DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species avobenzone-RsC5 in the reply filed on 04/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (University of Cincinnati, Document of Defense form, 07/09/2021).
Kang discloses the complex of avobenzone with macrocycles, Avobenzone-RsC5 in acetonitrile-d3 (p. 107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Shah et al. (US Patent Pub. 2017/0312199) in view of Kang (University of Cincinnati, Document of Defense form, 07/09/2021).
Shah et al. disclose an oil-in-water sunscreen composition comprising avobenzone at a concentration of 3%; a film former; an emulsifier; silicone; and water (TABLE 4). The oil-in-water formulation would appear to be able to spray.
Shah et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose a complex avobenzone-RsC5.
Kang discloses the complex of avobenzone with macrocycles, Avobenzone-RsC5 in acetonitrile-d3 (p. 107). Kang discloses the complexes decrease penetration of sunscreen active ingredients, decrease in skin irritation, reduction in fine lines caused by free radicals, improvement in the overall safety of phototoxic drugs, and enhancement of both their photostability and thermostability (p. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a complex avobenzone-RsC5 as the avobenzone of Shah et al. motivated by the desire to decrease penetration of sunscreen active ingredients, decrease in skin irritation, reduce fine lines caused by free radicals, improve the overall safety of phototoxic drugs, and enhance of both their photostability and thermostability as taught by Kang.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612