DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 8 in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a single search can cover all the invention without placing a serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because a single search can encompass hundreds of thousands of references which would be burdensome to review in its entirety. Furthermore, the numerous differences between the embodiments of the instant application require a variety of strategies and keywords that, when taken together, also constitute a serious search and/or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.11,831,126 in view of Wu (United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0168612 A1) . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because :
Instant Application U.S. Patent No.11,831,126
1. A laser projection apparatus, comprising: a laser source configured to output illumination beams, wherein the laser source includes laser chips of N primary colors; N is an integer greater than or equal to 3
1. A laser projection apparatus, comprising: a laser source configured to provide illumination beams, wherein the laser source includes a laser assembly encapsulated with laser chips of three primary colors
a light modulating device configured to modulate the illumination beams according to an image signal to output projection beams; a projection lens configured to project the projection beams for imaging;
an optical engine configured to modulate the illumination beams based on an image signal to obtain projection beams; a projection lens configured to project the projection beams for imaging
and a circuit system configured to control the laser source to emit laser beams of at least N primary colors;
and a circuit system architecture configured to control the laser source to emit laser beams of the three primary colors ;
a display control circuit configured to output N pulse width modulation (PWM) signals corresponding to the laser chips of the N primary colors based on N primary color components of an image to be displayed, and output three enable signals based on a preset ratio of a lighted period of the laser chips of the N primary colors in one drive period
a display control circuit configured to generate three pulse width modulation (PWM) signals corresponding to the laser chips of the three primary colors based on three primary color components of an image to be displayed, and generate three enable signals corresponding to the laser chips of the three primary colors based on a preset ratio of a lighted period of the laser chips of the three primary colors in one drive period
each PWM signal being configured to control a brightness of laser beams emitted from at least one laser chip of a corresponding color among the laser chips of the N primary colors; each enable signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of at least one color among the laser chips of the N primary colors in the one drive period
each PWM signal being configured to control a brightness of laser beams emitted from a laser chip of a corresponding color; each enable signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of a corresponding color in the one drive period;
and a laser source driving circuit electrically connected to the laser chips of the N primary colors;
and a laser chip driving circuit electrically connected to pins corresponding to the laser chips of the three primary colors
the laser source driving circuit is electrically connected to the display control circuit, and is configured to receive the N PWM signals and the three enable signals, so as to drive the laser chips of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of the at least N primary colors according to the N PWM signal in a case where at least one of the three enable signals is at an effective potential.
the laser chip driving circuit being electrically connected to the display control circuit, and being configured to receive a PWM signal of a corresponding color and an enable signal of the corresponding color, so as to drive a laser chip of the corresponding color to emit laser beams of the corresponding color according to the PWM signal of the corresponding color when the enable signal of the corresponding color is at an effective potential.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.11,831,126 does not disclose wherein the laser light sources are chips.
Wu discloses using laser chips ([0013]: The light source 20 includes a plurality of laser chips.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,831,126 with the teaching of Wu so that the light sources are laser chips to improve compactness and power efficiency at reduced cost.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (United States Patent Publication US 8, 469,520 B2) in view of Ken (JP 2011039322 A) and Wu (United States Patent Application Publication US 2014/0168612 A1).
With respect to claims 1, Maeda discloses a laser projection apparatus (see fig.1), comprising: a laser source configured to provide illumination beams (see RBG in fig.1), wherein the laser source includes a laser assembly with lasers of N primary colors (see RGB in fig.1); N is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (see RGB fig.1); an optical engine (see fig.1, 80) configured to modulate the illumination beams based on an image signal to obtain projection beams; a projection lens (see fig.1, 90) configured to project the projection beams for imaging; and a circuit system (see fig.1, disclosed by the operation of fig.1 and fig.8) configured to control the laser source to emit laser beams of the N primary colors ; wherein the circuit system architecture includes: a display control circuit (see 220 in fig.8) configured to generate N pulse width modulation (PWM) signals corresponding to the lasers of the N primary colors based on N primary color components of an image to be displayed and in a preset color scheme of the laser projection apparatus (see the operation of 220 and 230, the color scheme is at least preset to be based on the image signal) , and generate N enable signals corresponding to the laser of the N primary colors based on a preset ratio of a lighted period of the lasers of the N primary colors in one drive period (see the operation of fig.8 and fig.9; see the operation of 250; the color scheme is at least preset to be based on the image signal); each PWM signal being configured to control a brightness of laser beams emitted from a laser of a corresponding color (see the operation in fig.9; see the change in brightness in fig.9); each enable signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of a corresponding color in the one drive period (see again see the operation of fig.9; see the change in timing in fig.9), wherein in the one drive period of the laser source, a ratio among durations during which the N enable signals are at the effective potential meets a preset ratio (see the ratio of fig.9 in the period disclosed by fig.9), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser source driving circuit is electrically connected to the display control circuit, and is configured to receive the N PWM signals and the three enable signals, so as to drive the lasers of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of the at least N primary colors according to the N PWM signal in a case where at least one of the three enable signals is at an effective potential.
Ken discloses a laser projection apparatus (see fig.2), comprising: a laser source (Lasers of LD (RGB): 362 and 361 in fig.2) configured to output illumination beams, wherein the laser source includes lasers of N primary colors (see RGB in fig.2); N is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (see RGB in fig.2); and a circuit system (310 in fig.2) configured to control the laser source to emit laser beams of at least N primary colors (see RGB in fig.2); wherein the circuit system includes: a display control circuit (see 310) configured to output N pulse width modulation (PWM) signals corresponding to the lasers of the N primary colors based on N primary color components of an image to be displayed (see the operation of 316: see the brightness enhancement image display control 316), and output three enable signals based on a preset ratio of a lighted period of the lasers of the N primary colors in one drive period (Fifth para. from the First Embodiment: see the timing of laser emission of 311: Further, the timing controller 311 generates a command for controlling the timing of laser emission / motor driving of a laser emission unit 350 and an actuator 374, which will be described later, based on the synchronization signal, and the bit data converter 313, drive driver To 373, respectively. Further, the timing controller 311 generates a command for controlling the timing of laser emission / motor driving of the laser emitting unit 350 and the actuator 374 in a return section to be described later, and outputs the command to the brightness enhancement image display control unit 316 and the drive driver. To 373, respectively.); each PWM signal being configured to control a brightness of laser beams emitted from at least one laser chip of a corresponding color among the lasers of the N primary colors (see the operation of 316); each enable signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of at least one color among the lasers of the N primary colors in the one drive period (see the operation of 311); and a laser source driving circuit (see 351) electrically connected to the lasers of the N primary colors (see the connection in 350); wherein the laser source driving circuit (see 351) is electrically connected to the display control circuit (see the connections of 310), and is configured to receive the N PWM signals and the three enable signals (see the operation of 351, 316, and 313 in communication with 3 light sources), so as to drive the lasers of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of the at least N primary colors according to the N PWM signal (see the operation of 351), where at least one of the three enable signals is at an effective potential ( disclosed by the operation of the driving circuit 351 over time).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the projection device of Maeda with the teaching of Ken so that the laser source driving circuit is electrically connected to the display control circuit, and is configured to receive the N PWM signals and the three enable signals, so as to drive the laser chips of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of the at least N primary colors according to the N PWM signal to enhance control over the light sources by independently controlling brightness and timing.
Maeda in view of Ken does not disclose wherein the laser light sources are chips.
Wu discloses using laser chips ([0013]: The light source 20 includes a plurality of laser chips.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Maed in view of Ken with the teaching of Wu so that the light sources are laser chips to improve compactness and power efficiency at reduced cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the laser projection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein N is greater than 3, and the circuit system further includes: a logic circuit electrically connected to the display control circuit, and configured to output N duty signals based on the three enable signals, and the N duty signals corresponding to the laser chips of the N primary colors, respectively; each duty signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of a corresponding color among the laser chips of the N primary colors in the one drive period; the display control circuit includes: N PWM outputs electrically connected to the laser source driving circuit and configured to transmit the N PWM signals to the laser source driving circuit; and three enable outputs electrically connected to the logic circuit and configured to transmit the three enable signals to the logic circuit; the laser source driving circuit is electrically connected to the display control circuit, and is configured to receive the N PWM signals; the laser source driving circuit is further electrically connected to the display control circuit through the logic circuit, and is configured to receive the N duty signals, and drive the laser chips of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of at least N colors according to the N PWM signals in a case where one of the N duty signals is at the effective potential.
The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the laser projection apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a laser source configured to output illumination beams, wherein the laser source includes laser chips of N primary colors; N is an integer greater than or equal to 3; a light modulating device configured to modulate the illumination beams according to an image signal to output projection beams; a projection lens configured to project the projection beams for imaging; and a circuit system configured to control the laser source to emit laser beams of at least N primary colors; wherein the circuit system includes: a display control circuit configured to output N pulse width modulation (PWM) signals corresponding to the laser chips of the N primary colors based on N primary color components of an image to be displayed, and output three enable signals based on a preset ratio of a lighted period of the laser chips of the N primary colors in one drive period; each PWM signal being configured to control a brightness of laser beams emitted from at least one laser chip of a corresponding color among the laser chips of the N primary colors; each enable signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of at least one color among the laser chips of the N primary colors in the one drive period; and a laser source driving circuit electrically connected to the laser chips of the N primary colors; wherein the laser source driving circuit is electrically connected to the display control circuit, and is configured to receive the N PWM signals and the three enable signals, so as to drive the laser chips of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of the at least N primary colors according to the N PWM signal in a case where at least one of the three enable signals is at an effective potential, wherein the circuit system further includes a logic circuit electrically connected to the display control circuit, and configured to output N duty signals based on the three enable signals; the one drive period of the laser source includes a timing turn-off phase; in the timing turn-off phase, the N duty signals are all at an ineffective potential under control of the logic circuit.
Ken discloses a laser projection apparatus (see fig.2), comprising: a laser source (Lasers of LD (RGB): 362 and 361 in fig.2) configured to output illumination beams, wherein the laser source includes lasers of N primary colors (see RGB in fig.2); N is an integer greater than or equal to 3 (see RGB in fig.2); and a circuit system (310 in fig.2) configured to control the laser source to emit laser beams of at least N primary colors (see RGB in fig.2); wherein the circuit system includes: a display control circuit (see 310) configured to output N pulse width modulation (PWM) signals corresponding to the lasers of the N primary colors based on N primary color components of an image to be displayed (see the operation of 316: see the brightness enhancement image display control 316), and output three enable signals based on a preset ratio of a lighted period of the lasers of the N primary colors in one drive period (see the timing of laser emission of 311: Further, the timing controller 311 generates a command for controlling the timing of laser emission / motor driving of a laser emission unit 350 and an actuator 374, which will be described later, based on the synchronization signal, and the bit data converter 313, drive driver To 373, respectively. Further, the timing controller 311 generates a command for controlling the timing of laser emission / motor driving of the laser emitting unit 350 and the actuator 374 in a return section to be described later, and outputs the command to the brightness enhancement image display control unit 316 and the drive driver. To 373, respectively.); each PWM signal being configured to control a brightness of laser beams emitted from at least one laser chip of a corresponding color among the lasers of the N primary colors (see the operation of 316); each enable signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of at least one color among the lasers of the N primary colors in the one drive period (see the operation of 311); and a laser source driving circuit (see 351) electrically connected to the lasers of the N primary colors (see the connection in 350); wherein the laser source driving circuit (see 351) is electrically connected to the display control circuit (see the connections of 310), and is configured to receive the N PWM signals and the three enable signals (see the operation of 351, 316, and 313 in communication with 3 light sources), so as to drive the lasers of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of the at least N primary colors according to the N PWM signal (see the operation of 351), where at least one of the three enable signals is at an effective potential ( disclosed by the operation of the driving circuit 351 over time)
Ken does not disclose or render obvious wherein N is greater than 3, and the circuit system further includes: a logic circuit electrically connected to the display control circuit, and configured to output N duty signals based on the three enable signals, and the N duty signals corresponding to the laser chips of the N primary colors, respectively; each duty signal being configured to control a lighted period of a laser chip of a corresponding color among the laser chips of the N primary colors in the one drive period; the display control circuit includes: N PWM outputs electrically connected to the laser source driving circuit and configured to transmit the N PWM signals to the laser source driving circuit; and three enable outputs electrically connected to the logic circuit and configured to transmit the three enable signals to the logic circuit; the laser source driving circuit is electrically connected to the display control circuit, and is configured to receive the N PWM signals; the laser source driving circuit is further electrically connected to the display control circuit through the logic circuit, and is configured to receive the N duty signals, and drive the laser chips of the N primary colors to emit the laser beams of at least N colors according to the N PWM signals in a case where one of the N duty signals is at the effective potential.
Claims 4-9, 15 and 16 are allowable as they depend from allowable claim 1.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki (United States Patent Application Publication 2011/0128507) discloses a logic circuit (52 in fig.3) controlling timing signals.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882