DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/23 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/22/23 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu Jian
et. al. Publication LIU JIAN ET AL: "Hybrid Modular Multilevel Rectifier: A New High-Efficient High-Performance Rectifier Topology for HVDC Power Delivery", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, INSTITUTE OFELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, USA, vol. 36, no. 8, 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), pages 8583-8587 (Liu).
Regarding claim 1. An AC-DC-AC converter (Figure 1) for delivering power to a load from a power source, the AC-DC-AC converter comprising a front-end converter (FEC), a load-end converter (Inverter station), and a DC link (HVDC link), at least one of the front-end converter and the load-end converter being a hybrid modular multilevel converter (HMMR).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu Jian
et. al. Publication LIU JIAN ET AL: "Hybrid Modular Multilevel Rectifier: A New High-Efficient High-Performance Rectifier Topology for HVDC Power Delivery", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, INSTITUTE OFELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, USA, vol. 36, no. 8, 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), pages 8583-8587 (Liu) in view of Garces et al. (US 2015/0036398) (Garces).
Regarding claim 2, Liu as applied in linking claims, discloses the
claimed invention, but fail to disclose wherein the hybrid modular multilevel converter
comprises at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections, each leg comprising at least four controllable switches of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series and two branches, a first end of a first controllable switch connected to a first DC connection, a first end of a second controllable switch connected to a second end of the first controllable switch, the second end of the second controllable switch connected to a second DC connection, a first end of a third controllable switch connected to a second end of the second controllable switch and to the second DC connection, a first end of a fourth controllable switch connected to a second end of the third controllable switch, a second
end of the fourth controllable switch is connected to the third DC connection, a first branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the first controllable switch and to a first end of the second controllable switch, the first branch being connected to the AC connection, a second branch comprising at least one submodule a plurality of submodules connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the third controllable switch and to a first end of the fourth controllable switch, the second branch being connected to the AC connection.
Garces, in the same field of endeavor, discloses a modular multilevel converter
configuration (i.e., 300) (Fig. 3) comprises at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection (i.e., 324) (Fig. 3) and to the three DC connections (i.e., 306, 308, 328) (Fig. 3), each leg comprising at least four controllable switches (i.e., S1, S2, S3, S4) (Fig. 3) of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series and two branches, a first end of a first controllable switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 3) connected to a first DC connection (i.e., 306) (Fig. 3), a first end of a second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3) connected to a second end of the first controllable switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 3), the second end of the second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3) connected to a second DC connection (i.e., 328) (Fig. 3), a first end of a third controllable switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 3) connected to a second end of the second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3)
and to the second DC connection (i.e., 328) (Fig. 3), a first end of a fourth controllable switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 3) connected to a second end of the third controllable switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 3), a second end of the fourth controllable switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 3) is connected to the third DC connection (i.e., 308) (Fig. 3), a first branch (i.e., 302) (Fig. 3) comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules (i.e., 320) (Fig. 3) connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule (i.e., 320) (Fig. 3) to a second end of the first controllable switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 3) and to a first end of the second controllable switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 3), the first branch being connected to the AC connection (i.e., 324) (Fig. 3), a second branch comprising at least one submodule a plurality of submodules (i.e., 322) (Fig. 3) connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the third controllable switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 3) and to a first end of the fourth controllable switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 3), the second branch being connected to the AC connection (i.e., 324) (Fig. 3) in order to provide another configuration of a modular multilevel converter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide the hybrid modular multilevel converter comprising at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections, each leg comprising at least four controllable switches of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series and two branches, a first end of a first controllable switch connected to a first DC connection, a first end of a second controllable switch connected to a second end of the first controllable switch, the second end of the second controllable switch connected to a second DC connection, a first end of a third controllable switch connected to a second end of the second controllable switch and to the second DC connection, a first end of a fourth controllable switch connected to a second end of the third controllable switch, a second end of the fourth controllable switch is connected to the third DC connection, a first branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of
the first controllable switch and to a first end of the second controllable switch, the first branch being connected to the AC connection, a second branch comprising at least one submodule a plurality of submodules connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to a second end of the third controllable switch and to a first end of the fourth controllable switch, the second branch being connected to the AC connection in Liu as taught by Garces, in order to provide another configuration of a modular multilevel converter.
Regarding claim 6, Liu as applied in linking claims, disclose the
claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses each branch comprises an inductor connected between a submodule (i.e., SM ) (Fig. 1) of each branch and the AC connection that each branch is connected to.
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Garces, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses the submodules (i.e., SM)(Fig. 1) are full-bridge submodules or hybrid full-bridge submodules.
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Garces, as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses the submodules (i.e., SM)(Fig. 1) are half-bridge submodules, full-bridge submodule or hybrid full-bridge submodules.
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Garces, as applied in linking
claims, disclose the claimed invention, more particularly Liu discloses a full-bridge submodule (i.e., FB) (Fig. 1) comprising a first connection connected to a second end of a first controllable switch (i.e., F1) (Fig. 1) and to a first end of a second controllable switch (i.e., F2) (Fig. 1), a second connection is connected to a second end of a third controllable switch (i.e., F3) (Fig. 1) and to a first end of a fourth controllable switch (i.e., F4) (Fig. 1), a capacitor (i.e., C) (Fig. 1) being connected to both first ends of the first controllable switch (i.e., F1) (Fig. 1) and third controllable switch (i.e., F3) (Fig. 1), and to both second ends of the second controllable switch (i.e., F2) (Fig. 1) and fourth controllable switch (i.e., F4) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12. Liu in view of Garces as applied in linking claims, wherein a hybrid full-bridge submodule (SM) comprises a first connection connected to the first diode (Figure 2, diode across switch) anode and to a first end of a second controllable switch (S2) , a second connection connected to a second end of the third controllable switch (S3)and to the fourth diode cathode(Figure 2, diode across switch) , a capacitor connected to the first diode cathode and to the first end of the third controllable switch (S3), and to the second end of the second controllable switch (S2) and to the fourth diode anode (Figure 2, diode across switch).
Regarding claim 13. Liu in view of Garces as applied in linking claims wherein a controllable switch comprises at least a transistor and a freewheeling diode(Figure 2, diode across switch) , the transistor source and the freewheeling diode cathode(Figure 2, diode across switch) being connected to the first end of the controllable switch, (S1) the transistor drain and the freewheeling diode anode being connected to the second end of the controllable switch, the transistor gate being connected to the control end of the controllable switch.
Regarding claim 14. Liu as applied in linking claims, wherein the transistor is an insulated-gate bipolar transistor, an injection-enhanced gate transistor, notably Si-based or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistors, notably SiC-based.
Regarding claim 15. Liu in view of Garces as applied in linking claims wherein the controllable switch is a controllable switch (S1) including a silicon-controlled rectifier (Figure 2, diode across switch) and an antiparallel freewheeling diode or the controllable switch (S1) includes a silicon-controlled rectifier and an antiparallel silicon-controlled rectifier.
7. Claims 1 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horger et al. US Patent 8933378 (Horger) in view of Liu Jian et. al. Publication LIU JIAN ET AL: "Hybrid Modular Multilevel Rectifier: A New High-Efficient High-Performance Rectifier Topology for HVDC Power Delivery", IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS, INSTITUTE OFELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONICS ENGINEERS, USA, vol. 36, no. 8, 15 January 2021 (2021-01-15), pages 8583-8587 (Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Horger discloses an AC-DC-AC converter for delivering power to a
load from a power source, the AC-DC-AC converter comprising a front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1), a load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1), and a DC link (i.e., 10) (Fig. 1), the load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) being either a modular multilevel converter or a hybrid modular multilevel converter. Horger, as applied above fail to disclose the front-end converter being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier. Liu in the same field of endeavor discloses a front-end converter (i.e., FEC) being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier in order to reduce power losses, cost and volume.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide front-end converter being a hybrid modular multilevel rectifier in Horger, as taught by Liu, in order to reduce power losses, cost and volume.
Regarding claim 16, Horger in view of Liu, as applied in linking claims, disclose the
claimed invention, more particularly Horger discloses an electric arc furnace (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1) apparatus connected by its load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) to an electric arc furnace (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1) and by its front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) to a power source (i.e., U1) (Fig. 1), the apparatus further comprising at least one controller (i.e., 16) (Fig. 1) connected to the control end of each controllable switch of the AC-DC-AC converter, wherein the at least one controller commands the switching of the front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) and the load-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) according to the amount of power to transmit from the power source (i.e., U1) (Fig. 1) to the electric arc furnace (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Horger in view of Liu, as applied in linking claims, disclose the
claimed invention, more particularly Horger discloses the electric arc furnace apparatus (i.e., 1) (Fig. 1) wherein a transformer (i.e., 4) (Fig. 1) is connected between either the power source (i.e., U1) (Fig. 1) and the front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) or between the load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1) and the electronic arc furnace(i.e., 1) (Fig. 1), the at least one controller (i.e., 16) (Fig. 1) commands the front-end converter (i.e., 6) (Fig. 1) and the load-end converter (i.e., 7) (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest an AC-DC-AC converter including the limitation “wherein the hybrid modular multilevel converter comprises at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections, each leg comprising at least two pairs of controllable switches of a plurality of pairs of controllable switches connected in series with opposite polarities and at least two controllable switches of a plurality of controllable switches connected in series, a first end of a first controllable switch of the first pair of controllable switches connected to a first DC connection, a second end of a second controllable switch of the first pair of controllable switches is connected to the second end of the first controllable switch of the first pair of controllable switches, a first end of a third controllable switch is connected to the first end of the second controllable switch of the first pair of controllable switches, the second end of the third controllable switch is connected to the AC connection, a first end of a fourth controllable switch of the second pair of controllable switches is connected to a third DC connection, a second end of a fifth controllable switch of the second pair of controllable switches is connected to a second end of the fourth controllable switch of the second pair of controllable switches, a second end of a sixth controllable switch is connected to the first end of the fifth controllable switch of the second pair of controllable switches, a first end of the sixth controllable switch is connected to the AC connection, a first branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the first branch being connected by a first submodule to the first end of the second controllable switch of the first pair of controllable switches and to the first end of the third controllable switch, the first branch being connected to the second DC, a second branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the second branch being connected by a first submodule to the first end of the fifth controllable switch of the second pair of controllable switches and to the second end of the sixth controllable switch, the second branch being connected to the second DC connection“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 5, 7 and 10 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 4 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest an AC-DC-AC converter including the limitation “ wherein the hybrid modular multilevel converter comprises at least one leg, each leg being connected to an AC connection and to the three DC connections, each leg comprises at least four controllable switches of a plurality of switches connected in series and two branches, a first branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the first branch being connected to the first DC connection, a first submodule of the first branch being connected to a first end of a first controllable switch and to a first end of a third controllable switch, a second branch comprising at least one submodule of a plurality of submodules connected in series, the second branch being connected to the third DC connection, a first submodule of the second branch being connected to the second end of the second controllable switch and to the second end of the fourth controllable switch , the second end of the first controllable switch and the first end of the second controllable switch being connected to the second DC connection, the second end of the third controllable switch and the first end of the fourth controllable switch being connected to the AC connection“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2024/0322708 A1) disclose an AC-DC-AC converter for motor drive applications.
Zhou et al. (US 2024/0322704 A1) disclose an AC-DC-AC converter for motor drive applications.
Zhou et al. (US 2024/0275286 A1) disclose a power converter.
Basic et al. (US 2024/0235408 A1) disclose a Hybrid module multilevel rectifier (HMMR) for high dynamic load application.
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838