DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 2025-12-01 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “and a second tool access panel that covers the second set of hinge mount features” of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding claim 4: the second tool access panel, while described in the specification has no drawing number and does not appear to be present in the drawings currently of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2014/0307380).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses:
A computing device comprising:
a processor (e.g. described paragraph [0031]);
memory (e.g. described paragraph [0031]) accessible to the processor;
a display housing (e.g. 11 FIG.1) assembly that comprises a display panel (e.g. 25 FIG.1) and display housing hinge mount features (e.g. 11 side of 12 FIG.2);
a keyboard housing assembly (e.g. 10 FIG.1) that comprises a keyboard (e.g. 16 FIG.1), keyboard housing hinge mount features (e.g. 10 side of 12 FIG.2), and one or more tool access panels (e.g. 29/34 FIG.4); and
a hinge assembly (e.g. 12/13 FIG.2) that rotatably couples the display housing assembly and the keyboard housing assembly via the display housing hinge mount features (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.1), the keyboard housing hinge mount features, and one or more fasteners (e.g. described paragraph [0023]), wherein the display housing assembly is attachable to and detachable from the keyboard housing assembly via opening of the one or more tool access panels for tool-based access to and operation of the one or more fasteners (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.4).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses:
the hinge assembly comprises a first hinge and a second hinge (e.g. 12/13 FIG.4), and wherein the display housing hinge mount features comprise a first set of hinge mount features for the first hinge (e.g. shown Fig.4) and a second set of hinge mount features for the second hinge (e.g. shown Fig.4).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels comprise a single tool access panel that covers the first set of hinge mount features and the second set of hinge mount features (e.g. 29 covering as shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels comprise a first tool access panel (e.g. 29 FIG.5) that covers the first set of hinge mount features and a second tool access panel (e.g. 34 FIG.5) that covers the second set of hinge mount features.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses:
the keyboard housing assembly comprises a front edge and a back edge (e.g. shown FIG.3) and wherein the one or more tool access panels are located adjacent to the back edge (e.g. in 19 FIG.3).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses:
the keyboard housing assembly comprises a keyboard side (e.g. shown FIG.1) and a base side (e.g. shown FIG.3) and wherein the one or more tool access panels are located on the keyboard side (e.g. shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses:
the keyboard housing assembly comprises a front edge and a back edge (e.g. shown FIG.1) and wherein the one or more tool access panels are located adjacent to the back edge (e.g. shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels are transitionable to an open position in a substantially 180-degree orientation of the display housing assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels are only transitionable to the open position in the substantially 180-degree orientation of the display housing assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses:
one or more tool access panel latches (e.g. attached to 34 FIG.5).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panel latches are released responsive to rotation of the display housing assembly to a predefined open angle with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4). (drawing objection)
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura discloses:
the predefined open angle is approximately 180 degrees (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4 with keyboard housing shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels comprise one or more notches (e.g. attached to 34 FIG.5).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more notches are accessibly exposed responsive to rotation of the display housing assembly to a predefined open angle with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. as shown with removal of 29 FIG.4).
Regarding claim 15, Nakamura discloses:
the predefined open angle is approximately 180 degrees (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4 with keyboard housing shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 16, Nakamura discloses:
the display housing assembly and the hinge assembly are a field replaceable unit (FRU) (e.g. via screws shown FIG.3/FIG.4 and latches FIG.4).
Claim(s) 1, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morrison et al. (US 2023/0185343).
Regarding claim 1, Morrison discloses:
A computing device comprising:
a processor (e.g. 78 FIG.4);
memory (e.g. 76 FIG.4) accessible to the processor;
a display housing assembly (e.g. 170 FIG.9) that comprises a display panel (e.g. 82 FIG.9) and display housing hinge mount features (e.g. 172 FIG.9);
a keyboard housing assembly (e.g. 168 FIG.9) that comprises a keyboard (e.g. 110 FIG.9), keyboard housing hinge mount features (e.g. described paragraph [0072]), and one or more tool access panels (e.g. described paragraph [0086]); and
a hinge assembly that rotatably couples the display housing assembly and the keyboard housing assembly via the display housing hinge mount features (e.g. described paragraph [0072]), the keyboard housing hinge mount features, and one or more fasteners (e.g. 304 FIG.20A), wherein the display housing assembly is attachable to and detachable from the keyboard housing assembly via opening of the one or more tool access panels for tool-based access to and operation of the one or more fasteners (e.g. described paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 16, Morrison discloses:
the display housing assembly and the hinge assembly are a field replaceable unit (FRU) (e.g. described paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Morrison discloses:
the display housing assembly comprises a camera and a microphone (e.g. on 190 FIG.10, paragraph [0076]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclose/teach similar circuit board housing devices with hinges and displays as those disclosed in the present application.
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841