DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1352 in Fig. 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0004] line 6, “thus having considerable impacts on the production” should read --thus has considerable impacts on the production--.
In paragraph [0017] line 4 “insulating manner” should read --insulated manner--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, “the guiding structure comprises one or a combination of more of the following” should read –the guiding structure comprises one or a combination of the following--.
In claim 15, “a penetration direction” should read --the penetration direction--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a height of the second protrusion is greater than a thickness of the current collecting portion body, and a thickness of the second protrusion is 0.3 mm to 3 mm”, which renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear which dimension of the second protrusion corresponds to the claimed height, given that the second protrusion height and thickness are not equivalent. Examiner notes that Figs. 6, 7, and 8 of the instant specification show thicknesses, denoted “T1” and “T2”, and heights, denoted “H1”, “H2”, and “H3”, in the same axial direction. For the purposes of examination, the limitation “a height of the second protrusion is greater than a thickness of the current collecting portion body, and a thickness of the second protrusion is 0.3 mm to 3 mm” is interpreted as wherein a thickness of the second protrusion is greater than a thickness of the current collecting portion body, and a thickness of the second protrusion is 0.3 mm to 3 mm, as this appears to be what was intended by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2)(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE 202022003416 U, hereinafter referred to as “DE ‘416”, wherein an English machine translation of DE ‘416 is cited.
Regarding claim 1, DE’ 416 teaches a battery cell that may be a lithium-ion secondary battery cell (DE ‘416, [0106], line 1), further comprising:
a housing body 20 (DE ‘416, [0109], line 1)
an electrode assembly 10 included in the housing body (corresponding to the claimed electrode assembly sealed and disposed in the housing) (DE ‘416, [0127], lines 1-3)
a collector component 40 electrically connecting the first electrode tab 11 to the electrode clamp 30 (corresponding to the claimed current collecting portion disposed in the housing and electrically connected with an electrode of the electrode assembly) (DE ‘416, [0136], line 1)
an electrode clamp (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar) comprising a first recess section 31 and a connection section 32 (DE ‘416, [0221], lines 1-2), wherein the first recess 31 is formed to reduce the thickness of the connection section 32 (corresponding to the claimed thinned region with a thickness of T1) (DE ‘416, [0225], lines 1-2).
Furthermore, annotated Fig. 14 from DE ‘416 shows that the electrode clamp 30 passes through the housing’s lid 22 (DE ‘416, [0145], line 1; See Fig. 14 below). DE ‘416 further teaches an insulation gasket element 70 placed between the electrode clamp 30 and the lid 22 (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar passing through the housing in a sealed and insulating manner) (DE ‘416, [0311], lines 2-3; See annotated Fig. 10 below). DE ‘416 also teaches that the collector component can be connected to the electrode clamp 30 by welding (corresponding to the claimed thinned region is in conductive contact with the welding portion and is fixed through welding) (DE ‘416, [0137], lines 2-3). DE ‘416 further teaches a first weld section W1 between the electrode clamp 30 and the collector component 40, wherein the thickness of the first weld section “h” (corresponding to the claimed thickness of T2) (DE ‘416, [0239], lines 1-2). DE ‘416 further teaches a range for “h” that meets the claimed range for T2 (See Table 1 below).
Instant Claim
DE ‘416
Citation in DE ‘416
Thinned region thickness
T1: 0.1-2 mm
D8: 0.4-1.2 mm
[0239], lines 1-2
[0079] line 1
Welding portion thickness
T2: 0.1-3mm
h: 0.4-1.8mm
[0137], lines 2-3
Disclosed range for welding portion thickness
(0.3×T1) < T2
D8 < h ≤ 1.5D8
[0239], lines 1-2
Table 1. Prior art DE ‘416 teachings corresponding to the limitations of the instant claims 1 and 6
Regarding claims 2 and 3, annotated Fig. 11 from DE ‘416 below further shows the first protrusion section 34 disposed on the connection section 32 (corresponding to the claimed reinforcing structure in the thinned region) (DE ‘416, [0302], lines 1-2; [0221], lines 1-3). Annotated Fig. 11 from DE ‘416 also shows the first protrusion section 34 disposed on one side of the connection section, facing toward the negative penetration direction.
Regarding claim 6, DE ‘416 teaches a range of 0.4 mm to 1.2 mm for thickness of the connection section 32, denoted as D8 (corresponding to the claimed thickness T1 of the thinned region is 0.1 mm to 2 mm). Based on the range for “h” that DE ’416 teaches in terms of D8 (see Table 1 above), the broadest possible range for thickness of the first weld section “h” is 0.4 mm to 1.8 mm (corresponding to the claimed thickness T2 of the welding portion is 0.1 mm to 3 mm) (DE ‘416, [0239], lines 1-2; [0079] line 1).
Regarding claim 7, DE ‘416 teaches a housing body 20 comprising a cylinder 21 and a lid 22 that can be attached to the cylinder (corresponding to the claimed housing is a cylinder with one end closed and the other end open) (DE ‘416, [0145], lines 1-3; [0146], lines 1-3). DE ‘416 further teaches an electrode exit hole 221 on the lid (corresponding to the claimed mounting hole of the electrode pillar disposed on a closed end wall of the housing) (DE ‘416, [0145], lines 1-3). DE ‘416 also teaches an insulation gasket element 70 placed between the electrode clamp 30 and the lid 22 (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar disposed in the mounting hole of the electrode pillar in a sealed and insulating manner) (DE ‘416, [0311], lines 2-3; See annotated Fig. 10 below).
Regarding claim 8, DE ‘416 teaches that the electrode clamp can electrically connect the battery cell 7 to an external circuit for charging and discharge of the battery cell (DE ‘416, [0134], lines 1-2), therefore the electrode clamp must comprise conductive material (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar comprising a conductive member). DE ‘416 also teaches that the electrode clamp 30 is installed in the electrode exit hole 221 (corresponding to the claimed conductive member penetrates into the mounting hole of the electrode pillar) (DE ‘416, [0145], lines 1-3; See annotated Fig. 10 below). Annotated Fig. 10 from DE’416 below shows highlighted portions of electrode clamp 30 that correspond to the claimed first fixing portion and second fixing portion respectively disposed at an outer end and an inner end of the conductive member, and clamped on an outer side and an inner side of the lid 22.
Regarding claim 11, annotated Fig. 14 from DE ‘416 below shows connection section 32 comprising two parallel planes perpendicular to the X-direction (corresponding to the claimed thinned region comprises a first plane and a second plane disposed in parallel) (See Fig. 14 below). Annotated Fig. 14 further shows the first and second planes formed by a recesses in a middle portion of an end surface of the electrode clamp 30 from the main body section 12 of the electrode assembly main body section 12, and a recess in a middle portion of an end surface of the electrode clamp 30 close to the main body section 12 of the electrode assembly (See Fig. 14 below).
Regarding claim 12, annotated Fig. 14 from DE ‘416 above shows collector component 40 comprising a curved portion in contact with connection section 32 (corresponding to the claimed guiding structure disposed on the electrode pillar and/or the current collecting portion). Examiner notes that “guides the welding portion to come into contact with the thinned region” is an instance of functional language which only imparts a structure that is capable of doing said function. Annotated Fig. 14 from DE ‘416 above shows rounded edges on the part of collector component 40 in contact with connection section 32, corresponding to the claimed structural limitation of the guiding structure comprises one or a combination of the following shapes: a rounded corner, a chamfer, or a slope shape. Since the collector component of DE ‘416 is identical to applicant’s guiding structure, the collector component of DE ‘416 would also be capable of performing the recited function.
Regarding claim 13, the instant specification describes an escape groove as any structure that reduces the contact area of the thinned region and the welding portion (Instant specification [0081], lines 4-7). Furthermore, DE ‘416 teaches the electrode clamp 30 provided with a second recess section 37 on the side of the collector component 40 (DE ‘416, [0379], lines 1-2; See Fig. 14 above). DE ‘416 also teaches changing the thickness of the connecting section 32 by changing the depth of the second recess section 37 (DE ‘416, [0383], lines 1-4). By changing the connecting section 32 thickness, the contact area between the connecting section 32 and the collector component 40 can be reduced. Since the collector component 40 welded to the connecting section 32 comprises the first weld section W1, then the second recess section 37 can reduce the contact area of the connecting section 32 and the welding portion (corresponding to the claimed escape groove) (DE ‘416, [0411], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, DE ‘416 teaches a vehicle (corresponding to the claimed electrical device) comprising an engine (corresponding to the claimed working portion), wherein a battery is used as an energy source to power the engine (corresponding to the working portion is electrically connected to the secondary battery to obtain an electrical energy for support) (DE ‘416, [0116] lines 1-2; [0117], lines 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202022003416 U, in view of Ishimasa (JP 2018097978 A), as cited in the IDS dated 7/23/2025.
Regarding claim 4, DE ‘416 teaches a second weld section W2 that may be annular in shape (DE ‘416, [0256] lines 1-2; [0258], line 1). Annotated Fig. 14 from DE ‘416 above shows the second weld section W2 surrounding the connecting section 32, which may comprise a first protrusion section 34 (corresponding to the claimed welding region) (DE ‘416, [0302], lines 1-2; [0221], lines 1-3). DE ‘416 does not teach a frustrum disposed in the thinned region, wherein a large end of the frustum is connected to the thinned region. Ishimasa teaches a battery inner terminal 220 comprising an outward extending shaft 221, further comprising a thick shaft portion 212c (Ishimasa, [0043] lines 2-4; [0049], lines 9-10; [0055], lines 1-2 & 5-9). Ishimasa further teaches that the thick shaft portion 221c is thicker than the distal end portion 221a of the outward extending shaft 221 (corresponding to the claimed frustrum) (Ishimasa, [0056], lines 9-11). Annotated Fig. 3 from Ishimasa below further shows the thick shaft portion 221c connected to the electrode assembly connection portion (corresponding to the claimed large end of the frustrum is connected to the thinned region). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Ishimasa's thick shaft portion for the first protrusion section of DE ‘416 in order to avoid caulking the electrode terminal and to suppress contamination (Ishimasa, [0028], lines 8-10 & 15-17).
Regarding claim 5, annotated Fig. 3 above from Ishimasa shows the outward extending shaft 221 (corresponding to the claimed frustrum) disposed on one side of the electrode assembly connection portion (corresponding to the claimed thinned region) facing away from the electrode assembly 400 (Ishimasa, [0053], lines 1-3). Ishimasa also teaches welding the distal end of thin-walled portion 221a of the extending shaft 221, wherein thin-walled portion 221a has a thickness smaller than an adjacent portion (corresponding to the claimed welding positioning structure is disposed at a center of a small end surface of the frustrum) (Ishimasa, [0051], lines 1-3; [0050], lines 1-2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Ishimasa's welded outward extending shaft for the first protrusion of DE ‘416 in order to reduce electric resistance (Ishimasa, [0072], lines 1-4).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202022003416 U, in view of Choi et al. (US 20200350611 A1), hereinafter “Choi”.
Regarding claim 9, DE ‘416 teaches an insulation gasket element 70 (corresponding to the claimed insulating member), wherein annotated Fig. 10 from DE ‘416 above shows the insulation gasket element 70 between an outer portion of the electrode clamp 30 (corresponding to the claimed first fixing portion) and the lid 22 (corresponding to the claimed housing) (DE ‘416, [0311], lines 2-3). DE ‘416 does not teach the insulating member made of transparent or translucent plastic. However, Choi teaches a battery comprising insulating members that may be formed of a transparent material with polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Choi, [0011], lines 6-7). Since PET is a plastic material, Choi’s insulating material corresponds to the claimed insulating material made of transparent or translucent plastic. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Choi's insulating material for the insulation gasket element material of DE ‘416 in order to avoid obstructing a field of view (Choi, [0085], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 10, DE ‘416 teaches an insulation gasket element 70 (corresponding to the claimed insulating member. Examiner notes that “for increasing a creepage distance” is an instance of functional language which only imparts a structure that is capable of doing said function. The instant specification describes an insulating reinforcing structure as a structure that is able to increase the conductive path between the housing and the first fixing portion, such as by changing the conductive path to be curved or multiple polylines (Instant specification, [0076], lines 6-11). Furthermore, annotated Fig. 7 from DE ‘416 above shows insulation gasket element 70 having a “C” shape, which corresponds to a conductive path of multiple polylines. Therefore, the insulation gasket element 70 corresponds to the structural limitation of an insulating reinforcing structure. Since the insulation gasket element of DE ‘416 is identical to applicant’s insulating member, the insulation gasket element of DE ‘416 would also be capable of performing the recited function.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202022003416 U, in view of Umeyama et al. (CN 105960722 A), hereinafter “Umeyama”, wherein an English machine translation of Umeyama is cited.
Regarding claim 14, DE ‘416 teaches a second protrusion on the collector component (DE ‘416, [0046], line 1). DE ‘416 further teaches welding the connecting portion 32 (corresponding to the claimed thinned region) to the second protrusion section 43 to form first welding section W1 (DE ‘416, [0382], lines 1-4). Fig. 9 from DE ‘416 shows the collector component 40 having an annular shape. DE ‘416 also teaches the second protrusion section 43 arranged symmetrically around the collector main body 42 (corresponding to the second protrusion disposed at a center of the current collecting portion body) (DE ‘416, [0376], lines 1-3). DE ‘416 teaches thickness ranges for the collector component and the second protrusion such that the second protrusion thickness may be greater than the collector component thickness when chosen from the disclosed ranges (See Table 2 below). DE ‘416 does not teach a thickness of the second protrusion in the range of 0.3 mm to 3 mm. However, Umeyama teaches a current collector 31 comprising a protrusion 35 with a height range of 0.3 mm to 1 mm (Umeyama, [0069], line 6; [0070], lines 14-15), which meets the instantly claimed range of 0.3 mm to 3 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Umeyama’s protrusion height range to the second protrusion of DE ‘416, to meet mechanical strength and electrical characteristic requirements of the current collector (Umeyama, [0071], lines 3-4).
Disclosed Range
Citation in DE ‘416
Collector component thickness
0.2 - 0.6 mm
[0205], line 1
Second protrusion thickness
0.05 – 0.25 mm
[0047], lines 1-2
Table 2. DE ‘416 disclosed thickness ranges to meet limitations of instant claim 14
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202022003416 U, in view of Lei et al. (CN 218414808 U), hereinafter “Lei”, wherein an English machine translation of Lei is cited.
Regarding claim 15, DE ‘416 teaches a gasket plate 60 connected to the electrode clamp 30 (corresponding to the claimed sinking platform disposed on an upper portion of the electrode pillar) (DE ‘416, [0293], lines 1-2). DE ‘416 does not teach a projection of the sinking platform along a penetration direction of the electrode pillar covering at least the thinned region. However, Lei teaches a battery cell comprising an end cap 10 with assembly portion 12 (corresponding to the claimed sinking platform) (Lei, [0095], lines 5-10), wherein assembly portion 12 has a projected profile in the thickness direction (corresponding to the claimed penetration direction) that covers the electrode assembly (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar) (Lei, [0131], lines 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Lei's end cap for the gasket plate of DE ‘416 in order to better shield the electrode assembly (Lei, [0132], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 13 from Lei shows the end cap 10 comprising an assembly portion 12 with an inverted trapezoidal structure (Lei, [0095], lines 5-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Lei’s assembly portion shape for the gasket plate shape of DE ‘416 in order to reduce assembly resistance (Lei, [0125], lines 1-4).
Further regarding claim 16, Fig. 13 from Lei also shows main body 11 and extension portion 12 thicknesses, denoted “H1” and “H0”, that add up to the total thickness of end cap 10 (Lei, [0095], lines 5-8; Figs. 12 & 13). Based on the Lei’s thickness ranges for “H1” and “H2”, Lei teaches a total end cap thickness range of 0.4 mm to 6 mm (Lei, [0021], lines 1-2; [0019], lines 1-2; See Table 3 below), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 0.1 mm to 1.5 mm depth of the sinking platform. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Lei's end cap thickness range to the gasket plate of DE ‘416, in order to reduce the difficult of welding (Lei, [0020], lines 1-5). In this regard, it would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill to select any value of end cap thickness within the disclosed range, including a value within the claimed range, as it has been held that overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
Disclosed range
Citation in Lei
H0 thickness
0.2 – 3 mm
[0021], lines 1-2
H1 thickness
0.2 – 3 mm
[0019], lines 1-2
Total end cap thickness
(H0 + H1)
0.4 – 6 mm
-
Table 3. Partial end cap thickness ranges taught by Lei
Regarding claim 17, Lei teaches an extension portion 111 (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar cover) on end cap 10 (Lei, [0101], lines 1-5). Fig. 8 from Lei shows a welded region M between extension portion 11 and the housing 22 (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar cover fixed to the electrode pillar through welding) (Lei, [0109], lines 7-8). Fig. 8 also shows extension portion 11 as extending from the assembly part 12 of the end cap 10 (corresponding to the claimed electrode shape of the electrode pillar cover matches the sinking platform). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Lei's extension portion to the gasket plate of DE ‘416 in order to improve the structural stability of the battery cell (Lei, [0101], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Lei teaches an end cap 10 comprising assembly portion 12 that protrudes relative to extension 111 (Lei, [0095], lines 5-10), wherein Fig. 13 from Lei shows assembly portion 12 protruding in the negative X-direction (corresponding to the claimed third protrusion disposed on one side of the electrode pillar cover facing the thinned region). Lei also teaches that the projected profile of assembly portion 12 covers the profile of the electrode assembly in the X-direction (corresponding to the claimed projection of the third protrusion along the penetration direction of the electrode pillar at least covers the thinned region) (Lei, [0131], lines 1-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Lei's assembly portion to the gasket plate of DE ‘416 in order to better shield the electrode assembly (Lei, [0132], lines 1-4).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202022003416 U and Lei (CN 218414808 U), as applied to claims 15-18 above, and further in view of Ishimasa (JP 2018097978 A), as cited in the IDS dated 7/23/2025.
Regarding claim 19, Ishimasa teaches an outward extending shaft 221 comprising a thick shaft portion 221c (corresponding to the claimed first protrusion) below groove portion 221b (Ishimasa, [0049], lines 1-4; [0055], lines 1-2 & 5-9; [0050], lines 3-7; See annotated Fig. 3 above). Ishimasa also teaches an outer terminal 210 comprising an inwardly extending shaft 212 with a protruding portion 221b (corresponding to the claimed third protrusion) that protrudes into the 212b recessed portion of the outward extending shaft 221 (Ishimasa, [0044], lines 1-2). Furthermore, annotated Fig. 3 from Ishimasa shows thick shaft portion 221c as disposed on one side of the electrode connection portion (corresponding to the thinned region) facing the external connection portion 211 (corresponding to the claimed electrode pillar cover). Ishimasa also teaches that the thick shaft portion 221c plastically deforms the inward extending shaft 212 upon inserting the inwardly extending shaft to press-fit the inward extending shaft 212 (corresponding to the claimed first protrusion configured to abut against the third protrusion when an external force received by the electrode pillar is greater than a set threshold) (Ishimasa, [0057], lines 7-9; [0070], lines 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Ishimasa's thick shaft portion to the electrode assembly of DE ‘416 and Lei in order to improve bonding strength (Ishimasa, [0070], lines 3-5).
Conclusion
/R.M.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/JONATHAN JOHNSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1734