DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ communication filed on 11/22/2023. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims -1, 4, 9-10, 12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2022/0190870 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 Liu teaches the limitations "A radio-frequency system, comprising: (see abstract);
a radio-frequency transceiver; and (see fig. 1 (1));
a radio-frequency transceiving circuit, connected to the radio-frequency transceiver, wherein the radio-frequency transceiving circuit comprises a first transceiving channel and a second transceiving channel; (see fig. 1 (2) and par. 0035);
the first transceiving channel comprises a first transceiving module, the first transceiving module is connected to a first antenna, the second transceiving channel comprises a second transceiving module, and the second transceiving module is connected to a second antenna; (see fig. 1 (22, 23) and par. 0035-0036, and ant. 1 and ant. 2).
wherein one of the first transceiving module and the second transceiving module is switchably configured as a target transceiving module, the target transceiving module and the antenna connected to the target transceiving module are configured to support transmission or primary reception of a target radio-frequency signal, and the other of the first transceiving module and the second transceiving module and the antenna connected thereto are configured to support diversity reception of the target radio-frequency signal" (see fig. 1 (2 and 21) and par. 0033-0037, where DPDT switch 21 switches out first and second transceiver modules for diversity (see par. 0036 “The first receiving module 23 is a receiving module that satisfies receiving functions of the LTE signal frequency band and the 5G signal frequency band.” Also see par. 0039 “4 channels of reception”).
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 18 Liu teaches the limitations "A communication device, comprising: (see abstract);
a radio-frequency transceiver; and (see fig. 1 (1));
a radio-frequency transceiving circuit, connected to the radio-frequency transceiver, wherein the radio-frequency transceiver circuit comprises a first transceiving channel, a first receiving channel, a second transceiving channel, and a second receiving channel; (see fig. 3 (combination of modules 2 and 3 are equated to the transceiver circuit and have 4 channels) and par. 0047);
the first transceiving channel is configured to be selectively connected to one of a first antenna and a third antenna, and the first receiving channel is configured to be selectively connected to the other of the first antenna and the third antenna; (see fig. 4 and par. 0048, showing Switch 21 connecting first and third antennas to first channel);
and the second transceiving channel is configured to be selectively connected to one of a second antenna and a fourth antenna, and the second receiving channel is configured to be selectively connected to the other of the second antenna and the fourth antenna; (see fig. 4 and par. 0049 (switch 311 connecting other antennas (i.e. 2nd and 4th) to second transceiver module);
wherein the first transceiving channel or the second transceiving channel is configured to support transmission and primary reception of a target radio-frequency signal, and the transmission and primary reception of the target radio-frequency signal are configured switchable among the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna, and the fourth antenna" (See fig. 1 and 4, showing target radio signal configured for transmission and reception on switchable ant1, ant2, ant3, and ant4. Also see par. 0048 and 0050 “In this embodiment, the first switch unit is set as a DPDT switch, and an externally connected 5G transmitting module and two DPDT switches may be configured to perform 2T4R and 1T4R functions of SRS signals...”).
Regarding Claim 4 Liu teaches the limitations "The radio-frequency system according to claim 1, wherein the radio-frequency transceiver is configured with a first output port, a second output port, a first input port, and a second input port; (see fig. 1 (2) and par. 0037);
the first output port is connected to a first transmitting channel of the first transceiving module, and the second output port is connected to a second transmitting channel of the second transceiving module; (see channels from first and second transceiving modules 22 and 23 to ant1 and ant1) and the first input port is connected to a first sub-receiving channel of the first transceiving module, and the second input port is connected to a second sub-receiving channel of the second transceiving module; and (see fig. 4 (input ports from RF transceiver 1);
wherein the radio-frequency transceiver further comprises: a first transmitting unit, connected to the first output port, and configured to transmit and process the target radio-frequency signal; a second transmitting unit, connected to the second output port, and configured to transmit and process the target radio-frequency signal; (see fig. 4 where multiple transmitting units transmit and process signals);
and a control unit, connected to the first transmitting unit and the second transmitting unit, and configured to determine a target transmitting unit from the first transmitting unit and the second transmitting unit, wherein one of the first transceiving module and the second transceiving module connected to the target transmitting unit is configured as the target transceiving module" (see par. 0012 “controlling the first radio frequency module and the second radio frequency module to transmit a first signal and a second signal respectively; where the first radio frequency module transmits the first signal through a first antenna and a second antenna, and the second radio frequency module transmits the second signal through a third antenna and a fourth antenna.”).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 9 Liu teaches the limitations "The radio-frequency system according to claim 1, wherein the radio-frequency transceiver circuit further comprising:
a first switching unit, wherein the first transceiving module is selectively connected to one of the first antenna and a third antenna through the first switching unit;
a first receiving module, selectively connected to the other of the first antenna and the third antenna through the first switching unit, and configured to support receiving processing of a radio- frequency signal;
a second switching unit, wherein the second transceiving module is selectively connected to one of the second antenna and a fourth antenna through the second switching unit; and
a second receiving module, selectively connected to the other of the second antenna and the fourth antenna through the second switching unit, and configured to support receiving processing of the radio-frequency signal; (see fig. 1 showing first and second switching units which connect 1 of four antennas to RF transceiver);
wherein in response to the radio-frequency system being in an LTE working mode or an SA working mode, one of the first antenna, the second antenna, the third antenna and the fourth antenna is switchably configured as a primary antenna for the transmission or primary reception of the target radio-frequency signal" (see fig. 1 and par. 0003 “In the existing 5G architecture design, for example, N41, to perform related functions of N41 standalone (SA) 2T4R (2 channels of transmission and 4 channels of reception) and 1T4R (1 channel of transmission and 4 channels of reception) and non-standalone (NSA) 1T4R, N41 generally requires that 2 new radio (NR) transmitting modules are externally connected.” And par. 0039).
Regarding Claim 10 Liu teaches the limitations "The radio-frequency system according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first receiving module, connected to a third antenna, and configured to support receiving processing of a first radio-frequency signal and receiving processing of a second radio-frequency signal; and (see fig. 1 (2) and fig. 3 (2) connected to ant1 and ant2);
a second receiving module, connected to a fourth antenna, and configured to support receiving processing of the first radio-frequency signal and receiving processing of the second radio-frequency signal; (see fig. 3 (3) second receiving module connected to ant3 and ant4)
and wherein in response to the radio-frequency system being in a Non-Standalone (NSA) working mode, the first transceiving module and the first antenna are configured to support transmission and reception of the first radio-frequency signal, and the second transceiving module and the second antenna are configured to support transmission and reception of the second radio-frequency signal;
or the first transceiving module and the first antenna are configured to support transmission and reception of the second radio-frequency signal, and the second transceiving module and the second antenna are configured to support transmission and reception of the first radio-frequency signal; wherein communication formats of the first radio-frequency signal and the second radio-frequency signal are different from each other" (see par. 0039 “ Standalone and non-standalone NR bands need to support a technology of 2T4R (2 channels of transmissions and 4 channels of reception) or 1T4R (1 channel of transmission and 4 channels of reception) that transmits SRSs by turns through antennas. 2T4R of SRS signals includes two channels of SRS signals. Because 2T4R of SRS signals includes two channels of SRS signals, optionally, a first channel of SRS signal passes through the first radio frequency module 2 (that is, the LTE radio frequency module) and the first DPDT switch 21, and is sent through ANT1 and ANT2. A second channel of SRS signal passes through the second radio frequency module 3 (that is, the NR radio frequency module) and the first switch unit 31, and is sent through ANT3 and ANT4. In this way, the network radio frequency structure implements 2T4R of SRS signals.”).
Regarding Claim 19 Liu teaches the limitations "The communication device according to claim 18, wherein the radio-frequency transceiver circuit further comprising: a first switching unit, wherein the first transceiving channel is selectively connected to one of the first antenna and the third antenna through the first switching unit, and the first receiving channel is selectively connected to the other of the first antenna and the third antenna through the first switching unit; and a second switching unit, wherein the second transceiving channel is selectively connected to one of the second antenna and the fourth antenna through the second switching unit, and the second receiving channel is selectively connected to the other of the second antenna and the fourth antenna through the second switching unit" (see fig. 3 (showing two switching units that connect to ant1-4 and fig. 7 (701) showing control of transmit signal switching and par. 0039.
Regarding Claim 20 Liu teaches the limitations "The communication device according to claim 18, wherein the first antenna or the third antenna is configured as a primary antenna for the target radio-frequency signal in response to the first transceiving channel being configured to support the transmission and primary reception of the target radio-frequency signal; or the second antenna or the fourth antenna is configured as a primary antenna for the target radio- frequency signal in response to the second transceiving channel being configured to support the transmission and primary reception of the target radio-frequency signal" (see fig. 0039, fig. 3, 7 and par. 0061-0063 “Control the first radio frequency module and the second radio frequency module to transmit a first signal and a second signal respectively; where the first radio frequency module transmits the first signal through a first antenna and a second antenna, and the second radio frequency module transmits the second signal through a third antenna and a fourth antenna; or control the second radio frequency module to transmit the first signal and the second signal”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectfully above, and further in view of Sanchez et al. (US 2014/0187284 A1).
Regarding Claim 2 Liu teaches the limitations "The radio-frequency system according to claim 1, wherein a primary antenna is an antenna of the first antenna and the second antenna and is connected to one of the first transceiving module and the second transceiving module, which is currently configured as the target transceiving module;
a diversity antenna is the other antenna of the first antenna and the second antenna and is connected to the other of the first transceiving module and the second transceiving module, which is not currently configured as the target transceiving module; and (see fig. 1 (ant1 and ant2, target and diversity) and par. 0037);
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose the limitation “ the radio-frequency transceiver is further configured to configure the other of the first transceiving module and the second transceiving module as the target transceiving module in response to received signal quality of the target radio-frequency signal received by the diversity antenna being greater than received signal quality of the target radio- frequency signal received by the primary antenna.”
In the same field of endeavor Sanchez teaches a LTE dual antenna system where discloses a mobile device 200 using two antennas 210, 212 and two separate transceivers 211, 213 which may be used depending on different factors such as signal conditions, signal quality indicators, and/or input from device sensors. The present embodiment provides the mobile device 200 with the plurality of antennas 210, 212, a plurality of transmit and receive paths 215, 216, the plurality of radio transceivers 211, 213, a baseband chipset 214, and a switch 217. The switch 217 is configured to change the assignment of antennas to transmission and reception paths. More particularly, in a system with at least two antennas 210, 212 and at least voice traffic and data traffic, the switch 217 may be used to assign the antenna with the best radio frequency (RF) link to the voice traffic, and the other antenna to the data traffic, for example (see abstract, fig. 1 and par. 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control transmission paths based on RSSI as taught by Sanchez in the system of Liu, in order to improve signal quality (see par. 0004 of Sanchez).
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Regarding Claim 3 Liu and Sanchez teach the limitations "The radio-frequency system according to claim 2, wherein the radio-frequency transceiver is further configured to configure the first transceiving module as a default target transceiving module of a radio-frequency signal, and the radio-frequency transceiver is further configured to configure the second transceiving module as the target transceiving module in response to a difference value between signal quality of the radio-frequency signal received by the second transceiving module and signal quality of the radio-frequency signal received by the first transceiving module being greater than a preset threshold" (see Sanchez “If the quality RF link of the second RF link is higher than the quality of the first RF link, the voice transmission signal may be received through the second antenna and the data transmission signal may be received through the first antenna. If the quality RF link of the first RF link is higher than the quality of the second RF link, the voice transmission signal may continue to be received through the first antenna, and the data transmission signal may continue to be received through the second antenna.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control transmission paths based on RSSI threshold (i.e. the corresponding quality of other link) as taught by Sanchez in the system of Liu, in order to improve signal quality (see par. 0004 of Sanchez).
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons set forth above because the claims have similar limitations or have been addressed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 11 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID BILODEAU whose telephone number is (571)270-3192. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6:00am-4:00pm Eastern Standard Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/David Bilodeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648