DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/940,140 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 includes endograft medical devices comprising a first component interfaced with a second expandable component, and a blood conduit for placement in the aortic arch.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patents No. 10028848. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 27 anticipates the claimed invention of the instant application.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patents No. 11890188. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 anticipates the claimed invention of the instant application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patents No.10555823, 10857011, 9339399, 10624770, 10478320, and 12502270. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of each of the listed patents anticipates the claimed invention of the instant application.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patents No. 11833068. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 47 anticipates the claimed invention of the instant application.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patents No., 10363151, 10842655, 11883308, 11806259, 12186214, 11026817, 10888441, 10987236, 11911268, 11523918,11497634, , 11883284, 8940040, 12011346, and 12171675 in view of Rasmussen et al. US 20080132993 A1, herein referred to as Rasmussen. Claim 1 of each of the listed patents include an endograft medical device comprising a first component interfaced with a second expandable component and a blood conduit but does not explicitly disclose placement of the device in the aortic arch. However, Rasmussen teaches placing an endograft device in the aortic arch as claimed in the instant application, see [0003] and [0045]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the medical devices of the cited patents above to place the devices in the aortic arch, as taught and suggested by Rasmussen in order to support weakened vessels (Rasmussen [0003] and [0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rasmussen et al. US 20080132993 A1, herein referred to as Rasmussen, in view of Doig et al. US 20040215327 A1, herein referred to as Doig, and further in view of Berez et al. US 20090319017 A1, herein referred to as Berez.
Regarding claim 2, Doig discloses endograft device (Fig 2B, 100) for endovascular repair of ascending aortic aneurysms, comprising: a first prosthetic component (101); a second prosthetic component (205) secured to a proximal end of the first prosthetic component (Fig 2B), wherein the second prosthetic component defines an expandable stent frame ([0084]); and a conduit (211) engaged to the first prosthetic component (Fig 2B).
But fails to explicitly discloses wherein a first prosthetic component configured for being positioned within an aortic arch of a patient; wherein a second prosthetic component is configured for being positioned within an ascending aorta of a patient.
Rasmussen teaches a first prosthetic component (Fig 2, trunk 14) configured for being positioned within an aortic arch of a patient (Fig 2); a second prosthetic component (Fig 2, graft section 12) secured to a proximal end of the first prosthetic component (Fig 2), wherein the second prosthetic component defines an expandable stent frame ([0029]) and is configured for being positioned within an ascending aorta of a patient ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify of Doig to incorporate a first prosthetic component configured for being positioned within an aortic arch of a patient; wherein a second prosthetic component is configured for being positioned within an ascending aorta of a patient, as taught and suggested by Rasmussen in order to reestablish circulation (Rasmussen [0045]).
But Doig/Rasmussen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the conduit is configured for being engaged with a coronary artery of patient and allowing blood flow thereto.
Berez teaches a conduit (Annotated Fig 69, ‘stent 66’ see [0347]) engaged to the first prosthetic component (Fig 69, 54), wherein the conduit is configured for being engaged with a coronary artery of patient ([0377] explicitly teaches engaging the coronary artery; [0069] teaches engaging renal artery which are very similar in shape, therefore able to meet claimed limitation of engaging coronary artery) and allowing blood flow thereto ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify of Doig/Rasmussen to incorporate wherein the conduit is configured for being engaged with a coronary artery of patient and allowing blood flow thereto, as taught and suggested b Berez in order to direct blood away from aneurysm (Berez [0005]).
Conclusion
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799