Why is eveNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Eby (US Patent 9609831) in view of Mason et al (US Patent 9062324) in light of Boehm (2014 Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange Masters Thesis, University of Tennessee pages 1-135).
The claims are directed to soybean variety 96070201 and methods of breeding and F1 hybrid seeds and plants derived therefrom. As indicated above, the breeding history in the instant application appears to be a locus conversion wherein two backcrosses to recurrent parent CP3813C5-C0DNN-01-25 were performed and the donor parent, GL4009C2-B1YN appears to be donating the A5547-127 event which confers glufosinate resistance. 16 traits are instantly disclosed for describing the instant soybean variety of which 14 are identical or near identical to the recurrent parent CP3813C5-C0DNN-01-25 further establishing that the instant variety is a locus conversion of the patented variety. The plant height, and relative maturity differ slightly but would be well within the instant definition of locus conversion wherein a variant might be present. In addition to locus conversions introducing variation through linkage drag, it is also possible that the differences are due to environmental differences. The recurrent patented parent was measured in a different year (2010-2015) than the instant variety (2017-2019) as well as different locations including Puerto Rico and Argentina and therefore numerical comparisons of environmentally impacted traits such as plant height and seed size cannot reliably distinguish the two varieties. Additionally, Applicants do not describe donor line GL4009C2-B1YN such that one of skill in the art would know what could be expected to be introduced trait-wise from the donor parent such that the resultant variety would have a reasonable expectation of success when evaluating the instantly claimed variety trait table. Applicants further do not provide any statistical error bars for one of skill in the art to determine if a given variety is within the reasonable range for each traits such that it can be distinguished from the instant variety. In order for the differences cited above to distinguish this variety from a locus conversion of the recurrent parent already covered in US Patent 9609831 claim 13, the differences need to be both unexpected and practically significant. See MPEP 716.02(b)
716.02(b) Burden on Applicant [R-08.2012]
I. BURDEN ON APPLICANT TO ESTABLISH RESULTS ARE UNEXPECTED AND SIGNIFICANT
The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength "are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration."); Ex parte C, 27 USPQ2d 1492 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Applicant alleged unexpected results with regard to the claimed soybean plant, however there was no basis for judging the practical significance of data with regard to maturity date, flowering date, flower color, or height of the plant.). See also In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) and In re Eli Lilly, 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as discussed in MPEP § 716.02(c).
This principle was also recently affirmed in Ex parte McGowen (Appeal 2019-006060) wherein the decision affirmed burden for Applicant to establish that the trait differences would be both unexpected and have practical significance.
Eby teaches soybean variety CP3813C5-C0DNN-01-25, methods of breeding said variety, F1 hybrid seeds and plants therefrom as well as more specifically a locus conversion (see claim 13) wherein a trait is introgressed such as event A5547-127 and backcrossed to the recurrent parent. Eby additionally teaches a method of transforming a plant of the variety (claim 8), and a plant produced by said transformation (see claim 10), including herbicide tolerance (see claim 9) and methods of introducing a locus conversion (see claim 11).
Eby further states “A single locus conversion of the site-specific integration system allows for the integration of multiple genes at the converted loci” clearly encompassing multiple trait differences in a single locus conversion (see column 25 3rd full paragraph). Eby further teach that fewer backcrosses may be used in locus conversions wherein the donor parent is highly related to the recurrent parent (see columns 25-26) Eby also teaches that pedigree breeding may be combined with backcrossing to introduce one or more traits (see column 29). Although this method appears to be geared towards the development of new varieties, it shares some common features with locus conversions mentioned above including using as few as 2 backcrosses to a recurrent parent, such that the two methods cannot be readily distinguished from one another without knowing the relatedness of the donor variety to the recurrent parent.
Eby does not specifically teach variety GL4009C2-B1YN or event A5547-127.
Mason teaches soybean plants comprising elite events including EE-GM2 wherein EE-GM2 was deposited under NCIMB accession 41660 (column 3, lines 30-32) which is an alternative name to event A5547-127. Mason et al further teaches combining glyphosate and glufosinate resistance genes.
Boehm measures multiple traits in different locations in the process of introgressing traits in soybean using the backcross method (see throughout, specifically tables 5.4 and 5.5). Boehm backcrosses to the recurrent parent for 5 generations, which would be expected to result in substantially higher similarity of the resultant line with the recurrent parent than in the instant application. Table 5.4 demonstrates a considerable range of yield, lodging and height when compared to the recurrent parent, wherein height differs by as much as 19cm, lodging 1.1 and yield by as much as 18.4. Again, it is noteworthy that these differences are with individuals that are closer genetically to the recurrent parent than the instant variety, and yet such variation would be expected given these results. It is of further note that wide ranges are also observed when grown in different locations. As noted above, the recurrent parent of the instant case in the patented disclosure was grown in a different location and in a different year than the instant variety, all of which would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that a substantial amount of variation in some traits might be observed in a locus conversion, and still be considered a locus conversion within the metes and bounds of the claim 13 of the patented case.
Given the state of the art and the disclosures by Eby, Mason, and Boehm it would have been obvious to introgress event A5547-127 into the soybean variety taught by Eby to combine resistance genes as taught by and suggested by Mason using the backcrossing method taught by Eby, and the amount of variation observed would be well within the expected amounts in light of Boehm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s urge that the Affidavit of Mr. Mason establish that there would not have been a reasonable expectation of success in increasing yield by introducing event A5547-127 as the event does not increase yield and that herbicide tolerance events in general are not known to increase yield (see pages 5-6 of the Response).
This is not persuasive because the Examiner is not asserting that event A5547-127 increases yield. Furthermore the comparisons cited by Mr. Mason as well as in the arguments are not applicable because they are drawn to the original lines carrying event A5547-127 and not the specific donor line used in the instant application to generate the instantly claimed locus conversion. In answer to both arguments, the Examiner is not contending that the yield increase is coming from the event itself, but rather that the yield increase is coming through as a trait from the donor plant and that since the donor plant is not described in the instant specification regarding its traits the Examiner is asserting the yield characteristic was present in the donor plant and example of a trait that occasionally gets carried through as one carries out a locus conversion consistent with locus conversions, or backcross generated progeny known in the art and consistent with the descriptions herein within the instant specification. As outlined above, a patent has already been issued for the recurrent parent wherein claims drawn to locus conversions which would encompass the instant claims have already been granted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No 9609831 in view of mason (US Patent 9062324) in light of Boehm (2014 Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange Masters Thesis, University of Tennessee pages 1-135).
The claims are directed to soybean variety 96070201 and methods of breeding and F1 hybrid seeds and plants derived therefrom. As indicated above, the breeding history in the instant application appears to be a locus conversion wherein two backcrosses to recurrent parent CP3813C5-C0DNN-01-25 were performed and the donor parent, GL4009C2-B1YN appears to be donating the A5547-127 event which confers glufosinate resistance. 16 traits are instantly disclosed for describing the instant soybean variety of which 14 are identical or near identical to the recurrent parent CP3813C5-C0DNN-01-25 further establishing that the instant variety is a locus conversion of the patented variety. The plant height, and relative maturity differ slightly but would be well within the instant definition of locus conversion wherein a variant might be present. In addition to locus conversions introducing variation through linkage drag, it is also possible that the differences are due to environmental differences. The recurrent patented parent was measured in a different year (2010-2015) than the instant variety (2017-2019) as well as different locations including Puerto Rico and Argentina and therefore numerical comparisons of environmentally impacted traits such as plant height and seed size cannot reliably distinguish the two varieties. Additionally, Applicants do not describe donor line GL4009C2-B1YN such that one of skill in the art would know what could be expected to be introduced trait-wise from the donor parent such that the resultant variety would have a reasonable expectation of success when evaluating the instantly claimed variety trait table. Applicants further do not provide any statistical error bars for one of skill in the art to determine if a given variety is within the reasonable range for each traits such that it can be distinguished from the instant variety. In order for the differences cited above to distinguish this variety from a locus conversion of the recurrent parent already covered in US Patent 9609831 claim 13, the differences need to be both unexpected and practically significant. See MPEP 716.02(b)
716.02(b) Burden on Applicant [R-08.2012]
I. BURDEN ON APPLICANT TO ESTABLISH RESULTS ARE UNEXPECTED AND SIGNIFICANT
The evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Mere conclusions in appellants’ brief that the claimed polymer had an unexpectedly increased impact strength "are not entitled to the weight of conclusions accompanying the evidence, either in the specification or in a declaration."); Ex parte C, 27 USPQ2d 1492 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (Applicant alleged unexpected results with regard to the claimed soybean plant, however there was no basis for judging the practical significance of data with regard to maturity date, flowering date, flower color, or height of the plant.). See also In re Nolan, 553 F.2d 1261, 1267, 193 USPQ 641, 645 (CCPA 1977) and In re Eli Lilly, 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) as discussed in MPEP § 716.02(c).
This principle was also recently affirmed in Ex parte McGowen (Appeal 2019-006060) wherein the decision affirmed burden for Applicant to establish that the trait differences would be both unexpected and have practical significance.
Eby teaches soybean variety CP3813C5-C0DNN-01-25, methods of breeding said variety, F1 hybrid seeds and plants therefrom as well as more specifically a locus conversion (see claim 13) wherein a trait is introgressed such as event A5547-127 and backcrossed to the recurrent parent. Eby additionally teaches a method of transforming a plant of the variety (claim 8), and a plant produced by said transformation (see claim 10), including herbicide tolerance (see claim 9) and methods of introducing a locus conversion (see claim 11).
Eby further states “A single locus conversion of the site-specific integration system allows for the integration of multiple genes at the converted loci” clearly encompassing multiple trait differences in a single locus conversion (see column 25 3rd full paragraph). Eby further teach that fewer backcrosses may be used in locus conversions wherein the donor parent is highly related to the recurrent parent (see columns 25-26) Eby also teaches that pedigree breeding may be combined with backcrossing to introduce one or more traits (see column 29). Although this method appears to be geared towards the development of new varieties, it shares some common features with locus conversions mentioned above including using as few as 2 backcrosses to a recurrent parent, such that the two methods cannot be readily distinguished from one another without knowing the relatedness of the donor variety to the recurrent parent.
Eby does not specifically teach variety GL4009C2-B1YN or event A5547-127.
Mason teaches soybean plants comprising elite events including EE-GM2 wherein EE-GM2 was deposited under NCIMB accession 41660 (column 3, lines 30-32) which is an alternative name to event A5547-127. Mason et al further teaches combining glyphosate and glufosinate resistance genes.
Boehm measures multiple traits in different locations in the process of introgressing traits in soybean using the backcross method (see throughout, specifically tables 5.4 and 5.5). Boehm backcrosses to the recurrent parent for 5 generations, which would be expected to result in substantially higher similarity of the resultant line with the recurrent parent than in the instant application. Table 5.4 demonstrates a considerable range of yield, lodging and height when compared to the recurrent parent, wherein height differs by as much as 19cm, lodging 1.1 and yield by as much as 18.4. Again, it is noteworthy that these differences are with individuals that are closer genetically to the recurrent parent than the instant variety, and yet such variation would be expected given these results. It is of further note that wide ranges are also observed when grown in different locations. As noted above, the recurrent parent of the instant case in the patented disclosure was grown in a different location and in a different year than the instant variety, all of which would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that a substantial amount of variation in some traits might be observed in a locus conversion, and still be considered a locus conversion within the metes and bounds of the claim 13 of the patented case.
Given the state of the art and the disclosures by Eby, Mason, and Boehm it would have been obvious to introgress event A5547-127 into the soybean variety taught by Eby to combine resistance genes as taught by and suggested by Mason using the backcrossing method taught by Eby, and the amount of variation observed would be well within the expected amounts in light of Boehm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s urge that the Affidavit of Mr. Mason establish that there would not have been a reasonable expectation of success in increasing yield by introducing event A5547-127 as the event does not increase yield and that herbicide tolerance events in general are not known to increase yield (see pages 5-6 of the Response).
This is not persuasive because the Examiner is not asserting that event A5547-127 increases yield. Furthermore the comparisons cited by Mr. Mason as well as in the arguments are not applicable because they are drawn to the original lines carrying event A5547-127 and not the specific donor line used in the instant application to generate the instantly claimed locus conversion. In answer to both arguments, the Examiner is not contending that the yield increase is coming from the event itself, but rather that the yield increase is coming through as a trait from the donor plant and that since the donor plant is not described in the instant specification regarding its traits the Examiner is asserting the yield characteristic was present in the donor plant and example of a trait that occasionally gets carried through as one carries out a locus conversion consistent with locus conversions, or backcross generated progeny known in the art and consistent with the descriptions herein within the instant specification. As outlined above, a patent has already been issued for the recurrent parent wherein claims drawn to locus conversions which would encompass the instant claims have already been granted.
No claims are allowed.
/BRENT T PAGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663