DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 13, 16-18, 20, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai '510 (US 2010/0141510 A1) in view of Flores (NAVSTAR GPS Space Segment/Navigation User Segment Interfaces, IS-GPS-200L), Jeong (KR 101667331 B1), and Marais (WO 2008040896 A2).
In regard to claims 1 and 29, Dai '510 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory (250, Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory memory (240, Fig. 2) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one non-transitory memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
receive a set of reference signals (RSs) from a set of non-terrestrial network (NTN) nodes (satellites 110 to 120, Fig. 1; 302, Fig. 3A), wherein the set of RSs travel through a first portion of an atmosphere and a second portion of the atmosphere (¶21) [where the first portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere or the troposphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be ionospheric delays or tropospheric delays, and where the second portion of the atmosphere may be the troposphere or the ionosphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be tropospheric delays or ionospheric delays];
measure [one or more properties of] the set of RSs (308, Fig. 3A; ¶15);
determine an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere (304, Fig. 3A; ¶60);
calculate, based on elevations of the satellites, a troposphere set of atmospheric delays associated with the troposphere portion of the atmosphere (¶22; ¶33); and
calculate a location of the UE based on the measured set of RSs, the first set of atmospheric delays, and the second set of atmospheric delays (324, Fig. 3A).
Dai '510 fails to disclose calculating at least one of a set of ionosphere delay rates or a set of rates of total electron content (ROTs) based on the measured set of RSs; select a first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates based on the first subset being less than or equal to a threshold or select a second subset of the set of ROTs based on the second subset being less than or equal to the threshold; calculate, based on at least one of the selected first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs and an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere; the calculating of the location of the UE is based on the measured set of RSs associated with at least one of the selected first sub set of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs; and that the elevations of the satellites are based on the measured set of RSs.
Flores, which describes the GPS signal and how to use it, teaches that a GNSS receiver calculating, based on a measured set of RSs, an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere based on parameters included in the GPS signal (p. 117, section 20.3.3.5.1.7).
Since Dai '510 describes receiving the ionospheric delays is disclosed as in "some embodiments" (¶60) and optional (as a dashed line box 304, Fig. 3A), that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the art for alternative that could be used.
Substituting calculating ionospheric delay from parameters included in the GNSS signal/RSs for receiving ionospheric delay in augmentation signals of Dai '510 is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known ways of acquiring ionospheric delays, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of acquiring the ionospheric delays.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to be able to determine ionospheric delay when augmentation signals are not available.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that, even when augmentation signals are not available, ionospheric delay can be determined.
Jeong teaches when an ionosphere delay rate exceeds a threshold, the corresponding RS is judged as having a cycle slip (p. 5, line 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to identify satellite signals that cannot be relied upon for positioning because they have been affected by a cycle slip.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being a more accurate position is obtained by not using satellite signals that have been affected by a cycle slip.
In the combination, the ionosphere delay rates for each satellite signal is obtained from the ionospheric delays (i.e. measured at two different times). Not using satellite signals with an ionosphere delay rate greater than a threshold in the calculation of the UE means using (selecting) satellite signals with ionospheric delay rates less than or equal to the threshold.
Marais teaches calculating the elevations of the satellites are based on a measured set of RSs (p. 5, ¶1).
Substituting calculating the elevations of the satellites directly based on the measured set of RSs for determining elevations based on receiver [approximate] location of Dai '510 (¶33) is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known ways of measuring GNSS satellite elevation, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of determining the GNSS satellite elevation.
In regard to claims 20 and 30, Dai '510 discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a set of reference signals (RSs) from a set of non-terrestrial network (NTN) nodes (satellites 110 to 120, Fig. 1; 302, Fig. 3A), wherein the set of RSs travel through a first portion of an atmosphere and a second portion of the atmosphere (¶21) [where the first portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere or the troposphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be ionospheric delays or tropospheric delays, and where the second portion of the atmosphere may be the troposphere or the ionosphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be tropospheric delays or ionospheric delays];
measuring [one or more properties of] the set of RSs (308, Fig. 3A; ¶15);
determining an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere (304, Fig. 3A; ¶60);
calculating, based on elevations of the satellites, a troposphere set of atmospheric delays associated with the troposphere portion of the atmosphere (¶22; ¶33); and
calculating a location of the UE based on the measured set of RSs, the first set of atmospheric delays, and the second set of atmospheric delays (324, Fig. 3A).
Dai '510 fails to disclose calculating at least one of a set of ionosphere delay rates or a set of rates of total electron content (ROTs) based on the measured set of RSs; select a first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates based on the first subset being less than or equal to a threshold or select a second subset of the set of ROTs based on the second subset being less than or equal to the threshold; calculate, based on at least one of the selected first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs and an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere; the calculating of the location of the UE is based on the measured set of RSs associated with at least one of the selected first sub set of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs; and that the elevations of the satellites are based on the measured set of RSs.
Flores, which describes the GPS signal and how to use it, teaches that a GNSS receiver calculating, based on a measured set of RSs, an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere based on parameters included in the GPS signal (p. 117, section 20.3.3.5.1.7).
Since Dai '510 describes receiving the ionospheric delays is disclosed as in "some embodiments" (¶60) and optional (as a dashed line box 304, Fig. 3A), that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to look to the art for alternative that could be used.
Substituting calculating ionospheric delay from parameters included in the GNSS signal/RSs for receiving ionospheric delay in augmentation signals of Dai '510 is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known ways of acquiring ionospheric delays, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of acquiring the ionospheric delays.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to be able to determine ionospheric delay when augmentation signals are not available.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that, even when augmentation signals are not available, ionospheric delay can be determined.
Jeong teaches when an ionosphere delay rate exceeds a threshold, the corresponding RS is judged as having a cycle slip (p. 5, line 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to identify satellite signals that cannot be relied upon for positioning because they have been affected by a cycle slip.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being a more accurate position is obtained by not using satellite signals that have been affected by a cycle slip.
In the combination, the ionosphere delay rates for each satellite signal is obtained from the ionospheric delays (i.e. measured at two different times). Not using satellite signals with an ionosphere delay rate greater than a threshold in the calculation of the UE means using (selecting) satellite signals with ionospheric delay rates less than or equal to the threshold.
Marais teaches calculating the elevations of the satellites are based on a measured set of RSs (p. 5, ¶1).
Substituting calculating the elevations of the satellites directly based on the measured set of RSs for determining elevations based on receiver [approximate] location of Dai '510 (¶33) is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known ways of measuring GNSS satellite elevation, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of determining the GNSS satellite elevation.
In regard to claim 2, the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention for a UE to transmit the calculated location of the UE (e.g. a user sharing their location with a friend or submitting it to an application for some service, e.g., to find the nearest Chinese restaurant).
In regard to claim 8, Dai '510 further discloses the first set of atmospheric delays comprises an ionosphere delay (¶21) [where the first portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be ionospheric delays].
In regard to claim 13, Dai '510 further discloses the second set of atmospheric delays comprises a troposphere delay (¶21) [where the second portion of the atmosphere may be the troposphere, and the corresponding second set of atmospheric delays may be troposphere delays].
In regard to claims 16 and 28, Dai '510 further discloses:
determining an elevation angle of at least one NTN node of the set of NTN nodes (elevation Elev, ¶33);
calculating a troposphere slant factor (SF) based on the elevation angle (mapping function MF, ¶33); and
calculate the first set of atmospheric delays further based on the calculated troposphere SF (troposphere delay T, ¶33).
Marais further teaches the determining is calculating (p. 5, ¶1).
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination.
In regard to claim 17, Dai '510 further discloses determining an elevation angle of at least one NTN node of the set of NTN nodes (elevation Elev, ¶33).
Marais further teaches the determining is calculating (p. 5, ¶1); selecting a third subset of the set of NTN nodes based on the elevation angle being greater than or equal to a threshold, and calculating the first set of atmospheric delays (p. 2, ¶7; p. 5, ¶1) [where setting a first threshold for which only values greater than the first threshold pass is equivalent to setting a second threshold for which values greater than or equal to the second threshold pass, where the value of the second threshold is slightly higher than the value of the first threshold].
The Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to select satellites for use in positioning that have a signal strength greater than a threshold signal strength. In the combination, the satellites selected will be a fourth subset of the measured set of RSs selected from the satellites that are in the third subset of the set of NTN nodes.
Dai '510 further discloses calculating the first set of atmospheric delays based on the satellites used for positioning (304, Fig. 3A; ¶22; ¶23; ¶60).
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination.
In regard to claim 18, Dai '510 further discloses determining an elevation angle of at least one NTN node of the set of NTN nodes (elevation Elev, ¶33).
Marais further teaches the determining is calculating (p. 5, ¶1); and weight the measured set of RSs based on the calculated elevation angle (p. 2, ¶7; p. 5, ¶1) [where satellites with an elevation above the mask are weighted fully and satellites with an elevation below the mask are weighted zero].
Claim(s) 3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai '510, Flores, Jeong, and Marais (WO 2008040896 A2), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Lawrence (US 2023/0204792 A1).
In regard to claim 3, Dai '510, Flores, and Marais fail to teach the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite vehicle (SV) base stations.
Lawrence teaches set of NTN nodes comprises a set of low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite vehicle (SV) base stations (Fig. 1A; ¶3; ¶25; ¶54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the speed and/or accuracy of positioning by providing a greater number of satellites able to be used in positioning, and greater speed of positioning based on assistance information provided by the LEO satellite.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that position is determined faster and/or more accurately.
In regard to claim 19, Lawrence further discloses teaches a transceiver coupled to at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive, via the transceiver, the set of RSs from the set of NTN nodes (Fig. 1A; ¶25).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai '510, Flores, Jeong, and Marais, as applied to claims 1 and 20, above, and further in view of Lawrence (US 2023/0204792 A1) and Brodie (US 5,935,196 A).
In regard to claims 4 and 21, Marais further teaches wherein the set of RSs comprises a set of satellite fix measurements based on the set of GNSS receivers; decoding the set of RSs to identify the set of satellite fix measurements corresponding with the set of NTN nodes; and calculating the location of the UE further based on the set of satellite fix measurements (p. 5, ¶1) [where satellite elevation is determined based on the satellite position/satellite fix information, and the location of the UE is determined from the atmosphere delay values calculated from the satellite elevation].
Dai '510, Flores, and Marais fail to teach the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite vehicle (SV) base stations; wherein the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receivers, wherein the set of RSs comprises a set of GNSS fix measurements based on the set of GNSS receivers, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: decode the set of RSs to identify the set of GNSS fix measurements corresponding with the set of NTN nodes, wherein, to calculate the location of the UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: calculate the location of the UE further based on the set of GNSS fix measurements.
Lawrence teaches set of NTN nodes comprises a set of low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite vehicle (SV) base stations (Fig. 1A; ¶3; ¶25; ¶54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the speed and/or accuracy of positioning by providing a greater number of satellites able to be used in positioning, and greater speed of positioning based on assistance information provided by the LEO satellite.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that position is determined faster and/or more accurately.
Brodie teaches the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receivers for determining GNSS fix measurements of the respective NTN nodes (col. 1, lines 54-58; col. 2, lines 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the UE to acquire the position of the LEO satellites used in the positioning of the UE.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the LEO satellites is acquired so that they can be used in order to determine the position of the UE.
In the combination, the satellite position of the LEO/communication satellites is the set of GNSS fix measurements.
In regard to claim 5, the Office takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it well known before the effective filing date of the invention to store GNSS related measurements in an observation space representation (OSR) format.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 12, 14-15, 20, 22, 25-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai '408 (US 2008/0297408 A1) in view of Markovic (Determination of Total Electron Content in the Ionosphere Using GPS Technology); Jeong (KR 101667331 B1), and Marais (WO 2008040896 A2).
In regard to claims 1 and 29, Dai '408 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory (150, Fig. 1); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (140, Fig. 1) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
receive a set of reference signals (RSs) from a set of non-terrestrial network (NTN) nodes (satellites 110 to 120, Fig. 1; 220, Fig. 2), wherein the set of RSs travel through a first portion of an atmosphere and a second portion of the atmosphere (¶6; ¶28) [where the first portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere or the troposphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be ionospheric delays or tropospheric delays, and where the second portion of the atmosphere may be the troposphere or the ionosphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be tropospheric delays or ionospheric delays];
measure [one or more properties of] the set of RSs (¶5; ¶22; ¶25);
determine an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere (¶28);
calculate, based on elevations of the satellites, a troposphere set of atmospheric delays associated with the troposphere portion of the atmosphere (¶28); and
calculate a location of the UE based on the measured set of RSs, the first set of atmospheric delays, and the second set of atmospheric delays (¶28) [where double differences are used to determine the UE position in a GNSS positioning application].
Dai '408 fails to disclose calculating at least one of a set of ionosphere delay rates or a set of rates of total electron content (ROTs) based on the measured set of RSs; select a first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates based on the first subset being less than or equal to a threshold or select a second subset of the set of ROTs based on the second subset being less than or equal to the threshold; calculate, based on at least one of the selected first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs and an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere; the calculating of the location of the UE is based on the measured set of RSs associated with at least one of the selected first sub set of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs; and that the elevations of the satellites are based on the measured set of RSs.
Markovic teaches that a GNSS receiver calculating, based on a measured set of RSs, an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere based on parameters included in the GPS signal (equations 14 and 18) [where P1 and P2 are measured pseudoranges based on the RSs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to be able to determine ionospheric delay for use in implementing the calculation of the double difference equations (1) and (2) of Dai '408.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the UE can be determined because the double difference equations (1) and (2) of Dau '408 can be solved because values of the ionospheric delay can be calculated.
Jeong teaches when an ionosphere delay rate exceeds a threshold, the corresponding RS is judged as having a cycle slip (p. 5, line 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to identify satellite signals that cannot be relied upon for positioning because they have been affected by a cycle slip.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being a more accurate position is obtained by not using satellite signals that have been affected by a cycle slip.
In the combination, the ionosphere delay rates for each satellite signal is obtained from the ionospheric delays (i.e. measured at two different times). Not using satellite signals with an ionosphere delay rate greater than a threshold in the calculation of the UE means using (selecting) satellite signals with ionospheric delay rates less than or equal to the threshold.
Marais teaches calculating the elevations of the satellites are based on a measured set of RSs (p. 5, ¶1).
Substituting calculating the elevations of the satellites directly based on the measured set of RSs for determining elevations based on receiver [approximate] location of Dai '510 (¶33) is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known ways of measuring GNSS satellite elevation, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of determining the GNSS satellite elevation.
In regard to claims 20 and 30, Dai '408 discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a set of reference signals (RSs) from a set of non-terrestrial network (NTN) nodes (satellites 110 to 120, Fig. 1; 220, Fig. 2), wherein the set of RSs travel through a first portion of an atmosphere and a second portion of the atmosphere (¶6; ¶28) [where the first portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere or the troposphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be ionospheric delays or tropospheric delays, and where the second portion of the atmosphere may be the troposphere or the ionosphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be tropospheric delays or ionospheric delays];
measuring [one or more properties of] the set of RSs (¶5; ¶22; ¶25);
determining an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere (¶28);
calculating, based on elevations of the satellites, a troposphere set of atmospheric delays associated with the troposphere portion of the atmosphere (¶28); and
calculating a location of the UE based on the measured set of RSs, the first set of atmospheric delays, and the second set of atmospheric delays (¶28) [where double differences are used to determine the UE position in a GNSS positioning application].
Dai '408 fails to disclose calculating at least one of a set of ionosphere delay rates or a set of rates of total electron content (ROTs) based on the measured set of RSs; select a first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates based on the first subset being less than or equal to a threshold or select a second subset of the set of ROTs based on the second subset being less than or equal to the threshold; calculate, based on at least one of the selected first subset of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs and an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere; the calculating of the location of the UE is based on the measured set of RSs associated with at least one of the selected first sub set of the set of ionosphere delay rates or the selected second sub set of the set of ROTs; and that the elevations of the satellites are based on the measured set of RSs.
Markovic teaches that a GNSS receiver calculating, based on a measured set of RSs, an ionospheric set of atmospheric delays associated with the ionosphere portion of the atmosphere based on parameters included in the GPS signal (equations 14 and 18) [where P1 and P2 are measured pseudoranges based on the RSs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to be able to determine ionospheric delay for use in implementing the calculation of the double difference equations (1) and (2) of Dai '408.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the UE can be determined because the double difference equations (1) and (2) of Dau '408 can be solved because values of the ionospheric delay can be calculated.
Jeong teaches when an ionosphere delay rate exceeds a threshold, the corresponding RS is judged as having a cycle slip (p. 5, line 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to identify satellite signals that cannot be relied upon for positioning because they have been affected by a cycle slip.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being a more accurate position is obtained by not using satellite signals that have been affected by a cycle slip.
In the combination, the ionosphere delay rates for each satellite signal is obtained from the ionospheric delays (i.e. measured at two different times). Not using satellite signals with an ionosphere delay rate greater than a threshold in the calculation of the UE means using (selecting) satellite signals with ionospheric delay rates less than or equal to the threshold.
Marais teaches calculating the elevations of the satellites are based on a measured set of RSs (p. 5, ¶1).
Substituting calculating the elevations of the satellites directly based on the measured set of RSs for determining elevations based on receiver [approximate] location of Dai '510 (¶33) is a simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to perform the same function and obtain predictable results. Because both elements are known ways of measuring GNSS satellite elevation, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of determining the GNSS satellite elevation.
In regard to claims 9 and 22, Markovic further teaches the set of RSs comprises at least one RS including a plurality of radio frequencies (RFs), wherein, to calculate the first set of atmospheric delays based on the measured set of RSs, including calculating a first total electron content (TEC) associated with a first time based on a first set of range measurements associated with a first RF of the plurality of RFs (equations 14 and 18) [where the first portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere, and the corresponding first set of atmospheric delays may be ionospheric delays].
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination.
In regard to claims 12 and 25, Dai '408 further discloses:
determining an elevation angle of at least one NTN node of the set of NTN nodes (elevation, ¶28);
calculate an ionosphere slant factor (SF) based on the elevation angle (mapping function, ¶28); and
calculate the first set of atmospheric delays further based on the calculated ionosphere SF (troposphere delay, ¶28).
Marais further teaches determining an elevation angle is calculating an elevation angle (p. 5, ¶1).
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination.
In regard to claims 14 and 26, Markovic further teaches the set of RSs comprises at least one RS including a plurality of radio frequencies (RFs), wherein, to calculate the second set of atmospheric delays based on the measured set of RSs, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: calculate a total electron content (TEC) based on a first set of range measurements associated with a first RF of the plurality of RFs and a second set of range measurements associated with a second RF of the plurality of RFs (equations 14 and 18) [where the second portion of the atmosphere may be the ionosphere, and the corresponding second set of atmospheric delays may be ionosphere delays].
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination.
In regard to claims 15 and 27, Markovic further teaches, to calculate the second set of atmospheric delays based on the measured set of RSs, calculating at least one of the second set of atmospheric delays (solving equation 14 in association with equation 18) based on a range measurement between the UE and at least one NTN node of the set of NTN nodes (pseudorange P1, equation 18), the TEC (equation 14), a georange measurement between the UE and the at least one NTN node of the set of NTN nodes (pseudorange P2, equation 18), and a time of transmission (where pseudoranges are based on the satellite's time of transmission).
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination.
Claim(s) 10 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai '408, Markovic, Jeong, and Marais, as applied to claims 9 and 22, and further in view of Huck (US 2019/0250278 A1).
The combination fails to teach calculating a rate of TEC (ROT) based on the first TEC associated with the first time and a second TEC associated with a second time based on a second set of range measurements associated with a second RF of the plurality of RF.
Huck teaches calculating a rate of TEC (ROT) based on the first TEC associated with the first time and a second TEC associated with a second time (p. 6, equation 1) in order to determine whether determined ionospheric delays/ionospheric corrections may be erroneous (¶65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine whether determined ionospheric delays/ionospheric corrections may be erroneous.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that it is identified when ionospheric delays/ionospheric corrections may be erroneous.
In the combination, it would have been obvious to use the satellite signals selected as not having cycle slips, since those are the satellite signals used in the location determination, and that at the second time a second set of signals are received with their own corresponding ranges.
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai '408, Markovic, Jeong, and Marais, as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Lawrence (US 2023/0204792 A1) and Brodie (US 5,935,196 A).
In regard to claim 4, Marais further teaches wherein the set of RSs comprises a set of satellite fix measurements based on the set of GNSS receivers; decoding the set of RSs to identify the set of satellite fix measurements corresponding with the set of NTN nodes; and calculating the location of the UE further based on the set of satellite fix measurements (p. 5, ¶1) [where satellite elevation is determined based on the satellite position/satellite fix information, and the location of the UE is determined from the atmosphere delay values calculated from the satellite elevation].
Dai '408, Markovic, and Marais fail to teach the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite vehicle (SV) base stations; wherein the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receivers, wherein the set of RSs comprises a set of GNSS fix measurements based on the set of GNSS receivers, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: decode the set of RSs to identify the set of GNSS fix measurements corresponding with the set of NTN nodes, wherein, to calculate the location of the UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: calculate the location of the UE further based on the set of GNSS fix measurements.
Lawrence teaches set of NTN nodes comprises a set of low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite vehicle (SV) base stations (Fig. 1A; ¶3; ¶25; ¶54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the speed and/or accuracy of positioning by providing a greater number of satellites able to be used in positioning, and greater speed of positioning based on assistance information provided by the LEO satellite.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that position is determined faster and/or more accurately.
Brodie teaches the set of NTN nodes comprises a set of global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receivers for determining GNSS fix measurements of the respective NTN nodes (col. 1, lines 54-58; col. 2, lines 15-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include this feature into the combination with a reasonable expectation of success in order for the UE to acquire the position of the LEO satellites used in the positioning of the UE.
Additionally, this is a combining of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, the predictable result being that the position of the LEO satellites is acquired so that they can be used in order to determine the position of the UE.
In the combination, the satellite position of the LEO/communication satellites is the set of GNSS fix measurements.
In regard to claim 7, Dai '408 further discloses correcting, based on the set of GNSS fix measurements, a satellite vehicle (SV) clock error (¶6).
The following reference(s) is/are also found relevant:
Kim (US 2023/0281288 A1), which teaches that representing GNSS information in an observation space representation (OSR) is known in the art (¶229).
Feng (CN 114252890 A), which teaches that a pseudorange is determined based on the satellite's time of transmission (p. 14, ¶2) [where TOW is a time of transmission of a GNSS satellite].
Cohen (US 2008/0001818 A1), which teaches using LEO satellites in satellite positioning (Fig. 1).
Reid (US 2024/0302532 A1), which teaches using LEO satellites in satellite positioning (Fig. 1).
Zhu (US 2024/0183998 A1), which teaches forming a set of satellite signals based on satellite elevation (¶20).
The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics (singleton (unit set)), which teaches that a set can contain a single element.
Maruyama (US 6,430,498 B1), which teaches transmitting a calculated location of a UE (Fig. 5 and col. 8, lines 7-12).
Lu (CN 111624630 B), which teaches selecting satellites based on both elevation and signal-to-noise ratio (p. 2, lines 7-10).
Applicant is encouraged to consider these documents in formulating their response (if one is required) to this Office Action, in order to expedite prosecution of this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance/Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance/allowable subject matter:
The references cited, alone or in combination, do not teach or make obvious the following limitation(s):
quoted from claim 6, in combination with the claim as a whole:
"wherein the set of measurements comprises at least one of: a set of pseudorange measurements; a set of carrier phase measurements; a set of Doppler measurements; or a set of carrier-to-noise density power ratio (CN0) measurements".
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on p. 2, with respect to the objection(s), have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection(s) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on p. 2, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection(s), have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection(s) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on p. 16-22, with respect to the prior art rejection(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Arguments that are still relevant in the new rejection will be addressed below.
Applicant argues that transmitting a calculated location of a UE is not known in the art. However, see Maruyama (US 6,430,498 B1), Fig. 5 and col. 8, lines 7-12.
Applicant argues that a set of GNSS fix measurements comprising an observation space representation (OSR) is not known in the art. However, see Kim (US 2023/0281288 A1) teaches that representing GNSS information in an observation space representation (OSR) is known in the art (¶229).
Applicant argues that the Official Notice is claim 17 is not directed to selecting a satellite based on elevation. However, it is noted that selection based on elevation is recited as being the selection of the third subset. Marais is cited as teaching this feature. The Official Notice is being used for the selection of the fourth subset, where the claim does not specify any particular criteria for selection. It is noted that Lu (CN 111624630 B) teaches selecting satellites based on both elevation and signal-to-noise ratio (p. 2, lines 7-10).
Fred H. Mull
Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/F. H. M./
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645