DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Response, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 USC 103 and 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the prior art set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012-177917 (henceforth JP ‘917) in view of WO 2022/009793 (henceforth WO ‘793) and further in view of JP 2017-40845 (henceforth JP ‘845).
JP ‘917 teaches a toner comprising a core/shell configuration. The core is taught to comprise an amorphous polyester resin and a crystalline polyester resin and further teaches that each of the resins may be biobased resin ([0004-13]). JP ‘917 further teaches that the content of the biobased resin is 50% by weight to 100% by weight by weight of the resin ([0012]). The toner is further taught to include a shell surrounding the core particles ([0059]). JP ‘917 does not, however, teach that the toner further contains a polyethylene terephthalate (PET) resin or a relationship between the crystalline polyester resin and shell resin SP values.
WO ‘793 teaches a toner comprising a PET resin (see Description of Embodiments section of the provided translation). The PET resin is taught to impart the toner with improved storage stability and fixing strength (see Background Art of the provided translation).
JP ‘845 teaches at oner comprising a core-shell configuration wherein the core comprises a crystalline polyester resin and the shell comprises an amorphous polyester resin (Abstract). The difference in SP value between the crystalline polyester resin (SP1) and the shell resin (SP3) is taught to be between 2 and 3 (Abstract). JP ‘845 further teaches that controlling the difference in SP value to a value within this range improves storage stability toner and compatibility of the core and shell (see the Description section of the provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have provide the toner of JP ‘917 with the PET resin taught by WO ‘793 in order to improve the storage stability and fixing strength of said toner and to have perfected the difference in SP value between the crystalline resin of the core and shell resin in the toner of JP ‘917 to a value within the range of JP ‘845 in order to improve the storage stability of the toner and the compatibility of the core and shell resins.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2012-177917 (henceforth JP ‘917) in view of WO 2022/009793 (henceforth WO ‘793) and further in view of JP 2017-40845 (henceforth JP ‘845) as applied to claims 1 and 4-7 above, and further in view of KR 2019-0125105 (henceforth KR ‘105).
The complete discussion of JP ‘917, JP ‘845 and WO ‘793 above are included herein. JP ‘917 does not teach a difference in solubility parameter between the amorphous and crystalline resin in the core.
KR ‘105 teaches at oner comprising toner core particles comprising a crystalline polyester resin and an amorphous polyester resin. Additionally, KR ’105 teaches that the difference in the solubility parameter of the amorphous and crystalline resins should be between 1.0 and 2.0 J/cm2 (see the Description of the Embodiments section of the provided translation). KR ‘105 teaches that when solubility parameters are similar compatibility between resins tends to be good and that optimizing the difference in solubility parameters within the above range results in a toner that can maintain a sharp melting property while providing a stable toner with excellent fixing gloss (see the Description of the Embodiments section of the provided translation). Additionally, KR ‘105 teaches an image forming apparatus that comprises a toner cartridge as well as the devices recited by the Applicant in pending claim 9 (the Description of the Embodiments section of the provided translation). The image forming apparatus is further taught to perform an image forming method entailing the same steps recited by the Applicant in pending claim 10 (the Description of the Embodiments section of the provided translation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application to have optimized the solubility parameters of the crystalline and amorphous resins in the toner within the range taught by KR ‘105 of JP ‘917 as modified above by WO ‘793 in order to perfect the melting properties, toner stability and image gloss of the modified toner of JP ‘917 and to have used the modified toner in the image forming apparatus and method taught by KR ‘105.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER L VAJDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 07/30/2026