DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in responsive to the Amendment filed on 11/24/2025.
In the amendment, claims 1, 11, and 16 have been amended; Claim 2 were canceled; and Claims 18-20 have been added. Claims 1, 11, and 16 are independent claims. Claims 1 and 3-20 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument
The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claim be further amended and details in the specification be incorporated to distinguish the claimed invention over prior art of record. Should the Applicant desire an interview to further clarify the claim interpretation/rejections, please contact the Examiner at (571) 270 3230 to schedule an interview.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara (US 2021/0349620), published on Nov. 11, 2021, in view of Cronin et al. (“Cronin,” US 2016/0014435), published on Jan. 14, 2016.
Regarding claim 1, Ogasawara discloses an image processing apparatus comprising (Figs. 2A-2B):
one or more memories storing instructions (Figs. 2A-2B); and
one or more processors executing the instructions to (Figs. 2A-2B):
generate a virtual viewpoint image based on a plurality of images captured by a plurality of image capturing apparatuses (pars. 0059-0060, 0074 and 0152; Figs. 5A-8C; generating the virtual viewpoint image from the multi-viewpoint images), and based on information indicating a position and an orientation of a virtual camera (pars. 0074, 0081, 0089-0091 and 0152; Figs. 5A -8C; step S609, generating and rendering a virtual viewpoint image in a case where image capturing is performed with the position and orientation of the virtual camera);
output the generated virtual viewpoint image and [[permission]] information in association with each other, the [[permission]] information being included in the metadata of the generated virtual viewpoint image (pars. 0162-0167; Figs. 7B-7E; virtual viewpoint image and camera operation features displayed on the image display device; see also Fig. 8C).
Ogasawara discloses output the generated virtual viewpoint image and information as recited above, but does not explicitly out put the permission information, and the permission information indicating that an operation of the virtual camera corresponding to the generated virtual viewpoint image is permitted.
However, Cronin discloses a system configured to out put the permission information, and the permission information indicating that an operation of the virtual camera corresponding to the generated virtual viewpoint image is permitted (Cronin: pars. 0054-0057; Figs. 1 and 4, steps 420-455; if the user is not allowed at step 420, the viewer application software 130 may revert back to step 410, so that the user may log in with a different user account; if the user is allowed at step 420, the viewer application software 130 may determine if the user is purchasing access to a camera feed for use as a real-time video stream 305 (e.g., a camera feed from a manually selected camera or from a best suggested camera)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Cronin with the system/method of Ogasawara. One would have been motivated to enable users to select a desired virtual seat at a when participating an event (Cronin: pars. 0054-0057).
Regarding claim 3, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
The combination of Ogasawara and Cronin further discloses wherein the permission information is information indicating that a user is permitted to operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera (Ogasawara: pars. 0074, 0081, 0089-0091 and 0152; manual operations changing position and orientation of the cameras; Figs. 5-8; Cronin: pars. 0054-0057; Figs. 1 and 4).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 3.
The combination of Ogasawara and Cronin further discloses wherein the permission information includes information indicating a range in which at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is operable by the user (Ogasawara: pars. 0126-0128 and 0132-0134; knobs 522, 523 and 524 are sliding within a range of the sliders 512, 513 and 524, respectively; Figs. 5A and 8A-8C; Cronin: pars. 0054-0057; Figs. 1 and 4).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
The combination of Ogasawara and Cronin further discloses wherein the information indicating the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is information indicating an X-axis value, a Y-axis value, a Z-axis value, a pan value, a tilt value, and a roll value of the virtual camera (Ogasawara: pars. 0085-0091; Figs. 3A-3H; designating the coordinates X, Y, and Z of the virtual camera and the rotation angles (pitch, roll, yaw) of the X-axis, the Y-axis, and the Z-axis, it is possible to operate the image capturing position and the image capturing direction of the virtual camera; Cronin: Fig. 1).
The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogasawara further discloses wherein the information indicating the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is information specified based on a user operation (Ogasawara: pars. 0067-0069, 0074, 0089-0091 and 0124-0129; Figs. 5-8; position and orientation of the virtual camera are changed in manual operation).
Regarding claim 9, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogasawara further discloses wherein the information indicating the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is information indicating positions and orientations of the virtual camera corresponding to two or more frames (Ogasawara: pars. 0142-0149 and 0154; Figs. 4-7; the loop processing of steps S602 to S611 [including executing manual operation for changing position and orientation of the camera] is executed for each frame as previously described, the frame number in the timecode is incremented every one loop process).
Regarding claim 11, Ogasawara discloses an image processing apparatus comprising (Figs. 2A-2B):
one or more memories storing instructions (Figs. 2A-2B); and
one or more processors executing the instructions to (Figs. 2A-2B):
acquire a virtual view point image generated by a first apparatus different from the image processing apparatus (pars. 0046-0050; Figs. 1A-1B; sensor system 1011-101n; image recording apparatus 102; image display apparatus 104)
acquire, in a case where [[permission]] information indicating that an operation of a virtual camera is permitted is included in metadata of the acquired virtual view point image, operation information corresponding an operation of the virtual camara (pars. 0067-0073, 0121-0128 and 0132-0134; Figs. 5A and 8A-8C allowing/permitting user to slide knobs 522/523/524 within sliders 512/513/524 to control the virtual camera; see also pars. 0080-0088 and 0090-0096; manual operation accepts input information from a user), information indicating a position and an orientation of the virtual camera (pars. 0084-0088 and 0094-0099; Figs. 5A and 7-8; determining the orientation and position of the virtual camara in response to user input in manual operation); and
generate a virtual viewpoint image based on material data used to generate the acquired virtual viewpoint image (pars. 0059-0060, 0074 and 0152; Figs. 5A-8C; generating the virtual viewpoint image from the multi-viewpoint images) and the acquired operation information (pars. 0162-0167 and 0170; Figs. 7B-7E; virtual viewpoint image and camera operation features displayed on the image display device; see also Fig. 8C).
Ogasawara discloses generate and output information as recited above, but does not explicitly disclose the information is permission information and the acquired operation information.
However, Cronin discloses a system configured to out put the permission information, and the permission information and the acquired operation information (Cronin: pars. 0054-0057; Figs. 1 and 4, steps 420-455; if the user is not allowed at step 420, the viewer application software 130 may revert back to step 410, so that the user may log in with a different user account; if the user is allowed at step 420, the viewer application software 130 may determine if the user is purchasing access to a camera feed for use as a real-time video stream 305 (e.g., a camera feed from a manually selected camera or from a best suggested camera)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Cronin with the system/method of Ogasawara. One would have been motivated to properly assign control rights to a client to control a plurality of cameras (Cronin: abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 11.
Ogasawara further discloses wherein the material data is a plurality of images captured by a plurality of image capturing apparatuses, or a three-dimensional shape model (Ogasawara: par. 0088; Figs. 3C-3D; the position of the virtual camera is expressed by the coordinates (x, y, z) of the three-dimensional space and the orientation is expressed by a unit vector that makes a scalar of the component of each axis).
Regarding claim 13, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 11.
The combination of Ogasawara and Cronin further discloses wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to generate a virtual viewpoint image that is different from the virtual viewpoint image corresponding to the permission information (Ogasawara: pars. 0074, 0089-0091, 0152 and 0162-0167; Figs. 5A-8C; rendering and generating virtual viewpoint image based in manual operation; Cronin: pars. 0053-0058; Figs. 1 and 4).
The motivation is the same that of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 14, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 11.
The combination of Ogasawara and Cronin further discloses wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to output, to another apparatus, the generated virtual viewpoint image (Ogasawara: pars. 0074, 0089-0091, 0152 and 0162-0167; Figs. 5A-8C; rendering and generating virtual viewpoint image based in manual operation; Cronin: Fig. 1).
The motivation is the same that of claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 15, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 11.
Ogasawara and Cronin further disclose wherein the information indicating the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is acquired by a user operation (Ogasawara: pars. 0074, 0081, 0089-0091 and 0152; manual operations changing position and orientation of the cameras; Figs. 5-8; Cronin: pars. 0053-0058; Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is directed to a method corresponding the image processing apparatus recited in claim 1. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium corresponding the image processing apparatus recited in claim 1. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara (US 2021/0349620), published on Nov. 11, 2021, in view of Cronin et al. (“Cronin,” US 2016/0014435), published on Jan. 14, 2016, and further in view of Wong (US 2020/0260150), published on Aug. 13, 2020.
Regarding claim 5, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 4.
Ogasawara and Cronin do not explicitly disclose wherein the information indicating the range in which at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is operable is determined based on a price set for the virtual viewpoint image.
However, Wong wherein the information indicating the range in which at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is operable is determined based on a price set for the virtual viewpoint image (Wong: pars. 0020-0022; Figs. 1-2; prices are set based on locations and quality adjustment (i.e., orientation) of the camera [i.e., price is set based on position and orientation of the camera]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of with the system/method of Ogasawara and Cronin. One would have been motivated to offer video streams of purchase at different prices based on locations of the camera (Wong pars. 0020-0022).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara (US 2021/0349620), published on Nov. 11, 2021, in view of Cronin et al. (“Cronin,” US 6,903,765), issued on Jun. 07, 2005, and further in view of White (US 2022/0222719), published on Jul. 14, 2022.
Regarding claim 8, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 7.
Ogasawara further discloses wherein the information indicating the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is information indicating positions and orientations of the virtual camera corresponding to two or more discontinuous frames.
Ogasawara and Cronin do not explicitly disclose information indicating positions and orientations of the virtual camera is associated with a non-fungible token.
However, White discloses a video sharing system wherein information of the virtual camera is associated with a non-fungible token (White: pars. 0021-0022 and 0039; the nonfungible token (NFT) can be specifically associated with the video segment for the purpose of authentication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of White with the system/method of Ogasawara and Cronin. One would have been motivated to utilize non-fungible token to authenticate users for controlling access to video sharing system (White: par. 0039).
Regarding claim 10, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogasawara and Cronin do not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual viewpoint image is associated with a non-fungible token.
However, White discloses a video sharing system, wherein the virtual viewpoint image is associated with a non-fungible token (White: pars. 0021-0022 and 0039; the nonfungible token (NFT) can be specifically associated with the video segment for the purpose of authentication)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of White with the system/method of Ogasawara and Cronin. One would have been motivated to utilize non-fungible token to authenticate users for controlling access to video sharing system (White: par. 0039).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara (US 2021/0349620), published on Nov. 11, 2021, in view of Cronin et al. (“Cronin,” US 6,903,765), issued on Jun. 07, 2005, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (“Yamamoto,” US 2016/0125324), published on May 05, 2016.
Regarding claim 18, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogasawara and Cronin do not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of money purchased by a first user for the virtual viewpoint image is higher than an amount of money purchased by a second user for the virtual viewpoint image, and the range in which the first user can operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is wider than the range in which the second user can operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera.
However, Yamamoto discloses a system wherein an amount of money purchased by a first user for the virtual viewpoint image is higher than an amount of money purchased by a second user for the virtual viewpoint image, and the range in which the first user can operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera is wider than the range in which the second user can operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera (Yamamoto: pars. 0074-0079 and 0208-0211; Figs. 2, 8-10 and 13-16; a video close to a stage to allow a cast member 41 to be viewed largely is delivered for a user of a virtual seat of a high price or grade; on the other hand, a video far from the stage is delivered to allow the cast member 41 to be viewed small, as illustrated in the middle or lower diagram, as the user is of a virtual seat of a low price or grade; thereby, a virtual seat is created).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yamamoto with the system/method of Ogasawara and Cronin. One would have been motivated to provide users with a plurality of seat options with different prices based on different views to the stage (Yamamoto: pars. 0074-0079).
Regarding claim 19, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogasawara and Cronin do not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of money purchased by a first user for the virtual viewpoint image is higher than an amount of money purchased by a second user for the virtual viewpoint image, the first user is able to operate the position and the orientation of the virtual camera, and the second user is not able to operate the position of the virtual camera but is able to operate the orientation of the virtual camera.
However, Yamamoto discloses a system wherein an amount of money purchased by a first user for the virtual viewpoint image is higher than an amount of money purchased by a second user for the virtual viewpoint image, the first user is able to operate the position and the orientation of the virtual camera, and the second user is not able to operate the position of the virtual camera but is able to operate the orientation of the virtual camera (Yamamoto: pars. 0074-0079, 0087-0092, 0125-0127 and 0208-0211; Figs. 2, 8-10 and 13-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yamamoto with the system/method of Ogasawara and Cronin. One would have been motivated to provide users with a plurality of seat options with different prices based on different views to the stage (Yamamoto: pars. 0074-0079).
Regarding claim 20, Ogasawara and Cronin disclose the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Ogasawara and Cronin do not explicitly disclose wherein an amount of money purchased by a first user for the virtual viewpoint image is higher than an amount of money purchased by a second user for the virtual viewpoint image, the first user is able to operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera, and the second user is not permitted to operate the position and the orientation of the virtual camera.
However, Yamamoto discloses a system wherein an amount of money purchased by a first user for the virtual viewpoint image is higher than an amount of money purchased by a second user for the virtual viewpoint image, the first user is able to operate at least one of the position and the orientation of the virtual camera, and the second user is not permitted to operate the position and the orientation of the virtual camera (Yamamoto: pars. 0074-0079, 0087-0092, 0125-0127 and 0208-0211; Figs. 2, 8-10 and 13-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Yamamoto with the system/method of Ogasawara and Cronin. One would have been motivated to provide users with a plurality of seat options with different prices based on different views to the stage (Yamamoto: pars. 0074-0079).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968))
Inquiry
/LINH K PHAM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2174