acted as their own lexicographer and provided an alternate definition of “bayonet” in the original disclosure; where the ordinary meaning of bayonet is “a steel blade attached at the muzzle end of a shoulder arm (such as a rifle) and used in hand-to-hand combat”(https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bayonet) and that paragraph 40 provides that “The scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder may comprise an instrument, device, or medical device. The universal blade fitting attached to the bayonet can accommodate a variety of scalpel blades or other surgical instruments as is known in the art...” Thus, the scope of the claimed “scalpel” and “bayonet” is unclear and does not appear to be consistently supported by the specifications as referring to any particular structure. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “A scalpel handle comprising:” in line 1, “blade holder configured to attach a blade is made of at least in part transparent material” in lines 16-17.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are unclear with regards to the “reusable sterilizable material” in lines 1-2 and where appropriate support can be found for particular components comprising such a material. Further, claim 18 is unclear with regards to the bayonet as detailed above and support for the universal blade holder being comprised of a “reusable sterilizable material” in lines 1-2 and paragraph 43 discloses that the “scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder may comprise a reusable material of construction that can be sterilized following surgery for reuse”. That is, such is unclear as to what the bayonet is and which of the individual components are “reusable sterilizable material”. Examiner is interpreting this broadly and suggests identification of support for an identifiable structure with such material or cancelling claims 17 and 18.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are unclear with regards to the “disposable sterilizable material” in lines 1-2 and where appropriate support can be found for particular components comprising such a material. Further, claim 20 is unclear with regards to the bayonet as detailed above and support for the universal blade holder being comprised of a “disposable sterilizable material” in lines 1-2 and paragraph 43 discloses that the “n one embodiment, the scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder are disposable. In one embodiment, the scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder may comprise a reusable material of construction that can be sterilized following surgery for reuse”, but is silent to a material that is sterilizable and disposable beyond the BRI that any material can be disposed of if a user so desires to do so. Examiner is interpreting this broadly and suggests identification of support for an identifiable structure with such material or cancelling claims 19 and 20.
Claim(s) 23 is/are unclear with regards to “one or more light pipes integral with the bayonet” in lines 1-2 due to the lack of clarity regarding a consistently identifiable scope for “bayonet” as detailed above. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “further comprising one or more light pipes
Claim(s) 26 is/are unclear with regards to the scalpel in line 1, the “a bayonet attached to an end of the scalpel handle in longitudinal coordination” in line 4, the “one or more light pipes integral with the bayonet” in line 11, and the “the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the bayonet with universal blade holder” in lines 15-16 which appears to be due to inconsistencies between the specification and drawings and the ordinary meaning of terms that have not been provided alternate definitions in Applicant’s original disclosure. As an initial matter, Applicant has claimed a scalpel, which is ordinarily “a small straight thin-bladed knife used especially in surgery” (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/scalpel); however, the specification does not appear to specifically disclose that Applicant’s invention is a scalpel, but instead discuses a scalpel handle throughout. Applicant distinguishes in paragraph 12 that the “invention relates to a scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder having one or more integrated lenses and one or more illumination source” but is then silent to a structure of the bayonet and instead indicates in paragraph 14 that, in one embodiment, the one or more light pipes transmit light from the one or more illumination sources “past a scalpel blade attached to the bayonet with universal blade fitting” and that Fig. 1 shows “a perspective view of a scalpel handle 100 and bayonet with universal blade holder 110 and light pipe 120” (¶51) but does not indicate what structure in Fig. 1 is the disclosed and claimed bayonet and a review of Fig. 1 shows the handle 100, universal blade holder 110, and a structure designated as light pipe 120. This is further unclear when one considers that it does not appear that Applicant has acted as their own lexicographer and provided an alternate definition of “bayonet” in the original disclosure; where the ordinary meaning of bayonet is “a steel blade attached at the muzzle end of a shoulder arm (such as a rifle) and used in hand-to-hand combat”(https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bayonet) and that paragraph 40 provides that “The scalpel handle and bayonet with universal blade holder may comprise an instrument, device, or medical device. The universal blade fitting attached to the bayonet can accommodate a variety of scalpel blades or other surgical instruments as is known in the art...” Thus, the scope of the claimed “scalpel” and “bayonet” is unclear and does not appear to be consistently supported by the specifications as referring to any particular structure. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “A scalpel handle comprising:” in line 1, “blade holder configured to attach a blade is made of at least in part transparent material” in lines 17-18.
Claim(s) 3-9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 15, 17-20, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burgin (US 4,542,741).
As to claim 1, Burgin discloses a scalpel handle (24, Fig. 1) comprising: an outer wall (Fig. 1) defining an interior hollow cavity (32); a blade holder (portion of 24 shown holding 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 1) capable of attaching a blade (22) attached to an end of the scalpel handle in longitudinal coordination (Fig. 1); an electrical circuit (Fig. 1) disposed in the interior hollow cavity of the scalpel handle (Fig. 1); a power source (44s) disposed in the interior hollow cavity in communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 1); one or more illumination sources (40) disposed in the interior hollow cavity in operative communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 1, col. 2 line 28-31); and one or more lenses (portion of 24 defining the left surface of 32 to surface 52 as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1) integrated in the scalpel handle (Fig. 1); wherein the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the blade holder (Fig. 1), wherein the scalpel handle is made of at least in part transparent material (col. 2 lines 18-20, col. 1 lines 60-61);).
As to claim 3, Burgin discloses that the power source comprises one or more batteries (as defined, col. 2 lines 30-33).
As to claim 4, Burgin discloses that the one or more illumination sources comprises one or more light bulbs (as defined, col. 2 lines 28-31).
As to claim 15, Burgin discloses that the one or more lenses comprise two convex lenses (opposing outer wall portions adjacent 40 as shown in Fig. 1, which have a convex outer surface due to the contour of the handle, Fig. 1) are disposed in the outer wall of the scalpel handle adjacent one of the one or more illumination sources (as defined, Fig. 1).
As to claim 17, Burgin discloses that the scalpel handle comprises a material (Fig. 1) capable of being reuse and sterilized (Fig. 1).
As to claim 18, Burgin discloses that the bayonet and universal blade holder comprises a material (Fig. 1) capable of being reuse and sterilized (Fig. 1).
As to claim 19, Burgin discloses that the scalpel handle comprises a material (Fig. 1) capable of being sterilized and disposed (Fig. 1).
As to claim 20, Burgin discloses that the bayonet and universal blade holder (Fig. 1) comprises a capable of being sterilized and disposed (Fig. 1).
As to claim 23, Burgin discloses one or more light pipes (in as much as Applicant’s lower portion 24 is shown directly connected to 22 and extending to 40 as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 23-26) in communication with one of the one or more illumination sources such that light emitted by the one or more illumination sources is transmitted by one or more of the light pipes (Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 18-21).
As to claim 26, Burgin discloses a scalpel handle (24, Fig. 1) comprising: an outer wall (Fig. 1) defining an interior hollow cavity (32); a blade holder (portion of 24 shown holding 22 in Fig. 1, Fig. 1) capable of attaching a blade (22) attached to an end of the scalpel handle in longitudinal coordination (Fig. 1); an electrical circuit (Fig. 1) disposed in the interior hollow cavity of the scalpel handle (Fig. 1); a power source (44s) disposed in the interior hollow cavity in communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 1); one or more illumination sources (40) disposed in the interior hollow cavity in operative communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 1, col. 2 line 28-31); one or more lenses (portion of 24 defining the left surface of 32 to surface 52 as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1) integrated in the scalpel handle (Fig. 1); and one or more light pipes (in as much as Applicant’s lower portion 24 is shown directly connected to 22 and extending to 40 as shown in Fig. 1, Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 23-26) in communication with one of the one or more illumination sources such that light emitted by the one or more illumination sources is transmitted by one or more of the light pipes (Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 18-21), wherein the one or more lenses is disposed in the interior hollow cavity between the illumination source and the blade holder (Fig. 1), wherein the scalpel handle is made of at least in part transparent material (col. 2 lines 18-20, col. 1 lines 60-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgin in view of Vayser (US 2018/0078301).
As to claims 5 and 6, Burgin discloses the invention of claim 4.
Burgin is silent to the one or more light bulbs comprises one or more LED bulbs. As to claim 6, Burgin is silent to the LED bulbs emit blue light having a wavelength of between about 380 nm and 500 nm.
Vayser teaches a similar surgical handle (1004, Figs. 10 and 11, ¶s 82 and 83), the handle comprising: an outer wall (Figs. 10 and 11) defining an interior hollow cavity (Fig. 11); a blade holder (portion of 1004 shown holding 1010 in Figs. 10 and 11, Figs. 10 and 11) capable of attaching a blade (1010, ¶82 discloses a flat planar blade) to an end of the handle in longitudinal coordination (Figs. 10 and 11); an electrical circuit (Fig. 11, ¶83 ) disposed in the interior hollow cavity of the handle (Fig. 11); one or more illumination sources (1110, Figs. 10 and 11, ¶83) disposed in the interior hollow cavity in operative communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 11, ¶83); and one or more lenses (1006, Figs. 10 and 11, ¶82) integrated in the handle (Figs. 10 and 11), wherein the one or more illumination sources comprises one or more light bulbs (Fig. 11), wherein the one or more light bulbs comprises one or more LED bulbs (¶83). As to claim 6, Vayser teaches that the LED bulbs emit blue light having a wavelength of between about 380 nm and 500 nm (¶s 52 and 105; where ¶52 discloses visible light of 390-700nm wavelength, ¶105 discloses LEDs providing blue light; as evidenced by UCAR NPL blue light has wavelengths of about 450-495 nm).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the light bulb as disclosed by the Burgin to be a blue light from at least one LED as taught by Vayser in order to provide light that is thermally safe, low profile, and directed and shaped for optimal illumination of the surgical target (Vayser ¶3) by any of a number of known techniques (Vayser ¶105) and may vary as function of time, distance from the target region, mode of operation, or type of surgical procedure (Vayser ¶52).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgin in view of Duggal et al. (US 2018/0228483, hereinafter “Duggal”).
As to claims 7-9, Burgin discloses the invention of claim 1.
Burgin is silent to the electrical circuit comprises a PCB. As to claim 8, Burgin is silent to the one or more illumination sources are attached to the PCB. As to claim 9, Burgin is silent to the PCB comprises a flexible PCB.
Duggal teaches a similar surgical handle (700, Figs. 7A-7E and 7G, ¶60) comprising: an outer wall (Figs. 7A-7E and 7G); an electrical circuit (732, 730, 734, Fig. 7C, ¶55); a power source (742, Fig. 7E, ¶56) in communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 7E, ¶56); one or more illumination sources (760, Fig. 7G, ¶60) in operative communication with the electrical circuit (Fig. 7G); and one or more lenses (765, Fig. 7G, ¶60) integrated in the handle (Fig. 7G, ¶60); wherein the electrical circuit comprises a PCB (as defined, Fig. 7C, ¶55). As to claim 8, Duggal teaches that the one or more illumination sources are attached to the PCB (Fig. 7C, ¶55). As to claim 9, Duggal teaches that the PCB comprises a flexible PCB (Fig. 7C, ¶55).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the electrical circuit as disclosed by Burgin by adding a flexible PCB as taught by Duggal in order to connect or couple the electrical components (Duggal Fig. 7C, ¶55) in a predictable and known manner (Duggal Fig. 7C).
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775