DETAILED ACTION
The following action is in response to application 18/518,520 filed on November 23, 2023.
Claim Interpretations
With regard to the limitation of “a vehicle-mounted display screen,” this limitation has been interpreted as a display screen that is already mounted in a vehicle. Therefore, the claimed guide rails themselves cannot be how the display screen is mounted to said vehicle. Also, a “display screen” is interpreted as being more broad than a LED screen. For example, a rear view mirror (which are often equipped with LED light indicators or LED screens themselves) have been interpreted as a “display screen.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Villeroche (CN101790471A). With regard to claim 1, De Villeroche teaches a base station for mounting vehicle accessories, comprising: a first guide rail 49 mounted on a back side of a vehicle-mounted display screen 2; a second guide rail 50 mounted on the back side of the vehicle-mounted display screen and connected to the first guide rail, wherein the first guide rail and the second guide rail are used to mount a plurality of vehicle accessories at the same time (paragraph 246); and a mounting portion 13/17 connected to at least one of the first guide rail and the second guide rail, wherein the first guide rail and the second guide rail are fixed to the vehicle-mounted display screen via the mounting portion. With regard to claim 2, De Villeroche teaches the base station, wherein the vehicle accessories are adapted to move along the first guide rail or the second guide rail to change a holding position (via 47). With regard to claim 3, De Villeroche teaches the base station, wherein the vehicle accessories clamp or are clamped by the first guide rail and/or the second guide rail and configured to slide along the first guide rail and/or the second guide rail when an external force is applied (via 47). With regard to claim 4, De Villeroche teaches the base station, wherein the first guide rail 49 or the second guide rail 50 comprises a guide rail connection structure (i.e. 47), and each of the vehicle accessories respectively comprises a connecting portion, and the connecting portion is structural adapted with the guide rail connection structure as to mount the multiple vehicle accessories to the first guide rail and/or the second guide rail (paragraph 246). With regard to claim 19, De Villeroche teaches the base station, wherein the vehicle accessories comprise a vehicle-mounted mobile phone holder, a vehicle-mounted camera holder, a temporary parking sign holder, a navigation device holder, and a walkie-talkie holder (paragraph 246).
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frampton (US 20180118110). With regard to claim 1, Frampton teaches a base station for mounting vehicle accessories, comprising: a first guide rail 110 mounted on a back side of a vehicle-mounted display screen 200; a second guide rail 104 mounted on the back side of the vehicle-mounted display screen and connected to the first guide rail, wherein the first guide rail and the second guide rail are used to mount a plurality of vehicle accessories 300 at the same time; and a mounting portion 112 connected to at least one of the first guide rail and the second guide rail, wherein the first guide rail and the second guide rail are fixed to the vehicle-mounted display screen via the mounting portion. With regard to claim 6, Frampton teaches the base station, wherein the first guide rail 110 is provided along a top edge of the vehicle-mounted display screen, and the second guide rail 104 is provided along a bottom edge or a side edge of the vehicle-mounted display screen. With regard to claim 7, Frampton teaches the base station, further comprising a central skeleton 106 located on the back side of the vehicle-mounted display screen, and the second guide rail is connected to the first guide rail through the central skeleton. With regard to claim 16, Frampton teaches the base station, wherein the mounting portion comprises at least one hook 112 coupled to an edge of the vehicle-mounted display screen 200.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-15, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to show or render obvious the base station as claimed, and particularly wherein the guide rail connection structure is a rack provided on a surface of the first guide rail and/or the second guide rail, and including the remaining structure of claim 5. The present invention also particularly includes a third guide rail and a fourth guide rail, wherein the second guide rail is provided along the bottom edge of the vehicle-mounted display screen, and the third guide rail and the fourth guide rail are connected to the central skeleton and are respectively arranged along two opposite side edges of the vehicle-mounted display screen, and including the remaining structure of claim 8. Claims 9-15 are dependent upon claim 8. The present invention also particularly includes the base station, wherein the at least one hook is fixed to the first guide rail and/or the second guide rail through screws, and including the remaining structure of claim 17. Please Note: although it is known in the art to modify one integral structure to be multiple structures, and screws are known connection devices between two structures, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Frampton to separate hook 112 from guide rail 110 and connect them via a screw. Also, such a modification would have required improper hindsight. The present invention also particularly includes the base station, wherein the base station further comprises a plurality of foam sheets, one side of the foam sheets is adhered to the first guide rail, the second guide rail and the hook, and the other side of the foam sheets abuts against the back side of the vehicle-mounted display screen, and including the remaining structure of claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Villeroche ‘475 has been cited to show a similar base station comprising: a vehicle-mounted display screen 6, a first guide rail 2 (left) a second guide rail 2 (right), a mounting portion 4/11, and mounted vehicle accessories 1/7/9.
Hutzel ‘261 has been cited to show a similar base station comprising: a vehicle-mounted display screen 14, a storage box (Fig. 17) and vehicle accessories (i.e. 30).
Harris ‘839 has been cited to show a similar base station comprising: a vehicle-mounted display screen 16, a first guide rail 20, a second guide rail 24, a mounting portion 82/44, and mounted vehicle accessories 12/16.
Roupe ‘306 has been cited to show a similar base station comprising: a guide rail 32 with a rack 132 on said guide rail to mount vehicle accessories 100.
FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION
Submission of your response by facsimile transmission is encouraged. The central facsimile number is (571) 273-8300. Recognizing the fact that reducing cycle time in the processing and examination of patent applications will effectively increase a patent's term, it is to your benefit to submit responses by facsimile transmission whenever permissible. Such submission will place the response directly in our examining group's hands and will eliminate Post Office processing and delivery time as well as the PTO's mail room processing and delivery time. For a complete list of correspondence not permitted by facsimile transmission, see MPEP 502.01. In general, most responses and/or amendments not requiring a fee, as well as those requiring a fee but charging such fee to a deposit account, can be submitted by facsimile transmission. Responses requiring a fee which applicant is paying by check should not be submitting by facsimile transmission separately from the check.
Responses submitted by facsimile transmission should include a Certificate of Transmission (MPEP 512). The following is an example of the format the certification might take:
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the Patent and Trademark Office (Fax No. (571) 273-8300) on ____________ (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate: _____________________________________
_____________________________________
(Signature)
If your response is submitted by facsimile transmission, you are hereby reminded that the original should be retained as evidence of authenticity (37 CFR 1.4 and MPEP 502.02). Please do not separately mail the original or another copy unless required by the Patent and Trademark Office. Submission of the original response or a follow-up copy of the response after your response has been transmitted by facsimile will only cause further unnecessary delays in the processing of your application; duplicate responses where fees are charged to a deposit account may result in those fees being charged twice.
/ROGER L PANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ROGER L. PANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3655B
December 30, 2025