DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2023 seems to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Fig. 2), Sub-Species A (Fig. 7) and claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10-13, 15-17, 22 and 23 for examination in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that circuit configurations achieve the same overall functional result. This is not found persuasive because species are identified by distinct structural features, not by the function they performed. Therefore, as pointed out in the Requirement for restriction/election filed on 9/25/2025 the species and sub-species identified comprises distinct structural features. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Further, applicant elect Species I (Fig. 2) and Sub-Species A (Fig. 7), and provide a group of claim 1, 2, 6-8, 10-13, 15-17, 22 and 23 as elected wherein applicant associate claims to species/sub-species (see remarks pages 2). For example, Applicant asserts that claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10-13, 15-17, 22 and 23 are elected as being in connection with the elected specie/sub-specie and associated with Figure 2 and Figure 7.
Upon review of elected claims, claim 7, 8, 11 and 16 recites features that correspond to the non-elected sub-specie as it is shown in Figure 8 (for example see non-elected Sub-Species B) and Figure 9 ( for example see non-elected Sub-Species C).
Accordingly, claim 3-5, 7-9, 11, 14, 16 and 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species/Sub-Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/25/2025. For purpose of examination only claims from the elected group of claims that are limited to elected species/sub-specie will be examinate on the merits (for example claims 1-2, 6, 10, 12-13, 15, 17 and 22-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Jian et. al. Publication LIU JIAN ET AL: "Hybrid Modular Multilevel Rectifier: A New High-Efficient High-Performance Rectifier Topology for HVDC Power Delivery", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, INSTITUTE OFELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, USA, vol. 36, no. 8, 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), pages 8583-8587 (Liu) in view of Horger et al. US Patent 8933378 (Horger).
[AltContent: textbox (SecondB)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (FirstB)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (FEC)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, an AC-DC-AC converter for delivering power to a load from a power source, the AC-DC-AC converter comprising a front-end converter (i.e., FEC) (Fig. 1), a load-end converter (i.e., inverter station) (Fig. 1), and a DC link (i.e., HVDC link) (Fig. 1), the front-end converter being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier (i.e., see HMMR) (Fig. 1).
Liu, as applied above discloses a inverter station as a load -end converter to convert DC power into AC power, but fails to specifically disclose the load-end converter being either a modular multilevel converter or a hybrid modular multilevel converter.
Horger in the same field of endeavor discloses a load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) comprising a modular multilevel converter (i.e., 12) (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a load-end converter comprising a modular multilevel converter in Liu, as taught by Horger, in order to DC power into AC power.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Horger discloses the claimed invention, more particularly Liu disclose the hybrid modular multilevel rectifier comprising at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections (i.e., see elements at the front-end converter - FEC) (Fig. 1), each leg comprises at least four diodes (i.e., 1a, 2a,3a, 4a) (Fig. 1) of a plurality of diodes and two branches (i.e., FirstB, SecondB) (Fig. 1), a first branch (i.e., FirstB) (Fig. 1) comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules (i.e., SM) (Fig. 1) connected in series, the first branch (i.e., FirstB) (Fig. 1) being connected to a first diode anode (i.e., 1a) (Fig. 1) and to a second diode (i.e., 2a) (Fig. 1) cathode by a first submodule (i.e., SM) (Fig. 1) and to the AC connection (i.e., Grid 1) (Fig. 1), a second branch (i.e., SecondB) (Fig. 1) comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules (i.e., SM) (Fig. 1) connected in series, the second branch (i.e., secondB) (Fig. 1) being connected to the third diode (i.e., 3a) (Fig. 1) anode and to the fourth diode (i.e., 4a) (Fig. 1) cathode by a first submodule (i.e., SM) (Fig. 1) and to the AC connection (i.e., Grid1) (Fig. 1), the first diode (i.e., 1a) (Fig. 1) cathode being connected to the first DC connection (i.e., +Vdc/2) (Fig. 1), the second diode anode (i.e., 2a) (Fig. 1) and the third diode cathode (i.e., 3a) (Fig. 1) being connected to the second DC connection (i.e., Vmid) (Fig. 1), the fourth diode anode (i.e., 4a) (Fig. 1) being connected to the third DC connection (i.e., -Vdc/2) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Horger, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses each branch comprises an inductor connected between a submodule (i.e., SM ) (Fig. 1) of each branch and the AC connection that each branch is connected to.
Regarding claim 13, Liu in view of Horger, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses wherein all the submodules (i.e., SM ) (Fig. 1) are half-bridge submodules, full-bridge submodules or a combination of both.
Regarding claim 15, Liu in view of Horger, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses a submodule (i.e., SM ) (Fig. 1) is a half-bridge submodule, a full-bridge submodule or a hybrid full-bridge submodule.
Claims 6, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Jian et. al. Publication LIU JIAN ET AL: "Hybrid Modular Multilevel Rectifier: A New High-Efficient High-Performance Rectifier Topology for HVDC Power Delivery", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, INSTITUTE OFELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, USA, vol. 36, no. 8, 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), pages 8583-8587 (Liu) in view of Horger et al. US Patent 8933378 (Horger) and in further view of Garces et. al., US 20150036398 (Garces).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Horger, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention, but fail to disclose wherein the hybrid modular multilevel converter comprises at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections, each leg comprising at least four controllable switches of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series and two branches, a first end of a first controllable switch connected to a first DC connection, a first end of a second controllable switch connected to a second end of the first controllable switch, the second end of the second controllable switch connected to a second DC connection, a first end of a third controllable switch connected to a second end of the second controllable switch and to the second DC connection, a first end of a fourth controllable switch connected to a second end of the third controllable switch, a second end of the fourth controllable switch is connected to the third DC connection, a first branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the first controllable switch and to a first end of the second controllable switch, the first branch being connected to the AC connection, a second branch comprising at least one submodule a plurality of submodules connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the third controllable switch and to a first end of the fourth controllable switch, the second branch being connected to the AC connection.
Garces, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a modular multilevel converter configuration (i.e., 300) (Fig. 3) comprises at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection (i.e., 324) (Fig. 3) and to the three DC connections (i.e., 306, 308, 328) (Fig. 3), each leg comprising at least four controllable switches (i.e., S1, S2, S3, S4) (Fig. 3) of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series and two branches, a first end of a first controllable switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 3) connected to a first DC connection (i.e., 306) (Fig. 3), a first end of a second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3) connected to a second end of the first controllable switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 3), the second end of the second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3) connected to a second DC connection (i.e., 328) (Fig. 3), a first end of a third controllable switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 3) connected to a second end of the second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3) and to the second DC connection (i.e., 328) (Fig. 3), a first end of a fourth controllable switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 3) connected to a second end of the third controllable switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 3), a second end of the fourth controllable switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 3) is connected to the third DC connection (i.e., 308) (Fig. 3), a first branch (i.e., 302) (Fig. 3) comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules (i.e., 320) (Fig. 3) connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule (i.e., 320) (Fig. 3) to a second end of the first controllable switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 3) and to a first end of the second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3), the first branch being connected to the AC connection (i.e., 324) (Fig. 3), a second branch comprising at least one submodule a plurality of submodules (i.e., 322) (Fig. 3) connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the third controllable switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 3) and to a first end of the fourth controllable switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 3), the second branch being connected to the AC connection (i.e., 324) (Fig. 3) in order to provide another configuration of a modular multilevel converter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide the hybrid modular multilevel converter comprising at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections, each leg comprising at least four controllable switches of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series and two branches, a first end of a first controllable switch connected to a first DC connection, a first end of a second controllable switch connected to a second end of the first controllable switch, the second end of the second controllable switch connected to a second DC connection, a first end of a third controllable switch connected to a second end of the second controllable switch and to the second DC connection, a first end of a fourth controllable switch connected to a second end of the third controllable switch, a second end of the fourth controllable switch is connected to the third DC connection, a first branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the first controllable switch and to a first end of the second controllable switch, the first branch being connected to the AC connection, a second branch comprising at least one submodule a plurality of submodules connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the third controllable switch and to a first end of the fourth controllable switch, the second branch being connected to the AC connection. in Liu in view of Horger, as taught by Garces, in order to provide another configuration of a modular multilevel converter.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in view of Horger in further view of Garces, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses the submodules (i.e., SM ) (Fig. 1) are full-bridge submodules or hybrid full-bridge submodules.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (F3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (F4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (F2)][AltContent: textbox (F1)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 17, Liu in view of Horger in further view of Garces, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses a full-bridge submodule (i.e., FB) (Fig. 1) comprising a first connection connected to a second end of a first controllable switch (i.e., F1) (Fig. 1) and to a first end of a second controllable switch (i.e., F2) (Fig. 1), a second connection is connected to a second end of a third controllable switch (i.e., F3) (Fig. 1) and to a first end of a fourth controllable switch (i.e., F4) (Fig. 1), a capacitor (i.e., C) (Fig. 1) being connected to both first ends of the first controllable switch (i.e., F1) (Fig. 1) and third controllable switch (i.e., F3) (Fig. 1), and to both second ends of the second controllable switch (i.e., F2) (Fig. 1) and fourth controllable switch (i.e., F4) (Fig. 1).
Claims 1 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horger et al. US Patent 8933378 (Horger) in view of Liu Jian et. al. Publication LIU JIAN ET AL: "Hybrid Modular Multilevel Rectifier: A New High-Efficient High-Performance Rectifier Topology for HVDC Power Delivery", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, INSTITUTE OFELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, USA, vol. 36, no. 8, 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), pages 8583-8587 (Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Horger discloses an AC-DC-AC converter for delivering power to a load from a power source, the AC-DC-AC converter comprising a front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1), a load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1), and a DC link (i.e., 10) (Fig. 1), the load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) being either a modular multilevel converter or a hybrid modular multilevel converter.
Horger, as applied above fail to disclose the front-end converter being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier.
Liu in the same field of endeavor discloses a front-end converter (i.e., FEC) being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier in order to reduce power losses, cost and volume.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide front-end converter being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier in Horger, as taught by Liu, in order to reduce power losses, cost and volume.
Regarding claim 22, Horger in view of Liu, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Horger discloses an electric arc furnace (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1) apparatus connected by its load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) to an electric arc furnace (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1) and by its front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) to a power source (i.e., U1) (Fig. 1), the apparatus further comprising at least one controller (i.e., 16) (Fig. 1) connected to the control end of each controllable switch of the AC-DC-AC converter, wherein the at least one controller commands the switching of the front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) and the load-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) according to the amount of power to transmit from the power source (i.e., U1) (Fig. 1) to the electric arc furnace (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Horger in view of Liu, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Horger discloses the electric arc furnace apparatus (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1) wherein a transformer (i.e., 4) (Fig. 1) is connected between either the power source (i.e., U1) (Fig. 1) and the front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) or between the load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) and the electronic arc furnace(i.e., 1) (Fig. 1), the at least one controller (i.e., 16) (Fig. 1) commands the front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) and the load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838