Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Harney et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2004/0208552 Al) in view of Shpantzer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0186435 A1) and Spivey et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2005/0074237 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harney et al. teaches in FIG. 2 a system comprising clients 46 and optical sub-channel switch 44 for mapping the client signal to any available sub-channel. Harney et al. teaches in FIG. 4 route between a first node and a destination at a second node. The difference between Harney et al. and the claimed invention is that Harney et al. does not teach a separate laser operating at a distinct optical carrier frequency. Shpantzer et al. teaches in FIG. 3a a transmitter for generating a plurality of subchannel carriers fora WDM system. FIG. 3a comprises a separate light source 330 for each subchannel. Shpantzer et al. teaches in paragraph [0054] K discrete lasers for K subchannels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Shpantzer et al. with the system of Harney et al. because using discrete lasers allows each subchannel to be controlled independently. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use discrete lasers for the subchannels, as taught by Shpantzer et al., in the system of Harney et al. because using discrete lasers allows each subchannel to be controlled independently.
The combination of Harney et al. and Shpantzer et al. still fails to teach that the frequency of at least one subchannel is offset from an ITU-T grid. Spivey et al. teaches in paragraph [0003] the ITU grid of 100 GHz (or 50 GHz) separation and in FIG 5 the spectrum of subchannels. Since the subchannels can have separation of 4 GHz, it is necessary that some of the subchannels have offset from the ITU grid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Spivey et al. with the modified system of Harney et al. and Shpantzer et al. because using smaller channel spacing than the ITU grid provides more channels for a given bandwidth. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use subchannels with smaller channel spacing than the ITU grid, as taught by Spivey et al., in the modified system of Harney et al. and Shpantzer et al. because using smaller channel spacing than the ITU grid provides more channels for a given bandwidth.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,972,209. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Patent ‘209 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 of instant application.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,419,743. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Patent ‘743 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 of instant application.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,744,262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Patent ‘262 teaches all the limitations of claim 1 of instant application.
The following table maps the limitations between claim 1 of instant application and those of claim 1 of Patent ‘262, claim 1 of Patent ‘743 and claim 1 of Patent ‘209.
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of Patent ‘262
Claim 1 of Patent ‘743
Claim 1 of Patent ‘209
A system to route client signals among a plurality of nodes interconnected by one or more fiber optic cables to form an optical network, the system comprising:
A system that can route client signals among a plurality of nodes interconnected by one or more fiber optic cables to form an optical network, the system comprising:
A system that can route client signals among a plurality of nodes interconnected by one or more fiber optic cables to form an optical network, the system comprising:
A system to route client signals among a plurality of nodes interconnected by one or more fiber optic cables to form an optical network, the system comprising:
one or more optical subchannels, each optical subchannel corresponding to a separate laser operating at a distinct optical carrier frequency, wherein the optical carrier frequency at which the laser is operating for at least one subchannel is offset from an International Telecommunication Union, Telecommunication Sector (ITU-T) grid;
wherein each ITU channel has a predefined ITU frequency and a corresponding plurality of subchannels, and wherein each subchannel has an associated frequency with a predetermined offset from the predefined ITU frequency of the subchannel's corresponding ITU channel;(c) a tunable laser at the first node that can be set to a first subchannel frequency for which the second node has a filter to receive signals transmitted at that subchannel frequency,
wherein each ITU channel in the plurality of ITU channels has a predefined ITU frequency and a corresponding plurality of subchannels, and wherein each subchannel has an associated frequency with a predetermined offset from the predefined ITU frequency of the subchannel's corresponding ITU channel;a tunable laser at the first node that can be set to a first subchannel frequency
one or more optical subchannels within or across a plurality of International Telecommunication Union, Telecommunication Sector (ITU-T) channels, each ITU channel having a predefined ITU frequency and a corresponding plurality of optical subchannels, each of the one or more optical subchannels corresponding to a separate laser operating at a distinct optical carrier frequency offset from an International Telecommunication Union, Telecommunication Sector (ITU-T) grid;
a first network route that designates an origin of the one or more optical subchannels at a first node, and a destination for the corresponding one or more optical subchannels at a second node, wherein the first network route to transmit one or more of the client signals;
(b) a first network route that designates the origin of a first client signal at a first node, and a destination for the first client signal at a second node;
a first network route that designates the origin of a first client signal at a first node, and a destination for the first client signal at a second node;
a first network route that designates an origin of the one or more optical subchannels at a first node, and a destination for the corresponding one or more optical subchannels at a second node, wherein the first network route to transmit one or more of the client signals;
and a subchannel mapper to map at the first node the one or more of the client signals to the one or more optical subchannels.
(a) a subchannel mapper that can map each of a plurality of client signals to any available subchannel of any ITU channel,
a subchannel mapper that can map each of a plurality of client signals to a corresponding subchannel within or across a plurality of ITU channels,
and a subchannel mapper to map at the first node the one or more of the client signals to a one or more optical subchannels of a first of the plurality of ITU channels and a one or more optical subchannels of a second of the plurality of ITU channels different from the first of the plurality of ITU channels.
Conclusion
skl17 November 2025
/SHI K LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635