DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/518,118, “BATTERY PACK COMPRISING INTERNALLY CONNECTED BIPOLAR ELECTRODES AND MANUFACTURING METHOD”, was filed with the USPTO on 11/22/2023.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 8/26/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (clams 1-32 and 45-47) and Species A (Fig. 1) in the reply filed on 8/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-47 are pending in the application, claims 2-3 and 33-44 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Citations are based on the specification filed on 11/22/2023.
Example 8, “VES” in lines 19 and 21 on page 59 is inconsistent with “VEC” in line 24 on page 59; weight fractions in lines 24-26, page 59 add up to only 90% (40%, 20%, 20% and 10%);
“Phenyl vinyl sulfide (PVS)” in Example 9 in line 12 on page 60 is inconsistent with “phenyl vinyl sulfone (PVS)” in Example 10 in line 14 on page 61;
“NCM-532” in Example 12 in line 30 on page 62 is inconsistent with “NCM-522 particles” in line 12 on page 63. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein the solid polymer or gel polymer electrolyte” appears to read “wherein the solid polymer electrolyte or the gel polymer electrolyte”.
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because it does not have the correct status identified. Applicant elects Species A (Fig. 1) in remarks filed on 8/26/2026; however, Species A (Fig. 1) has only one stack of bipolar electrode (one module) and no protecting housing therefore claims 2 and 3 do not read on Species A (Fig. 1). To overcome the objection, Examiner suggests that it should indicated as withdrawn. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because “fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC)” is listed twice.
Claim 13 is objected to because “phosphine” has no P=O bond and is inconsistent with the structure in claim 13.
Claim 16 is objected to because part of it appears to be cut off accidentally and thus it has been amended compared to claim 16 filed on 11/22/2023.
Claim 19 is objected to because it lists phenyl vinyl sulfoxide, which does not belong to either vinyl sulfone or sulfide.
Claims 33-44 are objected to because it does not have the correct status identified. Claims 33-44 are non-elected Invention II. To overcome the objection, Examiner suggests that they should indicated as withdrawn. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-32 and 45-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 14 and 16-32 of U.S. Patent No. 11,901,562 (hereinafter 562’) in view of Jang (US 20220336859 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 562’ teaches a bipolar battery pack (bipolar lithium battery, see claim 31 of 562’) comprising one or a plurality of modules (one module formed by at least two bipolar electrodes, see claim 31 of 562’) wherein at least a first module (the module formed by at least two bipolar electrodes, see claim 31 of 562’)comprises a first set of multiple bipolar electrodes (at least two bipolar electrodes, see claim 31 of 562’) internally connected in series (see claim 31 of 562’), wherein at least one of said bipolar electrodes (two bipolar electrodes, see claim 31 of 562’) comprises:
(a) a current collector comprising a conductive material foil having a thickness from 10 nm to 100 µm and two opposing primary surfaces (see claim 1 a) of 562’);
(b) a positive electrode layer (positive electrode layer, see claim 1 b) of 562’) disposed on one of the two primary surfaces (see claim 1 b) of 562’), wherein the positive electrode layer (positive electrode layer, see claim 1 b) of 562’) comprises a mixture of particles of a cathode active material (see claim 1 b) of 562’), and a first hybrid electrolyte comprising a solid polymer electrolyte (solid-state electrolyte comprises a polymer, see claim 1 of 562’) or gel polymer electrolyte, wherein the solid polymer (solid-state electrolyte comprises a polymer, see claim 1 of 562’) or gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer (“solid-state electrolyte and the electrolyte comprises a polymer”, see claim 1 b) of 562’), having a lithium ion conductivity no less than 1.0 x 10-8 S/cm at room temperature (ion conductivity from 10−8 S/cm to 10−2 S/cm at room temperature, see claim 11 of 562’); and
(c) either (i) a negative electrode layer deposited on the opposing primary surface (see claim 1 b) of 562’) wherein the negative electrode layer comprises a lithium metal layer (see claim 3 of 562’) or a layer of a mixture of particles of an anode active material and a solid polymer electrolyte or gel polymer electrolyte, wherein the solid or gel polymer comprises a lithium salt dispersed therein with a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1 or (ii) initially without a negative electrode layer deposited on said opposing primary surface when the battery pack is made;
wherein the multiple bipolar electrodes are connected in series in such a manner that an ion-permeable separator or solid-state electrolyte layer is disposed between the negative electrode layer of a bipolar electrode and the positive electrode layer of a neighboring bipolar electrode (see claim 31 of 562’).
562’ does not teach the positive electrode layer comprises a first hybrid electrolyte comprising a mixture of an inorganic solid-state electrolyte; a polymer, which is a product prepared by partially or totally removing a first liquid solvent from a polymer solution originally comprising a polymer and a lithium salt dissolved in said first liquid solvent having a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1.
Jang teaches the positive electrode layer (cathode layer 16, see [0126]) comprises a first hybrid electrolyte comprising a mixture of an inorganic solid-state electrolyte (electrolyte further comprises particles of an inorganic solid electrolyte material, see [0118]; also see electrolyte dispersed in the entire cathode layer, [0126]; also see during preparation of cathode electrode, the slurry or paste contains an inorganic solid electrolyte, [0044]);
Example 7 of Jang teaches a polymer (PVDF-HFP, [0160]), which is a product prepared by partially or totally removing a first liquid solvent (mixture solvent of acetone and DMF, [0160]; followed by removal of the liquid solvent, [0160]) from a polymer solution (PVDF-HFP and LiTFSI dissolved in acetone and DMF, [0160]) originally comprising a polymer (PVDF-HFP, [0160]) and a lithium salt (LiTFSI, [0160]) dissolved in said first liquid solvent (mixture solvent of acetone and DMF, [0160]) having a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1 (polymer-to-salt ratio=4/1, [0160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode layer taught by 562’ by adding the particles of the inorganic solid electrolyte material and PVDF-HFP/LiTFSI taught by Jang to have these solid electrolyte particles dispersed in an electrolyte polymer to enhance the lithium-ion conductivity of certain polymers (see Jang [0123]) and to allow PVDF-HFP to solidified and the cell to have pores (see Jang [0160]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the conductive material foil has one of the following features: (i) one or both of the primary surfaces of said conductive material foil is coated with a layer of graphene or expanded graphite material having a layer thickness from 1 nm to 50 µm (see claim 1 a) of 562’) or (ii) the conductive material foil comprises two or more layers of different conductive materials laminated together.
Regarding claim 6, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent is selected from the group consisting of 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, sulfolane, dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma.-butyrolactone (y-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), vinylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, vinyl sulfite, vinyl ethylene sulfite, vinyl ethylene carbonate, 1,3- propyl sultone, 1,3- acrylic-sultones, methyl ethylene sulfone, methyl vinyl sulfone, ethyl vinyl sulfone, methyl methacrylate, vinyl acetate, acrylamide, 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), fluorinated ethers, fluorinated esters, sulfones, sulfides, nitriles, sulfates, siloxanes, silanes, phosphates, phosphonates, phosphinates, phosphines, phosphine oxides, phosphonic acids, phosphorous acid, phosphites, phosphoric acids, phosphazene compounds, derivatives thereof, and combinations thereof (see claim 2 of 562').
Regarding claim 8, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer further comprises a second liquid solvent and the first liquid solvent has a lower flash point, a higher vapor pressure, a higher dielectric constant, or a higher solubility of the lithium salt as compared with the second liquid solvent (claim 4 of 562').
Regarding claim 9, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent comprises a flame retardant selected from an organic phosphorus compound, an inorganic phosphorus compound, a halogenated derivative thereof, or a combination thereof (claim 5 of 562').
Regarding claim 10, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the organic phosphorus compound or the inorganic phosphorus compound is selected from the group consisting of phosphates, phosphonates, phosphonic acids, phosphorous acids, phosphites, phosphoric acids, phosphinates, phosphines, phosphine oxides, phosphazene compounds, derivatives thereof, and combinations thereof (claim 6 of 562').
Regarding claim 11, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said solid polymer electrolyte (solid-state electrolyte, see claim 1 of 562’) or gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer (polymer, see claim 1 of 562’) selected from poly(ethylene oxide), polypropylene oxide, polyoxymethylene, polyvinylene carbonate, polypropylene carbonate, poly(ethylene glycol), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly bis- methoxy ethoxyethoxide-phosphazenex, polyvinyl chloride, polydimethylsiloxane, poly(vinylidene fluoride)-hexafluoropropylene (Poly(Vinylidene Fluoride)-Hexafluoropropylene (PVDF-HFP), Jang Example 7, [0158]), cyanoethyl poly(vinyl alcohol), a pentaerythritol tetra-acrylate-based polymer, an aliphatic polycarbonate, a single Li-ion conducting solid polymer, poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(ethylene glycol) methyl ether acrylate, polyurethane, polyurethane-urea, polyacrylamide, a polyionic liquid, polymerized 1,3-dioxolane, polyepoxide ether, polysiloxane, poly(acrylonitrile-butadiene), polynorbornene, poly(hydroxyl styrene), poly(ether ether ketone), polypeptoid, poly(ethylene-maleic anhydride), polycaprolactone, poly(trimethylene carbonate), polyphosphate, polyphosphonate, polyphosphinate, polyphosphine, polyphosphine oxide, a polymer synthesized from an ionic liquid, a copolymer thereof, a semi-penetrating network thereof, a sulfonated derivative thereof, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 12, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said inorganic solid electrolyte (electrolyte further comprises particles of an inorganic solid electrolyte material, see Jang [0118]) is selected from an oxide type, sulfide type, hydride type, halide type, borate type, phosphate type, lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON), garnet-type, lithium superionic conductor (LISICON) type, sodium superionic conductor (NASICON) type, or a combination thereof (see Jang [0118]).
Regarding claim 13, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of 562') and wherein the first or the second liquid solvent is selected from a phosphate, phosphonate, phosphinate, phosphine, or phosphine oxide having the structure of:
wherein R10, R11, and R12, are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, aryl, heteroalkyl, heteroaryl, halogen substituted alkyl, halogen substituted aryl, halogen substituted heteroalkyl, halogen substituted heteroaryl, alkoxy, aryloxy, heteroalkoxy, heteroaryloxy, halogen substituted alkoxy, halogen substituted aryloxy, halogen substituted heteroalkoxy, and halogen substituted heteroaryloxy functional groups, and the second liquid solvent is stable under an applied electrical potential no less than 4 V (claim 7 of 562').
Regarding claim 14, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of 562') and wherein the first or the second liquid solvent comprises a phosphoranimine having the structure of:
wherein R1, R2, and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, aryl, heteroalkyl, heteroaryl, halogen substituted alkyl, halogen substituted aryl, halogen substituted heteroalkyl, halogen substituted heteroaryl, alkoxy, aryloxy, heteroalkoxy, heteroaryloxy, halogen substituted alkoxy, halogen substituted aryloxy, halogen substituted heteroalkoxy, and halogen substituted heteroaryloxy functional groups, wherein R1, R2, and R3 are represented by at least two different substituents and wherein X is selected from the group consisting of an organosilyl group or a tert-butyl group (claim 8 of 562').
Regarding claim 15, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein R1, R2, and R3 are each independently selected from the group consisting of an alkoxy group, and an aryloxy group (claim 9 of 562').
Regarding claim 16, 562’ in view of Jang teaches butyrolactone (y-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (fluoroethylene carbonate, see claim 2 of 562’), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 17, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent is selected from the group consisting of fluorinated vinyl carbonates, fluorinated vinyl monomers, fluorinated esters, fluorinated vinyl esters, and fluorinated vinyl ethers and combinations thereof (claim 14 of 562').
Regarding claim 18, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of 562') and the first or the second liquid solvent comprises a sulfone or sulfide selected from vinyl sulfone, allyl sulfone, alkyl vinyl sulfone, aryl vinyl sulfone, vinyl sulfide, TrMS, MTrMS, TMS, EMS, MMES, EMES, EMEES, or a combination thereof (claim 16 of 562'):
Regarding claim 19, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the vinyl sulfone or sulfide is selected from ethyl vinyl sulfide, allyl methyl sulfide, phenyl vinyl sulfide, phenyl vinyl sulfoxide, allyl phenyl sulfone, allyl methyl sulfone, divinyl sulfone, or a combination thereof, wherein the vinyl sulfone does not include methyl ethylene sulfone and ethyl vinyl sulfone (claim 17 of 562').
Regarding claim 20, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent comprises a nitrile, a dinitrile selected from AND, GLN, SEN, SN, or a combination thereof (claim 18 of 562'):
Regarding claim 21, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent comprises a phosphate selected from allyl-type, vinyl-type, styrenic-type and (meth)acrylic-type monomers bearing a phosphonate moiety (claim 19 of 562').
Regarding claim 22, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of 562') and the first or the second liquid solvent comprises a phosphate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid, phosphazene, or phosphite selected from TMP, TEP, TFP, TDP, DPOF, DMMP, DMMEMP, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite (TTSPi), alkyl phosphate, triallyl phosphate (TAP), or a combination thereof, wherein TMP, TEP, TFP, TDP, DPOF, DMMP, DMMEMP, and phosphazene have the following chemical formulae (claim 20 of 562'):
wherein R = H, NH2, or C1-C6 alkyl (claim 20 of 562').
Regarding claim 23, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of 562') and the first or the second liquid solvent comprises siloxane or silane selected from alkylsiloxane (Si-O), alkyylsilane (Si-C), liquid oligomeric silaxane (-Si-O-Si-), or a combination thereof (claim 21 of 562').
Regarding claim 24, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the reactive additive further comprises an amide group selected from N,N-dimethylacetamide, N,N-diethylacetamide, N,N- dimethylformamide, N,N-diethylformamide, or a combination thereof (claim 22 of 562').
Regarding claim 25, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the crosslinking agent comprises a compound having at least one reactive group selected from a hydroxyl group, an amino group, an imino group, an amide group, an acrylic amide group, an amine group, an acrylic group, an acrylic ester group, or a mercapto group in the molecule (claim 23 of 562').
Regarding claim 26, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the crosslinking agent is selected from poly(diethanol) diacrylate, poly(ethyleneglycol)dimethacrylate, poly(diethanol) dimethylacrylate, poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, or a combination thereof (claim 24 of 562').
Regarding claim 27, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said initiator is selected from an azo compound, azobisisobutyronitrile, azobisisoheptonitrile, dimethyl azobisisobutyrate, benzoyl peroxide tert-butyl peroxide and methyl ethyl ketone peroxide, benzoyl peroxide (BPO), bis(4- tert-butylcyclohexyl)peroxydicarbonate, t-amyl peroxypivalate, 2,2'-azobis-(2,4- dimethylvaleronitrile), 2,2'-azobis-(2-methylbutyronitrile), 1,1-azobis(cyclohexane-1- carbonitrile, benzoylperoxide (BPO), hydrogen peroxide, dodecamoyl peroxide, isobutyryl peroxide, cumene hydroperoxide, tert-butyl peroxypivalate, diisopropyl peroxydicarbonate, lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithium borofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis-trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate(LiBF2C2O4), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), or a combination thereof (claim 25 of 562').
Regarding claim 28, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said lithium salt is selected from lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithium borofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis- trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium nitrate (LiNO3), Li-Fluoroalkyl-Phosphates (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3), lithium bisperfluoro- ethysulfonylimide (LiBETI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulphonyl)imide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI), an ionic liquid lithium salt, or a combination thereof (claim 26 of 562').
Regarding claim 29, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said ion-permeable separator or solid- state electrolyte layer is selected from a porous polymer membrane, a porous ceramic membrane, a porous glass membrane, a solid polymer electrolyte layer (solid-state electrolyte, see claim 30 of 562'), an inorganic solid-state electrolyte layer, a composite solid-state electrolyte layer comprising particles of an inorganic solid bonded by a polymer or dispersed in a polymer, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 30, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the positive electrode or cathode comprises a cathode active material selected from lithium nickel manganese oxide (LiNiaMn2-aO4, 0<a<2), lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNinMnmCo1-n-mO2, 0<n<1, 0<m<1, n+m<1), lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (LiNicCodAl1-c-dO2, 0<c<1, 0<d<1, c+d<1), lithium manganate (LiMn2O4), lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4), lithium manganese oxide (LiMnO2), lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2), lithium nickel cobalt oxide (LiNipCoi1-pO2, 0<p<1), or lithium nickel manganese oxide (LiNiqMn2-qO4, 0<q<2) (claim 27 of 562'), sulfur (S), lithium sulfide (LixS, x = 1-8), a sulfur-containing compound, selenium (Se), lithium selenide (LixS, x = 1-8), a selenium- containing compound, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 31, 562’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the negative electrode layer comprises an anode active material selected from the group consisting of: (a) silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), lead (Pb), antimony (Sb), phosphorus (P), bismuth (Bi), zinc (Zn), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), and cadmium (Cd); (b) alloys or intermetallic compounds of Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Zn, Al, Ti, Ni, Co, or Cd with other elements; (c) oxides, carbides, nitrides, sulfides, phosphides, selenides, and tellurides of Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Zn, Al, Ti, Fe, Ni, Co, V, or Cd, and their mixtures, composites, or lithium-containing composites; (d) salts and hydroxides of Sn; (e) lithium titanate, lithium manganate, lithium aluminate, lithium titanium niobate, lithium-containing titanium oxide, lithium transition metal oxide, ZnCo2O4; (f) carbon or graphite particles (g) prelithiated versions thereof; and (h) combinations thereof (claim 28 of 562').
Regarding claim 32, 562’ in view of Jang teaches which is a lithium metal secondary battery, a lithium-ion battery, a lithium-sulfur battery, a lithium-ion sulfur battery, a lithium-selenium battery, or a lithium-air battery (claim 32 of 562').
Regarding claim 45, 562’ in view of Jang does not teach wherein the positive electrode layer further includes a conductive additive and a binder resin.
Jang teaches wherein the positive electrode layer (cathode, [0050]) further includes a conductive additive (conductive additive, [0050]) and a binder resin (resin binder, [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode layer taught by 562’ in view of Jang by adding the conductive additive and the binder resin taught by Jang to form a cathode active layer having pores and wherein the pores are filled with the ion-conducting polymer (see Jang [0050]).
Regarding claim 46, 562’ in view of Jang does not teach wherein the negative electrode layer further includes a conductive additive and a binder resin.
Jang teaches wherein the negative electrode layer (anode, [0052]) further includes a conductive additive (conductive additive, [0052]) and a binder resin (resin binder, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the negative electrode layer taught by 562’ in view of Jang by adding the conductive additive and the binder resin taught by Jang to form an anode active layer having pores and wherein the pores are filled with the ion-conducting polymer (see Jang [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-32 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the recitation “a neighboring bipolar electrode” in last two lines of claim 1. It’s unclear if it is one of said bipolar electrode or a different bipolar electrode. For examination purposes, claim 1 has been interpreted as having at least two bipolar electrodes.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the recitation “is disposed between the negative electrode layer of a bipolar electrode” in last three lines of claim 1. (c), option ii doesn't positively require a negative electrode layer; therefore, the wherein clause lacks proper antecedent basis with respect to option ii. For examination purposes, claim 1 has been interpreted as comprising (c) option i.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of “a polymer” appears twice both in “wherein the solid polymer or gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer” and in “removing a first liquid solvent from a polymer solution originally comprising a polymer and a lithium salt”. It is unclear if the second “a polymer” is the same polymer or a different polymer compared to the first “a polymer”. For examination purposes, the second “a polymer” has bee interpreted as “the polymer”.
Claim 4 is indefinite because of the recitation “the cathode”, “the anode”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s also unclear if cathode refers to a positive electrode layer or a different structure; if anode refers to a negative electrode layer or a different structure. For Examination purposes, “the cathode” has been interpreted as “the positive electrode layer of the bipolar electrode” and “the anode” has been interpreted as “the negative electrode layer of the bipolar electrode”.
Claims 4-32 and 45-47 are rejected as they depend from claim 1, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 limits the first liquid solvent to a closed Markush group but recitation “comprises a flame retardant” in claim 9; it is unclear whether the flame retardant must be a claim 6 member; if not, claim 9 broadens claim 6. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 10 is rejected as they depend from claim 9, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-32 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang’ (US 20220293958 A1) in view of Jang (US 20220336859 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang’ teaches a bipolar battery pack (Fig. 1) comprising one or a plurality of modules (one module formed by E1-S1-B1-S2-B2….-S6-E2, see Fig. 1)wherein at least a first module (formed by E1-S1-B1-S2-B2….-S6-E2, see Fig. 1) comprises a first set of multiple bipolar electrodes (B1-B5, see Fig. 1) internally connected in series (see [0086]), wherein at least one of said bipolar electrodes (B1-B5, see Fig. 1) comprises:
(a) a current collector comprising a conductive material foil having a thickness from 10 nm to 100 µm and two opposing primary surfaces (claim 1);
(b) a positive electrode layer (positive electrode layer, see claim 1) disposed on one of the two primary surfaces, wherein the positive electrode layer comprises a mixture of particles of a cathode active material (see claim 1), and a first hybrid electrolyte (electrolyte, see claim 1) comprising a mixture of an inorganic solid-state electrolyte (inorganic solid electrolyte powder, [0069]) and a solid polymer electrolyte (solid-state electrolyte comprises a polymer, see claim 1) or gel polymer electrolyte, wherein the solid polymer or gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer (solid-state electrolyte comprises a polymer, see claim 1), having a lithium ion conductivity no less than 1.0 x 10-8 S/cm at room temperature (polymer has a lithium ion conductivity from 10-8 S/cm to 10-2 S/cm at room temperature, see claim 11); and
(c) either (i) a negative electrode layer deposited on the opposing primary surface wherein the negative electrode layer comprises a lithium metal layer (lithium foil, [0014]) or a layer of a mixture of particles of an anode active material and a solid polymer electrolyte or gel polymer electrolyte, wherein the solid or gel polymer comprises a lithium salt dispersed therein with a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1 or (ii) initially without a negative electrode layer deposited on said opposing primary surface when the battery pack is made;
wherein the multiple bipolar electrodes are connected in series in such a manner that an ion-permeable separator (ion-permeable separator, see claim 32) or solid-state electrolyte layer is disposed between the negative electrode layer of a bipolar electrode and the positive electrode layer of a neighboring bipolar electrode (claim 32).
Jang’ does not teach a polymer, which is a product prepared by partially or totally removing a first liquid solvent from a polymer solution originally comprising a polymer and a lithium salt dissolved in said first liquid solvent having a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1.
Jang teaches a polymer (PVDF-HFP, Example 7 in [0160]), which is a product prepared by partially or totally removing a first liquid solvent (mixture solvent of acetone and DMF, [0160]; followed by removal of the liquid solvent, [0160]) from a polymer solution (PVDF-HFP and LiTFSI dissolved in acetone and DMF, [0160]) originally comprising a polymer (PVDF-HFP, [0160]) and a lithium salt (LiTFSI, [0160]) dissolved in said first liquid solvent (mixture solvent of acetone and DMF, [0160]) having a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1 (polymer-to-salt ratio=4/1, [0160]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the positive electrode layer taught by Jang’ by adding the PVDF-HFP/LiTFSI taught by Jang because PVDF-HFP/LiTFSI is known in the art as an solid polymer electrolyte and it would have yielded the predictable results to allow PVDF-HFP to solidified and the cell to have pores (see Jang [0160]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang’ in view of Jang does not teach wherein said solid polymer or gel polymer electrolyte and said inorganic solid-state electrolyte, in combination, form a contiguous phase in the cathode, the anode, or both the anode and the cathode, and the contiguous phase is in a physical contact or ionic communication with said ion-permeable separator or solid-state electrolyte layer.
Jang teaches wherein said solid polymer (ion-conducting polymer, [0051]) or gel polymer electrolyte and said inorganic solid-state electrolyte (lithium salt, [0051]), in combination (ion-conducting polymer, containing a lithium salt dispersed therein, [0051]), form a contiguous phase (contiguous phase, [0051]) in the cathode (cathode, [0051]), the anode (anode, [0053]), or both the anode and the cathode, and the contiguous phase (contiguous phase, [0051]) is in a physical contact or ionic communication with said ion-permeable separator or solid-state electrolyte layer (it’s Examiner’s position that the contiguous phase is in a directly or indirectly physical contact with the ion-permeable separator because the contiguous phase is part of the cathode and the cathode physically contacts the separator, see Fig. 2(A)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jang’ to form the contiguous phase taught by Jang to have the contiguous phase serve as an electrolyte and the cathode/anode does not contain an additional resin binder (see Jang [0051] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the conductive material foil has one of the following features: (i) one or both of the primary surfaces of said conductive material foil is coated with a layer of graphene or expanded graphite material having a layer thickness from 1 nm to 50 µm (see claim 1 a) of Jang’) or (ii) the conductive material foil comprises two or more layers of different conductive materials laminated together.
Regarding claim 6, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent is selected from the group consisting of 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), tetraethylene glycol dimethylether (TEGDME), poly(ethylene glycol) dimethyl ether (PEGDME), diethylene glycol dibutyl ether (DEGDBE), 2-ethoxyethyl ether (EEE), sulfone, sulfolane, dimethyl carbonate (DMC), methylethyl carbonate (MEC), ethyl propionate, methyl propionate, propylene carbonate (PC), gamma.-butyrolactone (y-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), vinylene carbonate (VC), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), vinylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, vinyl sulfite, vinyl ethylene sulfite, vinyl ethylene carbonate, 1,3- propyl sultone, 1,3- acrylic-sultones, methyl ethylene sulfone, methyl vinyl sulfone, ethyl vinyl sulfone, methyl methacrylate, vinyl acetate, acrylamide, 1,3-dioxolane (DOL), fluorinated ethers, fluorinated esters, sulfones, sulfides, nitriles, sulfates, siloxanes, silanes, phosphates, phosphonates, phosphinates, phosphines, phosphine oxides, phosphonic acids, phosphorous acid, phosphites, phosphoric acids, phosphazene compounds, derivatives thereof, and combinations thereof (see claim 2 of Jang').
Regarding claim 7, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the negative electrode layer with the lithium metal layer (lithium foil, [0014]) or layer of the mixture of particles of anode active material,
Jang’ in view of Jang does not teach further includes a second hybrid electrolyte, wherein the second hybrid electrolyte comprises a mixture of particles of an inorganic solid electrolyte and a second polymer electrolyte which meets one of the following two criteria:
(A) said second polymer electrolyte is a product prepared by partially or totally removing a second liquid solvent from a polymer solution originally comprising a second polymer and a lithium salt dissolved in said second liquid solvent having a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1; or
(B) said second polymer is a polymerization or crosslinking product of a reactive additive, wherein the reactive additive comprises (i) a third liquid solvent that is polymerizable, (ii) an initiator or a crosslinking or curing agent, and (iii) a lithium salt, wherein the third liquid solvent occupies from 1% to 99% by weight of the total weight of the reactive additive, wherein the third liquid solvent is the same as or different from the first liquid solvent;
wherein the second polymer has a lithium ion conductivity no less than 1.0 x 10-8 S/cm at room temperature and the second hybrid electrolyte is the same as or different from the first hybrid electrolyte.
Different embodiments of Jang’ teaches further includes a second hybrid electrolyte (mixture of polymer made by polymerizing of the third solvent and inorganic solid electrolyte powder in the anode, see [0069]), wherein the second hybrid electrolyte comprises a mixture of particles of an inorganic solid electrolyte (inorganic solid electrolyte powder in in the anode, [0069]) and a second polymer electrolyte (made by polymerizing of the third solvent, [0068]) which meets one of the following two criteria:
(A) said second polymer electrolyte is a product prepared by partially or totally removing a second liquid solvent from a polymer solution originally comprising a second polymer and a lithium salt dissolved in said second liquid solvent having a polymer-to-lithium salt weight ratio of from 1/100 to 100/1; or
(B) said second polymer (made by polymerizing of the third solvent, [0068]) is a polymerization or crosslinking product of a reactive additive (reactive additive, [0068]), wherein the reactive additive (reactive additive, [0068]) comprises (i) a third liquid solvent that is polymerizable, (ii) an initiator or a crosslinking or curing agent, and (iii) a lithium salt ((i) a third liquid solvent that is polymerizable, (ii) an initiator and/or curing agent, and (iii) a lithium salt, [0068]), wherein the third liquid solvent occupies from 1% to 99% by weight of the total weight of the reactive additive, wherein the third liquid solvent is the same as or different from the first liquid solvent (the third liquid solvent occupies from 1% to 99% by weight of the total weight of the reactive additive and the third liquid solvent is the same as or different from the first liquid solvent, see [0083]);
wherein the second polymer has a lithium ion conductivity no less than 1.0 x 10-8 S/cm at room temperature (polymer electrolyte has a lithium ion conductivity from 10−8 S/cm to 10−2 S/cm at room temperature, [0108]) and the second hybrid electrolyte is the same as or different from the first hybrid electrolyte (note: there’re only two possibilities that either the second hybrid electrolyte is the same as the first hybrid electrolyte or the second hybrid electrolyte is different from the first hybrid electrolyte.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Jang’ in view of Jang by adding the second hybrid electrolyte (mixture of polymer by polymerizing of the third solvent and inorganic solid electrolyte powder in the anode) taught by different embodiments of Jang’ because it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer further comprises a second liquid solvent and the first liquid solvent has a lower flash point, a higher vapor pressure, a higher dielectric constant, or a higher solubility of the lithium salt as compared with the second liquid solvent (claim 4 of Jang').
Regarding claim 9, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent comprises a flame retardant selected from an organic phosphorus compound, an inorganic phosphorus compound, a halogenated derivative thereof, or a combination thereof (claim 5 of Jang').
Regarding claim 10, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the organic phosphorus compound or the inorganic phosphorus compound is selected from the group consisting of phosphates, phosphonates, phosphonic acids, phosphorous acids, phosphites, phosphoric acids, phosphinates, phosphines, phosphine oxides, phosphazene compounds, derivatives thereof, and combinations thereof (claim 6 of Jang').
Regarding claim 11, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said solid polymer electrolyte (solid-state electrolyte, see Jang’ in view of Jang) or gel polymer electrolyte comprises a polymer (polymer added PVDF-HFP, see Jang’ in view of Jang) selected from poly(ethylene oxide), polypropylene oxide, polyoxymethylene, polyvinylene carbonate, polypropylene carbonate, poly(ethylene glycol), poly(acrylonitrile), poly(methyl methacrylate), poly(vinylidene fluoride), poly bis- methoxy ethoxyethoxide-phosphazenex, polyvinyl chloride, polydimethylsiloxane, poly(vinylidene fluoride)-hexafluoropropylene (Poly(Vinylidene Fluoride)-Hexafluoropropylene (PVDF-HFP), see Jang Example 7, [0158]), cyanoethyl poly(vinyl alcohol), a pentaerythritol tetra-acrylate-based polymer, an aliphatic polycarbonate, a single Li-ion conducting solid polymer, poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(ethylene glycol) methyl ether acrylate, polyurethane, polyurethane-urea, polyacrylamide, a polyionic liquid, polymerized 1,3-dioxolane, polyepoxide ether, polysiloxane, poly(acrylonitrile-butadiene), polynorbornene, poly(hydroxyl styrene), poly(ether ether ketone), polypeptoid, poly(ethylene-maleic anhydride), polycaprolactone, poly(trimethylene carbonate), polyphosphate, polyphosphonate, polyphosphinate, polyphosphine, polyphosphine oxide, a polymer synthesized from an ionic liquid, a copolymer thereof, a semi-penetrating network thereof, a sulfonated derivative thereof, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said inorganic solid electrolyte (electrolyte further comprises particles of an inorganic solid electrolyte material, see Jang’ [0137]) is selected from an oxide type, sulfide type, hydride type, halide type, borate type, phosphate type, lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON), garnet-type, lithium superionic conductor (LISICON) type, sodium superionic conductor (NASICON) type, or a combination thereof (see Jang’ [0137]).
Regarding claim 13, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of Jang') and wherein the first or the second liquid solvent is selected from a phosphate, phosphonate, phosphinate, phosphine, or phosphine oxide having the structure of:
wherein R10, R11, and R12, are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, aryl, heteroalkyl, heteroaryl, halogen substituted alkyl, halogen substituted aryl, halogen substituted heteroalkyl, halogen substituted heteroaryl, alkoxy, aryloxy, heteroalkoxy, heteroaryloxy, halogen substituted alkoxy, halogen substituted aryloxy, halogen substituted heteroalkoxy, and halogen substituted heteroaryloxy functional groups, and the second liquid solvent is stable under an applied electrical potential no less than 4 V (claim 7 of Jang').
Regarding claim 14, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of Jang') and wherein the first or the second liquid solvent comprises a phosphoranimine having the structure of:
wherein R1, R2, and R3 are independently selected from the group consisting of alkyl, aryl, heteroalkyl, heteroaryl, halogen substituted alkyl, halogen substituted aryl, halogen substituted heteroalkyl, halogen substituted heteroaryl, alkoxy, aryloxy, heteroalkoxy, heteroaryloxy, halogen substituted alkoxy, halogen substituted aryloxy, halogen substituted heteroalkoxy, and halogen substituted heteroaryloxy functional groups, wherein R1, R2, and R3 are represented by at least two different substituents and wherein X is selected from the group consisting of an organosilyl group or a tert-butyl group (claim 8 of Jang').
Regarding claim 15, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein R1, R2, and R3 are each independently selected from the group consisting of an alkoxy group, and an aryloxy group (claim 9 of Jang').
Regarding claim 16, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches butyrolactone (y-BL), acetonitrile (AN), ethyl acetate (EA), propyl formate (PF), methyl formate (MF), toluene, xylene, methyl acetate (MA), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) (fluoroethylene carbonate, see claim 2 of Jang’), allyl ethyl carbonate (AEC), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 17, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent is selected from the group consisting of fluorinated vinyl carbonates, fluorinated vinyl monomers, fluorinated esters, fluorinated vinyl esters, and fluorinated vinyl ethers and combinations thereof (claim 14 of Jang').
Regarding claim 18, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of Jang') and the first or the second liquid solvent comprises a sulfone or sulfide selected from vinyl sulfone, allyl sulfone, alkyl vinyl sulfone, aryl vinyl sulfone, vinyl sulfide, TrMS, MTrMS, TMS, EMS, MMES, EMES, EMEES, or a combination thereof (claim 16 of Jang'):
Regarding claim 19, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the vinyl sulfone or sulfide is selected from ethyl vinyl sulfide, allyl methyl sulfide, phenyl vinyl sulfide, phenyl vinyl sulfoxide, allyl phenyl sulfone, allyl methyl sulfone, divinyl sulfone, or a combination thereof, wherein the vinyl sulfone does not include methyl ethylene sulfone and ethyl vinyl sulfone (claim 17 of Jang').
Regarding claim 20, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent comprises a nitrile, a dinitrile selected from AND, GLN, SEN, SN, or a combination thereof (claim 18 of Jang'):
Regarding claim 21, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first liquid solvent comprises a phosphate selected from allyl-type, vinyl-type, styrenic-type and (meth)acrylic-type monomers bearing a phosphonate moiety (claim 19 of Jang').
Regarding claim 22, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the first hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of Jang') and the first or the second liquid solvent comprises a phosphate, phosphonate, phosphonic acid, phosphazene, or phosphite selected from TMP, TEP, TFP, TDP, DPOF, DMMP, DMMEMP, tris(trimethylsilyl)phosphite (TTSPi), alkyl phosphate, triallyl phosphate (TAP), or a combination thereof, wherein TMP, TEP, TFP, TDP, DPOF, DMMP, DMMEMP, and phosphazene have the following chemical formulae (claim 20 of Jang'):
wherein R = H, NH2, or C1-C6 alkyl (claim 20 of Jang').
Regarding claim 23, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the hybrid electrolyte further comprises a second solvent (claim 4 of Jang') and the first or the second liquid solvent comprises siloxane or silane selected from alkylsiloxane (Si-O), alkyylsilane (Si-C), liquid oligomeric silaxane (-Si-O-Si-), or a combination thereof (claim 21 of Jang').
Regarding claim 24, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the reactive additive further comprises an amide group selected from N,N-dimethylacetamide, N,N-diethylacetamide, N,N- dimethylformamide, N,N-diethylformamide, or a combination thereof (claim 22 of Jang').
Regarding claim 25, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the crosslinking agent comprises a compound having at least one reactive group selected from a hydroxyl group, an amino group, an imino group, an amide group, an acrylic amide group, an amine group, an acrylic group, an acrylic ester group, or a mercapto group in the molecule (claim 23 of Jang').
Regarding claim 26, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the crosslinking agent is selected from poly(diethanol) diacrylate, poly(ethyleneglycol)dimethacrylate, poly(diethanol) dimethylacrylate, poly(ethylene glycol) diacrylate, or a combination thereof (claim 24 of Jang').
Regarding claim 27, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said initiator is selected from an azo compound, azobisisobutyronitrile, azobisisoheptonitrile, dimethyl azobisisobutyrate, benzoyl peroxide tert-butyl peroxide and methyl ethyl ketone peroxide, benzoyl peroxide (BPO), bis(4- tert-butylcyclohexyl)peroxydicarbonate, t-amyl peroxypivalate, 2,2'-azobis-(2,4- dimethylvaleronitrile), 2,2'-azobis-(2-methylbutyronitrile), 1,1-azobis(cyclohexane-1- carbonitrile, benzoylperoxide (BPO), hydrogen peroxide, dodecamoyl peroxide, isobutyryl peroxide, cumene hydroperoxide, tert-butyl peroxypivalate, diisopropyl peroxydicarbonate, lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithium borofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis-trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate(LiBF2C2O4), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), or a combination thereof (claim 25 of Jang').
Regarding claim 28, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said lithium salt is selected from lithium perchlorate (LiClO4), lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6), lithium borofluoride (LiBF4), lithium hexafluoroarsenide (LiAsF6), lithium trifluoro-metasulfonate (LiCF3SO3), bis- trifluoromethyl sulfonylimide lithium (LiN(CF3SO2)2), lithium bis(oxalato)borate (LiBOB), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium oxalyldifluoroborate (LiBF2C2O4), lithium nitrate (LiNO3), Li-Fluoroalkyl-Phosphates (LiPF3(CF2CF3)3), lithium bisperfluoro- ethysulfonylimide (LiBETI), lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulphonyl)imide, lithium bis(fluorosulphonyl)imide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonimide (LiTFSI), an ionic liquid lithium salt, or a combination thereof (claim 26 of Jang').
Regarding claim 29, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein said ion-permeable separator or solid- state electrolyte layer is selected from a porous polymer membrane (example see porous PE/PP membrane, see Jang’ [0197]), a porous ceramic membrane, a porous glass membrane, a solid polymer electrolyte layer, an inorganic solid-state electrolyte layer, a composite solid-state electrolyte layer comprising particles of an inorganic solid bonded by a polymer or dispersed in a polymer, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 30, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the positive electrode or cathode comprises a cathode active material selected from lithium nickel manganese oxide (LiNiaMn2-aO4, 0<a<2), lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNinMnmCo1-n-mO2, 0<n<1, 0<m<1, n+m<1), lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (LiNicCodAl1-c-dO2, 0<c<1, 0<d<1, c+d<1), lithium manganate (LiMn2O4), lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4), lithium manganese oxide (LiMnO2), lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2), lithium nickel cobalt oxide (LiNipCoi1-pO2, 0<p<1), or lithium nickel manganese oxide (LiNiqMn2-qO4, 0<q<2) (claim 27 of Jang'), sulfur (S), lithium sulfide (LixS, x = 1-8), a sulfur-containing compound, selenium (Se), lithium selenide (LixS, x = 1-8), a selenium- containing compound, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 31, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the negative electrode layer comprises an anode active material selected from the group consisting of: (a) silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), tin (Sn), lead (Pb), antimony (Sb), phosphorus (P), bismuth (Bi), zinc (Zn), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), and cadmium (Cd); (b) alloys or intermetallic compounds of Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Zn, Al, Ti, Ni, Co, or Cd with other elements; (c) oxides, carbides, nitrides, sulfides, phosphides, selenides, and tellurides of Si, Ge, Sn, Pb, Sb, Bi, Zn, Al, Ti, Fe, Ni, Co, V, or Cd, and their mixtures, composites, or lithium-containing composites; (d) salts and hydroxides of Sn; (e) lithium titanate, lithium manganate, lithium aluminate, lithium titanium niobate, lithium-containing titanium oxide, lithium transition metal oxide, ZnCo2O4; (f) carbon or graphite particles (g) prelithiated versions thereof; and (h) combinations thereof (claim 28 of Jang').
Regarding claim 32, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches which is a lithium metal secondary battery, a lithium-ion battery, a lithium-sulfur battery, a lithium-ion sulfur battery, a lithium-selenium battery, or a lithium-air battery (claim 32 of Jang').
Regarding claim 45, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the positive electrode layer further includes a conductive additive and a binder resin (conductive additive, and a resin binder are combined to form a dry cathode layer, see Jang’ [0181]).
Regarding claim 46, Jang’ in view of Jang does not teach wherein the negative electrode layer further includes a conductive additive and a binder resin.
Jang teaches wherein the negative electrode layer (anode, [0052]) further includes a conductive additive (conductive additive, [0052]) and a binder resin (resin binder, [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the negative electrode layer taught by Jang’ in view of Jang by adding the conductive additive and the resin binder taught by Jang to form an anode active layer having pores and wherein the pores are filled with the ion-conducting polymer (see Jang [0052]).
Regarding claim 47, Jang’ in view of Jang teaches wherein the negative electrode layer further includes particles of a solid inorganic solid-state electrolyte (adding particles of an inorganic solid electrolyte powder in the anode, see Jang’ [0069]).
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723