DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corhodzic (EP 3 937 326 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 14, and 19, and dependent claims 12 and 18, Corhodzic teaches a datacenter power system and method of power management (Fig. 1) comprising:
a grid connection (via 110) configured to receive grid electrical power (from 102) at a grid voltage, a grid amperage, and a grid frequency;
a plurality of co-locations (142, 144, 146), each co-location including a plurality of computing devices (datacenters);
a solid-state transformer (inside 112, 114, 130) in electrical communication with the grid connection and configured to convert the grid electrical power to co- location electrical power having a co-location voltage different from the grid voltage and a co-location amperage different from the grid amperage ([0023], [0034], [0035]);
a superconducting cable (140 or 162/164) providing electrical communication of the co- location electrical power from the solid-state transformer to the co- location ([0037], [0038]); and
a plurality of branch conduits (140 from 130 to 142/144/146) from the superconducting cable that provide electrical communication to the plurality of co-locations.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Corhodzic teaches the co-location electrical power has a co-location frequency (a DC signal) different from the grid frequency (an AC signal).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Corhodzic teaches the superconducting cable/branch conduits includes a high-temperature superconductor ([0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Corhodzic teaches the superconducting cable electrically connects the solid-state transformer directly to the co-location ([0037]).
Regarding claim 13, Corhodzic teaches the solid-state transformer is a first solid-state transformer of a plurality of solid-state transformers (inside 112, 114, 130; [0023], [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 9-11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corhodzic (EP 3 937 326 A1). Corhodzic teaches the datacenter power system and method of power management as described above.
Regarding claims 4-7, 15, and 16, Corhodzic teaches the grid voltage being a high voltage, and the idea of converting the grid voltage and grid amperage via first and second transformers (inside 112, 130, and 152/154/156) into various other voltage and amperage levels (i.e. a middle voltage and a co-location voltage and amperage) ([0034], [0035], [0038]). Corhodzic fails to explicitly teach the co-location voltage and amperage being in the claimed ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the co-location voltage be no more than 48 (or 120) Volts and the co-location amperage be at least 200,000 A, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 9-11, Corhodzic teaches an uninterruptable power supply (at 152/154/156) electrically between the solid-state transformer (at 130) and the superconducting cable (162/164) ([0037]). Corhodzic fails to explicitly teach the type of UPS at the substations (152/154/156). However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that generator and/or DC uninterruptible power supplies are known in the power distribution art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a generator or DC uninterruptible power supply into the substations in Corhodzic’s invention, since it involves a mere simple substitution of one type of UPS for another to perform the same function of providing uninterruptible power to the datacenters.
Conclusion
DMP
3/25/2026
/DANIEL KESSIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836