DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method claim(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-7 and 9 in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “2) When X is 0.32 or more and less than 0.40, the quantum dot has an emission wavelength of 500 nm to 530 nm, and 3) When X is 0.40 or more and less than 0.60, the quantum dot has an emission wavelength of 531 nm to 580 nm” creates ambiguity because it appears both 2) and 3) need to be satisfied but it can’t. Furthermore, “ration” in line 5 should be “ratio”. Clear explanation or claim modification is required as the office could not make sense of what is being claimed.
Regarding claim 2-7 and 9, these claims are rejected since they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torimoto et al. (US publication 2025/0320407 A1), hereinafter referred to as Torimoto.
Regarding claim 1, Torimoto teaches a quantum dot ([0066-0077]), comprising: a core including Ag, In, Ga, and S (first semiconductor, [0066]); and a shell (second semiconductor, [0066]) including at least one selected from among a group I element or a group III element (Ga, [0066]); and a group VI element (S, [0066]), on the core, wherein the quantum dot is capable of adjusting an emission wavelength according to a ratio of Ag, In, and Ga precursors defined by Equation 1:
[Equation 1]
In precursor (mol)
------------------------------------------------------------------------- = X
Ag precursor (mol) + Ga precursor (mol)
in Equation 1,
1) The amount of the precursor of each element is 0.1 mmol or more,
2) When X is 0.32 or more and less than 0.40, the quantum dot has an emission wavelength of 500 nm to 530 nm ([0066-0077], for example, for atom ratio of Ag=In=1 and Ga=2 (based on teaching of [0075]) will meet this limitation and makes it obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to fiddle with this ratio for providing semiconductor nanoparticles that exhibit band-edge emission with a high band-edge emission purity ([0009]])), and
3) When X is 0.40 or more and less than 0.60, the quantum dot has an emission wavelength of 531 nm to 580 nm.
Regarding claim 3, Torimoto teaches wherein the group III element included in the shell includes at least one selected from among Al, Ga, In, and Tl ([0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Torimoto teaches wherein the group VI element included in the shell includes at least one selected from among S, Se, and Te ([0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Torimoto teaches an electronic device, comprising: a display device including a light emitting diode including the quantum dot of claim 1; and a controller driving the display device ([0133]).
Claim 2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torimoto, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kossoy et al. (US publication 2022/0298411 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kossoy.
Regarding claim 2, Torimoto discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Torimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the group I element included in the shell includes at least one selected from among Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Cu, Ag, and Au.
Kossoy teaches wherein the group I element included in the shell includes at least one selected from among Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Cu, Ag, and Au ([0174 and 0181])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Torimoto with that of Kossoy so that wherein the group I element included in the shell includes at least one selected from among Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Cu, Ag, and Au because the claimed materials are a well-known shell materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 5, Torimoto discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Torimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the quantum dot has a diameter of 1 nm to 20 nm.
Kossoy teaches wherein the quantum dot has a diameter of 1 nm to 20 nm ([0056-0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Torimoto with that of Kossoy so that wherein the quantum dot has a diameter of 1 nm to 20 nm for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 6, Torimoto discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Torimoto does not explicitly teach wherein the shell includes: a first shell disposed on the core and including at least one of a group I element and a group III element and a group VI element; and a second shell disposed on the first shell and including at least one of a group I element and a group III element and a group VI element.
Kossoy teaches wherein the shell includes: a first shell disposed on the core and including at least one of a group I element and a group III element and a group VI element; and a second shell disposed on the first shell and including at least one of a group I element and a group III element and a group VI element ([0174 and 0181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Torimoto with that of Kossoy so that wherein the shell includes: a first shell disposed on the core and including at least one of a group I element and a group III element and a group VI element; and a second shell disposed on the first shell and including at least one of a group I element and a group III element and a group VI element because the claimed materials are a well-known shell materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Kossoy teaches wherein each of the first shell and the second shell includes one of AgAIS, AgAlSe, AgAlTe, AgGaS, AgGaSe, AgGaTe, AgInS, AgInSe, AgInTe, AgTis, AgTiSe, AgTiTe, CuAls, CuAlSe, CuAlTe, CuGaS, CuGaSe, CuGaTe, CuInS, CuInSe, CuInTe, CuTiS, CuTiSe, CuTiTe, AuAlS, AuAlSe, AuAlTe, AuGaS, AuGaSe, AuGaTe, AuInS, AuInSe, AuInTe, AuTiS, AuTiSe, AuTiTe, Als, AlSe, AlTe, Gas, GaSe, GaTe, InS, InSe, InTe, TiS, TiSe, and TiTe ([0174 and 0181]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897