The amendment filed October 24, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-22 and 42-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the array of step (e)" in step (e). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the phrase will be interpreted as the array of step (d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 15-16, 20-21 and 42-43 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park (US 2010/0048744).
Claim 15: Park discloses a method for forming an array of microprotrusions (abstract; figs. 2A-2B). The method includes preparing a first solution atop a mold having an array of microprotrusion cavities corresponding to the negative of the array of microprotrusions, the first solution including a first solvent, a biodegradable first polymer, and an active ingredient (¶¶ 13, 22, 39-40; figs. 2A-2B), removing the first solvent to form a first layer (¶ 40), preparing a second solution atop the first layer, the second solution including a second solvent and a second polymer, wherein the second polymer is different from the first polymer (¶¶ 21, 39-40; figs. 2A-2B), removing the second solvent to form the array (¶ 40), and demolding the array (¶ 57). Park is silent as to casting the solutions. However, whether the solutions are cast atop the mold or prepared atop the mold, the end result is the same – solutions containing the claimed components atop the mold. The selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930).
Claim 16: Park discloses reducing the pressure to remove the first solvent (¶ 40).
Claim 20: Park discloses the mold made from a ceramic material (¶ 12).
Claim 21: Park discloses sonicating the mold following steps (a) or (c) (¶¶ 28-30).
Claim 42: Park discloses the biodegradable first polymer is PLA (¶ 13).
Claim 43: Park discloses the second polymer being polymethacrylate (¶ 21).
Claims 17-19, 22 and 44-46 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Park (US 2010/0048744), as applied to claim 15 above, in view of Prausnitz (US 2002/0082543).
Claim 17: Park is silent as to applying a pressure higher than atmospheric pressure. However, Prausnitz discloses a method for forming an array of microprotrusions including applying a pressure higher than atmospheric pressure (¶ 18). As taught by Prausnitz molding the polymer by compression molding allows the polymer to take the shape of the microneedles (¶ 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have utilized compression molding to allow the polymer to take the shape of the microneedles.
Claims 18 and 22: Prausnitz discloses placing the mold under compression (¶ 18).
Claim 19: Prausnitz discloses placing the polymer under an atmosphere including a gaseous substance which passes readily through the first solvent (¶ 18).
Claims 44-46: Prausnitz discloses water-swellable polymers, water and organic solvent (¶¶ 9, 86, 148).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754