DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 87-97 are pending and currently under prosecution.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 120 and 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of application, is acknowledged.
4. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file of 15/733,076.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 87-97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN105153315A (published on 12/16/2015, IDS, hereafter ‘315 patent) evidenced by machine-translation of CN105153315A.
Claims 87-97 are herein drawn to a method of expanding a T cell population, comprising: (a) introducing a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) into the T cell population, thereby producing a first CAR-expressing cell population, wherein the CAR comprises (i) an antigen interacting domain capable of binding a B cell surface protein; (ii) a transmembrane domain; and (iii) an intracellular signaling domain; and (b) contacting the first CAR-expressing cell population with a B cell surface protein, thereby producing an expanded and/or activated immune cell population, wherein said B cell surface protein is CD19, CD20, or CD22.
‘315 patent teaches genetically modifying immune cells to express first-CAR, wherein the first-CAR binds an antigen (e.g., CD19, CD20 or CD22), the first CAR comprising transmembrane region and intracellular domain, wherein the intracellular domain comprising CD3ζ, wherein the immune cells are T cells; see entire document, e.g., claims 1-10, [0004-0013] and [0025] of machine-translation of CN105153315A.
For claims 89 and 93, ‘315 patent teaches that the intracellular activation signal is transmitted by the ITAM (immunoreceptortyrosine-based activation motifs) signal chain of CD3ζ; see [0005], [0031] of machine-translation of CN105153315A.
For claims 94-96, ‘315 patent teaches wherein the CAR comprising a co-stimulatory domain (e.g., CD28); see [0013], [0032] of machine-translation of CN105153315A.
For claims 90 and 97, a wherein clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited, MPEP 2111.04.
Although the ‘315 patent does not expressly state the CAR-CD19, CAR-CD20 or CAR-CD22 binds to B cell surface protein, given that CD19, CD20 and CD22 are B cell surface proteins; it is inherent that CARs of the ‘315 patent would bind to B cell surface proteins.
8. Claims 87-97 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mueller et al. (WO 2017210617, filed on June 2, 2017).
Claims 87-97 are herein drawn to a method of expanding a T cell population, comprising: (a) introducing a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) into the T cell population, thereby producing a first CAR-expressing cell population, wherein the CAR comprises (i) an antigen interacting domain capable of binding a B cell surface protein; (ii) a transmembrane domain; and (iii) an intracellular signaling domain; and (b) contacting the first CAR-expressing cell population with a B cell surface protein, thereby producing an expanded and/or activated immune cell population, wherein said B cell surface protein is CD19, CD20, or CD22.
Mueller et al. teach a method of making immune cells (e.g., T cells) expressing CAR-anti-CD19 antibody, comprises introducing a nucleic acid encoding the CAR, wherein the CAR comprising an anti-CD19 antibody, a transmembrane domain, and an intracellular signaling domain and costimulatory domain; see entire document, e.g., abstract, pages 2, 29-31 and 45. Mueller et al. teach that the method further comprises expanding and/or activating the immune cells by contacting said CAR-expressing cell with a CAR ligand, wherein the CAR ligand is a CAR antigen molecule which is CD19; see pages 277-278.
For claims 89 and 91-93, Mueller et al. teach the intracellular signaling domain (e.g., CD3 zeta) comprises an immunoreceptor tyrosine-based activation motif (ITAM); see page 78.
For claims 94-96, Mueller et al. teach that the costimulatory domain is a functional signaling domain obtained from a protein selected from the group consisting of MHC class I molecule, TNF receptor proteins, Immunoglobulin-like proteins, cytokine receptors, integrins, signaling lymphocytic activation molecules (SLAM proteins), activating NK cell receptors, or Toll ligand receptor; e.g., OX40, CD2, CD7, CD27, CD28, CD30, CD40, CDS, ICAM-1, LFA-1 (CD11a/CD18), 4-lBB (CD137), B7-H3; see pages 44-45.
For claims 90 and 97, a wherein clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited, MPEP 2111.04.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
10. Claims 87-97 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,866,731. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for the following reasons:
Claims 87-97 are herein drawn to a method of expanding a T cell population, comprising: (a) introducing a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) into the T cell population, thereby producing a first CAR-expressing cell population, wherein the CAR comprises (i) an antigen interacting domain capable of binding a B cell surface protein; (ii) a transmembrane domain; and (iii) an intracellular signaling domain; and (b) contacting the first CAR-expressing cell population with a B cell surface protein, thereby producing an expanded and/or activated immune cell population, wherein said B cell surface protein is CD19, CD20, or CD22.
Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,866,731 are drawn to a modified immune cell expresses a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) comprising (i) an antigen interacting domain capable of binding a B cell surface protein; (ii) a transmembrane domain; and (iii) an intracellular signaling domain, wherein said B cell surface protein is selected from CD19, CD20, and CD22.
U.S. Patent No. 11,866,731 teaches a method of expanding a T cell population, comprising: (a) introducing a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) into the T cell population, thereby producing a first CAR-expressing cell population, wherein the CAR comprises (i) an antigen interacting domain capable of binding a B cell surface protein; (ii) a transmembrane domain; and (iii) an intracellular signaling domain; and (b) contacting the first CAR-expressing cell population with a B cell surface protein, thereby producing an expanded and/or activated immune cell population. See col. 8-lines 47-57.
It is noted that 35 USC § 121 does not provide protection for continuation or continuation in-part applications, and this application is a continuation of U.S. Patent No. 11,866,731. See 92 USPQ2d 1289 Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd. (Fed. Cir. 2009) and Pfizer, Inc. v. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc. 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
11. Claims 87-97 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34-42 and 45-59 of copending Application No. 17/429835. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claims 87-97 are herein drawn to a method of expanding a T cell population, comprising: (a) introducing a nucleic acid encoding a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) into the T cell population, thereby producing a first CAR-expressing cell population, wherein the CAR comprises (i) an antigen interacting domain capable of binding a B cell surface protein; (ii) a transmembrane domain; and (iii) an intracellular signaling domain; and (b) contacting the first CAR-expressing cell population with a B cell surface protein, thereby producing an expanded and/or activated immune cell population, wherein said B cell surface protein is CD19, CD20, or CD22.
Claims 34-42 and 45-59 of copending Application No. 17/429835 are drawn to a method comprising a modified therapeutic immune cell (e.g. T cell), wherein the immune cell expresses CAR-CD19, wherein the CAR comprises CD3ζ, and a co- stimulatory molecule (e.g., CD28).
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
12. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642