Detailed Action
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Response to Arguments
The two 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections of at least claim 1 over Jung and Chang respectively are maintained, though they are withdrawn with respect to some of the dependent claims, since the amendment to their parent claim results in a new, narrower reading of those claims that is not anticipated by at least some of the references.
With respect to the rejections of claim 1, the Examiner generally agrees with the Applicant about which operations Jung does not disclose, but respectfully disagrees that those limitations are required by claim 1. As will be discussed in the updated rejection below, those limitations are optional because they are contingent upon an unmet condition precedent. See MPEP § 2111.04. This rationale does not apply to the apparatus and computer readable medium claims, and therefore, new grounds of rejection are provided for those claims involving the combination of Jung with Chang.
The Applicant’s remarks do not address the 35 U.S.C. § 102 involving Chang, and therefore fail to comply with 37 C.F.R § 1.111. Consistent with USPTO policy, the Examiner will treat the deficiency as bona fide, and simply respond to the amendment by updating the Chang rejection as appropriate.
Since all of the claims stand rejected, the Applicant’s request for a notice of allowance (Response 13) is respectfully denied.
Claim Objections
The Office objects to claims 6 for having the following informality: Claim 6 is missing a conjunction to link the last element in the list of elements recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 is indefinite for two reasons. For one, claim 12 now recites a limitation that directly contradicts itself: “a location that is in the first group chat interface and that is of an identifier of a second user in the first chat group that is other than the first user and the one or more second user; and the at least one second user comprises the one or more second users and the second user.”
The text in bold requires the slide operation to end at a location that is both of a second user, yet also other than the second user. This does not make sense; these two contradict each other, leaving no way to interpret the claim without ignoring at least one limitation (which is also not permitted). Claim 12 is therefore indefinite.
Second, claim 12 is also indefinite because the recitations of at least three different types of “second users” makes the antecedent basis for subsequent recitations of “second user(s)” impossible to resolve. See MPEP § 2173.05(e) (“if two different levers are recited earlier in the claim, the recitation of ‘said lever’ in the same or subsequent claim would be unclear where it is uncertain which of the two levers was intended.”). When read together with its parent claim 8, there are at least three classes of “second users,” and it is unclear if or how the classes of second users overlap (recall that in addition to the two classes of “second users” in claim 12, we also incorporate the “at least one second user” recited in claim 8, by reference).
Therefore, claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) for being indefinite.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
I. Jung discloses claims 1 and 13.
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0015514 A1 (“Jung”).
Claim 1
Jung discloses
A chat interface creation method, wherein the chat interface creation method is applied to an electronic device comprising a touchscreen, and the chat interface creation method comprises:
“FIG. 5 illustrates a method of a group communication in a portable terminal.” Jung ¶ 84. Specifically, the portable terminal that performs this method includes a “touch screen 140.” Jung ¶ 22 (referring to FIG. 1).
displaying a first group chat interface on the touchscreen, wherein the first group chat interface is a chat interface of a first chat group,
“Referring to FIG. 5, in step 501, the controller 150 controls the execution of a messenger corresponding to the selection of the user. In step 503, the controller 150 controls the display of group talk screen of the group selected from the user in the executed messenger.” Jung ¶ 85.
and the first chat group comprises a first user who enters the first group chat interface on the electronic device;
The group talk screen 210 displayed in step 501 depicts a group communication between the user who selected the group in the executed messenger application, and a plurality of other users. See Jung ¶ 50 (referring to FIG. 2A).
receiving a first operation in the first group chat interface;
“In step 505, the controller 150 detects whether a touch event for the selective group communication is inputted from the user when the group talk screen is displayed.” Jung ¶ 86.
determining a duration of the first operation;
In addition to detecting the location of the touch event, the controller 150 also determines the type of touch event, which may include distinguishing the touch event as “a long press” from “a tap” or another type of gesture. Jung ¶ 86; see also Jung ¶ 31 (explaining that a touch sensor 141 may separately detect and determine the type and location of the touch event, and transmit it to the controller 150). Jung does not use the literal phrase “determining a duration,” but the only way to determine whether a press is “long” is to measure how long it is.
displaying a second group chat interface or a member selection interface based on whether the duration of the first operation is greater than a first threshold, comprising:
“The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” MPEP § 2111.04. Claim 1 is a method claim that does not require the duration of the first operation to be greater than (or not greater than) the first threshold in every run of the method, and therefore, performance of steps with unmet conditions precedent are not required by the claim either. Thus, the prior art does not need to disclose what happens in both the greater than first threshold case and the non-greater than first threshold case.
Jung discloses this element of the claim because Jung at least discloses “that the group communication mode is activated by the touch event that is performed by the long press input among user inputs.” Jung ¶ 86. The group communication mode is the same as the claimed “member selection interface” because it provides a mechanism for the user to select a subset of members to the current group chat for creation of a new chat (this will be discussed in greater detail below, together with the language from claim 1 that describes the member selection interface in greater detail). Jung ¶ 51.
Since Jung discloses displaying the member selection interface based on the long touch, Jung necessarily discloses “displaying a second group chat interface or a member selection interface based on whether the duration of the first operation is greater than a first threshold.” That is, claim 1 only requires one of those two interfaces to be displayed during any given run of the method, and Jung discloses displaying at least the member selection interface in response to the same conditions recited in the claim.
displaying the second group chat interface when the duration of the first operation is less than or at the first threshold, wherein the second group chat interface is a chat interface of a second chat group, and both the second chat group and the first chat group comprise the first user;
As explained above, Jung does not need to display the second group chat interface to anticipate this claim, because “displaying the second group chat interface” is contingent upon the unmet condition precedent of “when the duration of the first operation is less than or at the first threshold.” See MPEP § 2111.04 (subsection II.). Note that “when” and “based on” are both conditional phrases, synonymous with “if” for purposes of determining whether a limitation is conditional.1
and displaying the member selection interface when the duration of the first operation is greater than the first threshold,
“In step 507, when the touch event of the user is detected at step 505, the controller 150 determines that this touch event is performed for the start of the selective group communication mode, and controls the start of the group communication mode.” Jung ¶ 87. “When the touch event of the user for the selective group communication mode is detected, the controller 150 provides a visual effect to display the activation of the selective group communication mode.” Jung ¶ 87.
wherein the member selection interface comprises an identifier of a member user in the first chat group.
As shown in FIGs. 2B–2D, the selective group communication mode includes identifiers for users A, B, and C. Jung ¶¶ 52–55.
Claim 13
Jung discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 1, and does not need to disclose the remaining elements of claim 13 in order to anticipate it, because the remaining elements of claim 13 are optional. The remaining elements of claim 13 are optional because they only limit the second group chat interface, and as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, the second group chat interface is optional because its display is contingent upon an unmet condition precedent. Accordingly, since Jung discloses all of the required elements of claim 13 (that is, the portion of claim 13 that incorporates claim 1), Jung also anticipates claim 13.
II. Chang discloses claims 1, 6, 8–11, and 13.
Claims 1, 6, 8–11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0069969 (“Chang”).
Claim 1
Chang discloses:
A chat interface creation method, wherein the chat interface creation method is applied to an electronic device comprising a touchscreen, and the chat interface creation method comprises:
“FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a method of coupling chat windows in the mobile terminal 100 according to a first exemplary embodiment of the present invention. Further, FIGS. 6 to 10 illustrate a method of coupling chat windows of FIG. 5.” Chang ¶ 128. Among other things, the mobile terminal 100 that implements the method of FIG. 5 includes “a display module 151 which may be a touch screen.” Chang ¶ 56.
displaying a first group chat interface on the touchscreen, wherein the first group chat interface is a chat interface of a first chat group, and the first chat group comprises a first user who enters the first group chat interface on the electronic device;
“Referring to FIG. 5, the controller 180 controls the touch screen 151 to display a chat window for displaying a message transmitted and received as a group between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a plurality of another parties based on the user's control input (S101).” Chang ¶ 129.
receiving a first operation in the first group chat interface;
Next, “a control input for requesting generation of a private chat area corresponding to one of the plurality of another parties while group chatting is received (S102).” Chang ¶ 130.
determining a duration of the first operation;
At step S102, the control input may involve one of a number of different touch gestures. See Chang ¶¶ 132–138. To determine which touch gesture was received, “touch gesture is classified into tapping, drag, flicking, press, multi touch, pinch-in, and pinch-out according to an action.” Chang ¶ 108. This includes distinguishing the action as a “press,” where the action involves “continuing to sustain a touch for a predetermined time period or more after touching the touch screen 151,” Chang ¶ 112, or if the gesture is instead one of the other actions, which lasts for a different period of time. See Chang ¶¶ 108–111.
displaying a second group chat interface or a member selection interface based on whether the duration of the first operation is greater than a first threshold, comprising:
“The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” MPEP § 2111.04. Claim 1 is a method claim that does not require the duration of the first operation to be any single one of the two options (i.e., greater than the threshold, or not greater than the first threshold) in every run of the method, and therefore, performance of steps with unmet conditions precedent are not required by the claim either. Thus, the prior art does not need to disclose what happens in both the greater than first threshold case and the non-greater than first threshold case.
Chang discloses this element of the claim because Chang at least discloses that “the controller 180 controls the touch screen 151 to display a private chat area within a chat window (S103)” in response to receiving the control input at step S102. Chang ¶ 130. The private chat area is the same as the claimed “second group chat interface” because it provides an interface for exchanging messages between the user of the device and the selected other user privately.
Since Chang discloses displaying the second group chat interface based on a non-long pressed gesture, Chang necessarily discloses “displaying a second group chat interface or a member selection interface based on whether the duration of the first operation is greater than a first threshold.” That is, claim 1 only requires one of those two interfaces to be displayed during any given run of the method, and Chang discloses displaying at least the second group chat interface in response to the same conditions recited in the claim.
displaying the second group chat interface when the duration of the first operation is less than or at the first threshold,
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a “first operation” whose duration is “less than or at the first threshold” necessarily includes the slide operation described in claim 8, because claim 8 depends from claim 1 and explicitly says to display the second group chat interface when the first operation is a slide operation. See Littelfuse, Inc. v. Mersen USA EP Corp., 29 F. 4th 1376, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (“if a dependent claim reads on a particular embodiment of the claimed invention, the corresponding independent claim must cover that embodiment as well”).
Chang likewise discloses that a touch gesture that isn’t classified as the sustained “press” gesture may instead be classified as one of several other gestures, including “tapping, drag, [or] flicking,” rather than the “press.” Chang ¶ 108; see also Chang ¶¶ 109–111 (further describing each one of the tapping, dragging, or flicking).
Returning to the flowchart of FIG. 5, “the controller 180 controls the touch screen 151 to display a private chat area within a chat window (S103)” in response to receiving the control input at step S102. Chang ¶ 130. “At step S102, the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area within a group chat window may be received through various methods,” Chang ¶ 132, including the dragging gesture mentioned above: “when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window is dragged to a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100.” Chang ¶ 136.
wherein the second group chat interface is a chat interface of a second chat group,
“Here, the private chat area is an area for displaying a private message transmitted or received one-on-one between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a specific another party.” Chang ¶ 131.
and both the second chat group and the first chat group comprise the first user;
Much like the private chat area displays private messages transmitted or received “between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a specific another party,” the main “group chat area” displays “group message[s] transmitted or receiving as a group between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and the plurality of another parties.” Chang ¶ 131.
and displaying the member selection interface when the duration of the first operation is greater than the first threshold, wherein the member selection interface comprises an identifier of a member user in the first chat group.
As explained above, Chang does not need to display the member selection interface to anticipate this claim, because “displaying the member selection interface” is contingent upon the unmet condition precedent of “when the duration of the first operation is greater than the first threshold.” See MPEP § 2111.04 (subsection II.). Note that “when” and “based on” are both conditional phrases, synonymous with “if” for purposes of determining whether a limitation is conditional.2
Claim 6
Chang discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 1, wherein:
the first operation is a press operation for a first location and a second location in the first group chat interface, the first location is a location of an identifier of a second user in the first chat group within the first group chat interface, the second location is any blank location in the first group chat interface, when the duration of the press operation is less than the first threshold, the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a two-person chat group comprising the first user and the any second user.
“Further, when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window and a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100 are pinched-in, the controller 180 may receive the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area for the specific another party within the group chat window.” Chang ¶ 137. As shown in FIG. 10(a), the pinch-in gesture includes at least the claimed second user, and the whole gesture ends in a blank space in the middle.
Claim 8
Chang discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 1,
wherein the first operation is a slide operation, a sliding track of the slide operation comprises an identifier of at least one second user,
“At step S102, the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area within a group chat window may be received through various methods,” Chang ¶ 132, including either (1) “when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window is dragged to a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100,” Chang ¶ 136, or (2) “when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window and a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100 are pinched-in.” Chang ¶ 137.
and the displaying a second group chat interface based on the first operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the first operation,
“Thereafter, when a control input for requesting generation of a private chat area corresponding to one of the plurality of another parties while group chatting is received (S102), the controller 180 controls the touch screen 151 to display a private chat area within a chat window (S103).” Chang ¶ 130.
wherein the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a chat group comprising the first user and the at least one second user.
“Here, the private chat area is an area for displaying a private message transmitted or received one-on-one between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a specific another party.” Chang ¶ 131. The “specific other party” in this case is the user who sent the message that was dragged to the user’s own message. Chang ¶¶ 136 and 159–160 (referring to FIGS. 9(a)–9(b)).
Claim 9
Chang discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 8,
wherein the slide operation passes through a location of the identifier of the at least one second user in the first group chat interface, and ends at a location of an identifier of the first user in the first group chat interface.
“[W]hen a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window is dragged to a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100, the controller 180 may receive the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area for the specific another party within the group chat window.” Chang ¶ 136.
Claim 10
Chang discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 9,
wherein the identifier of the at least one second user moves with sliding of the slide operation in the first group chat interface.
A s shown in FIG. 9(a), the dragging operation moves the entire icon that identifies BBB’s message GM1. Chang FIG. 9(a).
Claim 11
Chang discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 8,
wherein the slide operation passes through locations of the identifier of the at least one second user and an identifier of the first user in the first group chat interface, and ends at any blank location in the first group chat interface.
“Further, when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window and a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100 are pinched-in, the controller 180 may receive the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area for the specific another party within the group chat window.” Chang ¶ 137. As shown in FIG. 10(a), the pinch-in gesture passes through both the first and second user, and ends in a blank space in the middle.
Claim 13
Chang discloses the chat interface creation method according to claim 1,
wherein the second group chat interface comprises a chat record that is of a member user in the second chat group and that is in the first chat group.
“According to the present invention, when the private chat area A2 is generated, the group message GM1 and the group message GM2 may be displayed within the private chat area A2.” Chang ¶ 162.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
I. Jung and Kim teach claims 2–5.
Claims 2–5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0191578 A1 (“Kim”).
Claim 2
Jung teaches the chat interface creation method according to claim 1,
wherein the first operation is a press operation for a first location and a second location in the first group chat interface, the first location is a location that is of an identifier of any
“In step 505, the controller 150 detects whether a touch event for the selective group communication is inputted from the user when the group talk screen is displayed. For instance, the user may input the touch event to the input message written by the user himself on the group talk screen.” Jung ¶ 86. In the examples, the touch event is a long press, but Jung further teaches that the touch input may include “a multi touch.” Jung ¶ 86.
and in response to the duration of the press operation being greater than the first threshold, the method further comprises: receiving, in the member selection interface, a second operation for selecting at least one second user;
“In step 509, the controller 150 identifies the touch event for selecting other user from the user. For instance, when the touch event of the user is moved toward the other users' location on the group talk screen 210 and is maintained in order to select the other users (e.g., user C, user A), the controller 150 detects a corresponding interrupt as an input for the selection of the other user(s) for the group communication. A multi touch method can be used as a user input for selecting a relevant person for group communication in the group communication mode. For instance, when at least one other user (e.g., user A and/or user C) is selected by another input means such as a finger or a stylus when the touch event inputted to the message written by the user is maintained, the controller 150 detects a corresponding interrupt as an input for the selection of another user for the group communication.” Jung ¶ 88.
and displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation, wherein the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a chat group comprising the first user and the at least one second user selected through the second operation.
“[T]he controller 150 controls a corresponding operation so that the group talk with the other user selected by the user may be performed when the touch event is released. According to an embodiment, the controller 150 controls to execute a selective group talk while maintaining a current group talk screen without changing the screen.” Jung ¶ 42.
Jung does not explicitly disclose that the first location is a location that is of an identifier of any second user in the first chat group, since “second user” in this context refers to any user other than the person performing the gestures.
Kim, however, teaches a method wherein:
the first operation is a press operation for a first location and a second location in the first group chat interface, the first location is a location that is of an identifier of any second user in the first chat group and that is in the first group chat interface,
“Referring to FIG. 5A-A, when the first chat room is being displayed on the display unit of the first device 100, the first device 100 may display a UI 144 for calling options related to the first chat room on the display unit of the first device 100,” the UI 144 displaying identifiers of everyone in the chat room. Kim ¶ 89 and FIG. 5A-A.
Regarding press operation at the first location, “the first device 100 may receive a user input of selecting the UI 144 for calling the options related to the first chat room.” Kim ¶ 89. Regarding the press operation continuing to a second location, “when a user input of calling the options related to the first chat room, the first device 100 may display an option tab 146 of the first chat room on the display unit,” and the first device 100 may receive a user input of selecting the UI 148 for creating the second chat room.” Kim ¶ 90 (referring to FIG. 5A-B).
the method further comprises: receiving, in the member selection interface, a second operation for selecting at least one second user;
“Referring to FIG. 5A-C, when a user input of creating the second chat room, the first device 100 may display a UI for creating the second chat room on the display unit,” which includes “a list of persons participating in the first chat room in the UI 150 for inviting the persons.” Kim ¶ 91. “In addition, the first device 100 may receive a user input of selecting at least some of the persons included in the corresponding list.” Kim ¶ 91.
and displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation, wherein the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a chat group comprising the first user and the at least one second user selected through the second operation.
“In this manner, the first device 100 may create the second chat room capable of displaying the visual signs transmitted and received between the first device 100 and at least some of the second devices 200 transmitting and receiving the visual signs through the first chat room.” Kim ¶ 91.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Jung’s touch event for the selective group communication with Kim’s selection of UI 144, which, much like Jung, launches a UI for creating the second chat room. The rationale for this conclusion “is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(B.)). Per the guidance in that section, the Examiner observes that the evidence is sufficient to make the following findings of fact:
(1) The prior art (Jung) contained a device, method, and product that which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of a touch event on a user’s own identifier with a touch event in a place corresponding to another user’s identifier. The evidence for this finding was set forth in the rejections of claims 1 and 2 above over Jung, where each relevant claim element is mapped to a corresponding portion of Jung’s disclosure.
(2) The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. The evidence for this finding was also provided above, with Kim teaching both the substituted gesture in paragraphs 89–90, and its function of launching a member selection screen in paragraph 91.
(3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable, because the substitution merely involves swapping one deterministic operation for another. That is, the only reasonable prediction about the results of instructing a computer to execute a particular function in response to a particular gesture is that the computer indeed executes the function in response to detecting the gesture.
Therefore, based on the findings above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Jung’s touch event for the selective group communication with Kim’s selection of UI 144.
Claim 3
Jung and Kim teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 2,
wherein the member selection interface further comprises a first control,
“In step 517, when the preset group communication method is not the automatic execution method, that is, when the preset group communication method is the manual execution method, the controller 150 displays the group communication menu 250 for selection of group communication on the group talk screen 210.” Jung ¶ 92; see also Jung ¶ 59 (further describing the menu 250, which is illustrated in FIG. 2E).
the first control is used to indicate to create a chat task,
“In the present invention, the group communication menu 250 includes a menu” with “group talk” as one of the menu choices. Jung ¶ 92.
and the chat interface creation method further comprises: receiving a third operation for the first control in the member selection interface;
A “touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517.” Jung ¶ 93.
and the displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the second operation and the third operation.
“In step 519, when the touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517, the controller 150 controls the operation corresponding to the menu in which the touch event is detected. For example, the controller 150 controls to perform the group talk with the other users selected by the user when the menu in which the touch event is detected is the group talk.” Jung ¶ 93.
Claim 4
Jung and Kim teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 2,
wherein the member selection interface further comprises a second control,
“In step 517, when the preset group communication method is not the automatic execution method, that is, when the preset group communication method is the manual execution method, the controller 150 displays the group communication menu 250 for selection of group communication on the group talk screen 210.” Jung ¶ 92; see also Jung ¶ 59 (further describing the menu 250, which is illustrated in FIG. 2E).
the second control is used to indicate to create a chat task and a file sending task, a file type of a file comprises any file type in a document file, an image file, or a media file,
“In the present invention, the group communication menu 250 includes a menu such as . . . the group talk [or] the data (e.g., an image or a video) transmission.” Jung ¶ 92.
and the chat interface creation method further comprises: receiving a fourth operation for the second control in the member selection interface;
A “touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517.” Jung ¶ 93.
and the displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the second operation and the fourth operation, wherein the second group chat interface comprises the file.
“In step 519, when the touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517, the controller 150 controls the operation corresponding to the menu in which the touch event is detected.” Jung ¶ 93. “If the selected menu is the data transmission, the controller 150 controls to transmit data to the other users selected by the user, . . . displays a gallery screen so as to transmit data, and controls to transmit data selected according to the touch event of the user to the other user selected by the user. The controller 150 performs the selective data transmission for at least one other user selected by the user, not the entire data transmission for all other users who are joining in the group talk.” Jung ¶ 102.
Claim 5
Jung and Kim teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 2,
wherein the member selection interface further comprises a third control,
“In step 517, when the preset group communication method is not the automatic execution method, that is, when the preset group communication method is the manual execution method, the controller 150 displays the group communication menu 250 for selection of group communication on the group talk screen 210.” Jung ¶ 92; see also Jung ¶ 59 (further describing the menu 250, which is illustrated in FIG. 2E).
the third control is used to indicate to create a chat task and a video/audio call task,
“In the present invention, the group communication menu 250 includes a menu such as the group call [or] the group talk” options. Jung ¶ 92.
and the chat interface creation method further comprises: receiving a fifth operation for the third control in the member selection interface;
A “touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517.” Jung ¶ 93.
and the displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the second operation and the fifth operation, wherein the second group chat interface is an interface for initiating a video/audio call to the member user selected through the second operation.
“If the selected menu is the group call, the controller 150 connects the selective group call with the other users selected by the user,” rather than the entire group. Jung ¶ 99. “For example, as shown in FIG. 2G, the controller 150 displays a screen 270 indicating that the group call is being connected between the user (me), the first other user (e.g., user C), and the second other user (e.g., user A)). Accordingly, the user performs the selective group call with other users (e.g., user A and user C) selected by the user. Thus, the present invention can execute the selective group call with at least one other user selected by the user, instead of the entire group call with all other users who are joining in the group talk.” Jung ¶ 62.
II. Jung and Jiang teach claim 7.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0109011 A1 (“Jiang”).
Claim 7
Jung teaches the chat interface creation method according to claim 1,
wherein the first operation is a press operation for any two
The touch events to trigger a selective group communication include a “touch event to the input message written by the user himself on the group talk screen” (i.e., the claimed second location), which is also “moved toward the other users’ location on the group talk screen 210 and is maintained in order to select the other users” (i.e., the claimed first location). Jung ¶¶ 86–88.
and the displaying a second group chat interface based on the first operation comprises: displaying a member selection interface in response to the first operation, wherein the member selection interface comprises an identifier of a member user in the first chat group;
“When the touch event of the user for the selective group communication mode is detected, the controller 150 provides a visual effect to display the activation of the selective group communication mode.” Jung ¶ 87.
receiving, in the member selection interface, a second operation for selecting at least one second user;
“In step 509, the controller 150 identifies the touch event for selecting other user from the user. For instance, when the touch event of the user is moved toward the other users' location on the group talk screen 210 and is maintained in order to select the other users (e.g., user C, user A), the controller 150 detects a corresponding interrupt as an input for the selection of the other user(s) for the group communication. A multi touch method can be used as a user input for selecting a relevant person for group communication in the group communication mode. For instance, when at least one other user (e.g., user A and/or user C) is selected by another input means such as a finger or a stylus when the touch event inputted to the message written by the user is maintained, the controller 150 detects a corresponding interrupt as an input for the selection of another user for the group communication.” Jung ¶ 88.
and displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation, wherein the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a group comprising the first user and the at least one second user selected through the second operation.
“[T]he controller 150 controls a corresponding operation so that the group talk with the other user selected by the user may be performed when the touch event is released. According to an embodiment, the controller 150 controls to execute a selective group talk while maintaining a current group talk screen without changing the screen.” Jung ¶ 42.
The only difference between Jung and the claimed invention is the substitution of Jung’s “touch event to the input message written by the user himself on the group talk screen” with a “press operation for any two blank locations in the first group chat interface.”
However, the substituted component, and its function of activating a second interface, was known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Specifically, Jiang teaches a touchscreen gesture in which, “two fingers double-clicking the blank space[] causes the appearance of related application icons for the user to choose from.” Jiang ¶ 247.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable, because the substitution does not involve any alteration to the touchscreen in any way; the skilled artisan simply programs the software in Jung’s device to recognize the gesture from Jiang’s disclosure.
In view of all of the above findings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Jung’s known touch event gesture with Jiang’s two finger double click of a blank space.
III. Jung and Chang teach claims 14 and 20.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Chang
Claim 14
Jung teaches:
An electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises a touchscreen, at least one processor, and one or more memories,
“Referring to FIG. 1, the portable terminal includes a wireless communication unit 110, a storage unit 120, an audio unit 130, a touch screen 140, and a controller 150.” Jung ¶ 22.
wherein the touchscreen and the one or more memories are coupled to the at least one processor,
“The controller 150 controls the overall operation of the portable terminal and a signal flow between internal configurations of the portable terminal (a wireless communication unit 110, a storage unit 120, an audio unit 130, and a touch screen 140).” Jung ¶ 22.
the touchscreen is configured to display a chat interface,
“The touch screen 140 of the embodiment of the present invention displays a screen (e.g., a messenger execution screen, a call screen, and a gallery screen) according to an operation of the portable terminal through the display unit 142.” Jung ¶ 22.
the one or more memories are configured to store programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor
“The storage unit 120 stores a program and a data required for the operation of the portable terminal.” Jung ¶ 25.
to perform operations comprising:
Reference is made to FIG. 5, which illustrates a method that the portable terminal is configured to execute. Jung ¶ 84.
displaying a first group chat interface on the touchscreen, wherein the first group chat interface is a chat interface of a first chat group,
“Referring to FIG. 5, in step 501, the controller 150 controls the execution of a messenger corresponding to the selection of the user. In step 503, the controller 150 controls the display of group talk screen of the group selected from the user in the executed messenger.” Jung ¶ 85.
and the first chat group comprises a first user who enters the first group chat interface on the electronic device;
The group talk screen 210 displayed in step 501 depicts a group communication between the user who selected the group in the executed messenger application, and a plurality of other users. See Jung ¶ 50 (referring to FIG. 2A).
receiving a first operation in the first group chat interface;
“In step 505, the controller 150 detects whether a touch event for the selective group communication is inputted from the user when the group talk screen is displayed.” Jung ¶ 86.
determining a duration of the first operation;
In addition to detecting the location of the touch event, the controller 150 also determines the type of touch event, which may include distinguishing the touch event as “a long press” from “a tap” or another type of gesture. Jung ¶ 86; see also Jung ¶ 31 (explaining that a touch sensor 141 may separately detect and determine the type and location of the touch event, and transmit it to the controller 150). Jung does not use the literal phrase “determining a duration,” but the only way to determine whether a press is “long” is to measure how long it is.
displaying a second group chat interface or a member selection interface based on whether the duration of the first operation is greater than a first threshold, comprising:
“In step 507, when the touch event of the user is detected at step 505, the controller 150 determines that this touch event is performed for the start of the selective group communication mode, and controls the start of the group communication mode.” Jung ¶ 87.
“When the touch event of the user for the selective group communication mode is detected, the controller 150 provides a visual effect to display the activation of the selective group communication mode.” Jung ¶ 87.
wherein the member selection interface comprises an identifier of a member user in the first chat group.
As shown in FIGs. 2B–2D, the selective group communication mode includes identifiers for users A, B, and C. Jung ¶¶ 52–55.
Jung also discloses a version of the claimed second group chat interface (i.e., a private side-chat between the user and fewer than all of the users of the original group), but only after progressing through the selective group communication mode first to choose the user with which to hold the private chat. In other words, the difference between Jung and the claimed invention is that Jung lacks the claimed shortcut for proceeding directly to the second group chat interface.
Chang, however, teaches an electronic device with all of the same components as recited in claim 14 and described in Jung, see Chang FIG. 1, as well as instructions to perform the claimed shortcut and several other overlapping elements of claim 14, including:
displaying a first group chat interface on the touchscreen, wherein the first group chat interface is a chat interface of a first chat group, and the first chat group comprises a first user who enters the first group chat interface on the electronic device;
“Referring to FIG. 5, the controller 180 controls the touch screen 151 to display a chat window for displaying a message transmitted and received as a group between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a plurality of another parties based on the user's control input (S101).” Chang ¶ 129.
receiving a first operation in the first group chat interface;
Next, “a control input for requesting generation of a private chat area corresponding to one of the plurality of another parties while group chatting is received (S102).” Chang ¶ 130.
determining a duration of the first operation;
At step S102, the control input may involve one of a number of different touch gestures. See Chang ¶¶ 132–138. To determine which touch gesture was received, “touch gesture is classified into tapping, drag, flicking, press, multi touch, pinch-in, and pinch-out according to an action.” Chang ¶ 108. This includes distinguishing the action as a “press,” where the action involves “continuing to sustain a touch for a predetermined time period or more after touching the touch screen 151,” Chang ¶ 112, or if the gesture is instead one of the other actions, which lasts for a different period of time. See Chang ¶¶ 108–111.
displaying the second group chat interface when the duration of the first operation is less than or at the first threshold,
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a “first operation” whose duration is “less than or at the first threshold” necessarily includes the slide operation described in claim 8, because claim 8 depends from claim 1 and explicitly says to display the second group chat interface when the first operation is a slide operation. See Littelfuse, Inc. v. Mersen USA EP Corp., 29 F. 4th 1376, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (“if a dependent claim reads on a particular embodiment of the claimed invention, the corresponding independent claim must cover that embodiment as well”).
Chang likewise discloses that a touch gesture that isn’t classified as the sustained “press” gesture may instead be classified as one of several other gestures, including “tapping, drag, [or] flicking,” rather than the “press.” Chang ¶ 108; see also Chang ¶¶ 109–111 (further describing each one of the tapping, dragging, or flicking).
Returning to the flowchart of FIG. 5, “the controller 180 controls the touch screen 151 to display a private chat area within a chat window (S103)” in response to receiving the control input at step S102. Chang ¶ 130. “At step S102, the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area within a group chat window may be received through various methods,” Chang ¶ 132, including the dragging gesture mentioned above: “when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window is dragged to a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100.” Chang ¶ 136.
wherein the second group chat interface is a chat interface of a second chat group,
“Here, the private chat area is an area for displaying a private message transmitted or received one-on-one between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a specific another party.” Chang ¶ 131.
and both the second chat group and the first chat group comprise the first user;
Much like the private chat area displays private messages transmitted or received “between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and a specific another party,” the main “group chat area” displays “group message[s] transmitted or receiving as a group between the user of the mobile terminal 100 and the plurality of another parties.” Chang ¶ 131.
Claim 19
Jung and Chang teach the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein:
the first operation is a press operation for a first location and a second location in the first group chat interface, the first location is a location of an identifier of a second user in the first chat group within the first group chat interface, the second location is any blank location in the first group chat interface, when the duration of the press operation is less than the first threshold, the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a two-person chat group comprising the first user and the any second user.
“Further, when a message received from a specific another party among messages displayed within the group chat window and a message transmitted by the user of the mobile terminal 100 are pinched-in, the controller 180 may receive the control input for requesting generation of a private chat area for the specific another party within the group chat window.” Chang ¶ 137. As shown in FIG. 10(a), the pinch-in gesture includes at least the claimed second user, and the whole gesture ends in a blank space in the middle.
Claim 20
The memory of claim 14, with all of its stored instructions, is a species of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected over all of the findings set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
IV. Jung, Chang, and Kim teach claims 15–18.
Claims 15–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung and Chang as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kim.
Claim 15
Jung and Chang teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 1,
wherein the first operation is a press operation for a first location and a second location in the first group chat interface, the first location is a location that is of an identifier of any
“In step 505, the controller 150 detects whether a touch event for the selective group communication is inputted from the user when the group talk screen is displayed. For instance, the user may input the touch event to the input message written by the user himself on the group talk screen.” Jung ¶ 86. In the examples, the touch event is a long press, but Jung further teaches that the touch input may include “a multi touch.” Jung ¶ 86.
and in response to the duration of the press operation being greater than the first threshold, the method further comprises: receiving, in the member selection interface, a second operation for selecting at least one second user;
“In step 509, the controller 150 identifies the touch event for selecting other user from the user. For instance, when the touch event of the user is moved toward the other users' location on the group talk screen 210 and is maintained in order to select the other users (e.g., user C, user A), the controller 150 detects a corresponding interrupt as an input for the selection of the other user(s) for the group communication. A multi touch method can be used as a user input for selecting a relevant person for group communication in the group communication mode. For instance, when at least one other user (e.g., user A and/or user C) is selected by another input means such as a finger or a stylus when the touch event inputted to the message written by the user is maintained, the controller 150 detects a corresponding interrupt as an input for the selection of another user for the group communication.” Jung ¶ 88.
and displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation, wherein the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a chat group comprising the first user and the at least one second user selected through the second operation.
“[T]he controller 150 controls a corresponding operation so that the group talk with the other user selected by the user may be performed when the touch event is released. According to an embodiment, the controller 150 controls to execute a selective group talk while maintaining a current group talk screen without changing the screen.” Jung ¶ 42.
Jung and Chang do not explicitly disclose that the first location is a location that is of an identifier of any second user in the first chat group, since “second user” in this context refers to any user other than the person performing the gestures.
Kim, however, teaches a method wherein:
the first operation is a press operation for a first location and a second location in the first group chat interface, the first location is a location that is of an identifier of any second user in the first chat group and that is in the first group chat interface,
“Referring to FIG. 5A-A, when the first chat room is being displayed on the display unit of the first device 100, the first device 100 may display a UI 144 for calling options related to the first chat room on the display unit of the first device 100,” the UI 144 displaying identifiers of everyone in the chat room. Kim ¶ 89 and FIG. 5A-A.
Regarding press operation at the first location, “the first device 100 may receive a user input of selecting the UI 144 for calling the options related to the first chat room.” Kim ¶ 89. Regarding the press operation continuing to a second location, “when a user input of calling the options related to the first chat room, the first device 100 may display an option tab 146 of the first chat room on the display unit,” and the first device 100 may receive a user input of selecting the UI 148 for creating the second chat room.” Kim ¶ 90 (referring to FIG. 5A-B).
the method further comprises: receiving, in the member selection interface, a second operation for selecting at least one second user;
“Referring to FIG. 5A-C, when a user input of creating the second chat room, the first device 100 may display a UI for creating the second chat room on the display unit,” which includes “a list of persons participating in the first chat room in the UI 150 for inviting the persons.” Kim ¶ 91. “In addition, the first device 100 may receive a user input of selecting at least some of the persons included in the corresponding list.” Kim ¶ 91.
and displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation, wherein the second chat group corresponding to the second group chat interface is a chat group comprising the first user and the at least one second user selected through the second operation.
“In this manner, the first device 100 may create the second chat room capable of displaying the visual signs transmitted and received between the first device 100 and at least some of the second devices 200 transmitting and receiving the visual signs through the first chat room.” Kim ¶ 91.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Jung’s touch event for the selective group communication with Kim’s selection of UI 144, which, much like Jung, launches a UI for creating the second chat room. The rationale for this conclusion “is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.” MPEP § 2143 (subsection (I.)(B.)). Per the guidance in that section, the Examiner observes that the evidence is sufficient to make the following findings of fact:
(1) The prior art (Jung and Chang) contained a device, method, and product that which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of a touch event on a user’s own identifier with a touch event in a place corresponding to another user’s identifier. The evidence for this finding was set forth in the rejections of claims 14 and 15 above over Jung and Chang, where each relevant claim element is mapped to a corresponding portion of Jung and Chang’s disclosure.
(2) The substituted components and their functions were known in the art. The evidence for this finding was also provided above, with Kim teaching both the substituted gesture in paragraphs 89–90, and its function of launching a member selection screen in paragraph 91.
(3) One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable, because the substitution merely involves swapping one deterministic operation for another. That is, the only reasonable prediction about the results of instructing a computer to execute a particular function in response to a particular gesture is that the computer indeed executes the function in response to detecting the gesture.
Therefore, based on the findings above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Jung’s touch event for the selective group communication with Kim’s selection of UI 144.
Claim 16
Jung, Chang, and Kim teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 15,
wherein the member selection interface further comprises a first control,
“In step 517, when the preset group communication method is not the automatic execution method, that is, when the preset group communication method is the manual execution method, the controller 150 displays the group communication menu 250 for selection of group communication on the group talk screen 210.” Jung ¶ 92; see also Jung ¶ 59 (further describing the menu 250, which is illustrated in FIG. 2E).
the first control is used to indicate to create a chat task,
“In the present invention, the group communication menu 250 includes a menu” with “group talk” as one of the menu choices. Jung ¶ 92.
and the chat interface creation method further comprises: receiving a third operation for the first control in the member selection interface;
A “touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517.” Jung ¶ 93.
and the displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the second operation and the third operation.
“In step 519, when the touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517, the controller 150 controls the operation corresponding to the menu in which the touch event is detected. For example, the controller 150 controls to perform the group talk with the other users selected by the user when the menu in which the touch event is detected is the group talk.” Jung ¶ 93.
Claim 17
Jung, Chang, and Kim teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 15,
wherein the member selection interface further comprises a second control,
“In step 517, when the preset group communication method is not the automatic execution method, that is, when the preset group communication method is the manual execution method, the controller 150 displays the group communication menu 250 for selection of group communication on the group talk screen 210.” Jung ¶ 92; see also Jung ¶ 59 (further describing the menu 250, which is illustrated in FIG. 2E).
the second control is used to indicate to create a chat task and a file sending task, a file type of a file comprises any file type in a document file, an image file, or a media file,
“In the present invention, the group communication menu 250 includes a menu such as . . . the group talk [or] the data (e.g., an image or a video) transmission.” Jung ¶ 92.
and the chat interface creation method further comprises: receiving a fourth operation for the second control in the member selection interface;
A “touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517.” Jung ¶ 93.
and the displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the second operation and the fourth operation, wherein the second group chat interface comprises the file.
“In step 519, when the touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517, the controller 150 controls the operation corresponding to the menu in which the touch event is detected.” Jung ¶ 93. “If the selected menu is the data transmission, the controller 150 controls to transmit data to the other users selected by the user, . . . displays a gallery screen so as to transmit data, and controls to transmit data selected according to the touch event of the user to the other user selected by the user. The controller 150 performs the selective data transmission for at least one other user selected by the user, not the entire data transmission for all other users who are joining in the group talk.” Jung ¶ 102.
Claim 18
Jung, Chang, and Kim teach the chat interface creation method according to claim 15,
wherein the member selection interface further comprises a third control,
“In step 517, when the preset group communication method is not the automatic execution method, that is, when the preset group communication method is the manual execution method, the controller 150 displays the group communication menu 250 for selection of group communication on the group talk screen 210.” Jung ¶ 92; see also Jung ¶ 59 (further describing the menu 250, which is illustrated in FIG. 2E).
the third control is used to indicate to create a chat task and a video/audio call task,
“In the present invention, the group communication menu 250 includes a menu such as the group call [or] the group talk” options. Jung ¶ 92.
and the chat interface creation method further comprises: receiving a fifth operation for the third control in the member selection interface;
A “touch event is detected in the group communication menu 250 in step 517.” Jung ¶ 93.
and the displaying the second group chat interface based on the second operation comprises: displaying the second group chat interface in response to the second operation and the fifth operation, wherein the second group chat interface is an interface for initiating a video/audio call to the member user selected through the second operation.
“If the selected menu is the group call, the controller 150 connects the selective group call with the other users selected by the user,” rather than the entire group. Jung ¶ 99. “For example, as shown in FIG. 2G, the controller 150 displays a screen 270 indicating that the group call is being connected between the user (me), the first other user (e.g., user C), and the second other user (e.g., user A)). Accordingly, the user performs the selective group call with other users (e.g., user A and user C) selected by the user. Thus, the present invention can execute the selective group call with at least one other user selected by the user, instead of the entire group call with all other users who are joining in the group talk.” Jung ¶ 62.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Justin R. Blaufeld
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2151
/Justin R. Blaufeld/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151
1 See, e.g., Ex Parte Rebstock, 2014-001247 (April 7, 2017); Ex parte Mehta, PTAB Appeal No. 2017-011252 at *20–22 (Application No. 13/422,647, Aug. 23, 2019) (“identifying, by the insurance computer system, the online group for an insurance offering update based on a size of the online group changing beyond a threshold amount”); Ex parte Carasso, PTAB Appeal No. 2018-005963 at *17–20 (Application No. 14/611,093) (Jan. 24, 2019) (“based on user input indicating that development of a text extraction rule is complete”); Ex parte Sabin (PTAB 2023) (App. S.N. 16/723,088), at 2-3; Ex parte Baltar (PTAB 2023) (App. S.N. 15/714,480) at 5; Ex parte Silvestre (PTAB 2023) (App. S.N. 15/532,953) at 11; Ex parte Banescu (PTAB 2021) (App. S.N. 14/898,856) at 12 (supporting the interpretation that “based on” limitations are conditional).
2 See, e.g., Ex Parte Rebstock, 2014-001247 (April 7, 2017); Ex parte Mehta, PTAB Appeal No. 2017-011252 at *20–22 (Application No. 13/422,647, Aug. 23, 2019) (“identifying, by the insurance computer system, the online group for an insurance offering update based on a size of the online group changing beyond a threshold amount”); Ex parte Carasso, PTAB Appeal No. 2018-005963 at *17–20 (Application No. 14/611,093) (Jan. 24, 2019) (“based on user input indicating that development of a text extraction rule is complete”); Ex parte Sabin (PTAB 2023) (App. S.N. 16/723,088), at 2-3; Ex parte Baltar (PTAB 2023) (App. S.N. 15/714,480) at 5; Ex parte Silvestre (PTAB 2023) (App. S.N. 15/532,953) at 11; Ex parte Banescu (PTAB 2021) (App. S.N. 14/898,856) at 12 (supporting the interpretation that “based on” limitations are conditional).