DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 2 September 2026: claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 19, and 22 have been amended, claim(s) 23 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Murray/Jones teaches the amended limitations as discussed below.
Regarding the argument that “the presently claimed configuration provides great improvements relative to the teaching of Murray in that it allows a deployable drain to be stored adjacent the cavity in the retracted position and to be covered by a flap that does not need to extend beyond the profile of the cavity, among other things. Further, the claimed fold line configuration does not require additional flap fasteners to retain shape, as considered in Murray”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding the argument that “Murray fails to teach or suggest the particular retracted drain configuration and fold line relationship claimed in amended claim 1, and teaches away from such a configuration”, Murray/Jones teaches the claimed retracted drain configuration as discussed below. Furthermore, Murray does not explicitly teach away from modifying the fold line relationship/configuration to avoid the claimed fold line relationship/configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US 20110028924 A1) in view of Jones et al. (US 20180333290 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Murray discloses an ostomy pouch ("ostomy pouch 10" [0028]; FIGs. 1-5), comprising:
inner and outer walls of flexible sheet material defining a cavity for containing a stomal output ("front wall 12 and a rear wall 14 of flexible impermeable plastics film" [0028]);
a deployable drain for draining stomal output from the cavity ("outlet 22 in the form of a drain chute portion 24 of the pouch 10" [0031]);
at least one sheet of comfort material ("comfort layer 30" [0048]);
wherein the deployable drain is moveable between an extended configuration for draining the stomal output from the cavity (FIG. 2) and a retracted configuration for storage of the deployable drain ("drain chute portion 24 is folded upwardly four times to its closed configuration" [0041]);
wherein the at least one sheet of comfort material is attached to the outer wall, at least a portion of the first sheet of comfort material forming a flap ("comfort layer 30 on the flaps 41, 42 is an extension of the comfort layer 30 on the respective pouch wall 12, 14" [0048]; FIG. 2);
the flap configured to fold along a fold line ("attached at points 54, 56" [0049]; FIG. 2), between a covering position in which the flap covers the deployable drain when the deployable drain is in the retracted configuration ("flap fastener 44 is fastened by pressing the flaps 41, 42 together, as illustrated by arrows 49, once the drain chute portion 24 has been folded to its closed condition" [0045]), and an access position, in which the deployable drain, in the retracted configuration is uncovered by the flap and is able to be accessed for deployment (after flap fastener 44 is released [0045]; FIG. 3);
wherein the fold line is located between the deployable drain in the retracted position and an uppermost edge of the ostomy pouch (see FIG. 2).
Murray fails to specify a foldable foam tab comprising an adhesive section adhered to an exterior surface of the outer wall and adjacent to the cavity, a fastening section comprising thereon a fastener disposed on an opposite surface of the foam tab to the adhesive section, and a tab fold line defining the adhesive section and fastening section; wherein the tab fold line is closer to a lower edge of the cavity than the flap fold line. However, Jones teaches improved methods to easily and reliably drain bodily waste from a reusable and drainable medical device such as an ostomy pouch ([0004]) comprising a foldable foam tab ("security flap 14" [0066]; “In some embodiments, the security flap comprises a memory foam-like material” [0069]; FIG. 5) comprising an adhesive section adhered to an exterior surface of the outer wall and adjacent to the cavity ("first portion 15 attached to one of the opposing walls of the medical device or pouch" [0066]), a fastening section ("freely extended portion 16" [0066]; FIG. 8) comprising thereon a fastener ("second fastener 17" [0067]; FIG. 8) disposed on an opposite surface of the foam tab to the adhesive section (see FIG. 8), and a tab fold line defining the adhesive section and fastening section (see FIG. 8).
Murray/Jones fails to specify the flap disposed over the foldable foam tab wherein the tab fold line is closer to a lower edge of the cavity than the flap fold line. However, the court has held that a rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). Therefore, it would have been obvious to locate the flap over the foldable foam tab wherein the tab fold line is closer to a lower edge of the cavity than the flap fold line since Murray discloses that the flap is for “substantially concealing, discretely, the rolled-up drain chute coil” ([0043]) and thus “enhances the visual effect of a closed pouch, with a substantially smooth and uninterrupted face or surface region, especially near the lower extremity of the pouch 10” ([0048]).
Regarding Claim 2, Murray discloses the at least one sheet of comfort material is attached to the outer wall at least about at least part of the periphery thereof ("comfort layer 30 may be an additional panel outside the front wall 12 and/or rear wall 14, and secured to the pouch 10 at, for example the peripheral seam 16" [0048]).
Regarding Claim 3, Murray discloses the fold line is defined by a line extending between two points about the periphery where the attachment between the at least one sheet of comfort material and the outer wall terminates (see FIGs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 4, Murray discloses the flap is shaped such that an edge distal from the fold line conforms to the shape of the periphery of the ostomy cavity (see FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Murray discloses a fastener arrangement configured to retain the deployable drain in the retracted position ("fastener for fastening the drain chute portion 24 in a rolled-up closed configuration" [0039]; FIG. 4), the fastener arrangement comprising a first fastener located on an exterior surface of the deployable drain ("fastener part" 38 [0039]; FIG. 2) but fails to specify the fastener arrangement configured to engage the fastener of the foam tab. However, Jones teaches the fastener arrangement configured to engage the fastener of the foam tab ([0067]; FIG. 8). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Murray to incorporate the claimed features as taught by Jones to suitably secure “the opening in the closed condition” ([0066]).
Regarding Claim 8, Murray fails to teach the tab fold line is the fold line about which the foldable foam tab is configured to fold between a fastened configuration and an un-fastened configuration. However, Jones teaches the tab fold line is the fold line about which the foldable foam tab is configured to fold between a fastened configuration and an un-fastened configuration ([0066-0067]). Therefore, it would be obvious to modify Murray to incorporate the claimed features as taught by Jones to suitably secure “the opening in the closed condition” ([0066]).
Regarding Claim 9, Murray/Jones fails to specify the foldable foam tab is exposed when the flap is in the access position. However, the court has held that a rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). Therefore, it would have been obvious modify Murray/Jones to incorporate the claimed features since Murray discloses that the flap is for “substantially concealing, discretely, the rolled-up drain chute coil” ([0043]) and thus “enhances the visual effect of a closed pouch, with a substantially smooth and uninterrupted face or surface region, especially near the lower extremity of the pouch 10” ([0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, Murray discloses the fold line of the flap is arranged between the tab fold line and the uppermost edge of the cavity (see FIG. 2).
Regarding Claims 12, 14-16, and 18, Murray fails to specify the tab fold line is arranged at least 0.5mm below the fold line of the flap; the tab fold line is arranged no more than 10mm below the fold line of the flap; the tab fold line is arranged no more than 5mm below the fold line of the flap; the fold line of the flap is arranged at a distance of between 20mm and 50mm from a lower edge of the pouch when the drain is in the retracted position; and the fold line of the flap is arranged at a distance of at least 1mm above the upper edge of the retracted drain. However, the instant specifications fail to provide any criticality for the claimed arrangements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Murray to have the claimed fold line arrangements since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Murray would not operate differently with the claimed fold line arrangements and would have functioned appropriately as intended.
Regarding Claim 19, Murray discloses the flap is configured to fold around the fold line such that to move to the access position the end of the flap distal from the fold line is lifted away from the cavity and towards the uppermost edge of the cavity (see FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 22, Murray discloses a method of forming an ostomy pouch ("ostomy pouch 10" [0028]), the method comprising:
providing an inner wall and an outer wall which define a cavity for containing stomal output ("front wall 12 and a rear wall 14" [0028]; FIG. 2), and a deployable drain for draining stomal output from the cavity ("outlet 22 in the form of a drain chute portion 24 of the pouch 10" [0031]);
wherein the deployable drain is moveable between an extended configuration for draining the stomal output from the cavity (FIG. 2) and a retracted configuration for storage of the deployable drain at a location on the outer wall adjacent to the cavity ("drain chute portion 24 is folded upwardly four times to its closed configuration" [0041]; FIG. 3);
attaching a first sheet of woven comfort material ("comfort layer 30 is typically made of a soft cushioning material. A typical material includes a woven" [0048]) to the outer wall ("comfort layer 30 may be an additional panel outside the front wall 12 and/or rear wall 14, and secured to the pouch 10" [0048]), leaving a flap ("comfort layer 30 on the flaps 41, 42 is an extension of the comfort layer 30 on the respective pouch wall 12, 14" [0048]; FIG. 2) arranged to position the deployable drain between the first sheet of woven material and the outer wall when in the retracted position ("flap fastener 44 is fastened by pressing the flaps 41, 42 together, as illustrated by arrows 49, once the drain chute portion 24 has been folded to its closed condition" [0045]; FIG. 3), the flap configured to fold along a fold line ("attached at points 54, 56" [0049]; FIG. 2);
wherein the fold line is located between the deployable drain in the retracted configuration and an uppermost edge of the ostomy cavity (see FIG. 2).
Murray fails to specify adhering an adhesive section of a foldable foam tab to an exterior surface of the outer wall, the adhesive section and a fastening section of the foldable foam tab being defined by a tab fold line about which the foldable foam tab is configured to fold between a fastened configuration and an un-fastened configuration; a flap arranged to cover the foldable foam tab and the deployable drain when in the retracted position; wherein a fastener is disposed on an opposite surface of the foam tab to the adhesive section, and wherein the tab fold line is closer to a lower edge of the cavity than the flap fold line. However, Jones teaches adhering an adhesive section of a foldable foam tab to an exterior surface of the outer wall ("first portion 15 attached to one of the opposing walls of the medical device or pouch" [0066]), the adhesive section and a fastening section of the foldable foam tab being defined by a tab fold line about which the foldable foam tab is configured to fold between a fastened configuration and an un-fastened configuration (“freely extended portion 16 of security flap 14 is configured to be folded over the outlet 7 when the outlet is in the closed condition” [0066]); wherein a fastener is disposed on an opposite surface of the foam tab to the adhesive section ("second fastener 17" [0067]; FIG. 8). Murray/Jones fails to specify a flap arranged to cover the foldable foam tab and the deployable drain when in the retracted position; wherein the tab fold line is closer to a lower edge of the cavity than the flap fold line. However, the court has held that a rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). Therefore, it would have been obvious modify Murray/Jone with the claimed arrangements since Murray discloses that the flap is for “substantially concealing, discretely, the rolled-up drain chute coil” ([0043]) and thus “enhances the visual effect of a closed pouch, with a substantially smooth and uninterrupted face or surface region, especially near the lower extremity of the pouch 10” ([0048]).
Regarding Claim 23, Murray discloses the cavity comprises an upper section and a lower section having a waisted section located therebetween (see FIG. 1).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray/Jones in view of Smith et al. (US 20110238024 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Murray/Jones discloses the comfort material forming the flap but fails to specify the flap is coated with a hot melt adhesive. However, Smith teaches a drainage bag assembly for receiving bodily waste (see Abstract) wherein the flap is coated with a hot melt adhesive ("peelable non-repositionable adhesive is a hot melt adhesive" [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Murray/Jones to incorporate the teachings of Smith to suitably provide a “peelable non-repositionable” zone ([0016]).
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray/Jones in view of Mahood et al. (US 20230081026 A1).
Regarding Claims 20-21, Murray fails to specify the pouch further comprises a window opening for viewing the cavity; wherein the window opening is arranged on the outer wall, the at least one sheet of comfort material comprising a first and second part, wherein the first part partially overlaps the second part, or the second part overlaps the first part in an overlap region to form the window. However, Mahood teaches an ostomy pouch or wound bag ([0012]) comprising a window opening for viewing the cavity ("viewing window 37" [0062]; FIG. 2); wherein the window opening is arranged on the outer wall ([0062]; FIG. 2), the first sheet of comfort material comprising a first and second part, wherein the first part partially overlaps the second part, or the second part overlaps the first part in an overlap region to form the window ("flap 48 extends downwardly past the upper edge 34 of the lower panel and overlaps the lower panel 28 to obscure the viewing window 37" [0063]; FIG. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the teachings of Mahood to allow a caregiver “to check the condition of the stoma or to observe stoma output” ([0006]).
Conclusion
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781