DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 /22/2023 w as in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 18 and 20-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanders et al. ( US 2006/0192188 A1 , hereinafter referred to as “ Sanders ”). Regarding claim 18 , Sanders discloses a method for monitoring the operation of a winch, said winch comprising a motor ( Fig. 1, 22 ) driving a drum ( Fig. 1, 36 ) on which a cable ( Fig. 2, 38 ) is wound, said cable being able to be wound on said drum on several winding layers whose number varies depending on the winding and unwinding of the cable ( Fig. 2, 38 ) , wherein the number of winding layers of the cable ( Fig. 2, 38 ) can take different values between 1 and N, N being the maximum number of winding layers of the cable ( Fig. 2, 38 and para. [0030]: t he maximum and/or minimum distance values may be programmed into the rope layer sensor by “teaching” ) , said method implementing a continuous monitoring of the number of winding layers of the cable on the drum ( Fig s . 1 -2 , 36 ) by ensuring in real time ( Fig. 2 and para. [0026]: One aspect of the current invention is a direct measuring rope layer sensor 56 which measures the radial thickness RR of the rope currently on the winch drum 36…The sensor 56 than transmits rope layer signals 72, 74 indicative of the distance DR to the ECU 46 ) at least the following steps: measuring a first parameter representative of a linear travel speed of the cable at the outlet of the drum ( para. [0037]: the ECU 46 can calculate the load (i.e., pull) on the rope 38 and/or the speed of the rope, note that the above feature of “ speed of rope ” reads on “first parameter” ) ; measuring a second parameter representative of a rotation speed of the drum ( para. [0025]: The output speed sensor 54 detects the speed of the gear reduction unit output 34 or the winch drum 36 and provides an output speed signal 64 to the ECU 4 , note that the above feature of “ speed of winch drum” reads on “ second parameter” ) ; determining the number of winding layers of the cable as a function of the first parameter ( para. [0037]: see above ) and the second parameter ( para. [00 25 ]: see above ) ; and logging in a database, over a given period of time, of values of the number of winding layers which are associated with layer numbers, to establish specific cumulative durations of use specific to each layer number ( para. [0035]: Dynamic System Monitoring—The various measured system parameters including system pressure signal 58, input speed signal 60, oil data signals 62, output speed signals 64, rope layer signals 72 and 74 , can be converted by the ECU 46 into standardized units, and this data 76 can be sent by the ECU 46 to a display or PC 80 for viewing by the operator for logging purposes , note that the above feature of “rope layer signals 72 and 74” and “logging purposes” reads on “values of the number of winding layers” and “logging in a database,” respectively ) . Regarding claim 20, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that measuring the second parameter consists in a direct measurement of the rotation speed of the drum ( Fig. 2 and para . [0025]: t he output speed sensor 54 detects the speed of the gear reduction unit output 34 or the winch drum 36 and provides an output speed signal 64 to the ECU 4 ) or in a measurement of an output speed of the motor ( para. [0037]: speed of motor ). Regarding claim 21, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a calculation of the linear travel speed of the cable as a function of the first parameter (P1) ( para. [0037]: the ECU 46 can calculate the load (i.e., pull) on the rope 38 and/or the speed of the rope ) , and a calculation of the rotation speed of the drum as a function of the second parameter (P2; P2') ( Fig. 2 and para . [0025]: t he output speed sensor 54 detects the speed of the gear reduction unit output 34 or the winch drum 36 and provides an output speed signal 64 to the ECU 4 ) , and the number of winding layers of the cable ( Fig. 2, 38 ) is determined as a function of a ratio between the linear travel speed of the cable ( para. [0037]: speed of the rope ) and the rotation speed of the drum ( para. [0025]: speed pf winch drum , note that since Sanders teaches speed of the rope in para. [0037] and speed of drum in para. [0025], function of a ratio between the speed of the cable (i.e. rope) and speed of the drum is an inherent function al property ) . Regarding claim 22, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a determination of a length of unwound or wound cable as a function of the number of winding layers of the cable and a reference position ( para. [0030]: The maximum and/or minimum distance values may be programmed into the rope layer sensor by “teaching” , note that the above feature of “programmed maximum and/or minimum distance values” reads on “reference”) . Regarding claim 23, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a detection of a change in the number of winding layers of the cable ( para. [0035]: Dynamic System Monitoring—The various measured system parameters including system pressure signal 58, input speed signal 60, oil data signals 62, output speed signals 64, rope layer signals 72 and 74, can be converted by the ECU 46 into standardized units , note that the above feature of “dynamic system monitoring for rope layer signals” reads on “ a detection of a change in the number of winding layers of the cable” ) . Regarding claim 24, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements an estimation of a damage index for the cable as a function of the cumulative durations of use specific to each layer number ( para: [0030]: the maximum and/or minimum distance values may be programmed into the rope layer sensor by “teaching ”, i.e., by activating the sensor in a first setting mode when the rope layer is at a minimum acceptable distance causing the sensor 56 to record its current distance measurement and store it as the minimum limit point , or activating the sensor in a second setting mode when the rope layer is at the maximum acceptable distance causing the sensor to record its current measurement and store it as the maximum limit point After teaching, the sensor 56 will send a digital signal 74 to the ECU 46 if either limit point is exceeded , note that the above feature of “the sensor 56 will send a digital signal 74 to the ECU 46 if either limit point ( i.e. damage index ) is exceeded” reads on “estimation of a damage index for the cable as a function of the cumulative durations of use specific to each layer number” ) . Regarding claim 25, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 24, in addition, Sanders discloses that the damage index is classified as critical when at least one of the cumulative durations of use is less than a critical threshold over the given period of time ( para. [0030]: the minimum limit point ; para. [0035]: Dynamic System Monitoring ; para s . [0 066]: during the sample period , note that the above feature of “minimum limit point” in para. [0030] , “ Dynamic System Monitoring” in para. [0035], and “ sample period” in para. [00 66 ] reads on “the damage index is classified as critical when at least one of the cumulative durations of use is less than a critical threshold over the given period of time”). Regarding claim 26, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 25, in addition, Sanders discloses that an alarm is generated when the damage index is classified as critical ( para. [0030]: the sensor 56 will send a digital signal 74 to the ECU 46 if either limit point is exceeded , note the above feature of “digital signal” reads on “alarm”). Regarding claim 27, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a monitoring of an angular position of the drum ( para. [0057]: winch direction sensor 674 detecting whether the operator controls 676 are in “HOIST” or “LOWER” position ) . Regarding claim 28, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 27, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a determination of a number of coils of the cable as a function of the number of winding layers of the cable ( para. [0026]: one aspect of the current invention is a direct measuring rope layer sensor 56 which measures the radial thickness RR of the rope currently on the winch drum 3 , note that the above feature of “a direct measuring rope layer sensor 56 which measures the radial thickness RR” reads on “a determination of a number of coils of the cable as a function of the number of winding layers of the cable” ) and the angular position of the drum ( para. [0057]: winch direction sensor 674 detecting whether the operator controls 676 are in “ HOIST” or “LOWER” position; para . [0090]: Winch direction (HOIST or LOWER) may be determined ) . Regarding claim 29, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 27, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a detection of a winding fault of the cable as a function of the number of winding layers of the cable ( para. [0030]: the sensor 56 will send a digital signal 74 to the ECU 46 if either limit point is exceeded , note the above feature of “digital signal” reads on “fault”) and the angular position of the drum ( para. [0057 ]: winch direction sensor 674 detecting whether the operator controls 676 are in “ HOIST” or “LOWER” position; para . [0090]: Winch direction (HOIST or LOWER) may be determined ) . Regarding claim 30, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that the winch is a lifting winch of a lifting device, such as for example a crane ( Fig. 3 winch system exhibits the lifting winch ) , in order to lift/lower a load suspended from a hook fixed on the cable ( Fig. 3, wire rope 303 including hook ) , or the winch is a luffing winch of a lifting device of the luffing boom crane type, to tilt a boom more or less in order to lift/ lower a load suspended from a hook attached to the boom ( Fig. 3 exhibits that t he winch is a luffing winch of a lifting device of the luffing boom crane type to tilt a boom more or less in order to lift/ lower a load suspended from a hook attached to the boom ; para . [0090]: Winch direction (HOIST or LOWER) may be determined ) . Regarding claim 31, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 30, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a determination of a height under the hook (H) ( Fig. 3, hook ) , corresponding to a vertical distance between the hook ( Fig. 3, hook ) and the ground on which the lifting device rests ( Fig. 3, 3 20 ; Fig. 3 exhibits that determination of a height under the hook (H), corresponding to a vertical distance between the hook and the ground on which the lifting device rests ) , said height under hook (H) being determined continuously as a function of the number of winding layers ( Fig. 3 exhibits that said height under hook (H) being determined continuously as a function of the number of winding layers ) . Regarding claim 32, Sanders discloses all the limitation of claim 30, in addition, Sanders discloses that the method implements a determination of a load indicator which is representative of a weight of the load, said load indicator being determined continuously as a function of the number of winding layers ( para. [0044]: t he EWMS system 304 may sense and evaluate multiple load ) . Regarding claim 33 , it is a system type claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 8 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rational as of claim 18 above. Regarding claim 34, Sanders discloses a lifting device ( Fig. 3 ) , comprising: a lifting winch ( Fig. 3, winch mechanism 300 ) comprising a motor ( Fig. 3, motor ) driving a drum ( Fig. 3, 302 ) on which is wound a lifting cable ( Fig. 3, 303 ) connected to a hook ( Fig. 3, hook ) to lift/lower a load ( Fig. 3, 3 20 ) suspended from this hook ( Fig. 3, hook ) , said lifting cable ( Fig. 3, 303 ) being able to be wound on said drum ( Fig. 3, 302 ) on several winding layers ( Fig 2, 38; Fig. 3, 303 ) whose number varies depending on the winding and unwinding of the lifting cable, or a luffing winch ( Fig. 3, winch mechanism 300 ) comprising a motor ( Fig. 3, motor ) rotatably driving a drum ( Fig. 3, 302 ) on which is wound a luffing cable ( Fig. 3, 303 ) which is connected to a boom ( Fig. 3 , arm including hook ) to raise or lower the latter in order to lift/lower a load suspended from a hook ( Fig. 3, hook ) fixed on the boom ( Fig. 3 , arm including hook) ; and wherein said lifting apparatus ( Fig. 3) comprises a monitoring system ( Fig. 3, 304; para. [0035]: Dynamic System Monitoring ) according to claim 33 for monitoring the operation ( para. [0035]: Dynamic System Monitoring ) of said lifting winch or said luffing winch ( Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, winch mechanism 300 ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanders in view of Shee et al. (US 20100294479 A1, hereinafter referred to as “ Shee ”). Regarding claim 19, Sanders teaches all the limitation of claim 18, in addition, Sanders discloses that measuring the first parameter (P1) ( para. [0037]: the ECU 46 can calculate the load (i.e., pull) on the rope 38 and/or the speed of the rope ) consists in measuring a rotation speed of a durum on which the cable circulates at the outlet of the drum ( Fig. 2 and para. [0025]: the output speed sensor 54 detects the speed of the gear reduction unit output 34 or the winch drum 36 and provides an output speed signal 64 to the ECU 4 ), the linear travel speed of the cable ( para. [0037]: the speed of the rope ) being deduced as a function of this rotation speed of the durum and of a geometry of the pulley ( Fig.2 and para. [0025]: speed of the winch drum 36 ). Sanders does not specifically teach a rotation speed of pulley and a geometry of the pulley. However, Shee teaches teach a rotation speed of pulley ( Fig. 2, 46 and para. [0056]: the sheave assembly may comprise a rotational sensor adapted to sense or determine the rotational speed of the roller ) and a geometry of the pulley ( Fig. 2, 46 ). Sanders and Shee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of winch assembly . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pulley such as is described in Shee into Taylor, in order to allow the load on the roller shaft to be proportional to the tension within the spoolable medium ( Shee , para. [0055]). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sallee et al. (US 2015/0379783 A1) teaches that a cable drum receives a length of working cable that is wound in and out from the drum in response to powered rotation of the drum with an uppermost layer of working cable on the drum forming a working surface. A torque sensor in communication with the cable drum measures a torque applied to the cable drum due to tension on the working cable from a load. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SANGKYUNG LEE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-3669 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 8:30am-5:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, LEE RODARK can be reached at 571-270-5628 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SANGKYUNG LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 /LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858