DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/13/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 11,874,468 and US 10,527,853 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks (filed 2/13/2026, pages 12-16) have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. Examiner withdraws the 103 rejection of claim 1 and also withdraws the double patenting rejection of claims 1, 2, and 16. Examiner further withdraws the claim objection to claims 2, 3, 7, and 12. Examiner maintains the 103 rejection of claims 16 and 17 due to lack of amendments and/or arguments regarding claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallius et al. (US 2017/0363871) in view of Greiner et al. (US 2015/0132003).
Regarding Claim 16, Vallius discloses a method comprising:
transmitting light through at least one in-coupling diffractive element (Fig. 3, in-coupling grating 340, Paragraph 0036), the light having a first pattern (Fig. 3, imager 105, Paragraph 0035, producing an image 0033, the image having a first pattern);
transmitting the light from the at least one in-coupling diffractive optical element through at least one intermediate optical element (Fig. 3, waveguide 130, Paragraph 0036); and
emitting and outcoupling the first pattern of light from a first out-coupling diffractive optical element (Fig. 3, out-coupling grating 310L, Paragraph 0036).
Vallius does not specifically disclose
wherein the first out-coupling diffractive optical elements comprises:
a first region having a first repeated diffraction spacing, d1, and
a second region adjacent to the first region having a second repeated diffraction spacing, d2, different from the first spacing, d1.
However, Greiner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first out-coupling diffractive optical elements comprises: a first region (Fig. 1, output grating 103, Paragraph 0018, lines 1-5) having a first repeated diffraction spacing, d1, and
a second region (Fig. 1, output grating 104, Paragraph 0018, lines 1-5) adjacent to the first region (Fig. 1, as shown) having a second repeated diffraction spacing, d2, different from the first spacing, d1 (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0018, lines 2-5), for the purpose of selectively diffracting different wavelengths of light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Vallius with wherein the first out-coupling diffractive optical elements comprises: a first region having a first repeated diffraction spacing, d1, and a second region adjacent to the first region having a second repeated diffraction spacing, d2, different from the first spacing, d1, of Greiner, for the purpose of selectively diffracting different wavelengths of light.
Regarding Claim 17, Vallius in view of Greiner discloses as is set forth above and Greiner further discloses wherein the light having the first pattern has a first wavelength and the light having the second pattern has a second wavelength (Fig. 1, Paragraph 0018, lines 2-5, different optical signals have different wavelengths), for the purpose of selectively diffracting different wavelengths of light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, with respect to claim 18, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of a method including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein further comprising: emitting first pattern of light of the first wavelength from a first region of the first out-coupling diffractive optical element and the second pattern of light of the second wavelength from a second region of the first out-coupling diffractive optical element adjacent to the first region; emitting light of the first wavelength in the second pattern from a first region of a second out-coupling diffractive optical element and light of the second wavelength in the first pattern from a second region of the second out-coupling diffractive optical element adjacent to the first region; superposing and aligning the first patterns of light emitted from the first region of the first out-coupling diffractive optical element and from the second region of the second out-coupling diffractive optical element; and superposing and aligning the second patterns of light emitted from the second region of the first out-coupling diffractive optical element and from the first region of the second out-coupling diffractive optical element.
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance/Examiner’s Comments
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Specifically, regarding the allowability of amended independent claim 1: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an apparatus comprising “… a first region having a first repeated diffraction spacing, d1, positioned to diffract a first light beam, and a second region adjacent to the first region having a second repeated diffraction spacing, d2, different from the first spacing, d1 positioned to diffract the first lightbeam.”, along with other claim limitations. Claims 2-15 are allowable due to pendency on amended independent claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872