DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 22, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, a “water pipe scaler” is not well known in the art and will be interpreted as a water pipe device that measures a quality or quantity of the water pipe or the contents inside said water pipe. Also, the specification states that “The water pipe scaler may also be called ionizer” (Paragraph 39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "of first sensing data" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "analyzes second sensing data" in line 3 and "the second sensing data" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "analyze first sensing data" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102289164B1 ("Lee") as filled in the IDS, KR101571366B1 ("Oh") as filled in the IDS, and KR102312231B1 ("Shim"). Lee, Oh, and Shim have been claim mapped to the provided EPO machine translations.
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches a smart tap water filtering system within a multi-unit dwelling for supplying tap water to the water pipes within the multi- unit dwelling (Paragraph 1). Lee also teaches the multi-unit dwelling can be an apartment, villa, or other buildings (Paragraph 1). Lee also teaches a filter-type purification device to filter water supplied to the water pipe (Paragraph 134), a sensor that measures the water quality inside the water pipe (Paragraph 130), and a valve control device that monitors the data provided by the smart tap water filtering system’s sensors such as the water quality (Paragraphs 130-131). The water quality sensor measures metrics such as temperature, turbidity, and pH (Paragraph 110).
Lee does not teach a water pipe scaler/ionizer connected to the water pipe of a building to scale an internal condition or a second sensor to measure a condition of the building or the ground.
Shim teaches an ionizer that is connected to a pipeline and can be used as a supplying device for drinking/ground water to buildings like bathhouses or from water purification plants (Paragraph 19). Shim further teaches that the ionizer can have a sensing member to measure the fluid flow rate, volume, and velocity of water withing the water pipe (Paragraphs 14 & 63).
Shim does not teach a second sensor to measure a condition of the building or the ground.
Oh teaches a sensing unit which comprise a accelerometer and gyro sensor (Paragraph 12) that is attached to the waterpipe network to measure points of leaks and ground subsidence (Paragraphs 21 & 34). Oh further teaches the accelerometer and gyro sensors on the pipeline measure the acceleration and positional shift from the ground’s movement (Paragraphs 47-51). Oh also teaches a communication module to transmit the sensing data that can be connected to the sensing unit as well as water sensors such as flow meter and pressure gauges (Paragraph 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to modify Lee with the teachings of Shim because, Shim’s ionizer is an improvement to pipelines attached to buildings (Paragraph 7) and according to Shim, “the purpose is to provide a device that can be applied to water supply facilities and pipes … to improve water quality and suppress the formation of rust, scale, and slime” (Paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to utilize the ground subsidence sensing unit and communication module of Oh within the smart tap water filtering system of the multi-unit dwelling and control device of Lee to further modify Lee and make modified Lee because, Oh’s device improves the timely response and safety of the maintenance of water supply pipelines and according to Oh, “in the event of leakage caused by various phenomena of ground subsidence, such as sinkholes, or due to reasons such as damage to a pipeline at a specific point within a large-scale pipeline network, the presence and location of leakage can be immediately identified, thereby reducing the amount of leakage lost in the pipeline network and preventing it from leading to a major accident.” (Paragraph 21).
With respect to claim 4, modified Lee discloses the water purification system of claim 1. Lee teaches a valve control device that controls the water supplied throughout the smart tap water filtering system and to the apartment houses (Paragraphs 63-65). Lee further teaches the valve control device controls the water supplied to the filter-type water purification device based off the water quality measuring devices (Paragraph 65).
Lee does not teach an ionizer or water pipe scaler that is controlled by a water supply control device.
Shim teaches an ionizer that can be configured to be controlled by a monitoring unit based off the sensing data of the ionizer (Paragraph 80).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to further utilize the teachings of Shim in modified Lee to control the ionizer with the same control device as the valves because the ionizer depends on the flow rate and the sacrificial anode can be more efficiently utilized (Paragraph 41) as Shim states, “Since the amount of zinc leached from the purification unit (100) can be controlled by adjusting the voltage according to the amount of fluid, the zinc can be leached relatively less in places with low flow rates.” (Paragraph 68).
With respect to claim 5, modified Lee discloses the water purification system of claim 1. Lee teaches a valve control device that controls the water supplied throughout the smart tap water filtering system and to the apartments (Paragraphs 63-65). Lee further teaches the valve control device controls the water supplied to the filter-type water purification device based off the water quality measuring devices (Paragraph 65).
Lee does not teach a vibration sensor, ground subsidence sensor, or a disaster prevention response.
Oh teaches a sensing unit which comprise a accelerometer and gyro sensor (Paragraph 12) that is attached to the waterpipe network to measure points of leaks and ground subsidence (Paragraphs 21 & 34). Oh further teaches the accelerometer and gyro sensors on the pipeline that can sense vibration and ground subsidence (Paragraphs 33 & 34). Oh also teaches a communication module to transmit the sensing data that can be connected to the sensing unit as well as water sensors such as flow meter and pressure gauges (Paragraph 44). Oh teaches that the sensing system is capable of detecting pipe damage and preforming a rapid response measure such as blocking the leakage within the pipe (Paragraph 34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to further utilize the teachings of Oh in modified Lee to add the sensing unit, communication module, and rapid response of Oh to improve the reliability/accident preventions of the water pipeline network of smart tap water filtering system of modified Lee because both pertain to water supply/pipelines and according to Oh, “in the event of leakage caused by various phenomena of ground subsidence, such as sinkholes, or due to reasons such as damage to a pipeline at a specific point within a large-scale pipeline network, the presence and location of leakage can be immediately identified, thereby reducing the amount of leakage lost in the pipeline network and preventing it from leading to a major accident.” (Paragraph 21).
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102289164B1 ("Lee"), KR101571366B1 ("Oh"), and KR102312231B1 ("Shim") as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR102146915B1 (“Choi”) as filled in the IDS. Choi is claim mapped to the provided EPO machine translation.
With respect to claim 2, Choi teaches a water quality management system that uses a water purification system located in an auxiliary pipe that is selectively used through using the opening and closing of the second main valve (Paragraph 51) and the inlet/outlet valves (Paragraph 175).
Marked Figure 11(Choi)
With respect to claim 3, Choi teaches a water quality management system that uses two water purification modules in parallel (See Fig. 11) that are selectively used through using the opening and closing of the second main valve (Paragraph 51) and the inlet/outlet valves (Paragraph 175). Choi further teaches that the two water purification modules are connected in parallel where each water purification module is connected on different clean water lines (Paragraph 35). The first and second clean water lines are connected as branches of the front auxiliary pipe (230 in Fig. 11) and rear auxiliary pipe (240 in Fig. 11) where the auxiliary pipes connect to the main pipe (Paragraph 35). A marked up copy of Figure 11 from Choi was provided above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to use the water purification device teachings of Choi in modified Lee because through using a plurality of purification devices as the water purification device is capable of preforming a backwashing procedure which, according to Choi, removes foreign substances from the filtration device (Paragraph 151) that are responsible for decreasing the water purification efficiency (Paragraph 146).
With respect to claim 6, Choi teaches a water quality management system where the control panel transmits sensor and control results data to a terminal owned by a person in charge (Paragraph 59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine the teachings of Choi with modified Lee to send water quality and ground subsidence sensor data to user terminals because, according to Choi, “the present invention allows the control panel (300) and the server (400) to communicate via a mobile communication network” (Paragraph 213), “transmission from the server (400) to the mobile terminal of the person in charge via wireless communication is a widely known technology” (Paragraph 59), and it allows immediate action to be taken in emergency situations (Paragraph 59).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR102289164B1 ("Lee"), KR101571366B1 ("Oh"), and KR102312231B1 ("Shim") as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KR102500534B1 ("Park") as filled in the IDS. Park is claim mapped to the provided EPO machine translation.
With respect to claim 7, Lee teaches that an artificial intelligence analysis algorithm can be used in the valve control device to control the flow of water based off the water quality sensors (Paragraph 56). Lee further teaches the valve control device controls the water supplied to the apartment houses and purification/filtration devices (Paragraphs 63 & 65). Lee also teaches the valve control device controls the tap and purified water supplied to the apartment houses to ensure a sufficient supply of water (Paragraph 139).
Lee does not teach the utilization or acquisition of public data from public institutions related to water quality.
Park teaches a neural network that uses a hardware sensor and online public data in the analysis to generation water supply information (Paragraph 8) where the public data can be from public institutions (Paragraph 34). Park further teaches the neural network system can generate water circulation information of a water in a specific area or a supply factory (Paragraphs 47-49). The neural network of Park is able to generate water usage in a random area through the generation of water supply information after the selection of a specific area (Paragraphs 19 & 49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine the artificial neural network data acquisition and information predicting teachings of Park with modified Lee because, according to Park, “The water resource information generation device according to an embodiment of the present invention can improve the accuracy and reliability of providing urban water resource information, such as information on water supply and water circulation within the city” (Paragraph 19).
Conclusion
/JACK WELLIK PECINOVSKY/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779