DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I in the reply filed on 2025-12-01 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-16, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2014/0307380).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses:
A computing device comprising:
a processor (e.g. described paragraph [0031]);
memory (e.g. described paragraph [0031]) accessible to the processor;
a display housing (e.g. 11 FIG.1) assembly that comprises a display panel (e.g. 25 FIG.1) and display housing hinge mount features (e.g. 11 side of 12 FIG.2);
a keyboard housing assembly (e.g. 10 FIG.1) that comprises a keyboard (e.g. 16 FIG.1), an upper shell (e.g. 10b FIG.1), keyboard housing hinge mount features (e.g. 10 side of 12 FIG.2), and one or more tool access panels (e.g. 29/34 FIG.4), wherein the upper shell comprises a left side edge, a right side edge, a front edge, a left side back edge, a right side back edge, and a recessed back edge (e.g. adjacent to/atop 18 FIG.3), disposed inwardly toward the front edge with respect to the left side back edge and the right side back edge (e.g. shown FIG.1, following the outline of 10 FIG.3), that defines a recess (e.g. for 29 FIG.1, same location as 24 FIG.3), and wherein the one or more tool access panels are shaped to cover the recess (e.g. shown FIG.1); and
a hinge assembly (e.g. 12/13 FIG.2) that rotatably couples the display housing assembly and the keyboard housing assembly via the display housing hinge mount features (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.1), the keyboard housing hinge mount features, and one or more fasteners (e.g. described paragraph [0023]), wherein the display housing assembly is attachable to and detachable from the keyboard housing assembly via opening of the one or more tool access panels to expose the recess (e.g. exposed FIG.3) for tool-based access to and operation of the one or more fasteners (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.4).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses:
the hinge assembly comprises a first hinge and a second hinge (e.g. 12/13 FIG.4), and wherein the display housing hinge mount features comprise a first set of hinge mount features for the first hinge (e.g. shown Fig.4) and a second set of hinge mount features for the second hinge (e.g. shown Fig.4).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels comprise a single tool access panel that covers the first set of hinge mount features and the second set of hinge mount features (e.g. 29 covering as shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels comprise a first tool access panel (e.g. right side of 29 FIG.5) that covers the first set of hinge mount features and a second tool access panel (e.g. left side of 29 FIG.5) that covers the second set of hinge mount features.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses:
the keyboard housing assembly comprises a keyboard side (e.g. shown FIG.1) and a base side (e.g. shown FIG.3) and wherein the one or more tool access panels are located on the keyboard side (e.g. shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels are transitionable to an open position in a substantially 180-degree orientation of the display housing assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels are only transitionable to the open position in the substantially 180-degree orientation of the display housing assembly to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses:
one or more tool access panel latches (e.g. attached to 34 FIG.5).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panel latches are released responsive to rotation of the display housing assembly to a predefined open angle with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4). (drawing objection)
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura discloses:
the predefined open angle is approximately 180 degrees (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4 with keyboard housing shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more tool access panels comprise one or more notches (e.g. attached to 34 FIG.5).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura discloses:
the one or more notches are accessibly exposed responsive to rotation of the display housing assembly to a predefined open angle with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. as shown with removal of 29 FIG.4).
Regarding claim 15, Nakamura discloses:
the predefined open angle is approximately 180 degrees (e.g. read as inherent in the angle of attachment shown FIG.4 with keyboard housing shown FIG.1).
Regarding claim 16, Nakamura discloses:
the display housing assembly and the hinge assembly are a field replaceable unit (FRU) (e.g. via screws shown FIG.3/FIG.4 and latches FIG.4).
Regarding claim 21, Nakamura discloses:
A computing device comprising:
a processor (e.g. described paragraph [0031]);
memory (e.g. described paragraph [0031]) accessible to the processor;
a display housing (e.g. 11 FIG.1) assembly that comprises a display panel (e.g. 25 FIG.1) and display housing hinge mount features (e.g. 11 side of 12 FIG.2);
a keyboard housing assembly (e.g. 10 FIG.1) that comprises a keyboard (e.g. 16 FIG.1), keyboard housing hinge mount features (e.g. 10 side of 12 FIG.2), and one or more tool access panels (e.g. 29/34 FIG.4); and
a hinge assembly (e.g. 12/13 FIG.2) that rotatably couples the display housing assembly and the keyboard housing assembly via the display housing hinge mount features (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.1), the keyboard housing hinge mount features, and one or more fasteners (e.g. described paragraph [0023]), wherein the display housing assembly is attachable to and detachable from the keyboard housing assembly via opening of the one or more tool access panels for tool-based access to and operation of the one or more fasteners (e.g. shown/indicated via dotted lines FIG.4),
wherein the one or more tool access panels comprise one or more notches (e.g. notches in 29 attached to 34 shown FIG.5), wherein the one or more notches are accessibly exposed responsive to rotation of the display housing assembly to a predefined open angle with respect to the keyboard housing assembly (e.g. as shown with removal of 29 FIG.4), and wherein the predefined open angle is approximately 180 degrees (e.g. 29 FIG.4 being removed at an angle that would require at least 180 opening of the device of FIG.1 as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art).
Claim(s) 1, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morrison et al. (US 2023/0185343).
Regarding claim 1, Morrison discloses:
A computing device comprising:
a processor (e.g. 78 FIG.4);
memory (e.g. 76 FIG.4) accessible to the processor;
a display housing assembly (e.g. 170 FIG.9) that comprises a display panel (e.g. 82 FIG.9) and display housing hinge mount features (e.g. 172 FIG.9);
a keyboard housing assembly (e.g. 168 FIG.9) that comprises a keyboard (e.g. 110 FIG.9), an upper shell (e.g. 124 FIG.9), keyboard housing hinge mount features (e.g. described paragraph [0072]), and one or more tool access panels (e.g. described paragraph [0086], lower 302 FIG.21A), wherein the upper shell comprises a left side edge, a right side edge, a front edge, a left side back edge, a right side back edge, and a recessed back edge, disposed inwardly toward the front edge with respect to the left side back edge and the right side back edge (e.g. all shown on 124 FIG.9), that defines a recess (e.g. notch in display side of 124 FIG.9), and wherein the one or more tool access panels are shaped to cover the recess (e.g. shown FIG.21A); and
a hinge assembly that rotatably couples the display housing assembly and the keyboard housing assembly via the display housing hinge mount features (e.g. described paragraph [0072]), the keyboard housing hinge mount features, and one or more fasteners (e.g. 304 FIG.21A), wherein the display housing assembly is attachable to and detachable from the keyboard housing assembly via opening of the one or more tool access panels to expose the recess (e.g. shown FIG.21A) for tool-based access to and operation of the one or more fasteners (e.g. shown FIG.23, 172 exposed FIG.10).
Regarding claim 16, Morrison discloses:
the display housing assembly and the hinge assembly are a field replaceable unit (FRU) (e.g. described paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 17, Morrison discloses:
the display housing assembly comprises a camera and a microphone (e.g. on 190 FIG.10, paragraph [0076]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-07-27 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection(s) above points out where the prior art of record discloses the claims/limitations added in amendment.
Regarding applicant’s argument(s) regarding the tool access panel(s). Applicant is directed to FIG.1 of Nakamura which clearly shows that 29 is attached to 10 via 12 and 13, that 29 also attaches to 11 is immaterial to the rejection of record, as 29 is attached to 10, then one of ordinary skill in the art, giving the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification without importing limitations from the specification into the claims (MPEP 2111), would understand that Nakamura discloses the “keyboard housing assembly … comprises … one or more tool access panels” as claimed.
The argument with respect to claim 21 and Nakamura repeats the argument with respect to claim 1 and so will not be re-addressed, please see response above.
With regards to both arguments above, applicant is directed to their own specification FIG.2 and FIG.3 (note paragraph [0046] incorporating features of FIG.2 into FIG.4), both of which show cover 340 formed as part of display 300. One of ordinary skill in the art reading the claims in light of the specification (etc.) would understand in light of FIG.2 and FIG.3 that the tool access panel may be connected to the display, and yet still be understood to also comprise a portion of the keyboard housing. Or to state more plainly, there is no figure in the present specification that shows tool access panel 700 attached exclusively to keyboard housing 500, and there is no support in the present specification for such an exclusionary reading.
Regarding the arguments with respect to claim 1 and Morrison.
It is unclear what limitation(s) of claim 1 this argument is addressing, the limitation “cover” is utilized in the claim only once, and is utilized only to describe the recess, as such it is unclear how fasteners 304 being covered or uncovered is relevant to the claim(s) of record. See recitation of MPEP 2111 above.
The rejection above points out where Morrison discloses the limitations of claim 1 as amended.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841