DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of made of record does not teach or fairly suggest the combination of claimed elements “wherein a gradient of an inclined surface of the inclined area is less than a ratio of a height of the side surface to a width of the bottom surface” as recited in claim 6. Therefore, claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of made of record does not teach or fairly suggest the combination of claimed elements “wherein the first step comprises a first side surface of which an edge contacts the inclined area and a first bottom surface intersecting the first side surface, and the second step comprises a second side surface, of which an edge contacts the first bottom surface, and a second bottom surface intersecting the second side surface” as recited in claim 8. Therefore, claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fathollahi (US 20200295795 A1) in view of Japanese unexamined (patent no. 2013-179364) cited in IDS filed on 11/22/2023 hereinafter referred as “JP-Ref” and Korean unexamined (patent no. 10-2020-0126403) cited in IDS filed on 11/22/2023 hereinafter referred as “KR-Ref”.
Regarding claim 1 Fathollahi teaches a case (Fig. 2) comprising: a base plate (Fig. 2C:400); a hole formed through the base plate (Fig. 2A:224 and Par. 72, aperture (hole)); a pattern that is on one surface of the base plate (Fig. 2C and Par. 73, 80-81, pattern 430); an inclined area that is between the hole and the pattern (Fig. 2C); and
However, Fathollahi does not teach wherein a first angle that the inclined area forms with a central axis of the hole is greater than a second angle that is an angle of view through the hole.
JF-Ref teaches such feature (Fig. 22 and Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the above teaching as taught by JP-Ref into Fathollahi to provide a more durable case.
The modified Fathollahi further teaches the pattern 430 is a honey comb wall pattern including any arrangement of shapes such hexagon, circle, etc. (Pars. 80-81) and it is very well-known that the honeycomb structure includes a plurality of raised portions and recessed portions. However, the modified does not specifically teach the pattern comprises “a plurality of crests and a plurality of troughs”.
KR-Ref teaches the pattern is at any shape/structure including highest point of waves and lowest point of waves (Fig. 1G) with the same/equal spacing or different/unequal spacing from one from another (Page 30). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to incorporate the above teaching as taught by KR-Ref into the modified Fathollahi to provide a high level of impact protection.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein the plurality of crests and the plurality of troughs are alternately arranged, and a radius of curvature of one of the plurality of crests is different from a radius of curvature of one of the plurality of troughs (Par. 48, unequally spaced from one another in the defined pattern).
Regarding claim 3 and similarity claim 16, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein the inclined area is between the pattern and the at least one step (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 4 and similarity claim 17, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein the at least one step is spaced apart from the pattern (Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 5 and similarity claim 18, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein the at least one step comprises a side surface that faces a central axis of the hole and of which an edge contacts the inclined area and a bottom surface having a normal line intersecting the side surface and parallel to the central axis of the hole (JP-Ref, Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein there is a plurality of steps, and the plurality of steps comprises a first step that is adjacent to the pattern and a second step that is between the first step and the hole (JP-Ref, Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 9 and similarity claim 19, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein a radius of curvature of one of the plurality of crests is different from a radius of curvature of another of the plurality of crests (Par. 48, unequally spaced from one another in the defined pattern).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein a radius of curvature of one of the plurality of troughs is different from a radius of curvature of another of the plurality of troughs (Par. 48, unequally spaced from one another in the defined pattern).
Regarding claim 11 and similarity claim 20, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein the plurality of crests is adjacent to one of the plurality of troughs and comprises a first crest and a second crest that are opposite to each other based on the one of the plurality of troughs (KR-Ref, 1G), wherein respective distances spaced apart from the one of the plurality of troughs to the first crest and the second crest are different from each other (Par. 48, unequally spaced from one another in the defined pattern).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the case of claim 1, wherein the plurality of troughs is adjacent to one of the plurality of crests and comprises a first trough and a second trough that are opposite to each other based on the one of the plurality of crests (KR-Ref, 1G), wherein respective distances spaced apart from the one of the plurality of crests to the first trough and the second trough are different from each other (Par. 48, unequally spaced from one another in the defined pattern).
Regarding claim 13, apparatus of claim 13 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1 (apparatus) for the apparatus of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, method of claim 14 is performed by the apparatus of claims 1 ad 2. They recite same scope of limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claims 1 and 2 (apparatus) for the method of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Fathollahi teaches previous claim. The modified Fathollahi further teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the hole is formed prior to the pattern (Fig. 2A, first layer 300 and Pars. 57-59. 69).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Brown US 20200154839 A1
Fathollahi et al. US 20200288833 A1
Fathollahi US 9281858 B2
Fathollahi US 20170013925 A1
Fathollahi US 20200295795 A1
Kim US 20220060211 A1
Tu et al. US 20170194997 A1
Armstrong US 20150068934 A1
Brown et al. (US 10542802 B1)
Choi et al.US 20210168958 A1
Alberg et al. US 20160254836 A1
Del Toro et al. US 20160198026 A1
Wilson et al. US 20150257285 A1
Tages US 9060580 B2
Jia et al. US 8706176 B1
/Cindy Trandai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648
12/19/2025