DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dakshinkar et al. (US 2023/0413112 A1, hereinafter “Dakshinkar”) in view of Wang et al. (US 2013/0176897 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
As to Claim 1:
Dakshinkar describes a method to group virtual access points based on a quality of service parameter.
Specifically, Dakshinkar teaches:
Generating a set of virtual access points (VAPs), each VAP of the set of VAPs having a non-configured state
(“[T]he first and second MBSSID sets are configured such that each of them addresses one or more QoS parameters. For example, the first MBSSID set may be formed by grouping VAPs (e.g., VAPs 108A and 108B) that address a first QoS (e.g., Low latency)” (Dakshinkar, 0029).
Here, “grouping VAPs” maps to “generating a set of virtual access points (VAPs)”,
the “VAPs” before “grouping” map to “each VAP of the set of VAPs having a non-configured state” because the VAPs are unconfigured before being grouped).
A first virtual access point (VAP) configuration
(“A configuration file for a given VAP may include settings such as radio details, SSID, channel information, a BSSID, communication capabilities, and the like” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “a configuration file for a given VAP” maps to “a first virtual access point (VAP) configuration”).
Assigning a first VAP of the set of VAPs to a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets)” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “dividing ... into ... groups (sets)” maps to “assigning”,
the first of the “VAPs” maps to “a first VAP”,
“VAPs” map to “the set of VAPs”, and
the first of “multiple MBSSID sets” maps to “a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set”).
Configuring the first VAP according to the first VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the first of “the VAPs” maps to “the first VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a first ... access point ... configuration
The first ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a physical (PHY) mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
Assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set, based at least in part on the PHY mode
However, Wang does describe establishing links using the IEEE 802.11 standard.
Specifically, Wang teaches:
Receiving a first ... access point ... configuration
(“An apparatus may transmit a request to obtain an IP address configuration from a network.... The IP address configuration may be received over a cellular network” (Wang, 0006).
Here, “[t]he IP address configuration may be received” maps to “receiving a first ... access point ... configuration”).
The first ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a physical (PHY) mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “the candidate AP information” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”,
“may include” maps to “comprising”,
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a physical (PHY) mode”, and
“include” maps to “associated with”).
Assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set, based at least in part on the PHY mode
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include ... a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “include ... a basic service set identifier” maps to “assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set”,
“include” maps to “based at least in part on” because the PHY mode’s inclusion alongside the set identifier shows they are related, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 2:
Dakshinkar teaches:
Upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is the same as the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to the first MBSSID set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets).... [E]ach of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings such that each MBSSID set addresses a specific QoS parameter” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “each of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings” map to “upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is the same as the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to the first MBSSID set”,
a second value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration”,
“similar” maps to “the same as”,
a first value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration”,
the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP of the set of VAPs”, and
the “MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
Configuring the second VAP according to the second VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the second of “the VAPs” maps to “the second VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “a second ... AP configuration”,
“include” maps to “comprising”, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “the second ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information 313a” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 3:
Dakshinkar teaches:
Upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is different from the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets).... [E]ach of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings such that each MBSSID set addresses a specific QoS parameter” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “each of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings” map to “upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is different from the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set”,
a second value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration”,
a separate “MBSSID set” that does not have “similar settings” maps to “different from”,
a first value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration”,
the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP of the set of VAPs”, and
another of the “MBSSID sets” without “similar settings” maps to “a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set”).
Configuring the second VAP according to the second VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the second of “the VAPs” maps to “the second VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “a second ... AP configuration”,
“include” maps to “comprising”, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “the second ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information 313a” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 4:
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
The PHY mode comprises at least one of (i) a wireless channel configuration, (ii) an indication of one or more supported frequency bands, or (iii) an indication of one or more supported wireless communication standards
However, from this list, Wang at least teaches:
The PHY mode comprises ... (i) a wireless channel configuration
(Table 1 in Wang shows methods to reduce initial link setup time.
Here, “a mode in 802.11PHY” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“may be” maps to “comprises”, and
“802.11PHY” maps to “(i) a wireless channel configuration”).
The PHY mode comprises ... (iii) an indication of one or more supported wireless communication standards
(Table 1 in Wang shows methods to reduce initial link setup time.
Here, “a mode in 802.11PHY” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“may be” maps to “comprises”, and
“802.11PHY” maps to “(iii) an indication of one or more supported wireless communication standards”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 8:
Dakshinkar teaches:
One or more memories collectively storing computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors being collectively configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the computing device to perform an operation
(“The apparatus may comprise a processor and memory coupled with the processor and having instructions stored therein which, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus ...” (Dakshinkar, 0022).
Here, “memory” maps to “one or more memories”,
“having instructions stored therein” maps to “collectively storing computer-executable instructions”,
“a processor” maps to “one or more processors”,
“memory coupled” maps to “coupled to the one or more memories”,
“executed by the processor” maps to “the one or more processors being collectively configured to execute”,
“instructions” maps to “the computer-executable instructions”, and
“cause the apparatus” maps to “cause the computing device to perform an operation”).
Generating a set of virtual access points (VAPs), each VAP of the set of VAPs having a non-configured state
(“[T]he first and second MBSSID sets are configured such that each of them addresses one or more QoS parameters. For example, the first MBSSID set may be formed by grouping VAPs (e.g., VAPs 108A and 108B) that address a first QoS (e.g., Low latency)” (Dakshinkar, 0029).
Here, “grouping VAPs” maps to “generating a set of virtual access points (VAPs)”,
the “VAPs” before “grouping” map to “each VAP of the set of VAPs having a non-configured state” because the VAPs are unconfigured before being grouped).
A first virtual access point (VAP) configuration
(“A configuration file for a given VAP may include settings such as radio details, SSID, channel information, a BSSID, communication capabilities, and the like” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “a configuration file for a given VAP” maps to “a first virtual access point (VAP) configuration”).
Assigning a first VAP of the set of VAPs to a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets)” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “dividing ... into ... groups (sets)” maps to “assigning”,
the first of the “VAPs” maps to “a first VAP”,
“VAPs” map to “the set of VAPs”, and
the first of “multiple MBSSID sets” maps to “a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set”).
Configuring the first VAP according to the first VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the first of “the VAPs” maps to “the first VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a first ... access point ... configuration
The first ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a physical (PHY) mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
Assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set, based at least in part on the PHY mode
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a first ... access point ... configuration
(“An apparatus may transmit a request to obtain an IP address configuration from a network.... The IP address configuration may be received over a cellular network” (Wang, 0006).
Here, “[t]he IP address configuration may be received” maps to “receiving a first ... access point ... configuration”).
The first ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a physical (PHY) mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “the candidate AP information” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”,
“may include” maps to “comprising”,
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a physical (PHY) mode”, and
“include” maps to “associated with”).
Assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set, based at least in part on the PHY mode
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include ... a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “include ... a basic service set identifier” maps to “assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set”,
“include” maps to “based at least in part on” because the PHY mode’s inclusion alongside the set identifier shows they are related, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 9:
Dakshinkar teaches:
Upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is the same as the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to the first MBSSID set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets).... [E]ach of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings such that each MBSSID set addresses a specific QoS parameter” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “each of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings” map to “upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is the same as the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to the first MBSSID set”,
a second value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration”,
“similar” maps to “the same as”,
a first value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration”,
the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP of the set of VAPs”, and
the “MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
Configuring the second VAP according to the second VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the second of “the VAPs” maps to “the second VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “a second ... AP configuration”,
“include” maps to “comprising”, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “the second ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information 313a” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 10:
Dakshinkar teaches:
Upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is different from the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets).... [E]ach of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings such that each MBSSID set addresses a specific QoS parameter” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “each of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings” map to “upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is different from the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set”,
a second value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration”,
a separate “MBSSID set” that does not have “similar settings” maps to “different from”,
a first value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration”,
the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP of the set of VAPs”, and
another of the “MBSSID sets” without “similar settings” maps to “a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set”).
Configuring the second VAP according to the second VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the second of “the VAPs” maps to “the second VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “a second ... AP configuration”,
“include” maps to “comprising”, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “the second ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information 313a” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 11:
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
The PHY mode comprises at least one of (i) a wireless channel configuration, (ii) an indication of one or more supported frequency bands, or (iii) an indication of one or more supported wireless communication standards
However, from this list, Wang at least teaches:
The PHY mode comprises ... (i) a wireless channel configuration
(Table 1 in Wang shows methods to reduce initial link setup time.
Here, “a mode in 802.11PHY” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“may be” maps to “comprises”, and
“802.11PHY” maps to “(i) a wireless channel configuration”).
The PHY mode comprises ... (iii) an indication of one or more supported wireless communication standards
(Table 1 in Wang shows methods to reduce initial link setup time.
Here, “a mode in 802.11PHY” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“may be” maps to “comprises”, and
“802.11PHY” maps to “(iii) an indication of one or more supported wireless communication standards”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 15:
Dakshinkar teaches:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media containing, in any combination, computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system, perform an operation
(“The apparatus may comprise a processor and memory coupled with the processor and having instructions stored therein which, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus ...” (Dakshinkar, 0022).
Here, “memory” maps to “one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media”, and
“having instructions stored therein” maps to “containing, in any combination, computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system, perform an operation”).
Generating a set of virtual access points (VAPs), each VAP of the set of VAPs having a non-configured state
(“[T]he first and second MBSSID sets are configured such that each of them addresses one or more QoS parameters. For example, the first MBSSID set may be formed by grouping VAPs (e.g., VAPs 108A and 108B) that address a first QoS (e.g., Low latency)” (Dakshinkar, 0029).
Here, “grouping VAPs” maps to “generating a set of virtual access points (VAPs)”,
the “VAPs” before “grouping” map to “each VAP of the set of VAPs having a non-configured state” because the VAPs are unconfigured before being grouped).
A first virtual access point (VAP) configuration
(“A configuration file for a given VAP may include settings such as radio details, SSID, channel information, a BSSID, communication capabilities, and the like” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “a configuration file for a given VAP” maps to “a first virtual access point (VAP) configuration”).
Assigning a first VAP of the set of VAPs to a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets)” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “dividing ... into ... groups (sets)” maps to “assigning”,
the first of the “VAPs” maps to “a first VAP”,
“VAPs” map to “the set of VAPs”, and
the first of “multiple MBSSID sets” maps to “a first multiple basic service set identifier (MBSSID) set”).
Configuring the first VAP according to the first VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the first of “the VAPs” maps to “the first VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a first ... access point ... configuration
The first ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a physical (PHY) mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
Assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set, based at least in part on the PHY mode
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a first ... access point ... configuration
(“An apparatus may transmit a request to obtain an IP address configuration from a network.... The IP address configuration may be received over a cellular network” (Wang, 0006).
Here, “[t]he IP address configuration may be received” maps to “receiving a first ... access point ... configuration”).
The first ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a physical (PHY) mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “the candidate AP information” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”,
“may include” maps to “comprising”,
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a physical (PHY) mode”, and
“include” maps to “associated with”).
Assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set, based at least in part on the PHY mode
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include ... a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “include ... a basic service set identifier” maps to “assigning a first ... AP ... to a first ... set”,
“include” maps to “based at least in part on” because the PHY mode’s inclusion alongside the set identifier shows they are related, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 16:
Dakshinkar teaches:
Upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is the same as the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to the first MBSSID set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets).... [E]ach of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings such that each MBSSID set addresses a specific QoS parameter” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “each of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings” map to “upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is the same as the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to the first MBSSID set”,
a second value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration”,
“similar” maps to “the same as”,
a first value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration”,
the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP of the set of VAPs”, and
the “MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
Configuring the second VAP according to the second VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the second of “the VAPs” maps to “the second VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “a second ... AP configuration”,
“include” maps to “comprising”, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “the second ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information 313a” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
As to Claim 17:
Dakshinkar teaches:
Upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is different from the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set
(“APs may be configured to support the use of multiple MBSSID sets which entails dividing VAPs into multiple groups (sets).... [E]ach of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings such that each MBSSID set addresses a specific QoS parameter” (Dakshinkar, 0013).
Here, “each of these MBSSID sets is configured to have VAPs with similar settings” map to “upon determining the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration is different from the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration, assigning a second VAP of the set of VAPs to a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set”,
a second value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the second VAP configuration”,
a separate “MBSSID set” that does not have “similar settings” maps to “different from”,
a first value of a “specific QoS parameter” maps to “the ... mode associated with the first VAP configuration”,
the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP of the set of VAPs”, and
another of the “MBSSID sets” without “similar settings” maps to “a second MBSSID set different from the first MBSSID set”).
Configuring the second VAP according to the second VAP configuration
(“The processing resource 110 [in Fig. 1] may execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files to enable the functioning of the VAPs 108A-108D” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “execute program instructions according to the respective configuration files” maps to “configuring ... according to the ... configuration”, and
the second of “the VAPs” maps to “the second VAP”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving a second ... AP configuration, the second ... AP configuration comprising an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “a second ... AP configuration”,
“include” maps to “comprising”, and
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of a PHY mode associated with the ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the second ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information ... 313b” maps to “the second ... AP configuration”).
The PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated”, and
“candidate AP information 313a” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs based on a shared parameter to the VAPs described in Wang that are associated with a specific PHY mode. If a system includes VAPs that support a specific physical layer protocol, it makes sense to group them according to their physical layer capabilities.
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dakshinkar (US 2023/0413112 A1) in view of Wang (US 2013/0176897 A1) and further in view of Chu et al. (US 2024/0008062 A1, hereinafter “Chu”) and Patil et al. (US 2024/0073792 A1, hereinafter “Patil”).
As to Claim 5:
Dakshinkar teaches:
The first VAP configuration
(“A configuration file for a given VAP may include settings such as radio details, SSID, channel information, a BSSID, communication capabilities, and the like” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “a configuration file for a given VAP” maps to “the first VAP”).
The first VAP in the first MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, the first of “a group of VAPs” maps to “the first VAP”, and
“an MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
The first MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, “an MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
A second MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, another “MBSSID set” maps to “the second MBSSID set”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving an indication of ... the PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving an indication of ... the PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of ... the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated with”, and
“candidate AP information” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
The combination of Dakshinkar and Wang also does not explicitly disclose:
A change in the PHY mode
However, Chu does describe methods to support switching an access point between different physical layer protocols.
Specifically, Chu teaches:
A change in the PHY mode
(“[A]n EHT AP that is compatible with IEEE 802.11be protocols can announce different communications or operating channel configurations for EHT STAs that are compatible with IEEE 802.11be protocols and ... STAs that are compatible with IEEE 802.11ax protocols ... when performing channel switch” (Chu, 0049).
Here, “channel switch” maps to “a change”, and
“802.11be” and “802.11ax” map to “the PHY mode”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chu’s practice of indicating a changed PHY mode with Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs. If VAPs are grouped based on PHY mode, it makes sense to indicate when a VAP’s PHY mode changes.
The combination of Dakshinkar, Wang, and Chu also does not explicitly disclose:
In response ... disabling the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set
Reassigning the first ... AP to a second ... BSSID set, based on the change
However, Patil does describe a method to disable access points and reassign them to different MBSSID sets.
Specifically, Patil teaches:
In response ... disabling the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set
(“There are certain scenarios in which a TxBSSID needs to be disabled” (Patil, 0024).
Here, “certain scenarios” map to “in response” because both bely conditional execution of a subsequent step,
“disabled” maps to “disabling”, and
“a TxBSSID” maps to “the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set”).
Reassigning the first ... AP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, “updated (reassigned)” maps to “reassigning”,
a first “TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID role” maps to “the first AP”,
“the MBSSID set” maps to “a second MBSSID set”, and
“in the event” maps to “based on the change”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Patil’s practice of reassigning access points to different MBSSID sets into Dakshinkar’s method for grouping VAPs into MBSSID sets. If the criteria the groups are based on change, it makes sense to reassign access points to a different set.
As to Claim 6:
Dakshinkar teaches:
A second VAP
(“[C]onfiguring the VAPs on the AP allows the AP to present itself as multiple APs” (Dakshinkar, 0010).
Here, the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP”).
A first VAP
(“[C]onfiguring the VAPs on the AP allows the AP to present itself as multiple APs” (Dakshinkar, 0010).
Here, the first of the “VAPs” maps to “a first VAP”).
The combination of Dakshinkar, Wang, and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
The second MBSSID set comprises a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
The first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
However, Patil does teach:
The second MBSSID set comprises a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, “the MBSSID set” maps to “the second MBSSID set”, and
“TxBSSID” maps to “a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set”).
The first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, a “nonTxBSSID” in “the MBSSID set” maps to “the first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the transmitting APs and non-transmitting APs described in Patil in the MBSSID groups outlined in Dakshinkar. Transmitting APs are necessary to maintain a MBSSID group, so it makes sense to include both types of devices in the MBSSID groups formed.
As to Claim 12:
Dakshinkar teaches:
The first VAP configuration
(“A configuration file for a given VAP may include settings such as radio details, SSID, channel information, a BSSID, communication capabilities, and the like” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “a configuration file for a given VAP” maps to “the first VAP”).
The first VAP in the first MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, the first of “a group of VAPs” maps to “the first VAP”, and
“an MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
The first MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, “an MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
A second MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, another “MBSSID set” maps to “the second MBSSID set”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving an indication of ... the PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving an indication of ... the PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of ... the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated with”, and
“candidate AP information” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
The combination of Dakshinkar and Wang also does not explicitly disclose:
A change in the PHY mode
However, Chu does teach:
A change in the PHY mode
(“[A]n EHT AP that is compatible with IEEE 802.11be protocols can announce different communications or operating channel configurations for EHT STAs that are compatible with IEEE 802.11be protocols and ... STAs that are compatible with IEEE 802.11ax protocols ... when performing channel switch” (Chu, 0049).
Here, “channel switch” maps to “a change”, and
“802.11be” and “802.11ax” map to “the PHY mode”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chu’s practice of indicating a changed PHY mode with Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs. If VAPs are grouped based on PHY mode, it makes sense to indicate when a VAP’s PHY mode changes.
The combination of Dakshinkar, Wang, and Chu also does not explicitly disclose:
In response ... disabling the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set
Reassigning the first ... AP to a second ... BSSID set, based on the change
However, Patil does teach:
In response ... disabling the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set
(“There are certain scenarios in which a TxBSSID needs to be disabled” (Patil, 0024).
Here, “certain scenarios” map to “in response” because both bely conditional execution of a subsequent step,
“disabled” maps to “disabling”, and
“a TxBSSID” maps to “the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set”).
Reassigning the first ... AP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, “updated (reassigned)” maps to “reassigning”,
a first “TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID role” maps to “the first AP”,
“the MBSSID set” maps to “a second MBSSID set”, and
“in the event” maps to “based on the change”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Patil’s practice of reassigning access points to different MBSSID sets into Dakshinkar’s method for grouping VAPs into MBSSID sets. If the criteria the groups are based on change, it makes sense to reassign access points to a different set.
As to Claim 13:
Dakshinkar teaches:
A second VAP
(“[C]onfiguring the VAPs on the AP allows the AP to present itself as multiple APs” (Dakshinkar, 0010).
Here, the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP”).
A first VAP
(“[C]onfiguring the VAPs on the AP allows the AP to present itself as multiple APs” (Dakshinkar, 0010).
Here, the first of the “VAPs” maps to “a first VAP”).
The combination of Dakshinkar, Wang, and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
The second MBSSID set comprises a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
The first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
However, Patil does teach:
The second MBSSID set comprises a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, “the MBSSID set” maps to “the second MBSSID set”, and
“TxBSSID” maps to “a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set”).
The first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, a “nonTxBSSID” in “the MBSSID set” maps to “the first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the transmitting APs and non-transmitting APs described in Patil in the MBSSID groups outlined in Dakshinkar. Transmitting APs are necessary to maintain a MBSSID group, so it makes sense to include both types of devices in the MBSSID groups formed.
As to Claim 18:
Dakshinkar teaches:
The first VAP configuration
(“A configuration file for a given VAP may include settings such as radio details, SSID, channel information, a BSSID, communication capabilities, and the like” (Dakshinkar, 0021).
Here, “a configuration file for a given VAP” maps to “the first VAP”).
The first VAP in the first MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, the first of “a group of VAPs” maps to “the first VAP”, and
“an MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
The first MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, “an MBSSID set” maps to “the first MBSSID set”).
A second MBSSID set
(“An MBSSID set is a group of VAPs hosted on an AP” (Dakshinkar, 0012).
Here, another “MBSSID set” maps to “the second MBSSID set”).
Dakshinkar does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving an indication of ... the PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
However, Wang does teach:
Receiving an indication of ... the PHY mode associated with the first ... AP configuration
(“The candidate AP information 313a, 313b may be pre-acquired knowledge about a candidate AP ... The candidate AP information 313a, 313b [in Fig. 3] may include, for example, a service set identifier (SSID), a basic service set identifier (BSSID), an AP capability, a physical (PHY) mode ...” (Wang, 0092).
Here, “acquired” maps to “receiving”,
“a physical (PHY) mode” maps to “an indication of ... the PHY mode”,
“include” maps to “associated with”, and
“candidate AP information” maps to “the first ... AP configuration”).
The combination of Dakshinkar and Wang also does not explicitly disclose:
A change in the PHY mode
However, Chu does teach:
A change in the PHY mode
(“[A]n EHT AP that is compatible with IEEE 802.11be protocols can announce different communications or operating channel configurations for EHT STAs that are compatible with IEEE 802.11be protocols and ... STAs that are compatible with IEEE 802.11ax protocols ... when performing channel switch” (Chu, 0049).
Here, “channel switch” maps to “a change”, and
“802.11be” and “802.11ax” map to “the PHY mode”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chu’s practice of indicating a changed PHY mode with Dakshinkar’s practice of grouping VAPs. If VAPs are grouped based on PHY mode, it makes sense to indicate when a VAP’s PHY mode changes.
The combination of Dakshinkar, Wang, and Chu also does not explicitly disclose:
In response ... disabling the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set
Reassigning the first ... AP to a second ... BSSID set, based on the change
However, Patil does teach:
In response ... disabling the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set
(“There are certain scenarios in which a TxBSSID needs to be disabled” (Patil, 0024).
Here, “certain scenarios” map to “in response” because both bely conditional execution of a subsequent step,
“disabled” maps to “disabling”, and
“a TxBSSID” maps to “the first ... AP in the first ... BSSID set”).
Reassigning the first ... AP to a second MBSSID set, based on the change
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, “updated (reassigned)” maps to “reassigning”,
a first “TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID role” maps to “the first AP”,
“the MBSSID set” maps to “a second MBSSID set”, and
“in the event” maps to “based on the change”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Patil’s practice of reassigning access points to different MBSSID sets into Dakshinkar’s method for grouping VAPs into MBSSID sets. If the criteria the groups are based on change, it makes sense to reassign access points to a different set.
As to Claim 19:
Dakshinkar teaches:
A second VAP
(“[C]onfiguring the VAPs on the AP allows the AP to present itself as multiple APs” (Dakshinkar, 0010).
Here, the second of the “VAPs” maps to “a second VAP”).
A first VAP
(“[C]onfiguring the VAPs on the AP allows the AP to present itself as multiple APs” (Dakshinkar, 0010).
Here, the first of the “VAPs” maps to “a first VAP”).
The combination of Dakshinkar, Wang, and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
The second MBSSID set comprises a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
The first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
However, Patil does teach:
The second MBSSID set comprises a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, “the MBSSID set” maps to “the second MBSSID set”, and
“TxBSSID” maps to “a second ... AP designated as a transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set”).
The first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set
(“Aspects of the present disclosure, however, provide techniques that allow a new BSSID to assume the role of TxBSSID, in the event a current TxBSSID is turned off, removed, or disabled. By allowing TxBSSID/nonTxBSSID roles to be updated (reassigned), the techniques presented herein may serve as a graceful mechanism for the operations in the MBSSID set to continue and may help avoid catastrophic collapse of the entire MBSSID set” (Patil, 0026).
Here, a “nonTxBSSID” in “the MBSSID set” maps to “the first ... AP is designated as a non-transmitted ... AP within the second MBSSID set”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the transmitting APs and non-transmitting APs described in Patil in the MBSSID groups outlined in Dakshinkar. Transmitting APs are necessary to maintain a MBSSID group, so it makes sense to include both types of devices in the MBSSID groups formed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. This is because the prior art does not fairly teach “generating the second MBSSID set after disabling the first VAP” in combination with the other limitations of dependent claims 7, 14, and 20.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477