Status of Claims
Applicant filed an amendment on May 26, 2026. Claims 1-21 were pending in the Application. Claims 1 and 7 are amended. No new claims have been added. Claims 10-21 remain withdrawn. Claims 1 and 7 are the independent claims, the remaining claims depend on claims 1 and 7. Thus claims 1-9 are currently pending. After careful and full consideration of Applicant arguments and amendments, the Examiner finds them to be moot and/or not persuasive.
Response to Arguments
In the context of 35 U.S.C. §101, Applicant respectfully traverses the rejection. Applicant is of the opinion that the claims are statutory and respectfully asserts that “the claims in their prior form were not directed to merely an abstract idea; the claims are presently amended to more specifically focus them on specific data that is exchanged by three disparate computers operated by separate entities in order to facilitate the performance of an automated transaction as claimed; and the claims as amended are directed to significantly more than any abstract idea and to a practical, technological application”.
Initially, the Examiner would like to point out that the basis of the rejection is Alice, by applying the subject matter eligibility analysis and flowchart according to MPEP § 2106, which applies a two-step framework, earlier set out in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., 566 U.S. 66 (2012), "for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts." Alice, 573 U.S. at 217.
Under the two-step framework, it must first be determined if "the claims at issue are directed to a patent-ineligible concept." If the claims are determined to be directed to a patent-ineligible concept, e.g., an abstract idea, then the second step of the framework is applied to determine if "the elements of the claim ... contain an "inventive concept" sufficient to 'transform' the claimed abstract idea into a patent-eligible application." (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 79).
With regard to step one of the Alice framework, we apply a "directed to" two-prong test: 1) evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception, and 2) if the claim recites a judicial exception, evaluate whether the claim "applies, relies on, or uses the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception," i.e., whether the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.1. and II.B.2.).
The Specification, (PG Pub US 20240338772 A1, para 3), provides evidence as to what the claimed invention is directed. In this case, the specification, (‘772 A1, para 3), discloses that the invention generally relates to identifying and executing life insurance policy exchanges, and is grouped under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk)”, and is grouped under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)”, in prong one of step 2A. (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.1.).
Claim 7 provides additional evidence, and recites the limitations “a client computer operated by a policy owner, sending a first electronic message assigning the policy owner's life insurance policy to a qualified intermediary conditioned on the intermediary selling the policy to a third party and using the proceeds to purchase an alternative insurance contract, the first electronic message comprising life insurance data regarding the policy owner's life insurance policy and first data conditioning the assignment of the policy owner's life insurance policy on the intermediary using the proceeds of the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract; in response to receiving the first electronic message from the client computer, an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary verifying the first data's presence and accuracy and selling the life insurance policy in exchange for proceeds by sending an electronic message to the third party's computer comprising the life insurance policy data and data conditioning the sale of the life insurance on the qualified intermediary using the proceeds from the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract for the policy holder; the intermediary computer sending a second electronic message to a provider computer to purchase an alternative insurance contract with the proceeds conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner, the second electronic message comprising second data conditioning the alternative insurance contract purchase on the replacement contract being transferred from the intermediary to the policy owner; in response to receiving the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, the provider computer generating the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner using the proceeds and sending a third message to the intermediary computer transferring the alternative insurance contract; in response to receiving the third message from the provider computer, the intermediary computer sending to the client computer a fourth message transferring the alternative insurance contract to the policy owner”, which represent the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchange”. The abstract idea is in italics, and the additional elements are in bold. (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.1.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.2.), the additional elements of the claim, such as “an electronic exchange”, “computers coupled together through an electronic network”, “a client computer operated by a policy owner, sending a first electronic message”, “in response to receiving the first electronic message from the client computer, an intermediary computer operated”, “sending an electronic message to the third party's computer”, “the intermediary computer sending a second electronic message to a provider computer”, “in response to receiving the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, the provider computer”, and “in response to receiving the third message from the provider computer, the intermediary computer sending to the client computer”, amount to merely “apply it”, as they represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to automating the acts of “life insurance policy exchange”.
Examiner notes the basis of the rejection was, and is not as any mental process covering performance in the mind, but classified as an abstract idea, “life insurance policy exchange”, grouped under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk)”, and is grouped under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)”.
With respect to the additional elements operating in a non-conventional and non-generic way and reflecting an improvement to a particular technological environment, the cited additional elements represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to automating the acts of “life insurance policy exchange.” The claim is not directed to improving computer functionality nor improving another technology or technical field, but improving the method for “life insurance policy exchange”. For potential improvement in an abstract idea, “life insurance policy exchange”, it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a life insurance policy exchange concept) is not an improvement in technology. (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(1)). Therefore, claim 7 is non-statutory.
Finally, Examiner notes the basis of the rejection is Alice, by applying the subject matter eligibility analysis and flowchart according to MPEP § 2106. And, based on this standard, the claims are non-statutory, and correctly rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim 1 also recites the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchange”, as well as the additional elements of “a system configured to facilitate an electronic exchange”, “a client computer operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network, and configured to send a first electronic message”, “an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network, and configured to: …”, “receive the first electronic message from the client computer”, “sending an electronic message to the third party's computer”, “receive a third message from the provider computer”, “a provider computer coupled to the network and configured to receive the second electronic message from the intermediary computer”, and “wherein the intermediary computer is further configured to send to the client computer, and the client computer is further configured to receive”, which amount to merely “apply it”, as they represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to automating the acts of “life insurance policy exchange”.
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describe the concept of “life insurance policy exchange” using computer technology (e.g., “a client computer operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network, and configured to send a first electronic message” and “an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network”). Therefore, the use of these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And as the computer does no more than serve as a tool to automate the abstract idea, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field. Therefore, claim 1 is non-statutory.
In the context of 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Unclear Scope, paragraph 11 of the Non-Final Rejection Office Action dated December 23, 2025, Applicant has amended claims 1 and 7 to render the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Unclear Scope, moot. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended to eliminate the exemplary claim language (MPEP § 2173.05 (d)) “such as”, which was the basis for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Unclear Scope. Examiner hereby rescinds the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), Unclear Scope, paragraph 11 of the Non-Final Rejection Office Action dated December 23, 2025.
In the context of 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant respectfully submits neither Lutnick nor Sexton disclose life insurance exchanges specifically through a qualified intermediary. Nor does either reference disclose the exchange of electronic messages as claimed which include the data regarding the necessary conditions for each step in the transaction as just described.
Examiner has considered the argument that neither Lutnick nor Sexton disclose life insurance exchanges specifically through a qualified intermediary and is not persuaded. Examiner submits that Sexton, para 23, discloses “… The tax avoidance advantage is accomplished by periodically transforming the annuity investment gains into premiums for a life insurance policy. Further growth of the transformed gains in the life insurance policy is tax-free as long as the insurance company observes the requirements of the Internal Revenue Code for life insurance. Therefore, the computer 30 (or computers) not only track the investment gains in the annuity and the life insurance policies but the computer/computers track the insurance portion of the product to ensure that the life insurance policy or policies continuously meet the IRC. If a policy fails to meet the IRC definition of life insurance at any time, the policy is not given favorable tax treatment …”, which teaches and/or suggests a qualified intermediary, as the computers tracking the investment gains in the annuity and the life insurance policy or policies continuously meet the Internal Revenue Code.
Therefore, the amended claim 1, as well as amended claim 7, stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Dependent claims 2-6 which depend on claim 1; and dependent claims 8-9 which depend on claim 7, also stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for claims 1-9 is maintained.
Examiner also finds the applicant argument of neither reference disclosing the exchange of electronic messages as claimed, which include the data regarding the necessary conditions for each step in the transaction, moot in view of new grounds of rejection, and therefore, amended claim 1, as well as amended claim 7, is not patentable. Amended claim 1, as well as amended claim 7, stands rejected under 35 U.S.C §103 in the analysis below, and is therefore, not patentable in view of Spalding, Jr. (US 20050192849 A1) now applying to the applicable amended sections for claim 1, as well as to amended claim 7. Therefore, amended claim 1, and similarly amended claim 7, stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Claims 2-6, which depend on claim 1; and claims 8-9, which depends on claim 7, also stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The current rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for claims 1-9 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1-6 are directed to a “system”, and claims 7-9 are directed to a “method”. Therefore, these claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Claim 7 recites “life insurance policy exchange”, which is a form of commercial or legal interactions and is a form of fundamental economic principles or practices (i.e., organizing human activity), and an abstract idea. Abstract ideas are italicized, and the additional elements are in bold. Specifically, claim 7 recites “a client computer operated by a policy owner, sending a first electronic message assigning the policy owner's life insurance policy to a qualified intermediary conditioned on the intermediary selling the policy to a third party and using the proceeds to purchase an alternative insurance contract, the first electronic message comprising life insurance data regarding the policy owner's life insurance policy and first data conditioning the assignment of the policy owner's life insurance policy on the intermediary using the proceeds of the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract; in response to receiving the first electronic message from the client computer, an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary verifying the first data's presence and accuracy and selling the life insurance policy in exchange for proceeds by sending an electronic message to the third party's computer comprising the life insurance policy data and data conditioning the sale of the life insurance on the qualified intermediary using the proceeds from the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract for the policy holder; the intermediary computer sending a second electronic message to a provider computer to purchase an alternative insurance contract with the proceeds conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner, the second electronic message comprising second data conditioning the alternative insurance contract purchase on the replacement contract being transferred from the intermediary to the policy owner; in response to receiving the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, the provider computer generating the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner using the proceeds and sending a third message to the intermediary computer transferring the alternative insurance contract; in response to receiving the third message from the provider computer, the intermediary computer sending to the client computer a fourth message transferring the alternative insurance contract to the policy owner. The abstract idea is in italics, and the additional elements are in bold. (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.1.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.2.), the additional elements of the claim, such as “an electronic exchange”, “computers coupled together through an electronic network”, “a client computer operated by a policy owner, sending a first electronic message”, “in response to receiving the first electronic message from the client computer, an intermediary computer operated”, “sending an electronic message to the third party's computer”, “the intermediary computer sending a second electronic message to a provider computer”, “in response to receiving the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, the provider computer”, and “in response to receiving the third message from the provider computer, the intermediary computer sending to the client computer”, amount to merely “apply it”, as they represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to automating the acts of “life insurance policy exchange”.
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “life insurance policy exchange” using computer technology (e.g., “a client computer operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network, and configured to send a first electronic message” and “an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network, and configured to: …”). Therefore, these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And as the computer does no more than serve as a tool to automate the abstract idea, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field. Therefore, claim 7 is non-statutory.
Claim 1 also recites the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchange”, as well the additional elements of “a system configured to facilitate an electronic exchange”, “a client computer operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network, and configured to send a first electronic message”, “an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network, and configured to: …”, “receive the first electronic message from the client computer”, “sending an electronic message to the third party's computer”, “receive a third message from the provider computer”, “a provider computer coupled to the network and configured to receive the second electronic message from the intermediary computer”, and “wherein the intermediary computer is further configured to send to the client computer, and the client computer is further configured to receive”, which amount to merely “apply it”, as they represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to automating the acts of “life insurance policy exchange”.
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “life insurance policy exchange” using computer technology (e.g., “a client computer operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network, and configured to send a first electronic message” and “an intermediary computer operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network”). Therefore, the use of these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And as the computer does no more than serve as a tool to automate the abstract idea, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field. Therefore, claim 1 is non-statutory.
Dependent claims 2-6 and 8-9 further describe the abstract idea of “life insurance policy exchange”, which is insufficient to overcome the rejections of claims 1 and 7, above.
Dependent claims 5-6 and 9 do not recite any new additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and that do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to automating the acts of “life insurance policy exchange”, when analyzed under Step 2A, Prong Two. And, as they do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or a technical field, when analyzed under Step 2B.
Dependent claim 2 recites new additional elements of “a third party computer coupled to the network and configured ” and “a fifth electronic message”, which do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And, as they do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea, they do not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field.
Dependent claim 3 recites a new additional element of “electronically transfer”, which does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And, as it does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea, it does not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field.
Dependent claim 4 recites a new additional element of “a database”, which does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And, as it does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea, it does not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field.
Dependent claim 8 recites a new additional element of “sending a further electronic message to a third party computer coupled to the network”, which does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea. And, as it does no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate the abstract idea, it does not improve computer functionality nor improve another technology or technical field.
Hence, claims 1-9 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutnick et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070226015 A1), herein referred to as Lutnick, in view of Sexton (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140195271 A1), herein referred to as Sexton, and in further view of Spalding, Jr. (US 20050192849 A1), herein referred to as Spalding.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Lutnick specifically discloses a system configured to facilitate an electronic exchange of a life insurance policy through a qualified intermediary, the system comprising:
a client computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 101; para 163, “… Workstations 101 may be personal computers, laptop computers, mainframe computers, dumb terminals, data displays, Internet browsers, Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs), two-way pagers, wireless terminals, portable telephones, etc., or any combination of the same. Workstations 101 may be used to enter into and proceed with the trades that relate to the invention…”) operated by a policy owner, coupled to a network (FIG. 1, 2, item 103; para 162, “… Computer network 103 may be any suitable computer network including the Internet, an intranet, a wide-area network (WAN), a local-area network (LAN), a wireless network, a digital subscriber line (DSL) network, a frame relay network, an asynchronous transfer mode (ATM) net-work, a virtual private network (VPN), a general packet radio service (GPRS) network, or any combination of any of the same. Communications links 102 and 105 may be any communications links suitable for communicating data between workstations 101 and server 104, …”), and configured to send a first electronic message assigning the policy owner's life insurance policy to a qualified intermediary conditioned on the intermediary (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161, “… server 104 may be any suitable server, processor, computer, or data processing device, or combination of the same. Server 104 may be used to process and settle executed trades of settlement contracts …”) selling the policy to a third party (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment …”) and using the proceeds of the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract, the alternative insurance contract comprising an annuity or life insurance policy (FIG. 1, 2, items 104, 211; para 166, “… Processor 211 uses the server program to receive, sort, and search settlement contracts, and transact the purchase and sale of the settlement contracts. Processor 211 may include settlement calculation processor 215 that may be implemented to determine the benchmark values based on market conditions or other criteria that may relate to the insurance policy contracts …”), …
an intermediary computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161, “… server 104 may be any suitable server, processor, computer, or data processing device, or combination of the same. Server 104 may be used to process and settle executed trades of settlement contracts …”) operated by the qualified intermediary, coupled to the network (FIG. 1, 2, item 103; para 162, “… Computer network 103 may be any suitable computer network including the Internet, an intranet, a wide-area network (WAN), a local-area network (LAN), a wireless network, a digital subscriber line (DSL) network, a frame relay network, an asynchronous transfer mode (ATM) network, a virtual private network (VPN), a general packet radio service (GPRS) network, or any combination of any of the same. Communications links 102 and 105 may be any communications links suitable for communicating data between workstations 101 and server 104, such as network links, dial-up links, wireless links, hard-wired links, fiber optical links, etc. …”), and configured to:
receive the first electronic message from the client computer (para 142, “… a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment. Such settlements may be greater or less than the cash value of the policy or the amount offered by the insurance company and may increase the desires of the insured to sell the right to his policy benefit to the third party …”),
verify the first data’s presence and accuracy (FIG. 7, item 700; para 199, “… FIG. 7 shows a graphical user interface 700 according to the invention that may be used to query a database and select settlements contracts and/or policies relating to buying or selling life settlements. Graphical user interface 700 may be viewed on display 202. The interactive screen section 710 displays an area in which the user (who may be an individual submitting their policy to the system, a broker selling a policy for a policyholder, or any other suitable entity) may select any combination of information pertaining to a policyholder 711 that may appear in policyholder information section 611 of settlement profile 600. The fields 713 pertain to the policyholder that appears in interactive screen 710. Fields 713 may correspond to fields 511 and 611 available in settlement profile 500 or 600. Any fields that cannot be viewed 715 in the interactive screen may be scrolled down/up to be displayed, using the interactive button 712, which enables a user to either scroll up or down the fields pertaining to policyholder 711. The entries and values 714 inputted by a user pertaining to fields 713 are displayed alongside their respective field …”), …
send a second electronic message to a provider computer (FIG. 1, 2, items 112, 221; para 167, “… clearing center 112 may include processor 221, … Processor 221 uses the clearing program to clear executed trades. Clearing executed trades may preferably include exchanging currency for a future commitment …”) to purchase an alternative insurance contract with the proceeds conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner (FIG. 2, item 211; para 166, “… Processor 211 uses the server program to receive, sort, and search settlement contracts, and transact the purchase and sale of the settlement contracts. Processor 211 may include settlement calculation processor 215 that may be implemented to determine the benchmark values based on market conditions or other criteria that may relate to the insurance policy contracts …”), …
receive a third message from the provider computer transferring the alternative insurance contract to the qualified intermediary conditioned on the alternative insurance contract being transferred to the policy owner (FIG. 11B, item 1170B; para 253, “… In the final step there may be a transfer of ownership of one or more policies and/or contracts 1170B. It is this step that completes the sale of one or more insurance policies and/or contracts and enables the purchaser to further re-sell one or more policies and/or contracts to other purchasers if he so chooses …”); and …
wherein the intermediary computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161) is further configured to send to the client computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 101; para 146, “… If Person A chooses to accept this settlement, he may assign, transfer, devise, lease, or bequest the benefits of the insurance policy to Person B and collect the sum offered by Person B in the transaction …”; para 163, “… Workstations 101 may be personal computers, laptop computers, mainframe computers, dumb terminals, data displays, Internet browsers, Personal Digital Assistants (PDAs), two-way pagers, wireless terminals, portable telephones, etc., or any combination of the same. Workstations 101 may be used to enter into and proceed with the trades that relate to the invention, and display trade, benchmark, status, or spread information to users of system 100 …”), and the client computer is further configured to receive, a fourth message transferring the alternative insurance contract to the policy owner (FIG. 11B, item 1170B; para 253, “… In the final step there may be a transfer of ownership of one or more policies and/or contracts 1170B. It is this step that completes the sale of one or more insurance policies and/or contracts and enables the purchaser to further re-sell one or more policies and/or contracts to other purchasers if he so chooses …”).
Lutnick does not specifically disclose, however, Sexton discloses a provider computer (FIG. 4, item 212; para 37, “… The data processing system 200 includes a processor 212 in communication with the storage device 206, the processor configured to: …”) coupled to the network and configured to receive the second electronic message from the intermediary computer, generate the alternative insurance contract using the proceeds from the sale of the policy (FIG. 4, items 222, 224; para 37, “… calculate a value of the annuity contract at a second predetermined date 220, transfer the net annuity investment gain as a loan from the annuity contract to the life insurance owner 222, and purchase life insurance with the amount of net annuity investment gain 224 …”), and send the third message to the intermediary computer transferring the alternative insurance contract (FIG. 1, 2, items 34, 40, 52; para 24, “… The annuity investment gain 34 is transferred, as symbolized by arrows 40, FIGS. 1 and 2, to a life insurance policy component of the inventive method and system as illustrated in a flow chart 50, FIG. 2. The individual or entity buying the product selects a life insurance policy 52, such as a fixed, variable or equity indexed universal life insurance policy. Next, a policy owner 54, an insured individual 56, and a policy beneficiary 58 are selected. The insurance company adds its policy fee 60, its cost for collecting insurance data 62, and the transferred annuity investment gain 64, symbolized by the arrow 40, and now transformed into a life insurance premium …”); …
Sexton discloses a combined annuity and life insurance method and system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life instruments, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide an interconnected annuity contract and life insurance contract, using investment gains in a deferred annuity contract to periodically purchase life insurance, with computers performing the necessary tracking, computations, transfers, and comparisons more easily and safely.
Lutnick and Sextion do not specifically disclose, however, Spalding discloses the first electronic message comprising life insurance data regarding the policy owner’s life insurance policy and first data conditioning the assignment of the policy owner’s life insurance policy on the intermediary using the proceeds of the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract (FIG. 6, item “I want to sell my policy and replace it with a new one”; para 43, “… FIG. 6, the "sell a policy" page, comes up when the user has entered the desired information in the column 52 and clicks on a "continue" button such as "go"98 as indicated. The "sell a policy" page has a link 100 to submit a new policy, and 102 to enable tracking of current auctions where the user represents the policies or owns the policy. Again, that will bring up the screen of FIG. 5 …”; para 46, “… The bottom of FIG. 6 shows options for the potential seller to see proprietary techniques, i.e. examples of how a viatical or life settlement can be advantageous to the seller; or to see a demonstration of how the policy might be sold and replaced with a new, higher face value policy. This can be achieved by incorporating a computer program that first appraises a current value for life settlement and then has an input screen for the current premiums being paid. A new quote for a policy of the same death benefit is run and if the proceeds from the sale of the policy combined with an ongoing premium are more advantageous than the current policy, a "swap" is recommended as in FIG. 9 There may be a link for a "sell it now" offer, such as indicated ("give me an offer right now"). This gives the policy owner the option to obtain a payment for a policy without being subject to the risk of the auction, and without all commissions that are payable if the auction is completed. In this case the buyer will be the online database system, which can have a fund set up for purchases of policies without auction …”); …
sell the life insurance policy to a third party in exchange for proceeds by sending an electronic message to the third party’s computer comprising the life insurance policy data and data conditioning the sale of the life insurance on the qualified intermediary using the proceeds from the sale to purchase an alternative insurance contract for the policy holder (FIG. 6, item “I want to sell my policy and replace it with a new one”; para 43, “… FIG. 6, the "sell a policy" page, comes up when the user has entered the desired information in the column 52 and clicks on a "continue" button such as "go"98 as indi-cated. The "sell a policy" page has a link 100 to submit a new policy, and 102 to enable tracking of current auctions where the user represents the policies or owns the policy. Again, that will bring up the screen of FIG. 5 …” para 46, “… The bottom of FIG. 6 shows options for the potential seller to see proprietary techniques, i.e. examples of how a viatical or life settlement can be advantageous to the seller; or to see a demonstration of how the policy might be sold and replaced with a new, higher face value policy. This can be achieved by incorporating a computer program that first appraises a current value for life settlement and then has an input screen for the current premiums being paid. A new quote for a policy of the same death benefit is run and if the proceeds from the sale of the policy combined with an ongoing premium are more advantageous than the current policy, a "swap" is recommended as in FIG. 9. There may be a link for a "sell it now" offer, such as indicated ("give me an offer right now"). This gives the policy owner the option to obtain a payment for a policy without being subject to the risk of the auction, and without all commissions that are payable if the auction is completed. In this case the buyer will be the online database system, which can have a fund set up for purchases of policies without auction …”), …
the second electronic message comprising second data conditioning the alternative insurance contract purchase on the replacement contract being transferred from the intermediary to the policy owner (FIG. 4, item 70; para 33, “… FIG. 4 shows an example of a "buy a policy" page which will be linked to the home page. To arrive at this page, the user preferably clicks on a "go" button 68 shown in FIG. 3 …”; para 34, “… The "buy a policy" page provides search criteria for the potential buyer. As shown in the drawing, the user can check any or all of the boxes indicating joint life policies, single life policies, term insurance, universal life, or whole life, and the user may specify male or female, age criteria and face amount, health status, life expectancy, cash value as a percentage of face amount, and premiums due as a percentage of face amount. Life expectancy as a search criterion will be available to search and find those policies where a life expectancy appraisal has been made by the system. The user will be advised that making a selection on this criterion may exclude a number of policies from review …”; para 35, “… FIG. 4 also indicates a "browse all" box 70 that can be selected. This will bring up a plurality of policies, based on a system-set criteria as to the order such policies will appear on the page. The system can use as a preference the amount of time left in the auction for the policies, so that the shortest-time policies will appear at the top of the screen …”), and …
Spalding discloses a system for facilitating life settlement transactions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a system for facilitating life settlement transactions, as in Spalding; and to include a combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life instruments, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide a strong incentive for an insured to enter into a life settlement transaction, selling the existing policy and realizing a fairly large sum of money, which can then be used to buy a permanent insurance policy with a far higher death benefit.
Regarding claim 2, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claim 1. Lutnick further discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a third party computer coupled to the network and configured to receive a fifth electronic message from the intermediary computer requesting to sell the life insurance policy for the proceeds conditioned on using the proceeds to purchase the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment …”) and electronically transfer the proceeds to the qualified intermediary in response to the fifth electronic (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment …”).
Regarding claim 3, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Lutnick and Sexton to not specifically disclose, however, Spalding discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the third party computer is configured to electronically transfer the proceeds to an escrow account of the intermediary (para 17, “… In such policies, premiums, less an expense or sales load and mortality charge, are paid into a separate investment account. The policy owner may specify, within limits, where the assets backing the cash value are to be invested …”).
Sexton discloses a combined annuity and life insurance method and system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton; and to include a system for facilitating life settlement transactions, as in Spalding, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life instruments, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide an immediate and increasing death benefit at a minimal mortality cost, while maintaining the tax advantages for the investment gains of the annuity policy and the non-tax status of the death proceeds from the life insurance policy.
Regarding claim 5, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Lutnick further discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the third party computer calculates the cost basis of the life insurance policy (FIG. 6, items 620, 640, 641, 642; para 188, “… The current trading prices such as bid price 640, ask price 641, last sale price 642, or any other relevant trading information or combination of the same is deter-mined by server 104 and a query of the current market values …”).
Regarding claim 6, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claims 1-2 and 5. Lutnick further discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the third party computer further calculates the proceeds for the life insurance policy based on a market value of the life insurance policy (FIG. 8, 9, items 830, 920; para 188, “… The presented real-time trade statistics correlate to the real-time market shown in FIG. 9 and respective database record fields. The settlement symbol is presented in column 910 and one or more of the real-time trade statistics relating to the given symbol is/are displayed in their respective columns. In this example it is shown that in column 920 the market OPEN price is $610,000 and corresponds to what is displayed in viewable display 830 …”).
Regarding claim 8, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claim 7. Lutnick further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the intermediary computer (FIG. 1, 2, item 104; para 161, “… server 104 may be any suitable server, processor, computer, or data processing device, or combination of the same. Server 104 may be used to process and settle executed trades of settlement contracts …”) selling the life insurance policy comprises the intermediary computer sending a further electronic message to a third party computer coupled to the network requesting to sell the life insurance policy for the proceeds conditioned (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment. Such settlements may be greater or less than the cash value of the policy or the amount offered by the insurance company and may increase the desires of the insured to sell the right to his policy benefit to the third party …”) on using the proceeds to purchase the alternative insurance contract for the policy owner (FIG. 1, 2, items 104, 211; para 166, “… Processor 211 uses the server program to receive, sort, and search settlement contracts, and transact the purchase and sale of the settlement contracts. Processor 211 may include settlement calculation processor 215 that may be implemented to determine the benchmark values based on market conditions or other criteria that may relate to the insurance policy contracts …”) and the third party computer electronically transferring the proceeds to the qualified intermediary in response to the fourth electronic message (FIG. 11B, item 1170B; para 253, “… In the final step there may be a transfer of ownership of one or more policies and/or contracts 1170B. It is this step that completes the sale of one or more insurance policies and/or contracts and enables the purchaser to further re-sell one or more policies and/or contracts to other purchasers if he so chooses …”).
Regarding claim 9, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claim 7. Lutnick further discloses the method of claim 7, comprising the third party computer (para 142, “… As an alternative to the insurance company, a third party may purchase the insurance policy. The third party purchaser may offer cash or other payments to the insured, whereby the purchaser receives the beneficial interest in the insurance policy in return for providing the insured with an agreed upon payment. Such settlements may be greater or less than the cash value of the policy or the amount offered by the insurance company and may increase the desires of the insured to sell the right to his policy benefit to the third party …”) calculating the proceeds for the life insurance policy (para 122, “… a life insurance policy may have a "cash surrender value", which is an amount paid to the owner of a life insurance policy in exchange for terminating the life insurance policy …”; para 125, “… A "whole life insurance policy" typically also includes an investment component, which accumulates a cash value that the owner can withdraw or borrow against …”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutknick et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070226015 A1), herein referred to as Lutknick, in view of Sexton (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20140195271 A1), herein referred to as Sexton, in view of Spalding, Jr. (US 20050192849 A1), herein referred to as Spalding, and in further view of Rugel (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220405854 A1), herein referred to as Rugel.
Regarding claim 4, Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding disclose the limitations of claims 1-2. Lutnick, Sexton, and Spalding do not specifically disclose, however, Rugel discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the third party computer is configured to identify the life insurance policy by at least:
submitting a query to a database storing life insurance policy data (FIG. 2, item 220; para 47, “… the insurance provider server 220 may extract the data fields used by the clearinghouse 210 to store and organize customer insurance data, and may submit those customer identifiers fields to the clearinghouse 210 (e.g., in a database query or other information request) to retrieve any life insurance data stored in the clearinghouse 210 for the customer …”);
identifying a plurality of candidate life insurance policies based on a result of the query (FIG. 6, item 600; para 34, “… the life insurance clearinghouse 210 may be configured to compile and group life insurance data for individual customers, as shown in FIG. 6, so that multiple life insurance policies obtained by a single cus-tomer from different insurance providers may be reflected in a single combined record. Such combined records may include … a combined number of life insurance policies for a single customer, a combined listing of life insurance providers for a single customer, and a combined life insurance policy amount for a single customer … life insurance policy data may be compiled and grouped into data records corresponding to groups of indi-viduals, for example, spouses, nuclear or extended families, or members of a business or organization, so that records may be stored in the life insurance clearinghouse 210 representing the combined life insurance policies, coverage amounts, and terms and for any group, family, company, organization, and the like …”);
selecting the life insurance policy from the plurality of candidate life insurance policies for offering a life insurance policy exchange (FIG. 3, item 303; para 48, “… After retrieving the customer's life insurance policy data from the clearinghouse 210 in step 303, this data may be analyzed and used to perform one or more life insurance determinations and actions … a customer's life insurance policy data retrieved from a clearinghouse 210 may be used to select one or more life insurance products ( e.g., a policy types, terms, coverage amounts, etc.) that will be offered to the customer, or to determine a maximum life insurance policy amount for which the customer is eligible …”);
obtaining offer data comprising requirements for an offer to purchase an alternative insurance contract (FIG. 3, items 301, 302, 303, 304, 305, 306; para 41, “… the customer might only provide certain identifying information (e.g., a name, email address, or social security number, etc.) in step 301, and techniques similar to those described below in steps 302-306 may be used to determine a life insurance product type, a coverage amount, and other life insurance terms appropriate for the customer and for which the customer is eligible, and then to offer the life insurance product(s) to the customer …”);
obtaining life insurance policy data and policy holder and insured information corresponding to the selected life insurance policy (FIG. 2, items 210, 220; para 29, “… insurance pro-vider servers 220 may be configured to determine life insurance customer data and policy data based on various interactions with customers, and then provide the life insur-ance customer data and policy data to one or more life insurance clearinghouses 210. Insurance provider servers 220 also may include software applications or modules to retrieve life insurance customer and/or policy data from life insurance clearinghouses 210, analyze the data, and perform various determinations and actions (e.g., processing life insurance applications and requests for changes to existing policies) based on the analysis of the data from life insurance clearinghouse(s) 210 …”); and
determining that the policy holder and insured information is a match for the requirements in the offer data (FIG. 3, 4, items 301, 401, 402; para 38, “… the data received in step 301 may correspond to a potential customer accessing (e.g., via customer terminal 230) an insurance provider server 220 to submit an application for a new life insurance policy, or to express interest in receiving an offer for a life insurance policy from the insurance provider 220. The data received in step 401 may include information identifying the customer or potential customer (e.g., the customer's name, address, phone number, email address, driver's license number, social security number, and/or the customer's current insurance providers, accounts, login credentials, and policy numbers, etc.) …”).
Rugel discloses a life insurance clearinghouse. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a life insurance clearinghouse, as in Rugel; to include a system for facilitating life settlement transactions, as in Spalding; and to include a combined annuity and life insurance method and system, as in Sexton, to improve and/or enhance the technology for products and processes for processing information in a market for life instruments, as in Lutnick, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide a life insurance clearinghouse system to store and maintain life insurance customer data and policy data in one or more life insurance databases such that when retrieved, the life insurance customer data and policy data can be more easily and accurately analyzed and used in various life insurance determinations and functions, such as processing a life insurance application or a requested change to the coverage amount or terms of an existing policy, or determining maximum combined coverage amounts for customers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Atkinson, III et al (U. S. Patent No. 10255637 B2) – Systems And Methods For Providing A Cash Value Adjustment To A Life Insurance Policy
Atkinson, III discloses a method and system for performing a cash value adjustment to an insurance policy issued by an insurer and owned by a policy owner, the method performed by a computer processing system. The method may include (1) inputting parameters of an insurance policy, the parameters including controlling parameters, and the controlling parameters including: (i) a constraint dictated parameter of the insurance policy; and (ii) a driven parameter of the insurance policy. The method may further include analyzing the relationship between the constraint dictated parameter and the driven parameter; and performing a re-underwriting of the insurance policy using the parameters of the insurance policy and a set of re-underwriting criteria. The method may further include generating re-underwritten policy data to constitute a re-underwritten policy. The method may include providing an annuity.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/STEVEN R CHISM/Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D. DONLON/
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3695