DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sabapathy (CA 3055860 A1, of record) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); comprising: receiving, at an optical circuit (120) and from a plurality of sources in at least one of optical communication (115a and 115b) or electrical communication with the optical circuit (120), one of: initial quantum states ([1059]) of light including at least one of a plurality of approximate squeezed cat states ([1103]) of light or a plurality of approximate states of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14), or a representation of the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light, the optical circuit (120) including at least one programmable beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) and at least one homodyne detector ([1112]); receiving, at the optical circuit (120), a signal ([1005]) to cause programming of the at least one programmable beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) and the at least one homodyne detector ([1112]) based on at least one of: the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light, at least one measurement of the at least one homodyne detector ([1112]), or a user input, to produce at least one programmed beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) and at least one programmed homodyne detector ([1112]); and generating, by propagating the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light through the at least one programmed beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) and using the at least one programmed homodyne detector ([1112]), a plurality of Gottesman-Kitaev-Preskill (GKP) ([1047]) quantum states of light.
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light further include a plurality of squeezed states of light ([1103]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the plurality of sources includes a plurality of Gaussian Boson Sampling (GBS) sources ([1003]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the generating the plurality of GKP ([1047]) quantum states of light includes M rounds of refinement of the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light, where M>1.
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light include the plurality of approximate squeezed cat states ([1103]) of light, each approximate squeezed cat state ([1103]) of light from the plurality of approximate squeezed cat states ([1103]) of light being identical to each remaining approximate squeezed cat state ([1103]) of light from the plurality of approximate squeezed cat states ([1103]) of light.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the optical circuit (120) is a breeding network (claim 3).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the generating the plurality of GKP ([1047]) quantum states of light is based on sampled homodyne outcomes at intermediate modes of the optical circuit (120) during operation of the optical circuit (120).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the at least one programmed beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) includes a beamsplitter that is configured to operate as an optical switch.
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein each quantum state of light in the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light has an associated peak spacing, and the signal ([1005]) is further based on at least one associated peak spacing (fig. 14).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches a system, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); comprising: a plurality of sources; and an optical circuit (120) in at least one of optical communication (115a and 115b) or electrical communication with the plurality of sources, the optical circuit (120) including at least one programmable beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) and at least one homodyne detector ([1112]), the optical circuit (120) configured to: receive, from the plurality of sources, initial quantum states ([1059]) of light generated by the plurality of sources, the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light including at least one of a plurality of approximate squeezed cat states ([1103]) of light or a plurality of approximate states of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14), receive a signal ([1005]) to cause programming of the at least one programmable beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) and the at least one homodyne detector ([1112]) based on (1) the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light, (2) at least one measurement of the at least one homodyne detector ([1112]), and (3) a user input, to produce at least one programmed beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009])and at least one programmed homodyne detector ([1112]), and generate a plurality of Gottesman-Kitaev-Preskill GKP ([1047]) quantum states of light by propagating the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light through the at least one programmed beamsplitter, and using the at least one programmed homodyne detector ([1112]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light further include a plurality of squeezed states of light ([1103]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the plurality of sources includes a plurality of Gaussian Boson Sampling (GBS) sources ([1003]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]);wherein the optical circuit (120) is configured to generate the plurality of GKP ([1047]) quantum states of light by applying M rounds of refinement to the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light, where M>1.
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light include the plurality of approximate states of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14), and each approximate state of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14) from the plurality of approximate states of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14) is a directly-generated superposition of at least three squeezed states of light ([1103]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 14, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein each approximate state of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14) is a symmetric superposition of the at least three squeezed states ([1103]) of light for that approximate state of light having at least 3 associated peaks (fig. 14).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the optical circuit (120) is further configured to adaptively modify a peak spacing of the initial quantum states ([1059]) of light during operation of the optical circuit (120) and based on at least one homodyne measurement ([1112]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 10, wherein D1 further teaches Generation of GKP ([1047]) states based on multi-peak quantum states of light, in at least (fig. 1A, 1B; [1005], [1009], [1047], [1059], and [1112]); wherein the at least one programmable beamsplitter (Fig. 1B; [1009]) is programmable into a plurality of modes that includes a breeding mode (claim 3), an amplification mode ([1033]), and a squeezing mode ([1103]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872