Claims 1,5,and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) in view of Chen et al. (2015/0103777).
For claims 1,5,and 8 ,Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) discloses a method comprising the steps of determining a payload size of a first downlink control information (DCI) format that is the same as a payload size of a second DCI format ( See details of paragraph 0016 and paragraph 0006 lines 15-48) , wherein the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier and carries a first carrier indication and the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier and carries a second carrier indication ( See details of paragraphs 0017 to 0023); and monitoring DCI in the first DCI format ( See details of paragraph 0016 and paragraph 0006 lines 15-48 and See details of paragraphs 0017 to 0023).
For independent claim 1, Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network. Chen et al. (2015/0103777) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of wherein the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network ( See the differences F1 and F2 of uplink and downlink in Figure 2a). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network as taught by Chen et al. in the communication network of Translation of Guan et al. for the purpose of using the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network.
For independent claim 8 is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
For dependent claim 5, Translation of Guan et al. also disclose wherein the first carrier indication indicates a carrier in a secondary cell and the second carrier indication indicates a carrier in a primary cell; and wherein determining the payload size of the first DCI format comprises determining that the payload size of the first DCI format is an information bit quantity of the second DCI format( See details of paragraph 0016 and paragraph 0006 lines 15-48 and See details of paragraphs 0017 to 0023).
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Translation of Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) in view of Chen et al. (2015/0103777) in view of Nam ( 2016/0157218).
For independent claim 15, Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) discloses a method comprising the steps of determining a payload size of a first downlink control information (DCI) format that is the same as a payload size of a second DCI format ( See details of paragraph 0016 and paragraph 0006 lines 15-48) , wherein the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier and carries a first carrier indication and the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier and carries a second carrier indication ( See details of paragraphs 0017 to 0023); and monitoring DCI in the first DCI format ( See details of paragraph 0016 and paragraph 0006 lines 15-48 and See details of paragraphs 0017 to 0023).
For independent claim 15, Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network. Chen et al. (2015/0103777) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of wherein the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network ( See the differences F1 and F2 of uplink and downlink in Figure 2a). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network as taught by Chen et al. in the communication network of Translation of Guan et al. for the purpose of using the first carrier indication is different from the second carrier indication in the communication network.
For claim 15, Translation of Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) in view of Chen et al. (2015/0103777) in view of Nam ( 2016/0157218) disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of memory and processor in a communications network. Nam et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of the memory and processor ( See paragraphs 0014 and 0052). Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use memory and as taught by Nam et al. in the communication network of Translation of Translation of Guan et al. ( EP 2706807) in view of Chen et al. (2015/0103777 for the purpose of storing codes in the memory to execute the process by the processor.
For dependent claim 19, Translation of Guan et al. also disclose wherein the first carrier indication indicates a carrier in a secondary cell and the second carrier indication indicates a carrier in a primary cell; and wherein determining the payload size of the first DCI format comprises determining that the payload size of the first DCI format is an information bit quantity of the second DCI format( See details of paragraph 0016 and paragraph 0006 lines 15-48 and See details of paragraphs 0017 to 0023).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. ( 12/464,564) is cited to show a system which is considered pertinent to the claimed invention.
Claims 2-4,6,7,9-14,16,17,18,and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/DANG T TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /D.T.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476