DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the subject matter “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” is not described in the specification. But rather the apertures seem to receive and fix the stand offs. Further, [0033] of the specification describes the riser retention bracket system provides the ability to laterally move risers sideways.
Claims 2-6 depending from claim 1 are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 7, the subject matter “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” is not described in the specification. But rather the apertures seem to receive and fix the stand offs. Further, [0033] of the specification describes the riser retention bracket system provides the ability to laterally move risers sideways.
Claims 8-12. depending from claim 7 are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 13, the subject matter “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” is not described in the specification. But rather the apertures seem to receive and fix the stand offs. Further, [0033] of the specification describes the riser retention bracket system provides the ability to laterally move risers sideways.
Claims 14-18 depending from claim 13 are therefore also rejected.
Claims 1-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” is unclear.
It is unclear whether the apertures receive the stand offs thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion or if the apertures receive the stand offs and laterally move them in a horizontal direction across the horizontal main housing portion.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the apertures receive the stand offs thereby laterally moving the in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion.
Claims 2-6 depending from claim 1 are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” is unclear.
It is unclear whether the apertures receive the stand offs thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion or if the apertures receive the stand offs and laterally move them in a horizontal direction across the horizontal main housing portion.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the apertures receive the stand offs thereby laterally moving the in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion.
Claims 8-12. depending from claim 7 are therefore also rejected.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs across the horizontal main housing portion while enabling the riser cage stand offs to couple with the riser retention bracket” is unclear.
It is unclear whether the apertures receive the stand offs thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion or if the apertures receive the stand offs and laterally move them in a horizontal direction across the horizontal main housing portion.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret this as the apertures receive the stand offs thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion.
Claims 14-18 depending from claim 13 are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh US 11150705.
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Hsieh US 11150705 discloses a riser retention bracket (530 in Fig. 3) for an information handling system (10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a lateral riser retention bracket component (531 in Fig. 3);
the lateral riser retention bracket component (531) comprising a horizontal main housing portion (5313 in Fig. 3), the lateral riser bracket component (531) defining a plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (5310 in Fig. 3),
the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (5310) being positioned to mate with respective riser cage stand offs (512 in Fig. 3) of a plurality of riser cage stand offs (512) when the lateral riser retention bracket component (531) is horizontally mounted within the information handling system (10; as depicted in Fig. 1 and 3 at least the horizontal portion of 531 is horizontally mounted within 10);
wherein, the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (5310) provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs (512) across the horizontal main housing portion (5313) while enabling the riser cage stand offs (512) to couple with the riser retention bracket (530; 5310 are able to laterally move 512 while in 5312 portion in order to guide them to 5311 portion for coupling to 530 as depicted in Fig. 4; 5310 also receive 512 thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the horizontal main housing portion 5313).
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu US 9122458.
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Yu discloses a riser retention bracket (10) for an information handling system (1 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a lateral riser retention bracket component (104 in Fig. 3);
the lateral riser retention bracket component (104) comprising a horizontal main housing portion (top horizontal surface of 104 in Fig. 3), the lateral riser bracket component (104) defining a plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b in Fig. 3),
the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b) being positioned to mate with respective riser cage stand offs (128b in Fig. 4) of a plurality of riser cage stand offs (128b) when the lateral riser retention bracket component (104) is horizontally mounted within the information handling system (1; as least 1046 of 104 is horizontally mounted within 1 as depicted in Fig. 1 and 3);
wherein, the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b) provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs (128b) across the horizontal main housing portion (top horizontal surface of 104) while enabling the riser cage stand offs (128b) to couple with the riser retention bracket (10; 1042b provide the ability to laterally move 128b while in a wide portion of 1042b in order to guide them to a narrow portion of 1042b for coupling to 10 as depicted in Fig. 4-7; 1042b also receive 128b thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the top horizontal surface of 104).
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Yu discloses the riser retention bracket of claim 1, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket (10) defines a plurality of guide apertures (wide portion of 1042b in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Yu discloses the riser retention bracket of claim 1, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket (10) defines a plurality of peripheral module mounting apertures (narrow portion of 1042b in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5 (as best understood), Yu discloses the riser retention bracket of claim 1, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket includes a plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044 in Fig. 3), each of the plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044) being positioned relative to a side edge (side edge at 10 in Fig. 1 and 3) of a drive bay mounting location (mounting location receiving 12 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), Yu discloses the riser retention bracket of claim 5, wherein: each of the plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044) are configured to mate with a rotation lever component (124/126) when the rotating lever component (124/126) is in a closed orientation (as depicted in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), Yu US 9122458 discloses a drive mounting system for an information handling system (1 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a rotating lever component (124 in Fig. 1); and,
a riser retention bracket (10 in Fig. 3),
the riser retention bracket (10) comprising:
a lateral riser retention bracket component (104 in Fig. 3);
the lateral riser retention bracket component (104) comprising a horizontal main housing portion (top horizontal surface of 104 in Fig. 3), the lateral riser bracket component (104) defining a plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b in Fig. 3),
the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b) being positioned to mate with respective riser cage stand offs (128b in Fig. 4) of a plurality of riser cage stand offs (128b) when the lateral riser retention bracket component (104) is horizontally mounted within the information handling system (1; as least 1046 of 104 is horizontally mounted within 1 as depicted in Fig. 1 and 3);
wherein, the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b) provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs (128b) while enabling the riser cage stand offs (128b) to couple with the riser retention bracket (10; 1042b provide the ability to laterally move 128b while in a wide portion of 1042b in order to guide them to a narrow portion of 1042b for coupling to 10 as depicted in Fig. 4-7; 1042b also receive 128b thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the top horizontal surface of 104).
Regarding claim 9 (as best understood), Yu discloses the drive mounting system of claim 7, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket (10) defines a plurality of guide apertures (wide portion of 1042b in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10 (as best understood), Yu discloses the drive mounting system of claim 7, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket (10) defines a plurality of peripheral module mounting apertures (narrow portion of 1042b in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11 (as best understood), Yu discloses the drive mounting system of claim 7, further comprising:
the lateral riser retention bracket includes a plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044 in Fig. 3), each of the plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044) being positioned relative to a side edge (side edge at 10 in Fig. 1 and 3) of a drive bay mounting location (mounting location receiving 12 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12 (as best understood), Yu discloses the drive mounting system of claim 11, wherein:
each of the plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044) are configured to mate with the rotation lever component (124/126) when the rotating lever component (124/126) is in a closed orientation (as depicted in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Yu US 9122458 discloses an information handling system (1 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a processor (14 in Fig. 1);
a data bus (inherent data bus of 1 not shown) coupled to the processor (14);
drive mounting system (12/10 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a rotating lever component (124 in Fig. 1); and,
a lateral riser retention bracket component (104 in Fig. 3);
the lateral riser retention bracket component (104) comprising a horizontal main housing portion (top horizontal surface of 104 in Fig. 3), the lateral riser bracket component (104) defining a plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b in Fig. 3),
the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b) being positioned to mate with respective riser cage stand offs (128b in Fig. 4) of a plurality of riser cage stand offs (128b) when the lateral riser retention bracket component (104) is horizontally mounted within the information handling system (1; as least 1046 of 104 is horizontally mounted within 1 as depicted in Fig. 1 and 3);
wherein, the plurality of riser cage standoff apertures (1042b) provide an ability to laterally move the plurality of riser cage stand offs (128b) while enabling the riser cage stand offs (128b) to couple with the riser retention bracket (10 in Fig. 3; 1042b provide the ability to laterally move 128b while in a wide portion of 1042b in order to guide them to a narrow portion of 1042b for coupling to 10 as depicted in Fig. 4-7; 1042b also receive 128b thereby laterally moving them in a vertical direction across the top horizontal surface of 104).
Regarding claim 16 (as best understood), Yu discloses the information handling system of claim 13, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket (10) defines a plurality of peripheral module mounting apertures (narrow portion of 1042b in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17 (as best understood), Yu discloses the information handling system of claim 13, wherein:
the lateral riser retention bracket includes a plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044 in Fig. 3), each of the plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044) being positioned relative to a side edge (side edge at 10 in Fig. 1 and 3) of a drive bay mounting location (mounting location receiving 12 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18 (as best understood), Yu discloses the information handling system of claim 17, wherein:
each of the plurality of retention tabs (1048 and 1044) are configured to mate with the rotation lever component (124/126) when the rotating lever component (124/126) is in a closed orientation (as depicted in Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8 and 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, 7 and 13, Applicant argues that “nowhere within Hsieh or Yu, taken alone or in combination is there any disclosure or suggestion of a lateral riser retention bracket component; the lateral riser retention component comprising a horizontal main housing portion, the lateral riser bracket component defining a plurality of riser cage stand off apertures, the plurality of riser cage stand off apertures being positioned to mate with respective riser cage stand offs of a plurality of riser cage stand offs when the lateral riser retention bracket component is horizontally mounted within the information handling system, as required by claims 1, 7 and 13.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, it must be stated that the examiner is required to give the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation. Specifically, MPEP 2111 states:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be “given *>their< broadest
reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” > In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d
1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).< Applicant always has the
opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpretation by the
examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more
broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-
51 (CCPA 1969).
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the
picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together.
Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is
immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification.
The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 2121.04 for more information on prior art drawings as "enabled
disclosures."
Hsieh in Fig. 3 show a lateral riser retention bracket component 531 having portion 5313 which extends horizontally.
Therefore Hsieh discloses the lateral riser retention bracket component 531 comprising a horizontal main housing portion 5313.
Fig. 3 of Hsieh shows the lateral riser bracket component 531 having a plurality of riser cage standoff apertures 5310, which mate with respective riser cage stand offs 512 when the lateral riser retention bracket component 531 is horizontally mounted within the information handling system 10; as at least the horizontal portion of 531 is horizontally mounted within the system.
Similarly, Yu in Fig. 1 and 3 show a lateral riser retention bracket component 104 having portion at least a top horizontal surface of 104 which extends horizontally.
Therefore Yu discloses the lateral riser retention bracket component 104 comprising a horizontal main housing portion as a top horizontal surface of 104.
Fig. 3 of Yu shows the lateral riser bracket component 104 having a plurality of riser cage standoff apertures 1042b, which mate with respective riser cage stand offs 128b when the lateral riser retention bracket component 104 is horizontally mounted within the information handling system 1; as at least the horizontal portion of 104 is horizontally mounted within the system.
Therefore Hsieh and Yu disclose a lateral riser retention bracket component; the lateral riser retention component comprising a horizontal main housing portion, the lateral riser bracket component defining a plurality of riser cage stand off apertures, the plurality of riser cage stand off apertures being positioned to mate with respective riser cage stand offs of a plurality of riser cage stand offs when the lateral riser retention bracket component is horizontally mounted within the information handling system, as required by claims 1, 7 and 13.
And so, claims 1, 3-7, 9-13 and 16-18 stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841