DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 10-2010-0042509 A – See English Text) in view of Won et al. (KR 10-2017-0124954 A – See English Text).
Regarding independent claim 7, Kim et al. disclose an operation method of an electronic device, comprising: acquiring a data set associated with a short-range communication circuit included in an external device, wherein the data set includes identification information associated with the external device (see page 5, Details Description, paragraph 5 – page 6, paragraph 1; “The display unit 20 can display broadcast signals received wired or wirelessly through the broadcasting station 51 or Internet 56. The display unit 20 may be a DTV or IPTV display unit. The display unit 20 can display identification objects (A to F) corresponding to content acquired or capable of being acquired through the Internet, USP memory 61, short-range wireless communication 66, etc. Identification objects (A to F) are displayed in the identification object display area 22 of the display unit 20. Identification objects (A to F) display information about the content. Content can be sound sources, etc. classified by various contents that can be acquired or acquired. For example, when the content is a variety of sound sources, the first identification object (A) may display a picture that can representatively display the genre, creator, performer, singer, and characteristics of the sound source. Additionally, identification objects (A to F) may be displayed separately according to the genre of the sound source. Identification objects (A to F) can be selected, activated, deactivated, etc. by a control signal from the control unit 30”); controlling a state of a first content group corresponding to the identification information of a particular content group among a plurality of content groups provided on a first execution screen of the application and controlling a state of a remaining second content group to an inactivated state (see page 5, Details Description, paragraph 6 – page 6, paragraph 1; “Identification objects (A to F) are displayed in the identification object display area 22 of the display unit 20. Identification objects (A to F) display information about the content. Content can be sound sources, etc. classified by various contents that can be acquired or acquired. For example, when the content is a variety of sound sources, the first identification object (A) may display a picture that can representatively display the genre, creator, performer, singer, and characteristics of the sound source. Additionally, identification objects (A to F) may be displayed separately according to the genre of the sound source. Identification objects (A to F) can be selected, activated, deactivated, etc. by a control signal from the control unit 30. The control unit 30 generates control signals for the display unit 20, the storage medium 40, etc. The control unit 30 control the display status of the identification objects (A to F) displayed on the display unit 20 and facilitates the user’s selection by activating or deactivating the identification objects (A to F) according to the user’s selection, can do. That is, the control unit 30 includes the selection module 31 and the motion module 32 and performs control operations on the identification objects (A to F)”); and providing at least one digital content (picture) associated with the first content group (see page 5, Details Description, paragraph 6; “display a picture that can representatively display the genre, creator, performer, singer, and characteristics of the sound source”). Kim et al. do not explicitly disclose the method above comprising executing an application implemented to provide a function for searching for at least one content. However, Won et al. disclose an operation method of an electronic device (figure 1, electronic device 100) comprising executing an application implemented to provide a function for searching for at least one content (page 7, paragraphs 3-5; providing a function search by a plurality of second applications through an execution screen of a first application). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of executing an application implemented to provide a function for searching for at least one content of Won et al. to the method of Kim et al. for search desired contents.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 10-2010-0042509 A – See English Text) in view of Won et al. (KR 10-2017-0124954 A – See English Text) and further in view of Park et al. (KR 10-2012-0087348 A - See English Text).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. and Won et al. disclose the method of claim 7. However, Kim et al. and Won et al. do not explicitly disclose the method above wherein the providing of at least one digital content associated with the first content group comprises: adding at least one content found through the application implemented to provide a function for searching for the at least one content in at least one digital content associated with the first content group. However, Park et al. disclose an operation method of an electronic device comprising adding at least one content found through an application implemented to provide a function for searching for at least one content in at least one digital content associated with a first content group (See pages 6-7, description of figure 4; wherein a plurality of touch input element (1110) are coupled to a still image (111) using a body photo image file of a card object, a touch input element 91110) is configured to match a patterned video element (116), and incudes a second still image element (112) and a second video element (117) for providing additional image information of a card object). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of adding at least one content found through an application implemented to provide a function for searching for at least one content in at least one digital content associated with a first content group of Park et al. to the method of Kim et al. and Won et al. for providing additional content for ease of searching.
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. and Won et al. disclose the method of claim 7. Kim et al. and Won et al. do not explicitly disclose the method above wherein the providing of at least one digital content associated with the first content group comprises: updating at least one digital content associated with the first content group; and providing the updated at least one digital content. However, Park et al. disclose an operation method of an electronic device comprising updating at least one digital content associated with a first content group; and providing the updated at least one digital content (page 7, paragraph 2; a module capable of updating video and still image of a scene). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of updating at least one digital content associated with the first content group; and providing the updated at least one digital content of Park et al. to the method of Kim et al. and Won et al. for updating the content group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed over the cited prior art.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim et al. (KR 10-2010-0042509 A – See English Text) disclose an operation method of an electronic device, the method comprising: acquiring a data set associated with a short-range communication circuit included in an external device, wherein the data set includes identification information associated with the external device; controlling a state of a first album object corresponding to the identification information to an activated state among at least one album object corresponding to at least one album of a particular artist provided on a first execution screen of the application; and controlling a state of a remaining second album object to an inactivated state; when the first album object is selected: providing a second execution screen of the application including at least one first content associated with the first album object (see page 4, Technology Field, paragraph 1; and page 5, Details Description, paragraph 5 – page 6, paragraph 2). However, Kim et al. fail to disclose the method above further comprising executing an application implemented to provide a function for searching for at least one content associated with at least one artist; registering a particular photo card based on photographing a photo card associated with the external device; and providing a third execution screen of the application including at least one second content associated with the particular photo card.
Claims 2-6 are allowed for being dependent from claim 1 above.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. and Won et al. disclose the method of claim 7. However, Kim et al. and Won et al. fail to disclose the method above further comprising: photographing an image corresponding to the particular content group; and providing at least one digital content corresponding to the photographed image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Werner et al. (US 10,432,739 B2) disclose systems, apparatuses, and methods are provided for enhancing users' overall experiences with physical items by supplementing their physical experiences with digital experiences; a user uses an electronic device to scan a smart tag associated with an item to obtain an item identifier of the item; the electronic device sends the item identifier to a server, which selects digital content related to the item and sends the selected digital content to the user's electronic device for display.
Kim (US 9,955,288 B2) teaches an electronic device, including a short-range wireless communicator; and a controller configured to search for at least one display device connected to the electronic device through the short-range wireless communicator, group the at least one display device into at least one group, make a determination whether to deliver content information to the at least one group, and control the short-range wireless communicator to deliver group-specific content information to the at least one group based on the determination.
Choi et al. (US 8,577,988 B2) disclose a device includes a communication unit including at least one of a wireless communication module and a wired communication module, a controller configured to access, based on communications received through the communication unit, a plurality of identifiers which each mark a manipulation of content performed by an electronic device; the controller also is configured to facilitate output, on an output unit, of a representation of the plurality of identifiers.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645