Status of Claims
Applicant’s submissions filed 9/29/25 and 2/9/26, has been entered. Claims 1-17 are presented for examination. As per Applicant’s remark: “ Claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claims 2-11 and13-17 remain as originally filed and are not amended.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim regarding the “the RTLS user” is withdrawn due to the amendment.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
In view of the amendments, the claim limitations are no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claim regarding the “the RTLS user” is withdrawn due to the amendment, in view of Applicant’s remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 recites “wherein the asset monitoring module comprises an asset, a RTLS tag and a RTLS antenna. “ . Claim 3 recites “wherein the asset monitoring module comprises an asset, a RTLS tag a RTLS antenna and a third party monitoring device. “.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Insley et al. (US 20190313710 A1).
Re-claim 1, Insley et al. teach-- An asset location system comprising:
--an asset monitoring module comprising at least one asset, at least one RTLS tag, at least one RTLS antenna,
(see e.g. [0033] As noted, the data from the smart tag may be acquired by data acquiring devices 140, such as readers 140, readers/writers 140, scanners 140, or receivers, such as wireless receivers 140, as well as other suitable devices. A reader or scanner may include an antenna for transmitting a trigger signal to a smart tag and receiving a return signal from the tag containing information.
[0042] [0042] An information retrieval system application program(s) 198a is one typically utilized for controlling operations of the information retrieval system 102 including the functionalities described herein with respect to the smart tags 130, data acquiring devices 140, and sensors 145. Provision is made for a suitable database management system application 198b to run the database 189 in a manner consistent with the present disclosure. ).
and a structured framework for collecting, monitoring, and analyzing data related to asset identification, inspection, tracking, management, security, and compliance;
(see e.g.
[0058] Actual use of the respirator is monitored by the smart tag 130 and the sensor 145. By continuing to monitor exposure data over time, the condition determining process can determine whether the respirator is complying with the NIOSH regulations.
[0048] Following the Retrieve Criteria block 620, the condition determining 600 proceeds to an Establish Predetermined Criteria block 630. In the block 630, the initial data that may be sensed in the block 610 is processed in the database by the establish predetermined criterion application 198c. As a result, there is established a predetermined criterion for the PPE article 120 in the actual working environment. In such an exemplary embodiment, the predetermined criteria application(s) 198c analyzes the collected monitored data in terms of the set of criteria retrieved in the block 620 to determine the predetermined criterion that will determine if the condition of the PPE article, during its actual use in the working environment, is satisfied. For example, based on the initial concentration levels in the work environment, a maximum exposure time for the respirator is then determined before it should be serviced. The predetermined criterion takes into account the exposure time recommended or required for the respirator in the work environment.
[0050] The smart tag 130 or the badge may also include other data regarding the wearer, such as medical, fit test, job description, seniority, training, and other qualifications. The retrieved data is forwarded to the database 189 of the computer system 150, and, if operational, the local computer system 170. The data may include the identification of an article, date, and/or timestamp, as well as the location of the data acquiring device.)
--a protection monitoring module comprising at least one protection monitoring device
(see e.g. [0019] The PPE article condition determining system 100 includes an information retrieval system 102 networked to a computer system 150.
[0034] The readers 140 may be linked to a remote programmable electronic system 150 through the network 160. The programmable electronic system 150 includes functionalities that enable tracking usage of the PPE articles against at least a predetermined criterion.
[0038] The network 160 may include, without limitation, a local-area network (LAN), wide area network (WAN), the internet, or a wireless network, such as a wireless local area network (WLAN).
****The Examiner notes the computer system 150 may be a third party monitoring device communicating wirelessly via network 160.
and a structured framework for collecting, monitoring and analyzing data related to asset safety and compliance;
(see e.g. [0058] Actual use of the respirator is monitored by the smart tag 130 and the sensor 145. By continuing to monitor exposure data over time, the condition determining process can determine whether the respirator is complying with the NIOSH regulations.
[0059] By monitoring the data and locations over a period of weeks, a determination may be made that a worker is exposed to the highest periodic concentration of styrene within a particular coating bay within the working environment. With such information, efforts may be undertaken by appropriate personnel to correct the matter, such as providing additional ventilation at the vicinity of the bay. Additionally, the appropriate personnel are able to make sure that the appropriate PPE with sufficient protection factor is worn only within specific areas of the working environment.)
--a Real-Time Inventory Management System ("RTLS") communication protocol comprising a structure for communicating or exchanging information between components of the RTLS system and/or third-party systems;
(see e.g. [0029] Other kinds of active smart tags include a real time location system (RTLS) smart tag. An RTLS active smart tag is an active tag having a transmitter and a receiver and it communicates with a network according to a particular protocol. RTLS systems can work to determine the position of the smart tag in a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional space. For example, a RTLS smart tag generally uses one or both of the following wireless location-based methods for determining the position of a smart tag or the object the tag is attached to.
[0033] As noted, the data from the smart tag may be acquired by data acquiring devices 140, such as readers 140, readers/writers 140, scanners 140, or receivers, such as wireless receivers 140, as well as other suitable devices. A reader or scanner may include an antenna for transmitting a trigger signal to a smart tag and receiving a return signal from the tag containing information.
[0034] The readers 140 may be linked to a remote programmable electronic system 150 through the network 160. The programmable electronic system 150 includes functionalities that enable tracking usage of the PPE articles against at least a predetermined criterion.
--a RTLS software configured to provide a platform and a framework for the RTLS system, and
(see e.g. [0048] . In such an exemplary embodiment, the predetermined criteria application(s) 198c analyzes the collected monitored data in terms of the set of criteria retrieved in the block 620 to determine the predetermined criterion that will determine if the condition of the PPE article, during its actual use in the working environment, is satisfied. For example, based on the initial concentration levels in the work environment, a maximum exposure time for the respirator is then determined before it should be serviced. The predetermined criterion takes into account the exposure time recommended or required for the respirator in the work environment.
--a RTLS user interface.
(see e.g. [0039] The processor 182 controls the input device 194 which provides a user interface for allowing a wearer to access information, such as usage history of PPE articles being tracked.)
******The Examiner notes although Insley et al. do not explicitly teach “module”, the functions performed by the claimed modules are performed by the Insley et al. system. No unpredictable results are foreseen.
Re-claim 2, Insley et al. teach -the asset location system of claim 1 wherein the asset monitoring module comprises an asset, a RTLS tag and a RTLS antenna.
(see e.g. [0033] As noted, the data from the smart tag may be acquired by data acquiring devices 140, such as readers 140, readers/writers 140, scanners 140, or receivers, such as wireless receivers 140, as well as other suitable devices. A reader or scanner may include an antenna for transmitting a trigger signal to a smart tag and receiving a return signal from the tag containing information.
[0042] [0042] An information retrieval system application program(s) 198a is one typically utilized for controlling operations of the information retrieval system 102 including the functionalities described herein with respect to the smart tags 130, data acquiring devices 140, and sensors 145. Provision is made for a suitable database management system application 198b to run the database 189 in a manner consistent with the present disclosure. ).
Re-claim 3, Insley et al. teach --the asset location system of claim 1, wherein the asset monitoring module comprises an asset, a RTLS tag a RTLS antenna and a third party monitoring device.
(see e.g. [0019] The PPE article condition determining system 100 includes an information retrieval system 102 networked to a computer system 150.
[0034] The readers 140 may be linked to a remote programmable electronic system 150 through the network 160. The programmable electronic system 150 includes functionalities that enable tracking usage of the PPE articles against at least a predetermined criterion.
[0038] The network 160 may include, without limitation, a local-area network (LAN), wide area network (WAN), the internet, or a wireless network, such as a wireless local area network (WLAN).
****The Examiner notes the computer system 150 may be a third party monitoring device communicating wirelessly via network 160.
Re-claim 5, Insley et al. teach --the asset location system of claim 1 wherein the asset monitoring module may be configured to provide the real time location of an asset.
(see e.g. [0029] Other kinds of active smart tags include a real time location system (RTLS) smart tag. An RTLS active smart tag is an active tag having a transmitter and a receiver and it communicates with a network according to a particular protocol. RTLS systems can work to determine the position of the smart tag in a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional space. For example, a RTLS smart tag generally uses one or both of the following wireless location-based methods for determining the position of a smart tag or the object the tag is attached to.
[0050] The PPE article condition determining process 600 proceeds to a Retrieve Tag Information block 650. In this embodiment, the system 102 retrieves or acquires the data, as noted above, from the smart tags 130 by the data acquiring devices 140, such as a receiver 140, as well as the sensors 145. The smart tag 130 of this embodiment may be an Ekahau™ type 130 to provide location information as well as the data of the smart tag).
Re-claim 6, Insley et al. teach --the asset location system of claim 1 wherein the protection monitoring module comprises a radiation monitoring device.
(see e.g. [0004] For example, personnel in the nuclear industry may be required to wear radiation protective clothing and personal dosimeter devices.)
Re-claim 7, Insley et al. teach --the asset location system of claim 1 wherein the protection monitoring module comprises a protection monitoring antenna selected from a group consisting of a RFID protection antenna, a Bluetooth protection antenna, a cellular protection antenna, a Wi-Fi protection antenna, an internet-of-things protection antenna, a hardwired protection connection and a near- field communication (NFC) protection antenna.
(see e.g. claim 24. A personal protection article comprising: at least one microchip; an antenna.
[0026] One type of passive smart tag is radio frequency identification (RFID) tag, wherein a transponder carries read-only data. Another type of passive smart tags may be rewritable. RFID technology is known and understood by those skilled in the art and, hence, only a brief description is included herein for facilitating understanding of the present disclosure. Passive RFID type smart tags are typically provided in the form of small labels or the like that include a coiled, etched or stamped antenna, a capacitor, and a substrate on which the components are mounted or embedded. For some metallic smart tags, the metallic portion itself may serve as the antenna.)
Re-claim 8, Insley et al. teach --the asset protection system of claim 1 wherein the RTLS comprises a wireless communication protocol selected from a group consisting of a RTLS cellular communication protocol, a RTLS Wi-Fi communication protocol, a RTLS Bluetooth communication protocol, an RTLS internet-of-things wireless communication protocol and a RTS NFC communication protocol.
(see e.g. claim 21. The system of claim 2, wherein the smart tag is configured to communicate using a Wi-Fi network protocol.)
Re-claim 10, Insley et al. teach --the asset protection system of claim 1 wherein the RTLS user interface is configured with notifications from a group consisting of an email notification, a textual notification, or a visual notification.
(see e.g. [0058] Based on the cumulative concentration data gathered over a multi-day period, it is determined that the respirator used by the worker should be disposed of after 24 hr. of use. Such a determination was based on NIOSH regulations governing use of the respirator in a workplace having the collected expected styrene concentrations that are assumed to exist, when the respirator is actually used. Both the worker and the safety person may be notified of the appropriate servicing or change-out schedule.
[0053] The PPE article condition determining process 600 includes a Communicate block 685, whereat compliance or non-compliance is communicated, using any known communication methodology, to appropriate persons, or reporting entities. Such a communication may be transmitted to the user, the database, the user's supervisor, industrial hygienist or other appropriate personnel. The process of this block may be occurring at other times. In one exemplary embodiment, such communications may be made as a message to display screen of the computer or to a personal digital assistant (PDA). It will be appreciated other suitable software applications may be used to provide such communication. In one exemplary embodiment, such determinations may be made as a message to display screen of the computer or to a personal digital assistant (PDA). It will be appreciated other suitable software applications may be used to provide such communication. In some exemplary embodiments, such communications may include an alarm or audible signal to appropriate persons including the user and/or supervisor.)
Re-claim 11, Insley et al. teach --the asset protection system of claim 1 wherein the RTLS user interface is configured to provide a three-dimensional perspective.
(see e.g. [0029]. RTLS systems can work to determine the position of the smart tag in a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional space. For example, a RTLS smart tag generally uses one or both of the following wireless location-based methods for determining the position of a smart tag or the object the tag is attached to.)
Re-claim 12, Insley et al. teach -- An asset location and protection system comprising:
--an RTLS tag configured to uniquely identify and locate an asset, the RTLS tag ID further comprising a sensor capable of providing with additional asset information to the RTLS system about the RTLS tag's operating environment;
(see e.g. [0050] The smart tag 130 or the badge may also include other data regarding the wearer, such as medical, fit test, job description, seniority, training, and other qualifications. The retrieved data is forwarded to the database 189 of the computer system 150, and, if operational, the local computer system 170. The data may include the identification of an article, date, and/or timestamp, as well as the location of the data acquiring device.
[0014] FIG. 3 is a schematic view of a smart tag coupled to a sensor.
[0024] In one exemplary embodiment, the information retrieval system 102 includes one or more smart tags 130a-n (collectively, 130); one or more data acquiring devices 140a-n (collectively, 140) that acquire data from the smart tags; and, one or more sensors 145a-n (collectively, 145) that, as will be described, sense for variables that are related to usage of the PPE article being tracked.)
--a protection monitoring module comprising at least one protection monitoring device and a structured framework for collecting, monitoring and analyzing data related to asset safety and compliance;
(see e.g. [0058] Actual use of the respirator is monitored by the smart tag 130 and the sensor 145. By continuing to monitor exposure data over time, the condition determining process can determine whether the respirator is complying with the NIOSH regulations.
[0059] By monitoring the data and locations over a period of weeks, a determination may be made that a worker is exposed to the highest periodic concentration of styrene within a particular coating bay within the working environment. With such information, efforts may be undertaken by appropriate personnel to correct the matter, such as providing additional ventilation at the vicinity of the bay. Additionally, the appropriate personnel are able to make sure that the appropriate PPE with sufficient protection factor is worn only within specific areas of the working environment.
[0062] Further aspects of the disclosure include methods and systems utilized for ensuring worker safety, and preventing needless discarding of articles by keeping the predetermined criteria contemporaneously valid.)
--a Real-Time Inventory Management System ("RTLS") communication protocol comprising a structure for communicating or exchanging information between components of the RTLS system and/or third-party systems;
(see e.g. [0029] Other kinds of active smart tags include a real time location system (RTLS) smart tag. An RTLS active smart tag is an active tag having a transmitter and a receiver and it communicates with a network according to a particular protocol. RTLS systems can work to determine the position of the smart tag in a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional space. For example, a RTLS smart tag generally uses one or both of the following wireless location-based methods for determining the position of a smart tag or the object the tag is attached to.
[0033] As noted, the data from the smart tag may be acquired by data acquiring devices 140, such as readers 140, readers/writers 140, scanners 140, or receivers, such as wireless receivers 140, as well as other suitable devices. A reader or scanner may include an antenna for transmitting a trigger signal to a smart tag and receiving a return signal from the tag containing information.
[0034] The readers 140 may be linked to a remote programmable electronic system 150 through the network 160. The programmable electronic system 150 includes functionalities that enable tracking usage of the PPE articles against at least a predetermined criterion. )
--a RTLS software configured to provide a platform and a framework for the RTLS system, and
(see e.g. [0048] . In such an exemplary embodiment, the predetermined criteria application(s) 198c analyzes the collected monitored data in terms of the set of criteria retrieved in the block 620 to determine the predetermined criterion that will determine if the condition of the PPE article, during its actual use in the working environment, is satisfied. For example, based on the initial concentration levels in the work environment, a maximum exposure time for the respirator is then determined before it should be serviced. The predetermined criterion takes into account the exposure time recommended or required for the respirator in the work environment.
--a RTLS user interface, the RTLS user interface being operable to provide an interface configured to provide a three-dimensional user interface comprising a three dimensional area wherein a RTLS user can visually inspect and move around the room while querying the RTLS system for data such as sensor data, camera images, protection monitoring device data, asset data, personnel data, and other data related to the RTLS system and operating environment.
(see e.g. [0057] A photoionization detector (PID) sensor 145, for example, an EntryRAE PID from RAE Systems, San Jose, Calif., may be used to monitor levels of volatile organic compounds at a fiberglass coating facility.
[0060] The sensors of Examples 1, 2, or 3 are utilized via incorporation on or inside the personal protection equipment of a worker to monitor the actual internal environment surrounding the worker.
[0035] -Alternatively or additionally, a portable reader 140 may be utilized (see FIG. 5), such as where the PPE articles 120 are issued prior to entering the work environment. A typical portable reader 140 may have a display 132 and keypad 134 for data input and are wirelessly connected to the network 160. The portable reader 140 may be used when the tagged PPE articles are in the work environment 125 or at the end of a work shift. The present disclosure does not place limitations on the locations or timing of reading of the tagged PPE articles.
[0039] Coupled to the system interconnect bus 180 is at least a single processor unit 182, -- The processor 182 controls the input device 194 which provides a user interface for allowing a wearer to access information, such as usage history of PPE articles being tracked.
[0045] The PPE article condition determining process 600 enables determining the condition of the PPE articles 120 tagged with a smart tag 130 after processing data received by the smart tag and/or one of the sensors.
[0046] In a Sense Initial Condition block 610 of the PPE article condition determining process 600, sensing is performed by one or more of the sensors 145. In this embodiment, the type of PPE articles 120 being tracked determines which variables in the working environment should be sensed and, therefore, which sensors to be used. Since conditions of respirators are being determined in this exemplary embodiment, the sensor 145 is of the type that collects data bearing upon the PPE article's condition relative to its servicing. In particular, concentration levels of a particular hazardous material over a period of time may be sensed as by the PID sensor 145.)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Insley et al. (US 20190313710 A1), in view of IYENGAR (WO2021154320A1).
Re-claim 4, Insley et al. do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, IYENGAR teaches --The asset location system of claim 1 wherein the asset monitoring module may be configured to provide restocking information via the RTLS user interface when the inventory of a tagged asset has been depleted to a predetermined level.
(see e.g. [0066] The systems and methods may be used for process monitoring, recording, quality assurance, quantification, etc. In an exemplary embodiment, the system and methods described herein may be used for monitoring inventory to determine a time to restock. The system may receive data about a supply of a resource and may analyse the received data to predict a time to exhaust the inventory. The system and methods may include additional features, such as an interface for automatically submitting an order or providing a notice to reorder the inventory. Exemplary embodiments described herein may also be used for quality assurance and/or monitoring a condition of a service or output from a process. The system and method may therefore analyse the received data to detect a level of quality of product produced by the process. Similarly, the system and method may analyse the received data to determine a level of quality of a service provided by the process. The analysis of the received data may also determine a level of compliance to a safety or specific process protocol. The system may, for example, monitor the received data for specific conditions, such as employees wearing safety gear in one or more areas. The system may, for example, monitor other conditions and states for compliance and providing indications, notices, reports, etc. corresponding to the analysed data.
[0072] For safety compliance, the system and methods may provide PPE verification, proximity monitoring or compliance monitoring and violation notification.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Insley et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by IYENGAR in order to automatically submitting an order or providing a notice to reorder the inventory. (see e.g. IYENGAR).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Insley et al. (US 20190313710 A1), in view of Doyle, III et al. (US 9690538 B1).
Re-claim 9, Insley et al. do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, Doyle, II et al. teach --the asset protection system of claim 1 wherein the RTLS user interface is configured as a customizable dashboard.
(see e.g. (23) Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to, among other things, a system of customizable electronic display devices, input sensors (e.g., cameras, accelerometers, biometric sensors, etc.), real-time location system (RTLS) technology, and mobile devices that are used to track assets and provide real-time information to a user via any one of the customizable electronic display devices. In particular, the disclosure is directed to a system that enables customized presentation of timely medical information to a hospital user by a presenter.
(131) Turning now to the details of the applications 720, 722, and 724. In some examples, the applications 720, 722, and 724 include a variety of different applications that can be designed for particular users and/or uses. In one example, the application 720 is specific for doctors. In this example, the application 720 includes dashboards, widgets, windows, icons, and the like that are customized to the individual doctor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Insley et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Doyle, III et al., because a customizable platform is needed to ensure that each time that a target user is presented with data, the target user is presented with the data that he or she would best understand. (see e.g. (1)).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Insley et al. (US 20190313710 A1), in view of LIYE et al. (CN 108931804 A).
Re-claim 13, Insley et al. teach --A method for tracking the location of a tagged asset within a defined area, the method comprising the steps of:
--defining an area in which assets are to be located, tracked and monitored;
(see e.g. [0035] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the reader 140a may be stationed at the entrance of the work environment 125 and acquires relevant data of the wearer; component 110, and the PPE article 120, such as one or both of: at the start of the workday or shift and at the end of the work day or shift.
--attaching a Real Time Asset Locating System (RTLS) tag to at least one asset to make a tagged asset;
(see e.g. [0025] In one exemplary embodiment, the smart tag 130 is directly attached to the PPE article 120.
[0029] For example, a RTLS smart tag generally uses one or both of the following wireless location-based methods for determining the position of a smart tag or the object the tag is attached to.)
--associating a protection monitoring device to the at least one tagged asset, the protection monitoring device comprising at least a protection monitoring device antenna;
(see e.g. [0004] For example, personnel in the nuclear industry may be required to wear radiation protective clothing and personal dosimeter devices.)
Claim 24. A personal protection article comprising: at least one microchip; an antenna.)
--providing a RTLS software
(see e.g. [0048] . In such an exemplary embodiment, the predetermined criteria application(s) 198c analyzes the collected monitored data in terms of the set of criteria retrieved in the block 620 to determine the predetermined criterion that will determine if the condition of the PPE article, during its actual use in the working environment, is satisfied. For example, based on the initial concentration levels in the work environment, a maximum exposure time for the respirator is then determined before it should be serviced. The predetermined criterion takes into account the exposure time recommended or required for the respirator in the work environment.)
--providing a RTLS user interface, the RTLS user interface operable to display the location of the asset using a three dimensional perspective user interface and information provided by the protection monitoring device.
(see e.g. [0039] The processor 182 controls the input device 194 which provides a user interface for allowing a wearer to access information, such as usage history of PPE articles being tracked.
[0029] . RTLS systems can work to determine the position of the smart tag in a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional space.
(see e.g. [0035] -Alternatively or additionally, a portable reader 140 may be utilized (see FIG. 5), such as where the PPE articles 120 are issued prior to entering the work environment. A typical portable reader 140 may have a display 132 and keypad 134 for data input and are wirelessly connected to the network 160. The portable reader 140 may be used when the tagged PPE articles are in the work environment 125 or at the end of a work shift. The present disclosure does not place limitations on the locations or timing of reading of the tagged PPE articles.)
Insley et al. do not teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, LIYE et al. teach --providing at least one Real Time Asset Locating System ("RTLS") antenna, the at least one RTLS antenna being capable of locating, tracking and monitoring a RTLS tag on an asset;
(see e.g. --In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides a personal radiation dosage monitoring system, wherein the antenna position of the wireless locating base station located at the personal radiation dosimeter in the whole location area, can view the position of the base station antenna.)
--providing a RTLS communication protocol comprising a structure for communicating and exchanging information between the protection monitoring device, the RTLS antenna and the RTLS software; and
(see e.g. --1. The monitoring of the working area to be divided in the area deploying several locating base station number of the base station monitoring area and void degree, typically the dosimeter can communicate with at least three base stations in the area at any position;
3, the operator enters the monitoring region, the dosimeter and the vicinity of the wireless locating base station and signal transceiver communicate with each other, establishing a connection, constructed into a location wireless local area network).
As in Insley et al., LIYE et al. also teach
--defining an area in which assets are to be located, tracked and monitored;
(see e.g. --The monitoring of the working area to be divided in the area deploying several locating base station number of the base station monitoring area and void degree, typically the dosimeter can communicate with at least three base stations in the area at any position;
--providing a RTLS software;
(see e.g. a wireless locating base station signal transceiver, monitoring computer (installed monitoring software). ----real-time monitoring the position and radiation dose monitoring software interface shown in FIG. 5.)
--providing a RTLS user interface, the RTLS user interface operable to display the location of the asset [..] and information provided by the protection monitoring device.
(see e.g.--In a preferred embodiment, the present invention provides a personal radiation dosage monitoring system, wherein the computer installed on the monitoring software to display the monitored position and receiving the radiation dose information of people.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Insley et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by LIYE et al., in order to facilitate remote real-time monitoring radiation dose and in the radiation position, to reduce the monitoring workload of workers and improve work safety (see e.g. LIYE et al.).
Re-claim 14, Insley et al. teach – the method for tracking the location of a tagged asset within a defined area of claim 13 wherein the protection monitoring device is a radiation protection device or dosimeter.
(see e.g. [0004] For example, personnel in the nuclear industry may be required to wear radiation protective clothing and personal dosimeter devices.)
Re-claim 15, Insley et al. teach – the method for tracking the location of a tagged asset within a defined area of claim 13 wherein the protection monitoring device is a dosimeter and the RTLS user interface is configured to provide an alert when the dosimeter's exposure to radiation exceeds a certain level.
(see e.g. [0004] For example, personnel in the nuclear industry may be required to wear radiation protective clothing and personal dosimeter devices.
[0052] Conversely, the servicing condition is not satisfied (i.e., No) if the actual exposure time does not exceed recommended exposure time as determined in the Establish Predetermined Criteria block 630 or the Updated Criterion block 670.
[0057] In the working environment, spikes in concentration levels may occur, such as spikes above 200 ppm, at different time intervals, (e.g., 9 minute and 13 minute). A NIOSH-defined occupational exposure limit (OEL) (predetermined criteria) for styrene is 20 ppm. At 200 ppm and above (i.e., 10× the OEL) the styrene concentration is above the protection factor for a half-face piece air purifying respirator. The data from the PID may be sent to the database 189 of the computer system 150. These readings are processed by the condition determining mechanism for determining if the above condition satisfies the predetermined criteria to determine the condition of the PPE article in terms of its servicing or replacement.
{0058] Based on the cumulative concentration data gathered over a multi-day period, it is determined that the respirator used by the worker should be disposed of after 24 hr. of use. Such a determination was based on NIOSH regulations governing use of the respirator in a workplace having the collected expected styrene concentrations that are assumed to exist, when the respirator is actually used. Both the worker and the safety person may be notified of the appropriate servicing or change-out schedule. Actual use of the respirator is monitored by the smart tag 130 and the sensor 145. By continuing to monitor exposure data over time, the condition determining process can determine whether the respirator is complying with the NIOSH regulations. Accordingly, the worker and the safety person may take appropriate measures based on the determination.
[0053] In one exemplary embodiment, such determinations may be made as a message to display screen of the computer or to a personal digital assistant (PDA). -- . In some exemplary embodiments, such communications may include an alarm or audible signal to appropriate persons including the user and/or supervisor.)
Re-claim 16, Insley et al. do not teach the limitation as claimed.
However, LIYE et al. anticipate The method for tracking the location of a tagged asset within a defined area of claim 13 wherein the user interface is configured to provide an alert, or trigger an action when an asset is located outside the defined area.
(see e.g.--deploying a monitoring radiation area of wireless locating base station
--The monitoring of the working area to be divided in the area deploying several locating base station number of the base station monitoring area and void degree, typically the dosimeter can communicate with at least three base stations in the area at any position;
--if necessary the supervising personnel can manually control dosimeter alarm to remind the worker temporarily leave the working area to reach the purpose of remote real-time intervention.)
The Examiner notes that LIYE et al. teach a defined area for monitoring the asset and an outside area for intervention, the system is aware of when the asset is outside.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Insley et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by LIYE et al., in order to facilitate real time intervention by monitoring personnel (see e.g. LIYE et al.).
Re-claim 17, Insley et al. teach – the method for tracking the location of at least one tagged asset within a defined area of claim 13 wherein the user interface is configured to provide a three-dimensional perspective view of the at least one asset in the defined area.
(see e.g. [0029] RTLS systems can work to determine the position of the smart tag in a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional space. For example, a RTLS smart tag generally uses one or both of the following wireless location-based methods for determining the position of a smart tag or the object the tag is attached to.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant remark:
Applicant submits that the amended claims recite a system architecture that differs from Insley, including: structural recitation of RTLS tags and RTLS antennas within an asset monitoring system " integration of protection monitoring devices " a three-dimensional user interface enabling spatial inspection and navigation " automated monitoring using RTLS positioning rather than manual interaction Insley is directed to PPE compliance monitoring. The amended claims recite an integrated system combining RTLS positioning, monitoring devices, and a three-dimensional interface for asset visibility and management.
Examiner’s response:
Insley teaches monitoring PPE articles (assets) via smart tags and sensors [0058], collecting condition information on the articles via sensors, analyzing the collected monitored data [0048] and communicating the information to a display of a user interface [0039] [0053].
The rejection is therefore maintained.
Note to Applicant
A) The claims submitted 2/9/26 should have been submitted as a separate paper as required by 37 CFR 1.4(c). The paper has been entered. However, all future correspondence must comply with 37 CFR 1.4.
B) According to 37 C.F.R. 1.121 Manner of making amendments in application.
(B) Markings to Show the Changes: All claims being currently amended must be presented with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version. The changes in any amended claim must be shown by strike-through (for deleted matter) or underlining (for added matter) with 2 exceptions: (1) for deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters, double brackets may be used (e.g., [[eroor]]); (2) if strike-through cannot be easily perceived (e.g., deletion of number "4" or certain punctuation marks), double brackets must be used (e.g., [[4]]). As an alternative to using double brackets, however, extra portions of text may be included before and after text being deleted, all in strike-through, followed by including and underlining the extra text with the desired change (e.g., number 14 as ). An accompanying clean version is not required and should not be presented. Only claims of the status "currently amended" or "withdrawn" will include markings.
Any claims added by amendment must be indicated as "new" and the text of the claim must not be underlined.
(see MPEP 700.704).
C) If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the fee required by 37 CFR 41.20(b)(1). The current fee amount is available at: www.uspto.gov/Fees.
If applicant should desire to file an after-final amendment, entry of the proposed amendment cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made in a previous Office action. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing of good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include cancellation of or appeal from the rejection of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds all of the claims to be in condition for allowance.
If applicant should desire to continue prosecution in a utility or plant application filed on or after May 29, 2000 and have the finality of this Office action withdrawn, an RCE under 37 CFR 1.114 may be filed within the period for reply. See MPEP § 706.07(h) for more information on the requirements for filing an RCE.
The application will become abandoned unless a Notice of Appeal, an after final reply that places the application in condition for allowance, or an RCE has been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b).
D) It appears the inventor(s) filed the current application pro se (i.e., without the benefit of representation by a registered patent practitioner). While inventors named as applicants in a patent application may prosecute the application pro se, lack of familiarity with patent examination practice and procedure may result in missed opportunities in obtaining optimal protection for the invention disclosed. The inventor(s) may wish to secure the services of a registered patent practitioner to prosecute the application, because the value of a patent is largely dependent upon skilled preparation and prosecution. The Office cannot aid in selecting a patent practitioner.
A listing of registered patent practitioners is available at https://oedci.uspto.gov/OEDCI/. Applicants may also obtain a list of registered patent practitioners located in their area by writing to Mail Stop OED, Director of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, P.O. Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.
This action is a final rejection and closes the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below, or a request for continued examination (RCE) to reopen prosecution where permitted. Please note that the Office also offers initiatives that are available to applicants after the close of prosecution. See https://www.uspto.gov/patents/initiatives/uspto-patent-applications-iniatives-timeline for more information.
General information on the Patent Trial and Appeal Board is available at: www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab. The information at this page includes guidance on time limited options that may assist the applicant contemplating appealing an examiner’s rejection. It also includes information on pro bono (free) legal services and advice available for those who are under-resourced and considering an appeal at: https://www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab/free-legal-assistance. The page is best reviewed promptly after applicant has received a final rejection or the claims have been twice rejected because some of the noted assistance must be requested within one month from the date of the latest rejection. See MPEP § 1204 for more information on filing a notice of appeal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
September 3, 2025