DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the encrypted asset encryption key is sent to the user as part of an NFT and is not obtained from a central key repository in reference to the Quigley reference. As can be seen in Quigley, [1102] and [1105], the asset encryption key is stored with the encrypted assed in a ledger – this ledger is a central storage space for requests corresponding to the NFT in question. [1113] of Quigley further describes the ledger storing keys used for accessing NFTs in a different location and wherein access to the asset encryption key is based on a request [1111]. Hence if the encrypted asset encryption key is stored with the encrypted NFT as described in [1102], and users are provided encrypted NFT and encrypted asset encryption key information based on a transaction [1105], it is clear that the system provides a decryption key to user devices from a storage associated with an NFT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reineke, publication number: US 2023/0334488 in view of Quigley, publication number: US 2023/0117725.
As per claim 1, Reineke teaches a method comprising:
receiving a digital asset (asset 105, [0027]);
generating a first hash of the digital asset (Hash 445, [0045]);
minting a non-fungible token (NFT) by tokenizing the digital asset and the first hash (minting, [0004][0017][0027]); and
forming, by recording the NFT in a block of a plurality of blocks on a blockchain, the block configured as a digital asset vault of a plurality of digital asset vaults of an electronic storage vault residing on the blockchain, (NFT on blockchain, [0017][0045]).
Reineke does not teach
generating a private key for the digital asset;
storing the private key in a central key repository;
encrypting the digital asset using the private key to generate an encrypted digital asset;
the digital asset vault being configured to be accessed using the private key that is obtained from the central key repository
In an analogous art, Quigley teaches generating a private key for the digital asset;
storing the private key in a central key repository;
encrypting the digital asset using the private key to generate an encrypted digital asset (generating and storing a key for encrypting a digital asset, [0036-0039]);
the digital asset vault being configured to be accessed using the private key that is obtained from the central key repository (accessing assets using key, [0043], encrypted asset encryption key being stored with the encrypted assed in ledger, [1102][1105][1113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reineke’s NFT system to include asset encryption as described Quigley’s analytics system for the advantage of providing an extra layer of protection for the system.
As per claim 2, the combination teaches comprising storing a location of the digital asset vault in a central database (Reineke: URL, [0005-0006][0030]).
As per claim 3, the combination teaches comprising assessing the encrypted digital asset from the digital asset vault using the private key (Reineke: repository 410, [045]).
As per claim 4, the combination teaches comprising:
copying the encrypted digital asset from the digital asset vault to a secure file space;
decrypting the encrypted digital asset using the private key to generate a decrypted digital asset in the secure file space; and
displaying the decrypted digital asset to an authenticated user (Quigley: decrypting, [0037], displaying, [0910]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches comprising
generating a second hash of the decrypted digital asset; and
comparing the second hash with the first hash (Reineke: comparing hashes, [0039][0055][0077]).
As per claim 6, the combination teaches comprising deleting one or more of the encrypted digital asset or the decrypted digital asset from the secure file space (Quigley: removing, [0037]).
As per claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the central key repository is separate from a blockchain network where the blockchain resides (Quigley: key, [0039]).
As per claim 8, the combination teaches comprising validating the digital asset received before generating the first hash (Reineke: validating, [0034]).
As per claim 9, the combination teaches comprising storing one or more of the first hash or the encrypted digital asset in an off-chain file storage space (Reineke: repository 210, [0033]).
Claims 10-17 are rejected based on claims 1-2 and 4-9
Claims 18-20 are rejected based on claims 1 and 4-5
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494