DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 9, filed 02/04/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1:
Applicant submitted (Remarks, pages 8-9) that the cited art does not disclose or suggest “in response to satisfying a triggering condition of an inter-cell mobility procedure, transmitting, to the UE, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure through the S-MCG of the first DU; and receiving, from the UE, a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed through the T-MCG of the first DU”, as cited in independent claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang teaches “in response to satisfying a triggering condition of an inter-cell mobility procedure, transmitting, to the UE, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure through the S-MCG of the first DU; and receiving, from the UE, a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed through the T-MCG of the first DU”. In [0070], Zhang discloses “Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling”. In [0104], Zhang discloses “The NW selects the target candidate cell based on the measurements report in block 708 and sends a triggering command (e.g. L1/L2 command) in block 710 to indicate that the UE selects the indicated cell to perform inter-cell mobility”. In [0107], Zhang discloses “The triggering command can be at least one of a physical layer DCI, MAC CE or RRC signaling. The triggering command may include at least one of the following information of the one or more selected cells to indicate that the UE actives or switches to the indicated cell(s)”.
Moreover, Zhang disclose the intra-DU mobility procedure in [0065], “FIG. 4 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) intra-DU mobility. The base station may include a CU and at least one DU. In this embodiment, there is a single DU shown that has multiple cells. Both Cell 1 and Cell 2 are from the single DU. In this example, the UE 402 can move from Cell 1 to Cell 2 and is depicted in FIG. 4 with a UE trajectory from Cell 1 to Cell 2. The mobility from cells may occur when the UE 402 is in a position between the two cells and making its way to the third position within Cell 2”, and in [0180], “FIG. 4 illustrated intra-DU mobility while FIG. 14 shows intra-DU mobility based on DU triggering determination. In block 1402, the L1 measurement report is provided from the UE to the DU. The DU determines the candidate cell to be activated based on the measurement in block 1404. In block 1406, after the DU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, then the DU sends L1/L2 command to indicate the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the UE. In block 1408, the UE activates/accesses the target cell (e.g. via random access procedure), and sends L1/L2 signaling in block 1410 to the DU to complete the L1/L2 mobility procedure. In block 1412, the DU may inform the activated/target cell(s) to the CU”.
Thus, as shown in FIG. 7, the signaling paths for performing the inter-cell mobility procedure are indicated by Step 710 (L1/L2 command from the source cell to UE) and Step 714 (L1/L2 command from UE to the target cell) by using MAC CE signaling.
Applicant submitted (Remarks, pages 9-10) that the cited art does not disclose or suggest “performing a configuration operation of a target (T)-MCG between the first DU and the first CU”, as cited in independent claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang teaches “performing a configuration operation of a target (T)-MCG between the first DU and the first CU”. In [0179], Zhang discloses “In block 1308, after the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or load balance, then the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message)”. That is, the configuration operation of the candidate cell(s) is performed by the F1 message between the first DU and the first CU.
Regarding independent claim 9:
Applicant submitted (Remarks, pages 10-11) that the cited art does not disclose or suggest “a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure is transmitted from the first DU to the UE through a serving (S)-master cell group (MCG) of the first DU, and a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed is transmitted from the UE to the second DU through the T-MCG of the second DU”, as cited in independent claim 9. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zhang teaches “a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure is transmitted from the first DU to the UE through a serving (S)-master cell group (MCG) of the first DU, and a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed is transmitted from the UE to the second DU through the T-MCG of the second DU”. In [0066], Zhang discloses “FIG. 5 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) intra-CU and inter-DU mobility. In this embodiment, the base station may include a CU and two DUs (DU_1 and DU_2). Although each DU may have multiple cells, for this example each DU is shown providing a single cell such that DU_1 is providing Cell 1 and DU_2 is providing Cell 2. In this example, the UE 502 can move from Cell 1 to Cell 2 and is depicted in FIG. 5 with a UE trajectory from Cell 1 to Cell 2 which also results in a transition from DU_1 to DU_2”. In [0070], Zhang discloses “Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling”. In [0104], Zhang discloses “The NW selects the target candidate cell based on the measurements report in block 708 and sends a triggering command (e.g. L1/L2 command) in block 710 to indicate that the UE selects the indicated cell to perform inter-cell mobility”. In [0182], Zhang discloses “FIG. 16 shows an embodiment of inter-DU mobility based on CU triggering determination. ... In block 1608, the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to (e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or/and load condition), and the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the source DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message). In block 1610, the source DU sends an L1/L2 command to indicate the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the UE. ... In block 1616, the UE activates/accesses the target cell (e.g. via random access procedure), and sends L1/L2 signaling to the DU in block 1622 to complete the L1/L2 mobility procedure. After block 1616, the target DU may send a Downlink Data Delivery Status frame in block 1618 to inform the CU”.
Thus, from FIG. 5, FIG. 7 and FIG. 16, a first MAC CE is transmitted from the source DU (i.e., first DU) to the UE through the source cells, and a second MAC CE is transmitted from the UE to the target DU (i.e., second DU) through the target cells.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 16 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2024/0334270).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches a method of a first distributed unit (DU), comprising:
receiving a measurement report from a user equipment (UE) through a serving (S)-master cell group (MCG) of the first DU ([0178] In block 1302, the L1/L3 measurement report is provided from the UE to the DU and is forwarded to the CU in block 1304. The measurement report is used to determine the candidate cell in block 1306; [0049] There may be a master node (“MN”) and one or more secondary nodes (“SN”). The MN may include a master cell group (“MCG”) and the SN may each include a secondary cell group (“SCG”). The MCG is the group of cells provided by the master node (“MN”) and the SCG is the group of cells provided by the secondary node (“SN”). The MCG may include a primary cell (“PCell”) and one or more secondary cells (“SCell”); [0063] A single DU may support one or multiple cells. However, each cell is only supported by a single DU. Each base station may support many cells; [0065] there is a single DU shown that has multiple cells);
transmitting a first message including the measurement report to a first central unit (CU) ([0178] In block 1302, the L1/L3 measurement report is provided from the UE to the DU and is forwarded to the CU in block 1304. The measurement report is used to determine the candidate cell in block 1306);
performing a configuration operation of a target (T)-MCG between the first DU and the first CU ([0179] In block 1308, after the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or load balance, then the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message); [0012] The candidate cell refers to a candidate cell group, wherein the candidate cell group is at least one of a candidate master cell group (“MCG”), or a candidate secondary cell group (“SCG”));
transmitting configuration information of the T-MCG for the first DU to the UE ([0069] the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling; [0164] In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE; [0174] In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE),
in response to satisfying a triggering condition of an inter-cell mobility procedure, transmitting, to the UE, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure through the S-MCG of the first DU ([0065] FIG. 4 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) intra-DU mobility. The base station may include a CU and at least one DU. In this embodiment, there is a single DU shown that has multiple cells. Both Cell 1 and Cell 2 are from the single DU. In this example, the UE 402 can move from Cell 1 to Cell 2 and is depicted in FIG. 4 with a UE trajectory from Cell 1 to Cell 2. The mobility from cells may occur when the UE 402 is in a position between the two cells and making its way to the third position within Cell 2; [0070] Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling; [0104] The NW selects the target candidate cell based on the measurements report in block 708 and sends a triggering command (e.g. L1/L2 command) in block 710 to indicate that the UE selects the indicated cell to perform inter-cell mobility; [0107] The triggering command can be at least one of a physical layer DCI, MAC CE or RRC signaling. The triggering command may include at least one of the following information of the one or more selected cells to indicate that the UE actives or switches to the indicated cell(s); [0180] In block 1406, after the DU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, then the DU sends L1/L2 command to indicate the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the UE); and
receiving, from the UE, a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed through the T-MCG of the first DU ([0065] FIG. 4 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) intra-DU mobility. The base station may include a CU and at least one DU. In this embodiment, there is a single DU shown that has multiple cells. Both Cell 1 and Cell 2 are from the single DU. In this example, the UE 402 can move from Cell 1 to Cell 2 and is depicted in FIG. 4 with a UE trajectory from Cell 1 to Cell 2. The mobility from cells may occur when the UE 402 is in a position between the two cells and making its way to the third position within Cell 2; [0070] Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling; [0180] In block 1408, the UE activates/accesses the target cell (e.g. via random access procedure), and sends L1/L2 signaling in block 1410 to the DU to complete the L1/L2 mobility procedure. In block 1412, the DU may inform the activated/target cell(s) to the CU),
wherein the T-MCG for the first DU is configured with the UE based on the configuration information of the T-MCG ([0171] The RRC message includes the candidate cell configuration, and may also include the triggering events/conditions associated with the candidate cell(s) (e.g for UE triggered mobility). In block 1112, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. In block 1114, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1116; [0179] In block 1308, after the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or load balance, then the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message); [0069] the network (“NW”) pre-configures one or multiple candidate/neighbor cells for inter-cell mobility via RRC signaling; [0164] In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE; [0174] In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches the first message requests to perform a pre-preparation procedure for the inter-cell mobility procedure, and in the pre-preparation procedure, the T-MCG for the first DU is configured ([0178] In block 1302, the L1/L3 measurement report is provided from the UE to the DU and is forwarded to the CU in block 1304. The measurement report is used to determine the candidate cell in block 1306; [0179] In block 1308, after the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or load balance, then the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message); [0012] The candidate cell refers to a candidate cell group, wherein the candidate cell group is at least one of a candidate master cell group (“MCG”), or a candidate secondary cell group (“SCG”)).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang teaches the performing of the configuration operation of the T-MCG between the first DU and the first CU comprises:
receiving, from the first CU, a second message indicating to perform a pre-preparation procedure for the inter-cell mobility procedure ([0179] In block 1308, after the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or load balance, then the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message)); and
transmitting a third message in response to the second message to the first CU ([0179] In block 1316, the DU responds to the CU (e.g. via UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message or other message). The message may include the activated/target cell ID(s)),
wherein the T-MCG is configured by exchanging the second message and the third message, and at least one of the second message or the third message includes information element(s) required for configuring the T-MCG ([0179] In block 1308, after the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to, e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or load balance, then the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message ... In block 1316, the DU responds to the CU (e.g. via UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION RESPONSE message or other message). The message may include the activated/target cell ID(s)).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang teaches the transmitting of the configuration information of the T-MCG for the first DU to the UE comprises:
receiving, from the first CU, a fourth message including the configuration information of the T-MCG ([0164] In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE; [0174] In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE); and
transmitting a first radio resource control (RRC) message including the configuration information of the T-MCG to the UE, wherein the first RRC message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message ([0164] In block 908, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE; [0171] The RRC message includes the candidate cell configuration, and may also include the triggering events/conditions associated with the candidate cell(s) (e.g for UE triggered mobility). In block 1112, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. In block 1114, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1116; [0174] In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang teaches receiving, from the UE, a second RRC message indicating that the configuration of the T-MCG is complete; and transmitting, to the first CU, a fifth message indicating that the configuration of the T-MCG is completed, wherein the second RRC message is an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message ([0164] In block 910, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, and then the DU forwards to the CU in block 912 (e.g. via an UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message); [0171] In block 1114, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1116; [0174] In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. In block 1212, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1214).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang teaches in response to that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed, transmitting, to the first CU, a sixth message including information on a result of the inter-cell mobility procedure ([0180] In block 1412, the DU may inform the activated/target cell(s) to the CU (e.g. via ACCESS SUCCESS message); [0183] The target DU may also inform the CU about the successful completion of L1/L2 mobility in block 1714 (e.g. via an ACCESS SUCCESS message). The message may also include the activated/target cell(s)).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang teaches a method of a first central unit (CU), comprising:
receiving a first message including a measurement report of a user equipment (UE) from a first distributed unit (DU) to which the UE is connected ([0182] In block 1602, the L1/L3 measurement report is provided from the UE to the source DU and is forwarded to the CU in block 1604. The measurement report is used to determine the candidate cell in block 1606);
performing a configuration operation of a target (T)-master cell group (MCG) between a second DU and the first CU ([0173] In block 1204, the CU sends a suggested candidate cell list to the candidate DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message or other message), to request candidate DU to set up candidate cells; [0174] In block 1206, the target DU determines whether to set up the candidate cells as suggested, and sends the generated candidate cell configuration (e.g. CellGroupConfig) to the CU (e.g. via UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message)); and
transmitting configuration information of the T-MCG for the second DU to the UE through the first DU ([0174] In block 1208, the CU sends the generated RRCReconfiguration message to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION CONFIRM message). The RRC message includes the candidate cell configuration, and may also include the triggering events/execution conditions associated with the candidate cell(s) (e.g for UE triggered mobility). The F1 message may also include the configured candidate cell list, and/or the triggering events/conditions (e.g for DU triggered mobility). In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. In block 1212, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1214),
wherein the T-MCG for the second DU is configured with the UE based on the configuration information of the T-MCG ([0174] In block 1206, the target DU determines whether to set up the candidate cells as suggested, and sends the generated candidate cell configuration ... In block 1208, the CU sends the generated RRCReconfiguration message to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION CONFIRM message). The RRC message includes the candidate cell configuration, and may also include the triggering events/execution conditions associated with the candidate cell(s) (e.g for UE triggered mobility). The F1 message may also include the configured candidate cell list, and/or the triggering events/conditions (e.g for DU triggered mobility). In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE), and
wherein, in response to satisfying a triggering condition of an inter-cell mobility procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure is transmitted from the first DU to the UE through a serving (S)-master cell group (MCG) of the first DU, and a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed is transmitted from the UE to the second DU through the T-MCG of the second DU ([0066] FIG. 5 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) intra-CU and inter-DU mobility. In this embodiment, the base station may include a CU and two DUs (DU_1 and DU_2). Although each DU may have multiple cells, for this example each DU is shown providing a single cell such that DU_1 is providing Cell 1 and DU_2 is providing Cell 2. In this example, the UE 502 can move from Cell 1 to Cell 2 and is depicted in FIG. 5 with a UE trajectory from Cell 1 to Cell 2 which also results in a transition from DU_1 to DU_2; [0070] Based on the identification of at least one target cell, the source cell sends a triggering command in block 710 to the UE that includes the identification of at least one target cell. This triggering command is a L1/L2 command. Based on receipt of this L1/L2 command, the UE switches to the target cell in block 712 and communicates with the target cell in block 714. The communication between the UE and the target cell is through L1/L2 signaling; [0104] The NW selects the target candidate cell based on the measurements report in block 708 and sends a triggering command (e.g. L1/L2 command) in block 710 to indicate that the UE selects the indicated cell to perform inter-cell mobility; [0182] FIG. 16 shows an embodiment of inter-DU mobility based on CU triggering determination. ... In block 1608, the CU determines the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to (e.g. according to L1 or/and L3 measurement report, or/and load condition), and the CU sends the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the source DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION REQUEST message or other message). In block 1610, the source DU sends an L1/L2 command to indicate the candidate cell(s) to be activated/switched to the UE. ... In block 1616, the UE activates/accesses the target cell (e.g. via random access procedure), and sends L1/L2 signaling to the DU in block 1622 to complete the L1/L2 mobility procedure. After block 1616, the target DU may send a Downlink Data Delivery Status frame in block 1618 to inform the CU).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang teaches the first DU and the second DU are connected to the first CU, and a cell to which the UE is connected is changed from a cell of the first DU to a cell of the second DU by the inter-cell mobility procedure ([0066] FIG. 5 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) intra-CU and inter-DU mobility. In this embodiment, the base station may include a CU and two DUs (DU_1 and DU_2). Although each DU may have multiple cells, for this example each DU is shown providing a single cell such that DU_1 is providing Cell 1 and DU_2 is providing Cell 2. In this example, the UE 502 can move from Cell 1 to Cell 2 and is depicted in FIG. 5 with a UE trajectory from Cell 1 to Cell 2 which also results in a transition from DU_1 to DU_2).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang teaches the first message requests to perform a pre-preparation procedure for the inter-cell mobility procedure, and in the pre-preparation procedure, the T-MCG for the second DU is configured ([0182] In block 1602, the L1/L3 measurement report is provided from the UE to the source DU and is forwarded to the CU in block 1604. The measurement report is used to determine the candidate cell in block 1606; [0173] In block 1204, the CU sends a suggested candidate cell list to the candidate DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message or other message), to request candidate DU to set up candidate cells; [0174] In block 1206, the target DU determines whether to set up the candidate cells as suggested, and sends the generated candidate cell configuration (e.g. CellGroupConfig) to the CU (e.g. via UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message)).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang teaches the performing of the configuration operation of the T-MCG between the second DU and the first CU comprises:
transmitting, to the second DU, a second message indicating to perform a pre-preparation procedure for the inter-cell mobility procedure; and receiving, from the second DU, a third message in response to the second message ([0173] In block 1204, the CU sends a suggested candidate cell list to the candidate DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message or other message), to request candidate DU to set up candidate cells; [0174] In block 1206, the target DU determines whether to set up the candidate cells as suggested, and sends the generated candidate cell configuration (e.g. CellGroupConfig) to the CU (e.g. via UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message)),
wherein the T-MCG is configured by exchanging the second message and the third message, and at least one of the second message or the third message includes information element(s) required for configuring the T-MCG ([0173] In block 1204, the CU sends a suggested candidate cell list to the candidate DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message or other message), to request candidate DU to set up candidate cells; [0174] In block 1206, the target DU determines whether to set up the candidate cells as suggested, and sends the generated candidate cell configuration (e.g. CellGroupConfig) to the CU (e.g. via UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message)).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang teaches the transmitting of the configuration information of the T-MCG for the second DU to the UE through the first DU comprises: transmitting a fourth message including the configuration information of the T-MCG to the first DU, wherein a first radio resource control (RRC) message including the configuration information of the T-MCG is transmitted from the first DU to the UE, and the first RRC message is an RRC connection reconfiguration message ([0174] In block 1208, the CU sends the generated RRCReconfiguration message to the DU via F1 message (e.g. UE CONTEXT MODIFICATION CONFIRM message). The RRC message includes the candidate cell configuration, and may also include the triggering events/execution conditions associated with the candidate cell(s) (e.g for UE triggered mobility). The F1 message may also include the configured candidate cell list, and/or the triggering events/conditions (e.g for DU triggered mobility). In block 1210, the DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. In block 1212, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1214).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang teaches receiving, from the first DU, a fifth message indicating that the configuration of the T-MCG of the UE is completed ([0174] In block 1212, the UE responds to the DU with an RRCReconfigurationComplete message, for which the DU forwards to the CU in block 1214).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0334270) in view of Mochizuki et al. (US 2025/0159561).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang teaches receiving, from the second DU, a seventh message indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed ([0183] The target DU may also inform the CU about the successful completion of L1/L2 mobility in block 1714 (e.g. via an ACCESS SUCCESS message). The message may also include the activated/target cell(s)),
wherein the inter-cell mobility procedure is triggered by the first DU ([0183] The source DU determines the candidate cell to be activated based on the measurement in block 1704).
However, Zhang does not teach receiving, from the first DU, a sixth message indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed.
In an analogous art, Mochizuki teaches receiving, from the first DU, a sixth message indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed ([0500] once the CU receives, from the source DU or the target DU, ACCESS SUCCESS for the notification of the cell change by the inter-cell L1/L2 mobility, data forwarding may be started).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Mochizuki’s method with Zhang’s method so that the data forwarding can be performed after the cell change by the inter-cell L1/L2 mobility is reliably performed (Mochizuki [0500]).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0334287) in view of Hwang et al. (US 2024/0155445).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang teaches a method of a second central unit (CU), comprising:
receiving, from a first CU, a first message requesting to perform a pre-preparation procedure for an inter-cell mobility procedure ([0145] In block 1110, the source CU sends a Handover Request message to the target CU. The message may include a HandoverPreparationInformation message. The message may include a DAPS HO indication to indicate that a DAPS HO is to be prepared, configured, initiated or requested; [0160] In block 1210, the source CU sends a Handover Request message to the target CU. The message may include a HandoverPreparationInformation message. The message may include a DAPS HO indication to indicate that a DAPS HO is to be prepared, configured, initiated or requested);
performing a configuration operation of a target (T)-master cell group (MCG) between a second distributed unit (DU) and the second CU ([0146] In block 1112, the target DU sends a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the target CU to create a UE context and setup one or more data bearers; [0147] In block 1114, the target CU responds to the target DU with a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message; [0045] FIG. 6 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) inter-CU mobility. In this embodiment, the base station may include multiple CUs (CU_1 and CU_2). Each CU may include multiple DUs, ... Each of the DUs is shown with multiple cells; [0161] In block 1212, the target DU sends a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the target CU to create a UE context and setup one or more data bearers; [0162] In block 1214, the target CU responds to the target DU with a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message); and
transmitting configuration information of the T-MCG for the second DU to the first CU ([0148] In block 1116, the target CU decides whether to accept DAPS HO and sends the Handover Request Acknowledge message to the source CU. The message may include a handover command (i.e. RRCreconfiguration message); [0163] In block 1216, the target CU decides whether to accept DAPS HO and sends the Handover Request Acknowledge message to the source CU. The message may include a handover command (i.e. RRCreconfiguration message)),
wherein the T-MCG for the second DU is configured with a user equipment (UE) based on the configuration information of the T-MCG ([0150] In block 1120, the source DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE; [0165] In block 1220, the source DU forwards the received RRCReconfiguration message to the UE).
However, Zhang does not teach wherein, in response to satisfying a triggering condition of the inter-cell mobility procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure is transmitted from a first DU connected to the first CU to the UE through a serving (S)-master cell group (MCG) of the first DU, and a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed is transmitted from the UE to the second DU through the T-MCG of the second DU.
In an analogous art, Hwang teaches wherein, in response to satisfying a triggering condition of the inter-cell mobility procedure, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating to perform the inter-cell mobility procedure is transmitted from a first DU connected to the first CU to the UE through a serving (S)-master cell group (MCG) of the first DU ([0152] A serving DU may indicate performing of LTM with respect to a predetermined target cell via DCI. In this instance, with respect to the target cells of which information is provided in advance via the MAC CE; [0174] Triggering together with a predetermined ID may be transmitted from a network to the UE via a MAC CE or DCI ... the network may always include an LTM configuration release indicator in a HO command for inter-CU HO; [0197] Triggering together with a predetermined ID may be transmitted from a network to the UE via a MAC CE or DCI), and a second MAC CE indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed is transmitted from the UE to the second DU through the T-MCG of the second DU ([0152] A serving DU may indicate performing of LTM with respect to a predetermined target cell via DCI. In this instance, with respect to the target cells of which information is provided in advance via the MAC CE; [0197] In case that the UE successfully performs or completes handover to a target cell indicated, a handover complete indicator may be transmitted to the target cell. The indicator may be transmitted via a UCI or a UL MAC CE; [0219] In case that the UE successfully performs or completes handover to a target cell indicated, an indicator indicating a successful handover may be transmitted to the target cell. The indicator may be transmitted via a UCI or a UL MAC CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hwang’s method with Zhang’s method so that it can provide a base station transfers most configuration information to a user equipment (UE) in advance, and transfers only limited information, such as identifier (ID) or index information via a layer 1 or layer 2 signal. Handover is performed by applying the configuration information of information transferred in advance that is associated with the corresponding ID or index value (Hwang [0012]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Zhang and Hwang, specifically Zhang teaches the second DU is connected to the second CU, the first DU is connected to the first CU, and a cell to which the UE is connected is changed by the inter-cell mobility procedure from a cell of the first DU to a cell of the second DU ([0045] FIG. 6 shows an embodiment of user equipment (UE) inter-CU mobility. In this embodiment, the base station may include multiple CUs (CU_1 and CU_2). Each CU may include multiple DUs, ... Each of the DUs is shown with multiple cells ... Because the UE 602 (at the inter-CU position 604) switches cells from CU_1 to CU_2, this transition is referred to as inter-CU mobility).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Zhang and Hwang, specifically Zhang teaches the performing of the configuration operation of the T-MCG between the second DU and the second CU comprises:
transmitting, to the second DU, a second message indicating to perform the pre-preparation procedure for the inter-cell mobility procedure ([0130] the CU sends a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the target DU to create a UE context and setup one or more data bearers); and
receiving, from the second DU, a third message in response to the second message ([0132] the target DU responds to the CU with a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message),
wherein the T-MCG is configured by exchanging the second message and the third message, and at least one of the second message or the third message includes information element(s) required for configuring the T-MCG ([0130] the CU sends a UE CONTEXT SETUP REQUEST message to the target DU to create a UE context and setup one or more data bearers; [0132] the target DU responds to the CU with a UE CONTEXT SETUP RESPONSE message).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Zhang and Hwang, specifically Zhang teaches receiving, from the second DU, a fourth message indicating that the inter-cell mobility procedure is completed ([0150] In block 1128, the target DU sends an UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message to the source CU to convey the received RRCReconfigurationComplete message; [0153] In block 1142, the target DU sends an UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message to the target CU to convey the received RRCReconfigurationComplete message), wherein the inter-cell mobility procedure is triggered by the first DU ([0142] In block 1104, the source DU sends an UL RRC MESSAGE TRANSFER message to the source CU to convey the received measurement report message).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0334287) in view of Hwang et al. and Han et al. (US 2022/0124579).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Zhang and Hwang does not teach transmitting, to the CN, a fifth message requesting switching from a path between a core network (CN) and the first CU to a path between the CN and the second CU; and receiving, from the CN, a sixth message in response to the fifth message.
In an analogous art, Han teaches transmitting, to the CN, a fifth message requesting switching from a path between a core network (CN) and the first CU to a path between the CN and the second CU; and receiving, from the CN, a sixth message in response to the fifth message ([0132] in step 509, the target CU reports the CAG ID of the target cell, a cell access mode of the target cell, and the CAG membership status of the UE to the AMF of a core network through a path switch request message; [0133] in step 510, the AMF of the core network verifies the received CAG membership information, that is, determines whether the CAG membership information of the target cell provided by the UE matches an allowed CAG ID list of the UE, and then sends a verified CAG membership status to the target CU through a path switch request acknowledgement message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Han’s method with Zhang’s method so that it can solve the problem in the related art that the base station adopting the architecture of separated centralized network element and distributed network element cannot perform CAG connection management for the user during a cell handover process of the user, and produce an effect of performing CAG connection management for the user during the cell handover process of the user (Han [0033]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agiwal et al. (US 2024/0163744) teaches method of CFRA resource configuration for lower layer signal based mobility.
Futaki et al. (US 2022/0030498) teaches method of conditional handover applied to CU-DU split architecture.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413