DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 14th, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-15, and 17-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 16 has been cancelled. Applicant’s amendment to claim 5 has overcome the claim objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on January 15th, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 14th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102 rejection, applicant argues that none of the references disclose, at least, “a microwave energy generator configured to generate a signal,” “at least one antenna configured to receive and transmit the signal,” “a chiller in contact with exposed, at least in part, to a housing or cooling fluid that is exposed to a thermal structure housing of the at least one antenna,” or “a skin contact plate configured to cool an epidermis and a dermis.” However, Deem does teach a microwave energy generator configured to generate a signal ([0149] a microwave generator for supplying the applicator with microwave energy which is seen as a signal), at least one antenna configured to receive and transmit the signal ([0226] the antenna receives power, which is seen as the signal, from the antenna and transmits this signal to the skin), a chiller in contact with exposed, at least in part, to a housing or cooling fluid that is exposed to a thermal structure housing of the at least one antenna ([0215]waveguide antenna extends through coolant chamber, which is seen as a chiller in contact with the thermal structure of the antenna), and a skin contact plate configured to cool an epidermis and a dermis ([0217] the skin surface which includes the dermis and hypodermis, is in contact with the cooling plate, which is seen as a skin contact plate).
Regarding the 103 rejections, applicant argues that these claims are moot in light of the amendments and remarks above. However, since applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, the rejection stands.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10624696. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are merely broader than the ‘696 patent claims. For example, each claims a system for delivering microwave energy to a tissue, the apparatus comprising: a signal generator configured to generate microwave energy, a waveguide antenna, and a cooling source consisting of a cooling plate. Thus, the invention claimed in the current application is merely generic to the species claimed in the related application and it has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10624696. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are substantially similar to the ‘696 patent claim 4. For example, each claim the microwave frequency to be about 5.8 GHz as “a frequency in an Industrial Scientific Medical (ISM) band,” covers the range and still includes the claimed value.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“with thermal structure” should read “with a thermal structure”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the switch" lacks antecedent basis. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is referring to “the apparatus” previously claimed or is a new element. For examination purposes, “the switch” is seen as “the apparatus.”
Claim limitation 19 has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim uses the “by means of” language. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7 through 13, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deem (US20170340384A1) herein referred to as “Deem ‘384”.
Regarding claim 1 Deem ‘384 discloses: A system comprising ([Abstract] A system for): a microwave energy generator configured to generate a signal ([Abstract] a signal generator adapted to generate a microwave signal); at least one antenna configured to receive and transmit the signal ( [Abstract]; the applicator comprising one or more microwave antennas and a tissue interface); a chiller in contact with exposed, at least in part, to a housing or cooling fluid that is exposed to a thermal structure housing of the at least one antenna; (Paragraph [0215]waveguide antenna extends through coolant chamber) at least one field spreader corresponding to the at least one antenna; (Paragraph [0214] field spreader is integrated into antenna) and a skin contact plate configured to cool an epidermis and a dermis (Paragraph [0356] cooling plate configured to contact and cool the skin tissue Paragraph [0347] specifies applying cooling to the epidermis and dermis).
Regarding claim 2 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: a thermal structure that surrounds and cools the at least one antenna and skin contact. (Paragraph [0327] a cooling system which surrounds the waveguide antenna).
Regarding claim 7 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one of: a power supply configured to power the energy generator; control circuitry for controlling the energy generator; applicator circuitry, and a display. ([0205] discusses a system for controlling the microwave energy and mentions a display for custom control circuitry).
Regarding claim 8 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the energy generator is a microwave energy generator. ([0346] Delivering energy via microwave energy delivery).
Regarding claim 9 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the microwave energy generator is configured to generate a microwave signal having a frequency in an Industrial Scientific Medical (ISM) band. (Paragraph [0354] the microwave generator can generate a signal in the range of between about 4GHz and about 10GHz which includes a frequency in the Industrial Scientific Medical band).
Regarding claim 10 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one antenna is a waveguide antenna. ([0354] Microwave antenna comprises waveguide antenna).
Regarding claim 11 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one antenna is a phased ([0185] describes the image of two antennas being in phase also see FIG 56 below showing phased matched energy delivery applied) array of four waveguide antennas. (Paragraph [0219] four waveguide antennas).
Regarding claim 12 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the chiller is a thermo-electric chiller. (Paragraph [0326] discusses using a thermo-electric module in the cooling system, which acts as the chiller).
Regarding claim 13 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 12, wherein a cold side of the thermo-electric chiller touches the housing or fluid that touches the thermal structure surrounding the at least one antenna. (Paragraph [0326] states the cooling system is attached to the cool plate side of a thermoelectric cooler (TEC) where the TEC is faces a cooling plate adjacent to the waveguide antenna).
Regarding claim 15 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one field spreader has a known dielectric constant. ([0315] field spreader comprised of alumina which has a known dielectric constant).
Regarding claim 17 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein a structure made of at least -two materials with different dielectric constants, causes the energy field to spread. ([0367] first and second layers with different dielectric constants).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deem ‘384 in view of Deem (US20100114086A1) herein referred to as “Deem ‘086.”
Regarding claim 3 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1 and the field spreader, ([0313] field spreader is defined as the dielectric element that an antenna may include; hence the field spreader is the dielectric.) However Deem ‘384 does not explicitly disclose wherein it is a ceramic or ceramic filled plastic field spreader.
Deem ‘086 discloses wherein the field spreader is a ceramic or ceramic filled plastic field spreader (Deem '086 [0110] describes a low loss dielectric like ceramic which can be incorporated into the antenna).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field spreader of Deem ‘384 to use ceramic or ceramic filled plastic as mentioned in Deem ‘086. The motivation being that introducing this low loss dielectric helps maintain consistent energy delivery. (Deem ‘086 [0110]).
Regarding claim 14 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 1, and the at least one field spreader however Deem ‘394 does not explicitly disclose is composed of a dielectric ceramic or ceramic filled plastic.
Deem ‘086 discloses wherein the at least one field spreader is composed of a dielectric ceramic or ceramic filled plastic. (Deem '086 [0110] describes a low loss dielectric like ceramic which can be incorporated into the antenna).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field spreader of Deem ‘384 to include the ceramic or ceramic filled plastic of Deem ‘086. The motivation being that introducing this low loss dielectric helps maintain consistent energy delivery. (Deem ‘086 [0110]).
Regarding claim 16 Deem ‘384 discloses the system of claim 15, and the at least one field spreader however Deem ‘384 does not disclose is a ceramic filled plastic field spreader.
Deem ‘086 discloses wherein the at least one field spreader is a ceramic filled plastic field spreader. (Deem ‘086 [0110] mentions that the ceramic or plastic dielectric can also be a filler material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the field spreader of Deem ‘384 to include ceramic or ceramic filled plastic of Deem ‘086. The motivation being that introducing this low loss dielectric helps maintain consistent energy delivery. (Deem ‘086 [0110]).
Claims 4 through 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 in further view of Kim et al (US20160157934A1) herein referred to as “Kim.”
Regarding claim 4 Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 discloses the system of claim 1, However, Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 does not explicitly disclose further comprising: an apparatus configured to receive the signal and distributed the signal to the at least one active antenna or antennas.
Kim discloses further comprising: an apparatus configured to receive the signal and distributed the signal to the at least one active antenna or antennas ([0030] a switch, which is seen as an apparatus, that controls the microwave applicator which in turn controls the signals to the antenna. As stated in [0033] the microwave applicator may include one or more antennas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the applicator of Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 to include a switch to control the receiving and output of the signal as seen in Kim. The motivation being it is a known technology in the art to use a switch to control the microwave applicator for input and/or output, hence using a switch for this would yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 (E)).
Regarding claim 5 Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: an applicator, wherein the applicator is configured to house the at least one antenna, thermal structure, the at least one field spreader, and the skin contact plate. (Paragraph [0354] Describes an applicator comprising the antenna, field spreader, cooling structure and cooling plate which represent the thermal structure). However, Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 does not disclose the switch.
Kim discloses the switch ([0030] a switch that controls the microwave applicator which in turn controls the signals to the antenna. As stated in [0033] the microwave applicator may include one or more antennas).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the applicator of Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 to include a switch to control the receiving and output of the signal as seen in Kim. The motivation being it is a known technology in the art to use a switch to control the microwave applicator, hence using a switch for this would yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 (E)).
Regarding claim 6 Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: a console. However, Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 does not explicitly disclose, further comprising: a console that houses the energy generator.
Kim discloses a console that houses the energy generator ([0030] System console that houses microwave energy generator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 to add the energy generator to the console with all the other components as seen in Kim. The motivation being that it is a known technology in the art to place a console to house a generator, thus doing so would yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143 (E)).
Claims 18 through 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 in further view of Feldberg et al (US006026331A) herein referred to as “Feldberg.”
Regarding claim 18 Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 discloses the system of claim 14, however Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 does not disclose wherein a difference between a first dielectric constant corresponding the at least one field spreader, and a second dielectric constant corresponding to a paired field spreader comprising a dielectric ceramic, causes a power density associated with the signal to spread.
Feldberg discloses wherein a difference between a first dielectric constant corresponding the at least one field spreader, ([Summary col 3: Par 4] discusses a first waveguide with a dielectric material) and a second dielectric constant corresponding to a paired field spreader ([Summary col 3: Par 4] discusses a second waveguide the dielectric constant of which is different as well as multiple other paired dielectric material on a third waveguide) comprising a dielectric ceramic, causes a power density associated with the signal to spread. ([Summary col 3: Par 1] mentions that the dielectric material is in the form of ceramic, [Summary col 2: Par 6] different dielectric material is needed to propagate the microwaves which are the signals)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the different dielectric constants on field spreaders of Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 to incorporate field spreaders with different dielectric constants. The motivation to do so being that this allows for the propagation of desired modes of the microwaves at predetermined frequencies. (Feldberg [Summary col 2: Par 6]).
Regarding claim 19 Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 discloses A system for energy-based tissue treatment and chilling, (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] Methods, apparatuses and systems are provided for non-invasive delivery of microwave therapy) the system comprising: a microwave energy generator that generates a microwave signal; (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] microwave energy from an energy generator) waveguide antennas configured to receive and transmit the microwave signal; (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] comprises one or more antennas including a waveguide antenna) a cooling mechanism exposed, at least in part, to a thermal structure that touches a skin contact cooling plate; (Deem ‘384 [0376]) a first and second field spreader positioned near an end of a waveguide antenna; (Deem ‘384 [0214]) a skin contact cooling plate configured to cool an epidermis and a dermis by means of contact with thermal structure; (Deem ‘384 [0356]) However Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 does not disclose and wherein the first and second field spreaders are dielectric ceramics or ceramic filled plastic and a difference between a first dielectric constant corresponding to the first field spreader and a second dielectric constant corresponding to the second field spreader causes a power distribution associated with the microwave signal to spread.
Feldberg discloses wherein the first and second field spreaders are dielectric ceramics or ceramic filled plastic and a difference between a first dielectric constant corresponding to the first field spreader ([Summary col 3: Par 4] discusses a first waveguide with a dielectric material) and a second dielectric constant corresponding to the second field spreader ([Summary col 3: Par 4] discusses a second waveguide the dielectric constant of which is different as well as multiple other paired dielectric material on a third waveguide) causes a power distribution associated with the microwave signal to spread. ([Summary col 3: Par 1] mentions that the dielectric material is in the form of ceramic, [Summary col 2: Par 6] different dielectric material is needed to propagate the microwaves which are the signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the different dielectric constants on field spreaders of Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 to incorporate field spreaders with different dielectric constants. The motivation to do so being that this allows for the propagation of desired modes of the microwaves at predetermined frequencies. (Feldberg [Summary col 2: Par 6]).
Regarding claim 20 Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 discloses A method for energy-based tissue treatment and chilling, (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] Methods, apparatuses and systems are provided for non-invasive delivery of microwave therapy) the method comprising: generating, by a microwave energy generator, a microwave signal; (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] microwave energy from an energy generator) receiving and transmitting the microwave signal with at least one waveguide antenna; (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] comprises one or more antennas including a waveguide antenna) cooling an epidermis using a thermo-electric chiller exposed, at least in part, to a thermal structure that houses the at least one waveguide antenna and to a cooling plate, wherein the thermal structure touches a skin contact cooling plate; (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] microwave energy applied to the epidermal tissue, device contains a cooling element, waveguide antenna and cooling plate) outputting a microwave energy field corresponding to the microwave signal via at least one field spreader positioned near an end of the at least one waveguide antenna; and treating the tissue with the microwave energy field (Deem ‘086 [Abstract] treating the tissue with microwave energy) however Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 does not disclose spreading the microwave energy field using a difference between a first dielectric constant corresponding to the at least one field spreader and a second dielectric constant corresponding to another field spreader.
Feldberg discloses wherein the first and second field spreaders are dielectric ceramics or ceramic filled plastic and a difference between a first dielectric constant corresponding to the first field spreader ([Summary col 3: Par 4] discusses a first waveguide with a dielectric material) and a second dielectric constant corresponding to the second field spreader ([Summary col 3: Par 4] discusses a second waveguide the dielectric constant of which is different as well as multiple other paired dielectric material on a third waveguide) causes a power distribution associated with the microwave signal to spread. ([Summary col 3: Par 1] mentions that the dielectric material is in the form of ceramic, [Summary col 2: Par 6] different dielectric material is needed to propagate the microwaves which are the signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the different dielectric constants on field spreaders of Deem ‘384 in view of Deem ‘086 to incorporate field spreaders with different dielectric constants. The motivation to do so being that this allows for the propagation of desired modes of the microwaves at predetermined frequencies. (Feldberg [Summary col 2: Par 6]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794